I am the night rider

Lekker!!! I love solo missions. When you're on your own, you can get so much more done on a trip. I'm jealous!

Awesome trip. My wife and I did it more or less the other way around and from Maseru through to Thaba Seka and Sani by car (She was 8 months pregnant). Beautiful Beautiful countryside. Well done O0

Thanks for the positive feed back from you guys, it really takes time and effort to do a ride report with pictures and all.
When I see you guys have enjoyed it, it makes it all worthwhile.  :3some:

Wolfman, not that I need to defend myself but here goes:
Not all my rides are flying across the country stuff, I have had the pleasure of sitting in the homes of the local farm workers in a place like Middelpos sharing their lives with them while feeling the rain coming through their broken roof.

But Adventure Riding to me is doing something out of the box from everyday travel, so long distances through off the main route areas is something I enjoy. That doesn't mean that I don't do slow rides with many stops with friends and sticking together through thick and thin when the road becomes tough.
Mt T was with his two friends, I was just joining them for the ride up Sani. Had they run into problems then it would have been up to me to either assist or ride on.
But hey maybe we ride together some day and discuss this further along the road. :thumleft:

Respect... and an awesome RR. But looking at those pics of Sani Pass I wonder if I was on the correct pass. I remember my pass consisting of nothing but loose rocks from tennis ball size to basket ball (and even bigger) size. It took me four and a half hours (and loads of clutch smoke) to crest the pass, so much so that I ran out of time and so did what I thought was the wise move and turn around and go back down. My RR cometh.

Well done... that pass was rough.

a great RR, Charl, really enjoyed the read.

funny thing is, if you could have left earlier on sunday and took a straighter route you would have been hom much earlier. But you still incorporated a bit of back roads adventure, even on your way home.

thanks for popping in here on Tuesday!! after you left my dad said, "sjoe maar dis nou n moerse nice ou, waar ken jy hom vandaan?"

for the record, fellow dogs. This oke, has done iron butt, as well as this ride, but love riding his bike so much, that he still has the patience to take gravel newbies into the Tankwa Karoo on very long rides at their 60 km/ h speeds.

your RR is also a testimony as to how awesome these big Beemer bikes are. Absolutely made for stuff like this. 

What a trip, if this RR doesnt getting you feeling like jumping on your bike then i dont know what will.

Great RR Charl!

Glad you back safe  :)

Brilliant report, Charl - I loved the text, then pic, text, then pic. Nice visual reading!

Don't pay too much heed to Wolfman's post - he was a bit harsh "clinging on to a Bible", not necessary to write that.

I am now real keen to do a Sani trip myself!

Excellent RR RA!!! Joining JMOL in just over 2 weeks we leave. Gonna be an adventure no matter how slow or quick we ride. I also prefer keeping going than too many stop starts. However when we get too far ahead we take a good breather. Its not a race afterall.

Wolfman - Your comments are uncalled for. Please do the right thing and go and delete your post.

Thanks again for sharing RA. Better get some extra batteries for the camera next week. I want some of those pics with a yellow beast in them and not that Western Province bike!!!!!

Well done Charl!  - and glad you're back safely.

Thanks for the report and the great pics.

PS we must do a ride together again soon - just shorter and slower  :mwink:

daai 1150 van Red Adventure sal nog baie jare loop en lyk net so mooi soos n Stormers Jersey

Awesome, thanks for sharing !

Lekker RR Night Rider  :thumleft:

Gelukkig lyk dit darem nie of jy jou aan die negatiewe kak steur nie  :thumleft:

Jis ou maat, bly om te sien jy geniet die 1150, ek verstaan nou hoekom jy die 640 verkoop het, sulke lang trips lol maar op die katoom se seat..

sal jou ou fiets kom wys na die nuwe facelift....

Mike