Matroosberg (a scoot up a mountain to go look at snow)

I'll write about this after catching my breath, but here is what it was really like!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUAcADn0sAw

Footage courtesy of Michiel

Dustdevil said:
I'll write about this after catching my breath, but here is what it was really like!!!

\
jiiiiislaaik bru stop dropping that HPN or I'll have to confiscate it  :deal: :deal: :deal:

When I log on to youn tube I get to the name , but there is just a big black block !! Wazzup ???

It looks like all we did was crash and pick up bikes.

The reality is that there was a good 30min or so of very enjoyable riding somewhere in those 6 hours as well. :p

The hardest trail I have ever done by some margin. It's almost a week later and I'm still sore.

Do you have any footage of us coming down Michiel?

the_wes said:
Dustdevil said:

\
jiiiiislaaik bru stop dropping that HPN or I'll have to confiscate it  :deal: :deal: :deal:

By that standards - why do you still have your bike ?

:peepwall: :peepwall:

SACK said:
It looks like all we did was crash and pick up bikes.

The reality is that there was a good 30min or so of very enjoyable riding somewhere in those 6 hours as well. :p

The hardest trail I have ever done by some margin. It's almost a week later and I'm still sore.

Do you have any footage of us coming down Michiel?

There is some awesome footage of bikes going up there showing real skill and courage.
When you look at these images though, most guys would reckon that it can't be that hard.
We will publish the rest soon!!!

FARK ME!!!! :eek:

bos befok!!!!

thats all I gotta add - serious respect  :thumleft:

the_wes said:
Dustdevil said:

\

I dropped the HPN a few times yes, but it was the bike that crawled up there with the least effort, it truly is an amazing piece of machinery.
Long chassis, ultra low ratio in 1st gear and ultra low torque from the 1043cc Mahle motor. It really gave the ultimate traction, why do you think there was no spinning shots of the HPN...It was hardly spinning at all, I could get on the pegs and if I chose my line good I was off after most every start with the least amount of effort.
The suspension was also doing great keeping both wheels firmly on the ground when most of the other bikes were bucking and reeling, jumping up in the air.
Make no mistake though, the HPN is not the ideal bike for this terrain, the Roof guys come here for practice and this is plastic bike country no doubt.

I will post another video that will show us actually riding, we were in fact doing more riding than spinning and falling. Just show how deceiving the media can be, just omit the biggest part of all our footage and it looks like carnage from beginning to end.

Eisbein said:
the_wes said:
Dustdevil said:

\

By that standards - why do you still have your bike ?

:peepwall: :peepwall:

my bike costs a pathetic fraction of that gorgeous HPN  :deal:

Here is the video I edited. 5min proved to be just too short to fit all the carnage so I had to opt for 2x 6min.
For those who have trouble with bandwith Dustdevil has a shortened edited clip of the original footage he will post.

Part 1
https://www.youtube.com/user/michielkaapstad#play/all/uploads-all/0/cCnZQgUyVKg

Part 2
https://www.youtube.com/user/michielkaapstad#play/all/uploads-all/1/Snfo4F-tK1E

Lekker man! Looks like it was fun.

vokken ... awesome... eks bly ek was nie saam nie ... sukkel en sweet? se moer...

kom ons ry weer die weekend...

Michiel said:
Here is the video I edited. 5min proved to be just too short to fit all the carnage so I had to opt for 2x 6min.
For those who have trouble with bandwith Dustdevil has a shortened edited clip of the original footage he will post.

Part 1
https://www.youtube.com/user/michielkaapstad#play/all/uploads-all/0/cCnZQgUyVKg

Part 2
https://www.youtube.com/user/michielkaapstad#play/all/uploads-all/1/Snfo4F-tK1E

awesome awesome awesome!

Operator said:
AntonW said:
Respect to the guys who made it to the end. Sack on his 1200 was amazing

Sack is a fearless warrior. :thumleft:

Congrats on beating the highest mountain in the Western Cape. :thumleft:

Matroosberg is not the highest point in WC, somewhere in the Swartberge is

I saw you on the way down, i stay at the bottom off the pass. What time did you get home?

Thinking off doing it on Saturday!

Late enough to get the cold shoulder from the wife and to nearly have to spend the night on the coach.

Awesome.

I got tired just watching the vids.
;D

Nicely done guys.

Man you guys have much bigger balls then me  ;)

I rode that way as a passenger in a 4 x4 the last week-end of June when there was quite a lot of snow on the road. I was terrified , the road is so rocky and steep and higher up you also hit snow, and of course in snow you skid and we were terrifyingly close to the edge of the road but you can't slow down you have to keep the speed up , hairraising. It did not help that a man died there the previous day he fell off the moutain at the very top, he got out his car and slid and fell. Some plastic friends of mine had ridden up the previous day also, but thanks for showing me what can be done with bigger bikes, as I had wondered if my GS would make it up there ( I would have to be drunk though to attempt it haha) Amazing all of you ,esp you Sack on the GS1200, and also Michiel for making it to the top.

DD you were styling on the HPN on that one very steep and sharp corner  . When we were there some 4 x4 's couldn't even make it up there , but had to turn back!  Well done all of you ,and respect.  My tummy turned just watching the u-tubes esp the downhill shots of Michiel and Sack , amazing  :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: