Hoopstad Sandmonster

More...before.... :pot:

>:D

• bikefoto's 109.jpg
    bikefoto's 109.jpg
    56.5 KB
  • bikefoto's 111.jpg
    bikefoto's 111.jpg
    28.7 KB
  • bikefoto's 112.jpg
    bikefoto's 112.jpg
    81.6 KB
  • bikefoto's 108.jpg
    bikefoto's 108.jpg
    33.8 KB
Milkybar said:
Marnus said:
Awwww man.  I knew I was going to miss something good!  MB, please tell me there will be another trip like this sometime in the future???  :xxbah:

Just let me know when......Pieter and Janus ride every weekend and enjoyed the company of the dogs so much that they said ANYTIME!!! :thumleft: :ricky:

Just waiting for the collar bone to grow back on, and I'm there! :)

MB, it was a blast! Thanks for all the hard work you put into making this such a great weekend!

to Pietie and his lady - wonderful hosts, awesome place you have, and next time please don't feed us so much!!

Pietie, Janus and the rest of the gang from Hoopstad, thanks for the effort you made to make us feel welcome, the route planning and making sure we all (more or less) stayed together, MB riding shotgun, thankfully her emergency services were not required, but we really appreciated the drinks and snacks along the way!

the sandmonster... well, I put my bike down on the ground (sand) three times only!!  :imaposer:

but I picked her up myself! all 3 times! thanks to the Honda guys and King's Mountain training, I knew how!

unfortunately there are no pics of me going to ground, helping the Hoopstad boere plow their lands!

First I got tired, then I got nervous, then I got scared, then I got "demoerin" and got going faster, then I got scared even more cos I was going so fast... and then I went through the whole cycle again!!!

sand riding is not for sissies...

MB, was it really only 3 hours??? felt like forever...  :biggrin: at one point I was praying really hard for tar!!

at the drinks stop, I bailed out... the good get going while the going's good! Misty joined me, together with Tweety and his daughter (who rode like a trooper, btw!! well done!) and we went back to the farmhouse on tar... seriously tired.

Misty and I then went for a little minitour of the district, (on tar) via Bloemhof dam and Hoopstad. a nice relaxed cooldown ride. Some pics...

about the ride back to Gauteng, I won't say much except that it was uneventful..

and thanks again to all who were there, making the experience of losing my sand virginity so memorable!

• hoopstadbridge2.jpg
    hoopstadbridge2.jpg
    20.2 KB
  • bikesbloemhofdambridge2.jpg
    bikesbloemhofdambridge2.jpg
    11.1 KB
  • mistybloemhofdambridge2.jpg
    mistybloemhofdambridge2.jpg
    11.8 KB
  • mebloemhofroad5.jpg
    mebloemhofroad5.jpg
    8.9 KB
  • mistybloemhofroad1.jpg
    mistybloemhofroad1.jpg
    11.6 KB
damn that looks lekker! glad you all enjoyed, well done! :thumleft:

magic, how'd your tires handle the sand? was on rhino park's beach the other day and the tourances sucked donkey balls if i may say so - didn't have a pump with us though, they're probably do a little better when deflated?

nice pics!

tankgirl said:
damn that looks lekker! glad you all enjoyed, well done! :thumleft:

magic, how'd your tires handle the sand? was on rhino park's beach the other day and the tourances sucked donkey balls if i may say so - didn't have a pump with us though, they're probably do a little better when deflated?

nice pics!

hey TG! why weren't you there??!!

about the tyres.. I am too inexperienced with sand to know whether the tyres were good or bad.. my shoulders are a bit stiff and sore today (will prolly be worse tomorrow!) cos the bike was all over... but i think she handled the sand well enough. Tyres were down to 1.5 bar or so, will check with Eskape, as long as you keep the speed up it is OK. The fact that i only fell twice due to rider error and put the bike down once due to an unforseen obstacle (read fallen rider) in the way suddenly, makes me think the tyres are not too bad. With knobblies or more aggressive tyres.. I dunno... what do the other more experienced riders think???

:thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Nice one Guys and Gals. Sand riding is an absolute blast.

eish sorry to see the GS in that state eskape  :( and Hiya Misty  :wave:

Hi "K"

Bliksem about the rear shock :(

Not often that happens :eek:

Pleeze do not start a thread ASKING can i weld this, :peepwall:

• IMG_2966.jpg
    IMG_2966.jpg
    46.7 KB
Eish! It hurts just looking at it!  :-[

How exactly did that happen again???

What a weekend!!!

Well done and many thanks to Milkybar and hubbie for putting it all together, and huge thanks to Pieter for hosting us on his farm and opening up his house to all of us and to everyone who made it a blast of a time. These farmers are such fantastic guys I tell you, not to mention that they ride those KTM's through sand like its not even there!

Unfortunately my GS decided it didn't want the back wheel to be joined to it via the shock absorber anymore, after I swerved and hit a rut across the road at some speed on Saturday morning and I thought my riding for the weekend was over, however Pieter saw my plight when we got back to his farm for brunch and before I knew it he had his 450 out for me so that I could join in for the afternoon ride - again, these guys are so fantastic - thank you Pieter!

Yes Blazes I think my words were more severe than "bliksem" at the time, but sh*t happens and so can you weld it???!!! or should I refer to Mark Hardy for some Pratley???!!!

Funny enough before the ride I had sold the bike to my local dealer but he refused to acknowledge all the previous negotiations after the ride!!!

eSKaPe said:
Funny enough before the ride I had sold the bike to my local dealer but he refused to acknowledge all the previous negotiations after the ride!!!

LOL !!! :biggrin:

Milkybar, you did good!!!  :thumleft: Thanks for surprising us with the hospitality of the people in Hoopstad – Pieter, Janus and their two lovely ladies really spoilt us – we had five star treatment all the way and I for sure got my protein fix for the year  :)

As for the Sand Monster… he was fairly gracious too… I will admit I was nervous as we got ready to depart, but I just took all the advice I got before hand and applied – keep the power on and open up gently when you have a AHHH moment – so Hoofseun, the only notes I made in “How do you ride in sand?” is: you just gotta ride it!  :ricky:

I only fell ones woohoo and all I can say is that I’m glad I faced the sand monster head on

Was great meeting old and new people as always – we will do so again

Will post a few pics shortly

I see Burgert in one of the pics. He can ride!! So does his whole family. Sister(GS800) included.
Seems everyone learned a lot and had a great time.

Some of our pics...

On the way, resting the numb butts and Misty & 63M swapping bikes :)

• 1. P1261153.JPG
    1. P1261153.JPG
    148.3 KB
  • 2. P1261154.JPG
    2. P1261154.JPG
    117.2 KB
  • 3. P1261155.JPG
    3. P1261155.JPG
    119.4 KB
  • 4. P1261156.JPG
    4. P1261156.JPG
    132.1 KB
  • 5. P1261157.JPG
    5. P1261157.JPG
    139.3 KB
The Sand Monster...

• 10. P1271161.JPG
    10. P1271161.JPG
    122.3 KB
  • 9. P1271173.JPG
    9. P1271173.JPG
    111.6 KB
  • 7. P1271159.JPG
    7. P1271159.JPG
    112.3 KB
  • 6. P1271158.JPG
    6. P1271158.JPG
    130.4 KB
  • 8. P1271160.JPG
    8. P1271160.JPG
    123.9 KB
Steady & Misty catching some shade... and the GS victim...

• 11. P1271162.JPG
    11. P1271162.JPG
    144 KB
  • 12. P1271165.JPG
    12. P1271165.JPG
    125.8 KB
  • 13. P1271166.JPG
    13. P1271166.JPG
    139.8 KB
  • 14. P1281184.JPG
    14. P1281184.JPG
    125.6 KB
  • 15. P1281185.JPG
    15. P1281185.JPG
    140.6 KB
eSKaPe as happy as a kid getting seconds on ice cream... just remember the T&C sweetie  ;D

• 18. P1271174.JPG
    18. P1271174.JPG
    131 KB
  • 19. P1271169.JPG
    19. P1271169.JPG
    109.5 KB
  • 17. P1271168.JPG
    17. P1271168.JPG
    126.4 KB
  • 16. P1271167.JPG
    16. P1271167.JPG