Helderberg Yamaha- Tankwa Stonehenge

Andy660

Yamaha XT 660 Z
Riders that did the route:

1.  Andy660  Tenere
2.  Steven B  Tenere
3.  3 Blind Monkeys  KTM990
4.  Keith 1200  BMW
5.  Gary super 10 Yam
6.    Erik 690 Ktm
7.  Kameelkop  690 Oryx

We had a good days ride on Sunday , all home safe , but tiered !

We refueled in Ceres and did the boring R355 to make good time for the day.

The route was 494 km fuel stop to fuel stop , but I had organized some fuel at the halfway point.
The R355 has taken quite a beating with heavy rains , but wasnt in too bad a condition.

We regrouped here at Karoopoort before hitting the long dirt ride to Padstal.
Karoopoort , the first Uitspan after ceres for the Oxwagons to rest and water the oxen and horses , now a national Monument.
The Outspans are all the way to Kimberly and beyond.

First stop was Padstal.

That nice little splash pool had some pretty "Lillie's" in it when we got there.(Lillies got out for the pic !)

Our Stock of good used tyres at Padstal are " Vol-op" and tubes too.
Thanks guys for dropping off your good used tyres & Tubes there.
Any WD that gets stuckout there, you know where to get sorted out.

We grabbed some cool drinks and chilled for a minute admiring the Lillie's !

Henk , The Owner  of Stonehenge popped in , on his way back from his Saturday Night sleep over at Stonehenge and confirmed the Braai Packs were organized for us.

We took the Tankwa Turn off and made our way to the Desert road that I had mapped that would take us to the Tankwa River and eventually ,Stonehenge.

The road had some serious rain damage and there  was a little more sand about now !

We made a stop at BH se plaas to check that all was still good there.

My WILDDOG sign out in the Tankwa ,  was still in tact, one day to be seen on Google Earth!!

We proceeded down the road , and started the sandy bits and badly eroded desert road , with a lot of wash aways  , "lekker riding" and quite a lot more sand than there was previously .

The road to Stonehenge had got a bit sandy again , but still manageable
In the heat of the sun and a little dehidration , I swore I saw a Slver Sailing Ship , so I took a pic of it,
LOOKS REAL HEY ???

Henk , JP and Socks have done some awesome work on upgrading the Stonehenge Tented Camp, There is the new bigger Pub , Under cover Lappa , Under cover Jacuzzi , that can be heating for the cold nights in Winter, white a few more tented dwellings , with solar geysers and solar panels,#
Keep it up Henk and partners , Looking Good.
To be cont.
Hier kan die WD kekker kuier, of hoe ???

THE RIDES POSTED JUST GET BETTER AND BETTER    THANKS FOE SHARING

Hey Andy. Did you take a photo of that 1000 year old arrow piece that attacked your wheel.  ;)  Its realy a pitty I only saw this ride Sunday morning.

Nice to have done the last bit together over the pass

Thanks Andy! Lekker meeting all the riders, and sorry for making you wait for me! It was a 06:30 snap decision!  :thumleft:

Ok, so had some patches of sand , some easy and some fun.
Although Gary with the Super 10 , didnt think so !
He was last seen bike one way through the bushes and he the other ! Lol, Kak sand he was swearing , or something.

While waiting for the others to arrive , Gary finally made it , to tell me I had to go back , to sort out StevenB`s chain that had climbed off his rear sprocket.

So my question was , How far back , this side of the sand or the other ? , No , just over the hill , he says.
Well , over the hill I go , no , bikes , over the next hill and in the distance, there stands the black Tenere with Kameelkop.
Quick , loosen the wheel , pull the chain out and reset the tension and we are off.

About 1.5 km up the road , a RH turn onto the road to Stonehenge,I was really looking forward to Stonehenge , we have had such lekker times there , much laughter and "Lekker Kuiering" has been had there.

The Lounge is now bigger and has a really nice Lappa next to the Dining Room.
They have a big cooler fridge with Braai packs onsite,
R50 a braai pack , with lekker Karoo Lamb and wors and for an Extra R20 , You get Pap en sous.

To crown it all , they Braai the meat and cook the pap.
While we sat in the shade and relaxed talking about previous rides.

Next we are summoned to the Dinning room , tables all laid out and a self service from a warmer.
Wow , you dont even get this kind of service here in Town !And the meat was cooked to perfection.

We got some fuel from them , there wasnt much , so just the big bikes took on fuel.
I went back to the main road first and opened the gates , and Kameelkop followed and closed all the gates.

Twas a lekker ride put down th sandy road.
At the R355 , Erik 690 asks me , " WAT SYS  SO ?, ag gaan kak se ek , nee , rerig se hy , kyk jou agter wiel is pap !
Flip ! , I fix other Riders tyres , my bike doesnt get punctures!

Everyone wants to help , I tell , them , it will be quicker for me to do it by myself , slip with the tyre lever and hit myself " In the Bek" !
Lekker lag die doners nou ! Of course , blood! , cameras out , Andy pose , mmmm!

All done , pumped and off we go , next stop Padstal , Katbakkies , Ceres to refuel.
I always say my thanks and goodbyes in Ceres , some guys are tiereder than others and have bigger bikes , and want to scoot home,
We split up , some over Baineskloof , the rest around past Tulbach.

Erik690 and Keith 1200 are with me.
I just past Kalabash and my bike goes over the white line an squirms , mmm , I stop and look down , flat tyre.AGAIN ! F-----lip

Pull the Tube out , No pinches , looks like the tube was perished of chaffed through while it was stored on my bike.
Ok , Erik 690 says he`s going back to Wolsley some 20 kays back to the 7 11 for bicycle patch.
I call Vaalbaas ( WD) who lives in Goude , the other side of Tulbach.

Vaalbaas tells me , cool , stay put I`m on my way.

You gotta love being a Wilddog !!!
Having so many friends on call , and I dont even ride a BMW ? 
And yes , this is a 2StrokeDan  joke !

While we are removing the rear wheel , who should ride flat out past , Jip 2StrokeDan , lol.

He must have seen Keiths 1200 BMW standing next to me ! Lol !

Anyway , Erik gets back with " Chinese Puncture patch and solution !!!
It doest stick shit to a tube , it looks the same , but the glue is like water.
Anyway both packets used and patches curling up.

A yellow blur comes up the road, Its Vaalbaas  on his BMW1200 super bike, with chinese solution and patches , and , and , a good used 17 inch rear tube that he went all the way to Tulbach for.
He went past TAU (wd also) and picked up a used tube for me , just in case the patches he got didnt work.
THANKS JOHN !
MANY THANKS RUDOLF

And thanks to all the riders that came along , it was great to ride with all of you.
Till next time , and Gary ! I`ll try and find another lekker route for your 1200 Yami !

Thanks Andy for another lekker ride and nice meeting some new faces again. Cant wait for the next one .