Looking for juicy CT to CT loop

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xpat

Grey Hound
Reaction score
Bike
AJS (all models)
Need an advice, please:

A mate from a forum back home in Europe is flying over to CT in November for a trip. He has rented Tenere for 16 days and is looking for a nice loop - starting and ending in CT. He rides 690 back home and has done the usual Euro adv stuff like Morocco and such, so he is not complete newbie on dirt.

He is planning to do it right - i.e. doesn't expect to run up to Kilimanjaro and back, but rather would like to use his time properly in the west of SA - i.e. more or less within the rectangle delineated by CT bottom left, Porth Elizabeth bottom right and Namibian border at the top. He would like to taste the best SA has offer in terms of open space and dirt riding (OK - 'adv' dirt riding), as well as do few of those touristy thingies like game drive, probably shark cage dive and whatever historical/cultural sites are there. He has allocated 4 days for CT on top of those 16 days, so those 16 as fully dedicated to the ride about.

While I have ridden some of the popular highlights down there like Cederberg, Die Hell, Bavians and such, I am not familiar at all with some of the really interesting (for me) bits like Tankwa Karoo, sand tracks along the west coast to Richtersveld and Namaqua Eco trail. Nevertheless I have read some reports here, so I have general idea and came up with the preliminary route - and I would like to ask you people who know the area to comment on the route and let me know if I have missed something really good (very tasty dirt track, very scenic route and such).