Into Africa - DASKOP's 12000km drive

There I was on my merry way out of Lilongwe and then I saw it..........................the dreaded white glove.

Hier kom "wat die ARCADE se naam was".

• And then - the white glove.png
    And then - the white glove.png
    466.2 KB
  • Leaving Lilongwe.png
    Leaving Lilongwe.png
    488.7 KB
wvr0.png

6i48.png

I am directed to the side of the road, but stop short and explain that if I park where indicated the bike could fall over due to the big drop-off. No problem.

i8ju.png

I get a salute and a friendly greeting. Then asked for my driver's licence.

s53q.png

Where's the insurance disc?

yfn9.png

I hand over my International Driver's Licence and explain that the Insurance Disc is not displayed as we were warned that they will steal it off the bike.

9eyp.png

I show the disc. It is thoroughly checked.

kmdn.png

"Where you from and where you going?". I do the whole explanation bit.

ttis.png

I get good wishes for my trip, a farewell salute..........................

dtbu.png

.....and I am back on the road again.

Sorry to disappoint you, nothing sensational happened, but I could not resist a bit of stringing along.         :spitcoffee:

The pink walled residence below was apparently Robert Mugabe's accommodation during his exile.

Then, a properly drilled drill rig.

• Mugabe's exile accomodation.png
    Mugabe's exile accomodation.png
    343 KB
  • Properly drilled.png
    Properly drilled.png
    381.8 KB
Hay guys. a quick update from Malawi. After 11 countries and 30,000km my poor ktm has had enough and wants to be carried back to SA. Its been such an awome adventure and I will be sad spending the last three days of my trip sitting on a bus to cape town. But to be honest after the best part of a year on the road and sleeping in a tent I am really looking foward to some home comforts again. Thankyou Africa for such an amazing adventure.

kiwiMatt said:
Hay guys. a quick update from Malawi. After 11 countries and 30,000km my poor ktm has had enough and wants to be carried back to SA. Its been such an awome adventure and I will be sad spending the last three days of my trip sitting on a bus to cape town. But to be honest after the best part of a year on the road and sleeping in a tent I am really looking foward to some home comforts again. Thankyou Africa for such an amazing adventure.

Matt, so good to hear from you again.

Give more details. When will you be in Cape Town? I am doing a trip through the Karoo and Cederberg and will be close to Cape Town soon. What is happening with the bike? Do you need any help?

whitedelight said:
Lekker to meet you yesterday,hope the rest of your trip is a great one

Good to meet you guys as well.

Just for the record, I did the ride down to Wupperthal (despite the warnings) and it was challenging but absolutely worth it.  :thumleft:

I have to admit, very sheepishly, that I fell over, not on the challenging parts, but after I stopped to take a photo and my boot hooked on the bike. Had to unpack the bike to get it upright.  :lol8:

Best wishes for 2014.

DASKOP said:
whitedelight said:
Lekker to meet you yesterday,hope the rest of your trip is a great one

Good to meet you guys as well.

Just for the record, I did the ride down to Wupperthal (despite the warnings) and it was challenging but absolutely worth it.  :thumleft:

I have to admit, very sheepishly, that I fell over, but not on the challenging parts, but after I stopped to take a photo and my boot hooked on the bike. Had to unpack the bike to get it upright.  :lol8:

Best wishes for 2014.

Cool glad you made it through. :thumleft:

On with the RR.

The first section from Lilongwe to Blantyre was just normal tar riding, but I was to regret the decision to leave at such a late stage of the day.

Spotted the inevitable vehicle abuse that is so common.

• Kuche Kuche, here we come.JPG
    Kuche Kuche, here we come.JPG
    84.4 KB
  • 386.JPG
    386.JPG
    71.4 KB
  • 384.JPG
    384.JPG
    97.7 KB
  • 383.JPG
    383.JPG
    75.1 KB
  • 382.JPG
    382.JPG
    77.8 KB
  • 379.JPG
    379.JPG
    76.4 KB
Apart from the last few photos before sunset, my experience in the dark is without visual footage. I had to concentrate on staying alive, there was no time for anything else.

The last 80 odd km, I prayed myself through.

It was a situation that would fill any sane person with fear.

There would be two sets of highlights coming at you, so you decide to pull off the road and then the vehicle behind you, which was riding right up your tail, with his headlights on bright, will overtake you, heading right at these headlights and then swerve off onto the verge, kick up dust so that you could not see whether there is a donga on the side of the road where you are heading....................it was scary.

As if in answer to my prayers, I landed up behind a truck and trailer that was traveling at a sane speed and not trying to overtake every vehicle that he encountered. I stuck behind him all the way for about 40 km, trusting that he would provide a buffer for me and, at the same time, trying to just stay away from the continuous flow of vehicles that would come up from behind and try to ride as close to me before overtaking at random, not where it is safe, just randomly.

Nothing that I write here can give you any idea of the severity of the situation. I was gripping the bike handles so hard that my hands started cramping.

Eventually, we arrive on the outskirts of Blantyre and my guardian angel in the truck pulls off the road and the next instalment of my nightmare starts......................

• Last daylight section  (5).png
    Last daylight section (5).png
    361.8 KB
  • Last daylight section  (2).png
    Last daylight section (2).png
    378.1 KB
  • Last daylight section  (3).png
    Last daylight section (3).png
    384.9 KB
  • Last daylight section  (1).png
    Last daylight section (1).png
    359.1 KB
  • Last daylight section  (4).png
    Last daylight section (4).png
    384.3 KB
Then, a different type of chaos.......................

All of a sudden, I am surrounded by a cacophony of loud music. The road is lined with taverns, music blaring, people everywhere, animals crossing the road, trucks, taxis and buses stopped all over. All kinds of vehicles on the move in both directions. There are no street lights, only the lights in the taverns and shops. It is a daunting situation.

Now, I have to concentrate on driving slowly, avoiding hitting any of these random objects moving around all over. I am seriously regretting not staying over in Lilongwe. To top it all, I have a mate there that offered me accommodation at a lodge. How dof can you get!!!!!!!!!!!!!

At last, I am in the lit area of Blantyre at a service station. I sit there on the bike for a while, trying to settle my nerves, so grateful that my prayers were answered and I arrived safely. I phone my mate, Rhys, and he gives me directions to Illovo Sugar's offices further down the road. I drive there and get ushered in by the security. They have been expecting me and phone Rhys to inform him that I have arrived.

A short while later, Rhys arrives to escort me to his house. I could have kissed him at that stage, I was so grateful to see a familiar face.

at his house, there are some of his mates and I am welcomed like some great explorer. A great meal has been prepared and dinner time had been postponed for my arrival. What magnificent friends they have proven to be.

Adventure biking is great.

Here are some photos of the road into Blantyre that I did at night. So much easier during daytime.

I went to Majete National Park in order to see some animals and these photos were taken on the way back.

• Riding into Blantyre (2).png
    Riding into Blantyre (2).png
    408.1 KB
  • Riding into Blantyre (5).png
    Riding into Blantyre (5).png
    423.2 KB
  • Riding into Blantyre (4).png
    Riding into Blantyre (4).png
    401.2 KB
  • Riding into Blantyre (3).png
    Riding into Blantyre (3).png
    425.9 KB
  • Riding into Blantyre (1).png
    Riding into Blantyre (1).png
    398.6 KB
So now whats up , is this the end ?? Are we going to hear about the rest of your trip , its 2014 already !!

Me thinks he got Hi Jacked ? may be .. as i have not seen him in a year....

Im in cape town now. im going to try get the bike fixed then sell it.

It has been holiday time, so I did a 4000km trip through the greater Karoo, Klein Karoo. Moordenaars Karoo, Tankwa, Sederberg, CPT, Pearly Beach and some other places I have never been to. Hopefully I can get to that RR one day.

Then did a Baviaanskloof trip, followed by a father and son road trip in the bakkie.

I will continue with the Africa RR soon.

Matt, I thought you would fix the bike and do a South African coastal tour towards PE. Would be great to see you again. Do you have some photos to share?

Saw very little game on my trip and decided to visist Majete National Park to see some.

$45 - quoted over the phone. Got there and they wanted to charge more. Eventually got hold of the right person, got it sorted and got my guided trip. The guide was very knowledgeable. Saw quite a few buck species, none of the recently introduced lion, some elephants on the other side of the river, hippos far away, 1 lonely croc sharing a rocky outcrop with the hippos and more buck.

• Majete National Park (1).jpg
    Majete National Park (1).jpg
    109.3 KB
  • Majete National Park (1).png
    Majete National Park (1).png
    450 KB
  • Majete National Park (2).png
    Majete National Park (2).png
    470.2 KB
  • Majete National Park (3).png
    Majete National Park (3).png
    491.6 KB
  • Majete National Park (5).jpg
    Majete National Park (5).jpg
    153 KB
  • Majete National Park (6).png
    Majete National Park (6).png
    436 KB
More Majete photos.

• Majete National Park (7).png
    Majete National Park (7).png
    407.7 KB
  • Majete National Park (8).png
    Majete National Park (8).png
    452.5 KB
  • Majete National Park (10).png
    Majete National Park (10).png
    443 KB
  • Majete National Park (11).png
    Majete National Park (11).png
    475 KB
  • Majete National Park (12).png
    Majete National Park (12).png
    431.3 KB
Had to move trees broken by elephants out of the road.

Elephants were on the other side of the river.

• Majete National Park (9).png
    Majete National Park (9).png
    487.6 KB
  • Majete National Park (13).png
    Majete National Park (13).png
    379.2 KB