Kaokoland: a perspective from a pink bike

Hi Zanie, we are all waiting in great anticipation for the rest !!

Sorry all. You will have to bear with me here. Lance and I have recently tried to set aside an hour on week-night evenings to work on this. Weekend is bike time though. >:D So it is progressing slowly, but it is progressing at least.

Day 5: Epupa Falls to Van Zyl's Camp (145 km)

Video of day 5:
[flash=900,506]https://www.youtube.com/v/8MBw9aJPD58[/flash]

Today’s route distance was the shortest yet of the trip (but not the shortest overall). When applying the law of shorter distance = more technical, it was an indication that today the fun starts!

Waking up to a view of bikes and Ian. Let’s hope Lance was wearing underwear or else there’s a whole new meaning to Ian’s smile.

48222130561_551b7326b2_b.jpg

48222130376_02317ea302_b.jpg

The 690 getting a loving lubing:
48222130171_c7d48f41ef_b.jpg

Breakfast was the egg-and-bacon jaffles we did not have time to munch yesterday.

Lance looked like he suspected Kobus of mass murder. Maybe of jaffles…

48222183742_f6029c2aa6_b.jpg

Everyone happily partaking off the mass jaffle murder:
48222129726_ae9310576f_b.jpg

Lance and I decided to risk going to the Epupa Falls view point before we commenced with the day’s journey. I guess you cannot sneak into a place on motorbikes. Despite the early-ish hour, the collector-of-the-R40-per-person fee was on the ball. Thanks to a lack of change, we coughed up R100 in total. The light was also not great. Oh well. You only live once.

The place is great for sundowners, with chairs stationed beneath a shady structure.

48223853011_af3ea430ca_b.jpg

The falls span a huge area:
48223909192_9230e6071d_b.jpg

48222129786_3de615c632_b.jpg

Heading back down the viewing hill:
48223909092_3750504e05_b.jpg

Pretty scenery:
48223908932_bb525a6e5a_b.jpg

From the photos above and below, you can see our luggage set-up: the bare minimum on our backs (water, snacks, soft-brim hat and slops), a handlebar bag for a wallet and cell phone (a.k.a. camera – it was in flight mode to extend battery life), and spare fuel and basic repair tools, including tubes for both bikes and a mini compressor, on the back of the Rally.

My aquapack could carry 3 litres, but that weight hurt my back, so I kept it to 2 litres. I’m able to survive on quite little water. The most I drank during riding on any day was 3 litres (I had to fill up again halfway through the day).

Hardy told everyone to take a sachet of Rehidrat every morning and evening. I thought it was a gimmick, but it really does work. I sometimes get a dehydration headache after a day out riding. I never got one during this trip and felt super throughout.

Rally with back-up tools and fuel:
48223908857_69eb8741fd_b.jpg

A local young cattle herder on his steed, no back-up fuel required:

48223852616_03fc428755_b.jpg

According to custom, a shady tree sprouted bikers.
48222129481_8375e9c441_b.jpg

Tired bikers.
48222183152_4dbdd250d2_b.jpg

At least, most rested. It didn’t take long for a couple of the crazies, Lance included, to head off down the nearby riverbed just for kicks and giggles.

48223908717_4fa9b59858_b.jpg

48223852476_508c45cd19_b.jpg

The group dispersed from this point onwards. Actually, let me rephrase that. The fast okes f***d off! Lance resigned himself to a sedate trundle with me and whoever else happened to be hanging around at the back. Today it Ian, largely because he had lost touch with the middle-to-front runners and trusted Lance’s navigation skills more than his own. Abel, the brand-new-to-multi-day-off-road-trips-guy, rounded out our little back-markers group.

Chilling at 44 in the 80 zone:
48223908557_3a79988d5b_b.jpg

Ian awaiting guidance below. Lance had already communicated to me via the comms that right was right, despite the road sign.

48223852071_5d968a24bf_b.jpg

Funky tree with “spaghetti arms”:
48223908512_94a65c951b_b.jpg

Ian ride-by:
48223852241_e5c16cfe41_b.jpg

The road became interesting.

48223852151_5a35eb60c6_b.jpg

48223908167_b13c87a925_b.jpg

48223851926_a5dcfa20bb_b.jpg

48223851856_146dfa0a91_b.jpg

Very interesting!

48223907822_e3cd8ec980_b.jpg

48223907722_295f1269d7_b.jpg

This may have precipitated the hand-signals we saw from Ian.

WTF?
48223907617_b7b02459ee_b.jpg

Rocky step-up.

48223907527_aef82bf537_b.jpg

Lance figured we could do with a rest in the shade. The temperature was hot and we needed a rest after “interesting”. A patch of deep shade beckoned back where we came from; a bit off the track down a river bed.

See it?

48223851296_d65933e2ba_b.jpg

Ian had to extricate himself from an awkward parking spot. I suspect he was there in the first place due to the close proximity of dappled shade.

48223851206_86a16b3e1e_b.jpg

Lance couldn’t resist a recce of the riverbed; shooting past the shade. I knew what he was doing, so I didn’t follow. My mission was shade, not madness.

48223907237_11229e7fa0_b.jpg

48223851051_bc4ffbc3ec_b.jpg

Ian followed trustingly and got sand for his faith.

48223907012_d6304c9048_b.jpg

Shady bliss!
48222129311_beb586cf8f_b.jpg

We rested until Abel caught up, along with the sweepers: Hardy, Kobus and the back-up vehicle.

Kobus in the zone:
48223906922_f3d9f389f1_b.jpg

Trying to find the zone:
48223850761_4865438bcb_b.jpg

From the above pic you can see I stupidly forgot to tie the aqua-pack straps to my waist. It was annoying and scary when I forgot, because it would eventually hook onto the bike and jerk me downwards.

Fun riding:
48223850651_1423c1c346_b.jpg

48223906597_72db04d7f6_b.jpg

The back-up vehicle waiting for us to pass:
48223906517_1ca19af32d_b.jpg

48223850401_3affa3e5b7_b.jpg

It was on this day that I realized I made the right choice of bike. Scary dual-sport riding was turned into something resembling a marathon funduro.

48223906337_98cb69dee1_b.jpg

48223850281_acfed84a85_b.jpg

48223906017_8b2095c030_b.jpg

Abel was facing the worst conditions he ever had to tackle in his newly-fledged dual-sport riding hobby. This was a very extreme introduction! And it was going to get much worse…

Abel resting, with Kobus offering moral support (or riding tips):

48223850156_e42399d803_b.jpg

Not that we didn’t rest!

48223849746_3027dea31a_b.jpg

Hardy watching over all the ‘laatlammetjies’ and ‘agterosse’.

48223905882_376dfd4d66_b.jpg

Lance and I were commenting to each other that we were glad Ian was stuck with us. He had more experience than Abel and was gaining confidence at breakneck pace. He was at that dangerous point in the learning curve where confidence overtakes skill. We’ve all been there. Lance and I both have busted bones to show for it. We were scared Ian was going to write himself off! Campfire banter would not be the same without our lead joker.

As mentioned previously (I think) Abel and Ian seemed to compete on the number of falls. Abel’s falls did more damage to bike and person. Ian seems to be made of rubber or some other bouncy substance.

‘Spot the difference’, with Abel and Ian:
48223849666_af1e096937_b.jpg

Soon we were on our way again, and Lance was fighting with the local flora:

48223905617_ca6056ba35_b.jpg

The road gave us a scenic reprieve…

48223905527_dc7fbbb214_b.jpg

48223905417_5715a884d9_b.jpg

48223849281_edc303ccd0_b.jpg

48223905272_21ee293761_b.jpg

48223905202_9b0c28c79d_b.jpg

48223905132_2653dfb528_b.jpg

48223904977_4ccbcd14ae_b.jpg

…before it turned into sand!

48223905027_e10c60e6d6_b.jpg

Hardy zoomed past us, exclaiming “We have problems here!”

48223848706_73b76ff578_b.jpg

He knew what was going to happen:
48223848616_8c970f8923_b.jpg

Sure enough, Abel was down, with his foot pinned beneath the bike.

Hardy trying to park his bike in a preferably upright position, with Abel patiently awaiting rescue in the background:

48223904742_0421595f13_b.jpg

Thankfully no serious damage.

48223848396_fa58e2c8b9_b.jpg

Ian styling some ‘sand-snakes’ before joining us:

48223904592_27e62e3316_b.jpg

“Was that me?”
48223904532_82537a514f_b.jpg

A recuperating rest-stop was just what the doctor ordered.

48222182822_16b76645f1_b.jpg

It wasn’t just the people that needed doctoring. Kobus’s KTM was misbehaving. It was a mystery issue that caused it to run like a sick cheetah – still fast, but a bit out of breath. The symptoms were blamed at various points in time on the air filter, the air box, and the universe. The universe hit back with a flat tyre.

When everything else has been tried, sometimes all you can do is sit and stare:

48223907872_45fa3097ff_b.jpg

All good things must come to an end, so we headed out onto the sand again.

48223904467_114278c19d_b.jpg

Actually everything must come to an end, even sand.

48223904397_3cbcf93054_b.jpg

Though the sand still enjoyed cameo appearances throughout the day.

48223904302_fea7ac38d7_b.jpg

48223904202_c9dcd52283_b.jpg

There were many, many 4x4s out today. Some were awake and observant. Others bloody clueless. The latter insult is levelled at those bright sparks who did not make room for the faster bikes to go past.

We passed these two relatively painlessly:

48223904077_3f5d571c3d_b.jpg

A rare sight in Namibia: multiple water crossings!

48223904007_5771579571_b.jpg

48223847596_d8e7f81bda_b.jpg

A non-rare sight for the next couple of days: rocky roads.

48223847521_279fea159a_b.jpg

48223903732_dbd1db4398_b.jpg

48223847326_574b7002ac_b.jpg

48223903567_8f20214dcd_b.jpg

48223847146_19a4c3efea_b.jpg

Another herd of 4x4s, at least stationary:

48223847046_70df0cf4ec_b.jpg

Fighting with a bush or sand (either are equally likely):

48223903177_dc47b581bb_b.jpg

It was just Lance and I for this stretch. I think Ian had those wings Red Bull gives you.

48223846716_7881e81875_b.jpg

48223903302_71d0c56157_b.jpg

48223846466_c53838ea03_b.jpg

48223846576_d1b366c040_b.jpg

48223902862_4a488c6584_b.jpg

We did catch up with Ian; only because he stopped at a shady bush. Ian was fantasizing about a cold drink, along the lines of: “I could murder a Coke now.” The universe heard him and provided, in the form of two kind gents in a bestickered 4x4.

48223846296_74d93295a9_b.jpg

Coke was not the only beverage on offer, but we had a day to conquer. Anyway, the way Mr Moustache pours drinks could probably kill you. Or make you a sand-riding god, since you’ll be astral-planing in an alternate dimension with no sand.

That glass only had the tiniest smidgeon of Coke…
48223902702_5d1b2efb85_b.jpg

Refreshed, we headed off again. Ian disappeared into the distance. Apparently Coke can give you wings too.

48223846196_b2a37149b1_b.jpg

The terrain kept switching from rocks to sand and back. Either way, it was equally beautiful and kept you on your toes! Or more like it kept you off your seat. My legs were burning from all the sit-stand-sit squats.

48223902547_d6be19c0e6_b.jpg

48223845971_27846b687a_b.jpg

48223902317_515922e7d7_b.jpg

48223902237_0deea350e9_b.jpg

48223845686_907f239e45_b.jpg

48223902007_31d6a8458b_b.jpg

48223845271_4dbb864567_b.jpg

48223901542_5771039c0e_b.jpg

One of Lance’s few falls happened here, on rock-hard-concrete sand. One of the panels cracked. Lance did offer to replace it after the trip, but I’ve heard rumours that the panels are pricy and if the damage doesn’t affect the functioning of the bike, I’m not too worried.

48223845741_ddce365454_b.jpg

Mini-crack:
50026727767_bbd1903886_z.jpg

I always wonder what people do in these small middle-of-nowhere villages.

48223901912_6f0831c70d_b.jpg

Farm sheep…?

48223845456_52eb2600e6_b.jpg

Either that or farm rocks.

48223901697_95474d4b7e_b.jpg

We caught up with Abel, who had passed us while we were having our Coke break.

48223845066_36af5962a8_b.jpg

We had also been passed by the herd of 4x4s.

48223844956_97225cc179_b.jpg

48223844846_f5d904ffb6_b.jpg

Most of the drivers were oblivious; making it rather difficult to pass them on the narrow track.

48223901127_ba82bbbff1_b.jpg

Engage skill: dodgem.

Weave right!
48223844596_8983c11788_b.jpg

Weave left!
48223844521_afccfb615b_b.jpg

Weave right again!
48223844411_3ca48f9aa2_b.jpg

Engage emotion: frustration.

48223844316_f3f8e24b88_b.jpg

We eventually managed to squeeze past, because the cars slowed down to a crawl with the ever-deteriorating road conditions. They can’t go as fast as the bikes over this:

48223900707_6f903e6439_b.jpg

48223844176_b462a70f9e_b.jpg

48223900502_a5dc5939ca_b.jpg

Day 5 continued

The group was starting to bunch together again, and we spotted some almost-forgotten faces. Today I gained new respect for Gordon and it only grew as the road conditions worsened. He was on the heaviest bike of the group, a 230-odd kg 750 Africa Twin, but he could ride!

Gordon disappearing into the distance:
48223843996_4b1f55df86_b.jpg

The road was bad no matter if you picked the left or right line:

48223843926_39d0955305_b.jpg

And it just got worse…

A moment of pause, to think about life and why the hell I’m here:

48223843856_5b3c3f7eea_b.jpg

Once you hit the rocky slope, there’s no stopping until you get to the bottom, unless you want to risk a fall. I placed my trust in my bike and just clung on for dear life. I’m not good at choosing the best lines, but commitment seems to matter more than the line.

Obviously the strategy worked. I heard a worried Lance over the comms: “Hey! Why are you running away? Don’t go so fast!”

48223843756_7a4dcb9e43_b.jpg

There was a scary, steep and rocky jumbled mess. I executed the whatever-line-goes-commitment strategy and survived. Next it was Lance’s turn.

Lance: “What the hell’s going on here?”
Me: “Any line!”
Lance: “Pick one? I don’t like these lines!”

It seems that guys have commitment issues.

48223900107_4dfb6b517a_b.jpg

A lot of three-dimensional data is lost on footage or photos…

48223843576_336cddabba_b.jpg

Lance found his line:
48223843486_7a2d194865_b.jpg

The slightly-less-grand canyon:

48223899862_0b4b26a138_b.jpg

Which side looks better? Left?

48223899712_13b68a6d21_b.jpg

Nope. Left is bad too.

48223843161_9016eb3069_b.jpg

Most of us regrouped for a last breather before the big challenge of the day. You heard right. All the riding so far was a taster. We had this enigma dubbed “Heartbreak Hill” to look forward to. Most of the day Lance and I kept wondering “Is this Heartbreak Hill?” whenever we hit a particularly rough patch.

The fast guys (Henk, Hennie R, Brian and Duncan) were long gone. They’d arrived about two years earlier, with Brian riding up-and-down laps of Heartbreak Hill just for kicks and giggles….

Bertie was usually racing up-front with Henk, so that may be why he looks a bit awkward in the presence of the middle-to-back-group.

Left to right: Gordon, Craig, Lance, Bertie and Hardy. It looks like a Bikers Anonymous meeting.

48222182602_d1e58ee4e1_b.jpg

Oubones (Hennie D) and Pete. Obviously no need for larger group counselling.

48222182382_f8fcd06ee2_b.jpg

Abel joined us eventually; slow but steady.

48223899547_84a871ba17_b.jpg

I can only imagine what was going through his head. When you’ve had the most technical day’s riding ever, you don’t want to see this…Heartbreak Hill.

48223842941_a5fff84463_b.jpg

Abel is a triathlon athlete though, so he is used to switching between disciples. Mountain climbing and weight-lifting were also part of the skill-set. Translation: walking up Heartbreak Hill with all your biker kit. Lance, the eternal nutter, took Abel’s bike up the hill.

On a bike he’s never ridden before, tackling a hill he hasn’t scoped:

48223897192_af1965f6f8_b.jpg

Apparently the larger Honda was also a lot taller than the Rally he was now used to.

48223897092_72c70c15a7_b.jpg

The rocks appear to coalesce and grow the further you go:

48223842866_cd9082d7a5_b.jpg

The middle section looked bad…
48223842781_b98bd8f4f2_b.jpg

48223899157_c245d3cfea_b.jpg

…but it was the top that was the most problematic.

48223898732_acc6405fc9_b.jpg

A last rocky ridge presented a final fall-inducing barrier.

48223899077_d2ce425242_b.jpg

Lance was not exempt from gravity.

48223898967_3e591bc879_b.jpg

Neither was Bertie.

48223898842_26bd9873a7_b.jpg

Back up and ready to go, on the bump that caused many a mishap.

48223842371_9e6c073ed1_b.jpg

I stationed myself midway, yelling when the coast was clear for the next bike. You wanted an unobstructed run-up here!

Lance made his way down to offer assistance and to capture the moments of mishap by GoPro (the real reason of course).

Next up was Pete.

48223897007_223a2fa851_b.jpg

He made an impressive start, with dust flying.

48223898652_2c5b87bbe7_b.jpg

48223898587_d7bcbab0dd_b.jpg

48223898482_e0bda265a4_b.jpg

Things unraveled at the three-quarter mark.

48223841876_f31c7b9185_b.jpg

It looked like quite a hard fall!

48223841776_90a08bf36c_b.jpg

It was a hard fall. Hard enough to wedge the front brake lever beneath the handguard. In this position, it could not be pulled in entirely. Pete had to tackle the rest of the hill minus a front brake…

48223841651_1b7a76d114_b.jpg

It makes it extremely difficult, because your front brake is your “handbrake”, needed to keep you in one spot while you build up revs and nerves to tackle the next obstacle.

48223898107_410fbacb29_b.jpg

Pete made it near the top, before he bought the next plot.

48223841446_36135b7b44_b.jpg

How to get on without the bike rolling back?

48223897912_b197be64fa_b.jpg

Lance held the bike stationary while Pete got back on his steed. Note that all a biker needs to fix anything (in this case, a boot) is some cable ties and/or duct tape.

48223841276_17c8053d12_b.jpg

A rock blocked Pete’s back wheel…

48223841211_6dcaebc938_b.jpg

…and the bike rolled the moment he left off the gas. (Note Abel making his way up the hard way!)

48223841126_280b62f191_b.jpg

Anyone will be tired of falling at this point in time. There’s only so much punishment a human body and spirit can take. Lance tried his hand at moving the brakeless bike forward. He also had to sacrifice a bit of body/soul to the earth!

The lack of front brake really catches you unaware. I’ve ridden a bike with a snapped-off front brake and no matter how many times you try to remind yourself that you have no front brake, you’ll only really remember when you reach for it.

Case in point: Lance finally reaching the top on the DR and then trying to hit non-existent brakes before he hit Abel’s Honda! He had just enough time to change tack to the back. It was close.

48223897607_0782e9f198_b.jpg

Craig the Camelman was next. He stayed upright and threw rocks at anyone who dared to get close.

48223840846_5ebbfbd6fa_b.jpg

48223840761_ea770002ea_b.jpg

48223897317_b69c8cabb9_b.jpg

Then it was Gordon; the big guy on the big bike.

48223840316_07813ea692_b.jpg

48223840236_10ca3b4049_b.jpg

He got distracted by a rock.

48223840211_07bc3ca0a2_b.jpg

Such a beautiful rock…
48223840066_d7d61a12df_b.jpg

…from any angle.
48223896492_ee252b02da_b.jpg

No-nonsense pose reinstalled and back in business.

48223896422_3522908ce9_b.jpg

He rode this bike as if it was a much smaller object.

48223896332_6c15fd11ed_b.jpg

Nope. Not small. It also moved rocks.

48223839751_4d1065fdeb_b.jpg

Gordon got caught out at the top, as many did, but he was a dot on the footage, so there’s no picture. I think he planned it that way.

Hardy zipped past. I now know the secret to the ease of his riding. He doesn’t ride. He floats on a bike hovercraft. I kid you not. Do you see any tyres on the ground?

48223896147_db35dd297c_b.jpg

Oubones chugged past on the old KLR. No fanfare. No drama. That’s the older generation for you.

48223895987_a266ca0dd8_b.jpg

48223839491_508d806771_b.jpg

A vehicle not from our group headed through. Watching its tortuous journey reminded me just why I’d never want to drive a car here.

48223895812_c2dbbed0bc_b.jpg

The clock was ticking. That 4x4 was one of a group – a group that was getting restless. We needed to move. Lance abandoned his filming post and rode the Rally up.

48223894867_0c5587706a_b.jpg

48223839301_c1c60609b4_b.jpg

48223894617_d104c1d567_b.jpg

48223894597_c5885077af_b.jpg

48223839281_f93eb7874e_b.jpg

48223839051_3b5295544e_b.jpg

48223895437_445fd65dce_b.jpg

Ian was in such a hurry…

48223895372_e241f2aaac_b.jpg

…that he almost went into a tree! He charted a completely new path to the top.

48223838831_715c735372_b.jpg

Now how to get out of this precarious situation?

48223895002_aef7585f37_b.jpg

Ian was there to undo all the grey hairs the rest of us gave Hardy, through comedic relief.

48223895097_7c2623681b_b.jpg

It was my turn. This is going to start sounding like a stuck record: but I was so very grateful I was on a miniature bike! I would have struggled even on the little Rally.

I even look like I may have skill if the video is paused at very strategic moments:

48223894347_947d1f1a6a_b.jpg

The same strategic pause strategy does reveal some epic failures, but (again) not as epic as the snapshot may have you believe!

48223837776_46c157b36a_b.jpg

I obviously don’t subscribe to Monopoly. No plots were bought, by miracle or fluke. I did need help though on that last stubborn rock bump.

48223894167_c9a4ef8a23_b.jpg

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Bounce:
48223894132_ae991cc045_b.jpg

Stall:
48223837291_7940f41f76_b.jpg

Kobus has a very tall bike, but his super-spidey long legs prevented a tip-over.

48223893922_e70076c157_b.jpg

Is that smoke?
48223893622_a247ece7b6_b.jpg

There was a last rocky section…

48223836956_acf4659df7_b.jpg

48223893167_76674791d8_b.jpg

48223836441_eb70fe2f46_b.jpg

…before things turned sandy again. Did you know that sand can look welcoming?

48223835586_cf44e9a5f7_b.jpg

48223892162_9b040293de_b.jpg

Whenever the ground turned hard, it was easy to miss the main track, especially since there were a couple of tracks crisscrossing the landscape.

48223836161_99e78b54f3_b.jpg

48223892672_78b1283e87_b.jpg

I’m sure these people know exactly where they are.

48223835771_bd4bc6cf73_b.jpg

This is not working out. Lance instructs us to try another direction.

48223891892_fe91483074_b.jpg

Now where is that road?

48223891717_2dc2ac6a49_b.jpg

Bingo!

48223835071_19a5198212_z.jpg

48223834876_0fdae39b7c_b.jpg

The last bit of variegated riding of the day:

48223891417_5449524bb3_b.jpg

48223834461_97c907e0d3_b.jpg

48223891057_23d36f7f58_b.jpg

48223834356_4d462a1a90_b.jpg

48223834186_dfbee3691d_b.jpg

48223834071_b4a3eba46a_b.jpg

48223833891_8bbee5ed29_b.jpg

48223890237_9470b760de_b.jpg

The grand finale was a sandy riverbed crossing...

48223890037_aca7571213_b.jpg

…that Lance was more than happy to extend…

48223833071_db7fac7377_b.jpg

…before ending at the big campsite tree…

48222124867_742a2efcda_b.jpg

…where the front-runners were waiting in their half-naked manliness.

48222182217_92aa86b9f9_b.jpg

Note an object of jealousy during this trip: Lance’s riding shorts. He bought them as mountain bike shorts, but they are made of tough biker-material stuff. He wore them along with soft knee guards and MX boots.

Lance was quick to de-kit. The men get all the perks. If you’re wondering why the men are trying to “cool down” at the fire: they were trying to hide from the muggies in the smoke.

48222128401_ba4b869f8d_b.jpg

It had been a long day…

48222181652_f9c3c9915b_b.jpg

…and riding kit was stiff from sweat…

48222181362_1d18b53ca9_b.jpg

…but now we were here; at the beautiful Van Zyl’s Campsite.

48222128221_c41a80c503_b.jpg

We watched the last couple of riders arrive. Gordon’s entrance was the most spectacular, with his big earth-moving machinery.

48223832831_b42d691289_b.jpg

Abel’s bike was a bit worse for wear after the day. It picked up some relatively serious damage and was leaking oil.

48222127691_8fa797b37b_b.jpg

The damage to the oil filter cover warped the metal in such a way that it did not seal properly. Hardy and Kobus did their best to wangle a temporary fix.

Aside: Sincere apologies to Abel if the damage was caused by Lance’s fall while taking the bike up Heartbreak Hill!

48222181557_7d2078160a_b.jpg

There were ablution facilities, but the toilets were no longer functional. You had to go for a bit of a hike to find a private spot for a veldtie. At least the “bathroom” had a beautiful setting!

The showers and taps were functional on arrival. I had a cold-water shower after the long hot day to refresh. Hot water was available though…until later that night, when all the water ran out. We suspect the water pumps were solar powered. No sun = no water.

Lance heading to the semi-functional ablution facilities:
48222128236_331000ee34_b.jpg

Despite the lack of ablution facilities, this was still a gem of a spot. I really enjoyed these middle-of-nowhere places.

We feared mozzies, due to the earlier muggie invasion, so we pitched a tent. It turns out we needn’t have bothered. Unlike the muggies, the mozzies weren’t wild out here.

Our digs for the night:
48222181222_2014b5f89b_b.jpg

Supper consisted of good old braai food: wors, chops and salad.

It had been a tough day: 7 hours to cover just over 140 km. Tomorrow’s distance was only 60-odd km. Using the distance-difficulty inverse law, tomorrow will be even harder…

If we thought today was difficult, we ain’t seen nuthin’ yet!

Zanie and Lance - Thank you for this amazing ride report.I can imagine the time it must take to compile.
It is also one of the few ride reports that actually captures the essence of the technicality of the conditions.
As a footnote I would like to ad that Zanie is the first girl to do Van Zyls and Kaokoland with Specialised Adventures without once handing her bike to someone else to overcome any obstacles.
I think this record may stand for a long time.
Even though only on day five of eleven I think this ride report is heading towards the roll of honour.

Thanks for the kind words dirt rat. I hoped to do the road conditions and the area justice. It is a stunning, but treacherous place. We have Lance and his GoPro to thank. Almost all of the 'photos' are from his footage. He also spent a couple of hours doing a quick "prettify" of all 214 photos used for day 5 in Lightroom.

On Van Zyl's Pass, it must be noted that I had a distinct advantage: a 115 kg bike! I also needed plenty of assistance. I don't think I would have survived this trip on a heavier bike.  :eek:

Thanks TVB.

General comment: It seems that I forgot to reduce the size of the photos before uploading to Flickr. I've resized and relinked all the photos, so the page should load faster now (47 MB of photos, rather than 159 MB).  :eek:

Two hours of labour later. I won't do that again in a hurry...

Thank you for sharing all the photos Zanie, this really brings back great memories. The road looks just as I remembered! My camera bombed out when we were on the Honda Quest and I couldn't get any recording done. I can't wait to show your photos to HSK [member=2800]Hondsekierie[/member] . We really want to go back and do it again soon (on the 500s this time :p ). This is one of the most incredible adventure routes I've ever done at least. It is great to see more people sharing in this magical (and life changing) experience. :thumleft:

Thank you Zanie and Lance for a really fascinating ride report. Excellent footage and descriptions. We enjoy sharing your adventurous experience.

:sip: Fantastic stuff...
Respect to do this tough route (even on a miniature bike :biggrin:)

Wow what a great report!
Thanks so much! Am very impressed those photos can be grabbed from the gopro. Hours of footage and you guys made it look amazing.
I have looked at this trip and all the  previous ride reports and the fantastic setup..... for a while and sadly today, after watching the video and looking through the photos again I have to ask, again....everyone EVERYONE is ATGATT.  No helmet?
Van zyls with a cap? Eish

Minxy said:
We really want to go back and do it again soon (on the 500s this time :p ).

Respect for tackling the routes on a 1000cc bike. :eek: I wouldn't have survived. You handle the big beasts in sand way better than I can. I need an enduro bike to make it to the end.  :-\

Sandvreter said:
Thanks so much! Am very impressed those photos can be grabbed from the gopro.

It actually works quite well and, thanks to the ability of choosing any split-second, you can get really fun caught-in-the-act snaps. Lance does some small touching-up in Lightroom, largely to correct the exposure, and then they're ready to go.

Sandvreter said:
I have looked at this trip and all the  previous ride reports and the fantastic setup..... for a while and sadly today, after watching the video and looking through the photos again I have to ask, again....everyone EVERYONE is ATGATT.  No helmet?
Van zyls with a cap? Eish

Each to his own I suppose. This wasn't a fast day and the helmet appeared when the speed went up. I get more cheesed off at the crazies riding at speed on tar, putting others' lives in danger. If your choice only affects you, then I'm pretty mellow about it. My choice, of course, is to ATGATT it up all the time. I've done my time in plaster/splints and on crutches. It's no fun.

Zanie - what's up ? It has been a while.

This is truly an awesome RR  :thumleft:

Can we get some more, please  :biggrin:

Zanie is busy exploring Croatia from a yellow bike perspective. Its amazing where a 50cc 2stroke scooter can take you, everywhere except a steep uphill.

We were almost done with the Van Zyls pass day story and video but then got distracted  by Croatia so will post it later in September when we get back.

• IMG-20190906-WA0013.jpg
    IMG-20190906-WA0013.jpg
    183.2 KB
  • IMG-20190906-WA0014.jpg
    IMG-20190906-WA0014.jpg
    210 KB
  • IMG-20190906-WA0018.jpg
    IMG-20190906-WA0018.jpg
    205.3 KB
  • IMG-20190906-WA0015.jpg
    IMG-20190906-WA0015.jpg
    293.3 KB
  • IMG-20190906-WA0016.jpg
    IMG-20190906-WA0016.jpg
    266.6 KB
  • IMG-20190906-WA0017.jpg
    IMG-20190906-WA0017.jpg
    142.3 KB
I must humbly apologise to all those who are hanging out in this cobwebbed thread, hoping for something to happen. Lance and I got hit squarely by Murphy's Law as we returned from our trip.

I had taken my work laptop with to Croatia. Not to do "actual" work, but to work on this RR in the quiet periods. When we got back, I transferred all the files back onto our home laptop (a heavy monster of note, which was why I took my work laptop). Guess which file was the only one that got corrupted during that transfer...  :eek7:

All my choices of photos were preserved (they're stored in a separate folder), but the writing for the Van Zyl's day was gone. Two different types of file recovery software (Lance is a developer/programmer, so knows his stuff) and 4-5 days of recovery effort did not mediate the situation.

An even larger horror awaited: Lance's desktop would not switch on. All the work he had put towards a video for that day of the RR was at stake. Thankfully this situation was remedied. The PC death was "only" a dead motherboard. The hard drives were intact! So... one new PC later, and the video could still be completed from where he had left off.

The delay, therefore, has been on my side, as I had to rewrite day 6. I am happy to report that we are almost done (only some 200-odd photos to quick-edit, upload and link), so the next installment should be up within 2-3 days, barring (another) disaster.