Kei Mouth to Coffee Bay - Hole in the Wall. Maps added

Keirider

Kawasaki KLR 650
Monday, browsing through ride reports saw Jamaj was looking for somebody to do a 3 day ride starting the next day. Spoke to Swambo, she said go for it. Contacted Jamaj and told him I am in. We arranged that we would meet at my place in Kei Mouth the next morning.

Started to pack and check the bike etc. Problem, the last time I used the bike I switched it off with the kill switch but forgot to turn ignition off so battery is flat and will not recharge.
Panic stations. Phone bike shop in East London, yes they have one. Paid by eft and organized with Jamaj to pick it up and bring it out with him.

Next morning he arrives and we introduce ourselves. That's what's great about WD's. Two guys who have never met are about to set out on a 3 day ride together.
Put battery in bike and packed tent etc.
Start to plan our ride. Decide there are no plans. Want to be in Coffee Bay in 2 days time, will see where the road leads us.
Our navigation aids are a map bought over the internet and the gps maps on our phones.

Had a good ride up to Centani and then Willowvale. There we decided to head for the camp site at Dwesa.
Bikes at Dwesa gate.
Camp site R200 per night. There is no electricity at sites or in the toilets. So when the sun sets it is really dark. Could not buy wood for a braai. At that price I think there should be some facilities.
Found a shabeen a few k's away and went and got some dop for the evening.
Set up camp and had bully beef and 2 minute noodles for supper.

• Coffee bay (41).JPG
    Coffee bay (41).JPG
    112.4 KB
  • Coffee bay (40).JPG
    Coffee bay (40).JPG
    367.7 KB
  • Coffee bay (39).JPG
    Coffee bay (39).JPG
    342.7 KB
  • Coffee bay (38).JPG
    Coffee bay (38).JPG
    373.2 KB
  • Coffee bay (35).JPG
    Coffee bay (35).JPG
    379.6 KB
  • Coffee bay (34).JPG
    Coffee bay (34).JPG
    270.5 KB
  • Coffee bay (48).JPG
    Coffee bay (48).JPG
    370.4 KB
More pics

• Above Coffee Bay.JPG
    Above Coffee Bay.JPG
    249.3 KB
  • From Camp site.JPG
    From Camp site.JPG
    240 KB
  • Sunrise Coffee Bay.JPG
    Sunrise Coffee Bay.JPG
    167.5 KB
  • River crossing Coffee Bay.JPG
    River crossing Coffee Bay.JPG
    262 KB
  • Toward White Clay.JPG
    Toward White Clay.JPG
    215.2 KB
  • Coffee Bay.JPG
    Coffee Bay.JPG
    283.3 KB
  • View from Camp site.JPG
    View from Camp site.JPG
    471.4 KB
  • Coffee Bay setting up camp.jpg
    Coffee Bay setting up camp.jpg
    234.5 KB
  • Road traveled.JPG
    Road traveled.JPG
    326.2 KB
Jamaj thanks for a great trip

• Sun through trees.JPG
    Sun through trees.JPG
    346.9 KB
  • Hole in the Wall.JPG
    Hole in the Wall.JPG
    310.5 KB
  • Coffee Bay1 (8).JPG
    Coffee Bay1 (8).JPG
    365.2 KB
  • Coffee Bay1 (10).JPG
    Coffee Bay1 (10).JPG
    297.5 KB
  • Petrol stop.JPG
    Petrol stop.JPG
    387.1 KB
Vrek, ma nou's ek jealous............
Dit moes woes lekker gewees het, daai pics lyk stunning :thumleft:

Ahhhh, awesome!!!! On my bucket list to mission down to that place...never seen hole-in-the-wall...gotta get there!!! So beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

EssBee said:
Ahhhh, awesome!!!! On my bucket list to mission down to that place...never seen hole-in-the-wall...gotta get there!!! So beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

Pleasure. The Transkei is a great place to ride. I am lucky to have it right on my doorstep

Ah, but your land is beautiful. Also my favourite part of the world.

You got some stunning shots there my boet!  Awesome report!

Aaah wonderful ride report! I so enjoyed riding out there last year  :thumleft:

Beautiful area!

Keirider that pic of your bike and tent with the sunlight shining though is awesome,
I am moving out to Morgan Bay in about a month, We must hook up

KALLY said:
Keirider that pic of your bike and tent with the sunlight shining though is awesome,

STUNNING pic I agree....

KALLY said:

Yeah Kally that will be great. Will be good to have somebody close by to do a ride with

KALLY said:

Beautiful pics.  Thanks for sharing.

You guys got any idea of routes that you took..? Maybe a map..?
How available is fuel..?
And any tips for riders..? I have heard that camping is risky if not in designated areas.. The locals steal you blind.. True..?

Kally, you will have to invite us on one of your rides please!!!

\missed jamaj;s post. damb!!!