I rode a legend

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveD

Grey Hound
Reaction score
Bike
BMW G650 X-challenge
I am nuts about rallye. Not riding them, with my lack of riding ability that could be classified as a suicide attempt, but I follow them religiously. I volunteered to help with Amageza last year, from behind a keyboard and on this forum. I am a designer, and at some point I mentioned that the KTM 450RR was, in my opinion, a design masterpiece. One day when I grow up (which my wife says will never happen), it was my dream to ride one. One day, maybe, a guy can dream, after all....

Then I get a PM from Mark, who I had tracked while he rode his 450RR at Amageza, inviting me to come for a ride. Mark does not know me from a bar of soap, neither having met me nor seen my riding skill, or lack thereof. I thanked him for the offer but explained that maybe I need a bit more skill before I climb on his rather expensive machine. Mark would have nothing of it. "Come and ride, we'll take it easy" So I found myself heading off this morning with some trepidation to ride the very expensive bike of a guy I had never met. Oh boy......

I met Mark, his beautiful family and humongous Great Danes, and got to check out his 450RR from up close.