- Reaction score
- Bike
- BMW R1200GS HP2
For the past two years I have had no serious break over December due to the fact that I normally took my leave in June/July to do a longish trip into Africa somewhere. This past year my boss and I had a bit of an argument over leave and the fact that I took leave “in advance” resulting in negative accumulated leave, so I decided to take no leave during the year to accumulate leave for our 2012 trip plus afford me the luxury of a few days leave in December.
My good friend Basil insisted that I come to visit them in Danabaai, he would Stoetie his and his son’s bike down and then we could do some riding while down there while still allowing him some time with his family. Antonie’s current companion of choice also pulled out at the last moment for their camping trip to Lamberts Bay, so he decided to join.
We left Gauteng on Saturday 17 Dec.
A loaded Honey and somewhere to go!
Just before Phillipolis Honey started to splutter so I pulled off at a local garage and tried to sort what I thought was the problem.
About 40 km’s before Colesburg Honey called it the day and dropped a valve which destroyed the motor. See report elsewhere on the forum.
Unhappy owner after his long-time companion let him down.
Well Honey was recovered to Jhb and I was then forced to commence the holiday on the Eishpee. By Sunday night 18 Dec at 11:30pm we were in Dana Bay and ready to start our planned tour. Part of our agenda included a 5 day trip up the west coast to introduce Basil and his family to the sights and sounds of this splendid area.
Here is our group with wife and kids (not so small anymore) and hangers on, ready to start the trip
We followed dirt roads in the area past Stilbaai and eventually made our way to Riebeek West in the WC where we were going to stay at Bottervet’s pozzy before we continue further up the coast.
The gravel roads were generally in better condition than the tar roads
Somewhere near Stilbaai
More pictures in the area
We met with Bottervet here at the Malgaspond – he was going to join us on the rest of the trip
The Pond is operated through manual labour
Fooling around on the Pond While crossing
Not too expensive to cross – last I went past here it cost R5.
Waiting for the family in the pickup
In Bredasdorp we stopped at the Merino Inn to have a quick lunch before continuing to Cape Augulas
We reached the most southern tip of Africa and had to take the obligatory picture
One would have though a name like Skilopatie, or something like that!! Sorry can’t speak the other 9 official languages
Time was running late so after Augulas, we set our GPS for Riebeek and headed there fastest route. Camp was setup in no time and we could indulge in the sights and sounds of life on a farm.
Bottervet prepared 2 Snoek which went down exceptionally well along with sweet potato and KWV 5 Year.
Leo braaied some wors for the people not wanting fish.
The next morning Bottervet took us on the gravel roads in the area which would take us to Moorreesburg
He had arranged for us to have breakfast at Lategans – situated in the main road
The breakfast was well and truly excellent value for money. Do yourself a favour and pop in here next time you pass through town.
Basil and Bottervet proudly displaying their breakfast
She was married to Dozi – the singer. I think her name is Murial.
Menu prices – really good value for money. The French toast with cream, nut, banana, etc is also worth a try.
From here we headed to Paternoster. Just before Vredenburg we turned off onto the Knoppieshoogte road. Lovely little twee spoor.
The road somehow disappeared and we were eventually apprehended by this angry young farmer who showed us the right way after some fairly harsh words. Sorry Sir but the GPS…..
Paternoster – what a quaint little spot, although as of late not so little any more.
…… more Paternoster
Oep ve Koep – a local shop in Paternoster stating that they are open for buying.
The famous panty bar in the Paternoster hotel. Some of these items have been hanging here for 30 plus years.
Rated one of the Top 10 camp sites in SA. Tietiesbaai
From here we headed to Velddrif where we visited the Bokkomlaan
Unique humor from the area.
The Ex Mother in Law
… here they grow “fokkeltjies”
……. And a computer burnout looks like this
The Point at Elandsbaai with seals basking in the son.
From Elandsbaai you travel to Lambertsbay on a gravel road that is tolled.
The money is used to maintain the road which was in a good condition.
Bottervet had his first flat on the Tenere. We managed to fix it in under an hour.
Safely at our destination for the day – Malkoppan Campsite in Lambertsbay
Our neighbours promptly invited us to use their braai and coals to cook our meat. The people on the west coast are very friendly and open.
Leo braaiing some tjops before we tackle the fish the next day.
Early Morning
Our campsite – excellent ablutions
Bottervet had one of those 2 second tents, but fitting into it proved to be a bit of a challenge for a man of his stature.
Campsite
I bought myself some bokkoms to eat, but were not allowed to keep it near anyone/anything, so my HP had to make do!
Bottervet had organised a case of KWV’s finest, so we were well and truly sorted
The next morning we visited the sights and sounds of Lambertsbay – this Malgas eiland
Basil doing his impersonation of a fisherman
We had a quick “Sletsappie” at Isabellas in the harbor
Jean against a splendid backdrop
Bottervet looking hapy with life.
Antonie doing his hooligan thing
Inner peace if one views this sight.
Even the local seals were waving at us – friendly chap.
Jean du Plessis at an award winning photo taken by Jean du Plessis
Soon it was time for us to report at the Muisbosskerm restaurant.
Voted the best open air restaurant in the world.
Do yourself a favour and try to eat here at least once
Antonie getting more “sletsappies”
Food to die for
………..of all kinds and varieties
….. and more
This sweet looking girl agreed to pose with the twee omies. Apparently she is a well-known actress in a popular soap – sorry her name has slipped my mind now.
At 4’ish we were tired from all the “sletsappies”
Bottervet thought it wise to take a nap with his helmet on.
That evening we were invited to a friend in the Lambertsbaai campsite. All 11 of us were invited – they supplied all. We felt obliged to take some KWV.
This guys will entertain you nonstop for ours – Andre who apparently was filmed on one of the episodes of “Maak ‘n Las” with Tolla. He entertained us till the wee hours of the morning.
The next day we had to start our return journey. Yes all good things has to come to an end.
Here’s Bottervet studying the manual to fold that 2 second tent back to shape
Group photo outside Lambertsbay
From here we headed inland to Clainwilliam where we had a quick picnic nexto the dam before continuing our journey through the Cederberg Mountains
Lovely gravel roads through the Cederberg Mountains
Spectacular
…more Cederberg Mountains
Our destination for the day was the Warm Waterberg Spa on the R62 outside Barrydale. It is within a few km’s of Ronnies *** Shop. Of course we had to stop here to have a few more “sletsappies”
World Renowned
The bar is almost a replica of the Panty Bar in Paternoster
Basil had to get him a t-shirt to mark the occasion
Of course as any proper Wild Dog will do – we had to make our mark
The result
Some of the bikes that visited while we were there.
The legend himself photographed here with Ronnie
At the Spa the wind was pumping so we managed to secure a nice spot next to a wall made from riete, else we would have probably been blown to Lainsburg.
Of course one has to swim in the hot spa water
The next morning we popped into Barrydale where we had breakfast at the biker friendly Pumpkin restaurant.
From here we headed for the Trudouw pass
Antonie lost his footing while taking photographs, but managed to hang onto the cliff till we could drag him back to safety
Two beautiful sights
We got home safely and promised ourselves that in 2012 we will be spending more time on the west coast. The people are very friendly and does their absolute best to make one feel welcome.
After our trip we spend some time with the family and only did the odd day trip in and around the area.
These okes seems to know when I don’t have my hunting rifle nearby - Koedoe
Very tame – I guess they are not hunted.
Proof that I was in the area.
On another day we decided to ride the Seven Passes route around Knysna. We picked the wrong day as it was raining, but we rode non the less.
Breakfast at the Wimpy in a crowded Knysna
Basil had enough KWV to last a year and decided to take it a bit slow
We popped into Noetsie for a photo with the well-known castles.
Knysna from a distance
One of the many passes we rode that day as portrayed by the GPS
Awesome
Don’t drop your bike down here – it will take a while to recover.
Rivers were filled with Coke Cola, just waiting to be frizzed and bottled
More Coke going to waste
Taking a break to refuel
… but Santa didn’t deliver
The rain stopped for a moment and Antonie thought it was over, but as he put the last piece of rain suite in his topbox it started again. It rained for the rest of the way.
Safely at home
On another occasion we decided it was time to visit Knysna for some Oysters. The famous Oyster farm is no more, so one has to eat at one of the many restaurants on Thesen Island
Antonie indulging in this aphrodisiac
We also went on a 4X4 trip in Basil’s new D4D. This was a lotta fun although we were not allowed to take any “sletsappies” on track.
This is a competent machine
First time on a 4X4 track with the sea in view. Apparently this track near Vleesbaai has made it to the top 10 for a few years
On 30 Dec, the fun was over and we had to head home. Getting the HP home was a nuisance as one has to stop at almost every town. However fitting a larger tank is not an option as this will turn it into an Adv and will also affect the ergonomics of this awesome machine.
Antonie assisting as my butt was taking strain
Thanks to all for a truly great holiday. :thumleft:
Happy New Year to each and every one!
Many happy and safe miles
My good friend Basil insisted that I come to visit them in Danabaai, he would Stoetie his and his son’s bike down and then we could do some riding while down there while still allowing him some time with his family. Antonie’s current companion of choice also pulled out at the last moment for their camping trip to Lamberts Bay, so he decided to join.
We left Gauteng on Saturday 17 Dec.
A loaded Honey and somewhere to go!
Just before Phillipolis Honey started to splutter so I pulled off at a local garage and tried to sort what I thought was the problem.
About 40 km’s before Colesburg Honey called it the day and dropped a valve which destroyed the motor. See report elsewhere on the forum.
Unhappy owner after his long-time companion let him down.
Well Honey was recovered to Jhb and I was then forced to commence the holiday on the Eishpee. By Sunday night 18 Dec at 11:30pm we were in Dana Bay and ready to start our planned tour. Part of our agenda included a 5 day trip up the west coast to introduce Basil and his family to the sights and sounds of this splendid area.
Here is our group with wife and kids (not so small anymore) and hangers on, ready to start the trip
We followed dirt roads in the area past Stilbaai and eventually made our way to Riebeek West in the WC where we were going to stay at Bottervet’s pozzy before we continue further up the coast.
The gravel roads were generally in better condition than the tar roads
Somewhere near Stilbaai
More pictures in the area
We met with Bottervet here at the Malgaspond – he was going to join us on the rest of the trip
The Pond is operated through manual labour
Fooling around on the Pond While crossing
Not too expensive to cross – last I went past here it cost R5.
Waiting for the family in the pickup
In Bredasdorp we stopped at the Merino Inn to have a quick lunch before continuing to Cape Augulas
We reached the most southern tip of Africa and had to take the obligatory picture
One would have though a name like Skilopatie, or something like that!! Sorry can’t speak the other 9 official languages
Time was running late so after Augulas, we set our GPS for Riebeek and headed there fastest route. Camp was setup in no time and we could indulge in the sights and sounds of life on a farm.
Bottervet prepared 2 Snoek which went down exceptionally well along with sweet potato and KWV 5 Year.
Leo braaied some wors for the people not wanting fish.
The next morning Bottervet took us on the gravel roads in the area which would take us to Moorreesburg
He had arranged for us to have breakfast at Lategans – situated in the main road
The breakfast was well and truly excellent value for money. Do yourself a favour and pop in here next time you pass through town.
Basil and Bottervet proudly displaying their breakfast
She was married to Dozi – the singer. I think her name is Murial.
Menu prices – really good value for money. The French toast with cream, nut, banana, etc is also worth a try.
From here we headed to Paternoster. Just before Vredenburg we turned off onto the Knoppieshoogte road. Lovely little twee spoor.
The road somehow disappeared and we were eventually apprehended by this angry young farmer who showed us the right way after some fairly harsh words. Sorry Sir but the GPS…..
Paternoster – what a quaint little spot, although as of late not so little any more.
…… more Paternoster
Oep ve Koep – a local shop in Paternoster stating that they are open for buying.
The famous panty bar in the Paternoster hotel. Some of these items have been hanging here for 30 plus years.
Rated one of the Top 10 camp sites in SA. Tietiesbaai
From here we headed to Velddrif where we visited the Bokkomlaan
Unique humor from the area.
The Ex Mother in Law
… here they grow “fokkeltjies”
……. And a computer burnout looks like this
The Point at Elandsbaai with seals basking in the son.
From Elandsbaai you travel to Lambertsbay on a gravel road that is tolled.
The money is used to maintain the road which was in a good condition.
Bottervet had his first flat on the Tenere. We managed to fix it in under an hour.
Safely at our destination for the day – Malkoppan Campsite in Lambertsbay
Our neighbours promptly invited us to use their braai and coals to cook our meat. The people on the west coast are very friendly and open.
Leo braaiing some tjops before we tackle the fish the next day.
Early Morning
Our campsite – excellent ablutions
Bottervet had one of those 2 second tents, but fitting into it proved to be a bit of a challenge for a man of his stature.
Campsite
I bought myself some bokkoms to eat, but were not allowed to keep it near anyone/anything, so my HP had to make do!
Bottervet had organised a case of KWV’s finest, so we were well and truly sorted
The next morning we visited the sights and sounds of Lambertsbay – this Malgas eiland
Basil doing his impersonation of a fisherman
We had a quick “Sletsappie” at Isabellas in the harbor
Jean against a splendid backdrop
Bottervet looking hapy with life.
Antonie doing his hooligan thing
Inner peace if one views this sight.
Even the local seals were waving at us – friendly chap.
Jean du Plessis at an award winning photo taken by Jean du Plessis
Soon it was time for us to report at the Muisbosskerm restaurant.
Voted the best open air restaurant in the world.
Do yourself a favour and try to eat here at least once
Antonie getting more “sletsappies”
Food to die for
………..of all kinds and varieties
….. and more
This sweet looking girl agreed to pose with the twee omies. Apparently she is a well-known actress in a popular soap – sorry her name has slipped my mind now.
At 4’ish we were tired from all the “sletsappies”
Bottervet thought it wise to take a nap with his helmet on.
That evening we were invited to a friend in the Lambertsbaai campsite. All 11 of us were invited – they supplied all. We felt obliged to take some KWV.
This guys will entertain you nonstop for ours – Andre who apparently was filmed on one of the episodes of “Maak ‘n Las” with Tolla. He entertained us till the wee hours of the morning.
The next day we had to start our return journey. Yes all good things has to come to an end.
Here’s Bottervet studying the manual to fold that 2 second tent back to shape
Group photo outside Lambertsbay
From here we headed inland to Clainwilliam where we had a quick picnic nexto the dam before continuing our journey through the Cederberg Mountains
Lovely gravel roads through the Cederberg Mountains
Spectacular
…more Cederberg Mountains
Our destination for the day was the Warm Waterberg Spa on the R62 outside Barrydale. It is within a few km’s of Ronnies *** Shop. Of course we had to stop here to have a few more “sletsappies”
World Renowned
The bar is almost a replica of the Panty Bar in Paternoster
Basil had to get him a t-shirt to mark the occasion
Of course as any proper Wild Dog will do – we had to make our mark
The result
Some of the bikes that visited while we were there.
The legend himself photographed here with Ronnie
At the Spa the wind was pumping so we managed to secure a nice spot next to a wall made from riete, else we would have probably been blown to Lainsburg.
Of course one has to swim in the hot spa water
The next morning we popped into Barrydale where we had breakfast at the biker friendly Pumpkin restaurant.
From here we headed for the Trudouw pass
Antonie lost his footing while taking photographs, but managed to hang onto the cliff till we could drag him back to safety
Two beautiful sights
We got home safely and promised ourselves that in 2012 we will be spending more time on the west coast. The people are very friendly and does their absolute best to make one feel welcome.
After our trip we spend some time with the family and only did the odd day trip in and around the area.
These okes seems to know when I don’t have my hunting rifle nearby - Koedoe
Very tame – I guess they are not hunted.
Proof that I was in the area.
On another day we decided to ride the Seven Passes route around Knysna. We picked the wrong day as it was raining, but we rode non the less.
Breakfast at the Wimpy in a crowded Knysna
Basil had enough KWV to last a year and decided to take it a bit slow
We popped into Noetsie for a photo with the well-known castles.
Knysna from a distance
One of the many passes we rode that day as portrayed by the GPS
Awesome
Don’t drop your bike down here – it will take a while to recover.
Rivers were filled with Coke Cola, just waiting to be frizzed and bottled
More Coke going to waste
Taking a break to refuel
… but Santa didn’t deliver
The rain stopped for a moment and Antonie thought it was over, but as he put the last piece of rain suite in his topbox it started again. It rained for the rest of the way.
Safely at home
On another occasion we decided it was time to visit Knysna for some Oysters. The famous Oyster farm is no more, so one has to eat at one of the many restaurants on Thesen Island
Antonie indulging in this aphrodisiac
We also went on a 4X4 trip in Basil’s new D4D. This was a lotta fun although we were not allowed to take any “sletsappies” on track.
This is a competent machine
First time on a 4X4 track with the sea in view. Apparently this track near Vleesbaai has made it to the top 10 for a few years
On 30 Dec, the fun was over and we had to head home. Getting the HP home was a nuisance as one has to stop at almost every town. However fitting a larger tank is not an option as this will turn it into an Adv and will also affect the ergonomics of this awesome machine.
Antonie assisting as my butt was taking strain
Thanks to all for a truly great holiday. :thumleft:
Happy New Year to each and every one!
Many happy and safe miles