Honda Adventure Roads 2019

Nee op pad tussen Middelburg en so 20 km voor GR draai jy links af.... Tussen die 2 Nieu-Bethesda  afdraaie.

woody1 said:
Nee op pad tussen Middelburg en so 20 km voor GR draai jy links af.... Tussen die 2 Nieu-Bethesda  afdraaie.

Hier draai jy af

• Dorsland.JPG
    Dorsland.JPG
    21.5 KB
woody1 said:

Djy moet nie so vroeg beginne suip nie.  :eek7: :lol8: :lol8:

Day 5 - Continued

We set off over the Gariep dam wall in all its splendour and followed the R58 towards Colesberg.  As we entered Nimmo's home town, there was a small gathering around a traffic officer.  We stopped and the reason for the hold up was an outdated license on one of the SA rental bikes.  Even though we had no responsibility, nor accountability for the rental bikes, it was embarrassing that the Europeans ship numerous bikes, thousands of miles across the ocean, without any problems and here we as Saffers can't even put a new license disk on a bike we rent out for this prestigious event!

Jean-Michel with his luggage in tow the morning of departure.

36610a6cdfbe105eb50d00e464ece2f0.jpg

With the fine issued, we set off past Sunset Chalets onto the N9 towards Graaff Reinet, through Noupoort, Carlton Pass and eventually refuelled in Middelburg.  It's strange how familiarity breeds content:  Photos were getting fewer due to the area being so familiar to me. 

After about 30km back on the N9, we turned left on some gravel roads towards Wapadsberg. 

We already had our first puncture for the morning and Janco and Hardy had the honour of doing the repair, which gave me the time to take a sneaky picture of the action.

ef8cf0c6264fbfe66816d0c85331c28e.jpg

b437ddbbd0b2cf469eda1aefc4d03c39.jpg

It was approximately 21km of welcomed gravel road that brought us back to the N9.  In this time we had another puncture caused by a piece of wire. 

4bf8b9754271534f0daad22051b652d4.jpg

04f647afcc23506af05fce461cbdc304.jpg

d827ad2decf37233aac9d81cc9f341a1.jpg

20km of tar back towards Middelburg and we turned left onto the Owl Route towards Nieu Bethesda, where we had lunch and a visit to the famous owl house.

4494cab0ce82eecded215f990fcf9582.jpg

2fa6c447cb6db509a5eaab0ac332f723.jpg

Deep in conversation with Richard and Tiago of Honda Europe.

07308317f8db8f8d74bc9700844931a3.jpg

4b0c87204ff5f1808a178c99ca5e4807.jpg

be0911fd812d8bd5e9328bd34c488bdf.jpg

After lunch we headed straight to Graaff Reinet, drove through town and headed towards to the Valley of Desolation.  It was properly hot by now. 

809fcc24d92662f425e6d170cfb03242.jpg

8ca7308d18dc54de7e16fc3c3f3a5980.jpg

ce9470115b876c929fd26e0d3bbedef3.jpg

And of course we had to fix another flat in scorching heat before we could retire for the day.

1dfb83f73cb338a55012d0cabfd7a4a7.jpg

With all the practice, we were now down to about 32 seconds to repair a rear puncture.  ;) :lol8:

[youtube]https://youtu.be/mvnue7uKgMg[/youtube]

All in all it was a great day out with no mishaps, the only complaints being that due the extreme heat for some Europeans.

Day 6:  Graaff-Reinet to Port Elizabeth (299.2km)

daa8f4063f926fc6a07d0b95cd066b64.jpg

After a decent breakfast at the Drostdy hotel, some minor adjustments and personal preference on handlebars, gear selectors etc. was made.  There was excitement in the air since this marked the day that Joan Barreda and Ignacio Cornejo would join the group in Port Elizabeth.

We took the R75 towards Bie's town Jansenville, where we made a coffee stop at the Ark.  After the first puncture on the previous day, I subtly asked Hardy over the radio if we could do the next repair.  As if the two that followed the previous day was not enough, this day would be full of surprises, especially with team Hardy and Janco making headway straight to PE to sort out some logistics, leaving me and Oom Bonnie to follow the riders for the day.

Approximately 28km out of town, we turned left onto the R400 towards Waterford, which is a gravel road taking you past Darlington dam, Wolvefontein etc.  In general, the Tripy II navigation device is really detailed and a pleasure to use.  What it didn't warn you about on this day was the numerous unexpected ditches and dry riverbed sections we were about to cross.

4b9b4b4cb8bb3174cb15fa71cfd3bdbd.jpg

374fbd839245139115c543e7474ff0e3.jpg

The first sandy section lay claim to not only its first victim, but also a mirror, some bent handlebars and a LHS pannier.

9ffd3cf8af4e14e84d96f79ebc304deb.jpg

And then the punctures started! 

This is how it works:

You receive a sms with the co-ordinates of where the problem is and the bike number.

1ee7baa7508e778b897db437044dc646.jpg

An e-mail is also received with basically the same information. 

183d2b98c7579b34ccebf5693f599039.jpg

15dda18c17a68f9007396181436305f1.jpg

You can then open the two links provided which takes you to a map which you can actually route to should you wish.

f9900a747a02bcac9101f14dd22b21a3.jpg

50da8a956a2d8fd3a6ed79b957df1809.jpg

You can also track the riders as you drive during the day.

6203028b5e6d272d660276b1194f41ef.jpg

The messages came in short succession.  It was the one puncture after the other and there was no time to take photos or anything else for that matter.  It was pack out, fix, pack in and go until we finally got to the last one.

At the last puncture even one of the bakkies had a flat wheel.  Causes varied from sharp rocks to nails to pieces of wire to snake bites etc.

9fc3fe540c512dcb1ff60f536d4dbd36.jpg

The group of Spanish riders were the last to receive our attention.  A truly great group of guys with remarkable team spirit.  On arrival we received a cheery welcome and they immediately asked if they could assist.  We gladly accepted, since we were out of new tubes by now and they could assist Oom Bonnie while I carry on patching one of the better tubes.

607c54447fc9a360c8b7ed2b1ada01e8.jpg

8c3ff2b1de4d443ff5d356aeedcf58ff.jpg

533fbd641a3e64bab0a500cecee6e873.jpg

5680c47eb0011cddcd1e31df448a44d1.jpg

d8b1519e5c94a206801d8a9ebe9953d0.jpg

We were properly tired by the time we reached Addo Elephant Park, which was our lunch stop for the day.  The riders all went for a game drive while we attended to some of the other bikes also claimed by the sand monster.

78ed0411ec2c95e8b1fca5bd546b053a.jpg

71eb5c55a70c9db5b0772e1f0fe992ea.jpg

973725a9ed8be796e980b5b9c4c003fd.jpg

a80beb34322a981d4ca27c9440ba78d9.jpg

We arrived in PE late the afternoon, with work far from finished.  You'll remember from an earlier post that the Karoo's were expected to last the entire trip and we were frowned upon when we raised our concern that this might be a little naïve.  Well, some of the tyres were shot by now and fortunately Hardy could arrange for an emergency shipment to PE through Metzeller SA.

e9ef6d496a738076b1f716aea85aea33.jpg

20fb7a18e38423b06f4dd48cd15be452.jpg

b49d9957964fdc0b5ed4014d4bffb9b0.jpg

afd030744526620825717dd6e927cb15.jpg

5181f121993ec48c4b68146720bb257b.jpg

e9c9ee31421f29e987085a1f7276d065.jpg

With no time to waste, we set up an area in the basement to get to work.  In parallel to getting all the daily niggles attended to, tyre changes started with what we had in stock.

At about 01h00 that morning, the new tyres arrived and we started offloading.  Hats of to Richard and Tiago from Honda Europe who was with us the whole time, making sure we had coffee, water, food and even assisted with the offloading.

b9dd54215b85256689435e63eefc41e3.jpg

f2a7c47241d077af3322f4e0549138f1.jpg

0b02d607346f8ee52afcd21348aba25a.jpg

069fdca70bec0b57953c945f600e3a48.jpg

At just after 02h00, if memory serves me correct, we went to bed.  In the Radisson Blu nogal!

Day 7:  Port Elizabeth to Oudtshoorn (424.4km)

We left the hotel with a couple of additional journalists and the film crew that joined the group.  And of course, Joan Barreda and Ignacio Cornejo.  Unfortunately only Ignacio would ride this day since there was a mix up with Joan's luggage and none of his kit arrived as yet.

e9cc571a81e81ee6ab46300f007098e3.jpg

183e8f3b7e9b57884980fc9034c60ae6.jpg

561aa320ef557f66179bead0a1492f8f.jpg

This meant that he was in one of the vehicles with Richard from Honda Europe.  Hardy and Janco was in the front, followed by Richard and us trailing.  Probably the only time Hardy and Janco was ever going to be in front of Barreda and me keeping up with him!

We followed the R75 and refuelled in Steytlerville.

6502b3460fc6730fdd35c22309f324f5.jpg

3381a277bad0e65b2d4504e382779c74.jpg

294bd092985bce3330e070b1494ee9da.jpg

db2f4855d0a9b1ba0c0a9159e4ba15f6.jpg

2bc112df14c6eed90e460c61fdddc3f0.jpg

be7adeaf1eaaa06b6eb992c61b3a62d2.jpg

a8e6b540a2f33f89923490d6a4bf593b.jpg

From there we took the R329 to Willowmore, where we were served with a properse Karoo braai at the Royal Hotel.  It was heaven after so many hotel buffets - jip, you can get gatvol of those.

5f6ffc254837a75f707bab8eb368ec81.jpg

4276a2457f52728b7be77c077cf22506.jpg

e974659dd316f028926f5d2b790c116c.jpg

e07b7c98fda21671d55d73c890d72cd8.jpg

From here we hit some gravel roads on the R407 past Vondeling.  A particular dry river crossing claimed many victims.  It was one of those where you had an audience cheering you on and lots of motivation and laughter later, everyone made it across, no broken bones, but a couple of egos crushed.

576fe83e9d13fb156fdc93ae3576ad06.jpg

871c40ef3517a444bdd20741569e78b9.jpg

9e6691a5c718588a0b05cec56ae547f5.jpg

3d1cf6331f82ea762c2393b5ba853c1e.jpg

64bfe95fe40b49a4e2ec9e89b7154441.jpg

Jean-Michel Bayle and Ignacio Cornejo showing the guys how it’s done.

f86fc0acbeb02321da3e3e633f068903.jpg

Giuseppe having some fun.

37ecd6ded032aa83007f3e038ceda7ca.jpg

1f93e5e6829b478e8d6ba116270fff24.jpg

fb332b0043ba486cea27822d430d56e1.jpg

060ae40a9b5147e4f587f05bb72e4494.jpg

And of course I had to sit on Barreda’s bike. (Ook maar niks gewoond nie!)

e046126323f03438c195d2550f6a840c.jpg

It wasn't long after that we received notification of an accident.  One of the journalists that joined us just the night before (his first day of riding) had a big tumble.  When we arrived, the medic was already attending to him and the doctor, who was further up in the convoy, already on his way there.

03ddfadad5611e7484251e3ceaa2ba1b.jpg

It was pretty obvious that he was riding too fast, hit the brakes and lost control.  Later that evening we would learn that he broke his clavicle, humerus, all 5 toes on his right foot, some ribs and suffered a punctured lung.  He was admitted to the Oudtshoorn Medi-Clinic and later transferred to George, where he is still recovering until able to fly back home.

We loaded his bike onto the trailer and left the medical staff to attend to the rider.

9f83fa22274a6eefaae9dfb420766dfb.jpg

Apart from this unfortunate incident, everyone reached Buffelsdrift unscathed.

23664be75ea89fe24f2a031cfa0d85be.jpg

f0cc3e324eb171c0b6e1b59fe2acffd4.jpg

[member=16826]Kobus Myburgh[/member] ... would you still say you prefer tubes to tubeless ?

Sithe said:
[member=16826]Kobus Myburgh[/member] ... would you still say you prefer tubes to tubeless ?

Sithe I don’t think either is a deal breaker for me.  By far the majority of my riding is done off road and the tubes (albeit a very general statement) is more lenient to pressure fluctuations, i.e. low pressures for sand riding.

One of the few necessary upgrades on the AT is tubes.  The OEM ones are simply not up to standard.  We saw it on the 2017 Quest  especially, with far more punctures than this trip.

Ever since I put heavy duty tubes in my AT, I had one puncture, which I think was caused by a defective tyre pressure sensor, causing the pressure to drop too low and then I suffered a snake bite.

It might sound silly, but a flat tyre often adds to the adventure for me. 

I would personally never consider an upgrade to tubeless on my AT.  20 Minutes out of my life for a tube change doesn’t warrant the cost to me.

Just wait for the day that a tubeless tyre can’t be plugged and you have to de-bead it, put a tube in to get you home and you are not used to it.  It will make you wish you got used to tube tyres. [emoji12]

Ek wens girls het so na my gekyk..........

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    188 KB
KarooKid said:

Jy hoef glad nie minderwaardig te voel nie Charl.  Ek onthou goed hoe die girls jou ook uit gekyk het daar in Kaokoland op die Quest.  Veral daai een wie se ridder op die vleis donkie al was wat sy geken het.  Dit was ‘n true love oomblik toe sy jou sien.  :3some:

ek wou iets sê toe bly ek maar stil, maar daai girl se oogte se wit wys soos n perd wat geskrik het!! :lol8:

Toemaar die Kudu bul hou ook 'n ogie! :imaposer:

Kobus Myburgh said:
KarooKid said:

Jy hoef glad nie minderwaardig te voel nie Charl.  Ek onthou goed hoe die girls jou ook uit gekyk het daar in Kaokoland op die Quest.  Veral daai een wie se ridder op die vleis donkie al was wat sy geken het.  Dit was ‘n true love oomblik toe sy jou sien.  :3some:

Jy verbeel jou. Dit was die donkie wat vir my gekyk het.

Day 8: Oudtshoorn, Swartberg Pass (183km)

4e62bba3c32f6c572e021e3f491c20fc.jpg

The day started with a briefing by the 3 HRC riders; Jean-Michel Bayle, Joan Barreda and Ignacius Cornejo.

b2f40526d7c00699b19a2be62c504f13.jpg

f7c1a1be820d3d9b9f0afc00362dd33e.jpg

They gave the riders a run down on various aspects of body positioning, braking and general skills.  Each one of them in a different language.  It was truly a privilege to be in their company.

And then Hardy, together with the Honda Europe guys somehow volunteered me to show them the correct way of picking up the bike in the event it being dropped.  No pressure!  In front of these legends!

I can not describe what goes through your head during this process.  Will these rugby weakened knees of mine even let me pick up the bike?  Will I moer it over to the other side once its up?  The options of failure is endless!

Anyway, all went relatively well and then ........

Jean-Michel Bayle approaches us and thank me for the demonstration and more or less in his words:  “Thanks for the demonstration.  I never knew how to pick up the bike, because I’ve never had to put it down.” 

Well Mr Bayle, I’ve had my fair share of practice. [emoji23]

94ec608100333e7506f2d1cd914c313e.jpg

27be04a13e5217c8b47ca47d30c9fdfc.jpg

28d5e0fbbd834b29cae5a5618a64cfd9.jpg

b1cee53e5911bce2f6e76768d47d0dde.jpg

00799844aa8e4adc90bd581f413fa64d.jpg

1678f410cedd055703d67a6b9722abe8.jpg

And then we were off, Joan Barreda leading.

dbb700d7317e66d5d88aeb6b7e384621.jpg

We didn’t see much of the riders until the coffee stop, which was just below the view point on Swartberg Pass.

The weather didn’t play ball and it was a pity the foreigners couldn’t see Swartberg in all its glory.

Hardy and Joan in conversation.

c9b2b564906668e33fb0a10de7a15721.jpg

A photo I’ll always treasure.  Jean-Michel Bayle is certainly one of the biggest legends I’ve met to date.

25686f478fca918bffcab622f6bdc8b4.jpg

The day went incident free which was quite unusual.  Probably because this was service day!

Some pics of the day.

c92b6af19d66ecd13ba12009c42ac4f4.jpg

76e06b5174d1554ba656fbda47300c6c.jpg

65dcb23e5fb683c836931e7d8616b642.jpg

d8f7bbb5bcf5962ea27be255035e05b9.jpg

4bb1d359d995ce25ef4f2a5600381d08.jpg

70648253f6c968a0c22f13151e6cee4c.jpg

aa656ec69351e8f05cad6d774d4f128c.jpg

Once back at Buffelsdrift Game lodge just outside Oudtshoorn, the HRC riders went for a filming/photo shoot and our work started.

We had about 35 bikes to service and plenty of tyres to change.  We split the team with Hardy and Janco on tyre duty and me and Oom Bonnie doing the oil services.  I think Hardy and Janco drew the shortest end of the stick here.  (Sorry no photos of the work undertaken)

4ca299ec990b1e1faec95f346b565789.jpg

40c5e8d5308f4947f69453729f12673e.jpg

8db9614bb4f6f12b081ba79e5afa59d4.jpg

88dbfff835486a36c00fe7d7b556aa2a.jpg

1fdbc5ce93be39ca82fb3e0b6eeba5e7.jpg

The sun was long gone when we retired from our daily duties, tired, but content.

Ja, if you have talent you have talent.  Nice to see what can be done with a bike in capable hands.  :thumleft:

Great job you guys did to keep the riders happy on their tour, hats of to the team.    :thumleft: :thumleft: