Inhambane by dirt ... and back.

KTM Jagermeister

KTM 950 SE
Inhambane by dirt

Would like to keep as short as my previous report, but it was too much fun!  Big group this time: 4 KTMs, 3 quads and a back-up vehicle.  KTMs lead the way, quads took the same root and the bakkie leapfrogged us.  As much dirt as possible as usual!

We trailered the bikes to Pafuri and got completely silly.  Departed the next day from the border post.  Wouter planned the whole ride and lead the way.  Basically we tried every little dirt road that we have not done on our previous trips.

Off-loading at border post.

Gordon crossing the Limpopo – dust expected…

Waiting for the quads.

Second evening.  The bakkie was there before us and started the braai.  Location – in the middle of nowhere.

Start of the second day’s riding.  We were riding in pairs, making it much more exciting!

Reasons to stay on road

Wouter and Jason sitting down for peri-peri chicken.  It was exceptionally fresh!

Sleeping arrangements at Sylvia Shoal.  We arrived after dark.  Had a couple of G&Ts and headed to our sleeping bags.

Jason making the most of the first sunlight.

Since we are awfully scared of tar we stayed on the little sandy roads and crossed over the dunes towards Inhambane… where the fun really started…

(to be continued)

Come on...........
Can't leave us hanging like that......

and the next chapter.... ::) anyway looks like fun definitely aplace I want to see again :thumleft:

subscribed ........ eish ....sand = beeg kahonas ! Respect !  :thumleft:

As usual we had a swell of a time in Inhambane.  Rum and Raspberry quickly became our favorite drink.  We simply had to visit every little bar selling it in order to find the very best.

Our resting point

Dino’s Beach Bar – a must go in Tofo

You get the general idea – we enjoyed the sun, sea, beach etc…. 

Found ourselves a dog.  Wouter called him Rex.  He was awesome, protecting us against the locals (probably his true owners) and playing endlessly in the waves.

Eventually it was time to set sail again, we were going back a different root, heading towards Banhine Nature reserve.  The riding was even better going back than coming.  The biggest problem was fuel, but we did find some at about R45/liter.  The bakkie was carrying some jerry cans, but since it was not going at the same speed as the bikes/quads we would only be able to top up if we found them on route .. which meant in the evenings.  Fortunately the quads carried most of their own fuel and Wouter fitted a Safari tank onto his monster. 

The riders.  By now we were sand experts.  Probably was the reason why we thoroughly enjoyed every second in the saddle.

Wouter always lead, partly because he knows the road but mostly because he is simply 10 times faster than the rest of us.  But occasionally he also have to ride in the dust.

Accommodation at Banhine.  They also supply a chef and a ranger  for the evening.  Stunning!

Being in the veld with great buddies, who can ask for more?

Brian testing the shower facilities.

First fuel stop after Banhine

Toll road at Mapai.  We skipped this one.

Brian’s fuel pump packed up.  We came prepared, 30min later and a brand new one was fitted and we were off again.

Camping the last night on the Limpopo.  That evening we had a humungous storm, tents all over the place, sand into everything, clothing down the river , stuff memories are made of.

Last day, 20km from the end and the one quad said that’s it and had to be towed in… so close.

When you exit the fever tree forest you know you are almost at the border.

Well we all made it back, safe and sound.  Was an amazing ride.  My highlight certainly the open savanna, sweeping,  twee spoor paaitjies after Banhine. 

Great Report.....Nice Area and VERY nice bikes!!! :thumleft: :thumleft: