My wobblies on the Amageza 2012- Last video now up

For some reason my machine wont let me see SmugMug videos.  So cant see your's or Kamanya's footage  :'(

Cant seem to find what the problem is.  Other videos play fine.

Nice, lekke video, enjoying it! Thanks Neil!

DRAZIL said:
great vid,we are ready for part two :thumleft:

+100

Looking forward to the next instalment. Thanks Neil for sharing it with us. :thumleft:

Awsomenessssss... I want more. Now I can't get that tune out of my head ;]

Background

For the first time in South Africa a rally nut had taken the plunge and invested weeks and weeks of time with his friends riding in amazing places to put together an event that would revolve around paper road book navigation a la the Dakar. Thanks Alexander, Marissa, Wayne, Kobus, all the marshals, pilots, caterers and people of Sutherland - It was an experience that I will always remember.

Here is my 1st video including a the buildup, some prologue pictures, and interviews with many of the competitors along with the start of the first special stage from my point of view. More on this later.

Poignantly, apart from Darryl Curtis and myself I don't think a single competitor had ever completed a navigational rally.  It was to be a baptism of fire for many.

We were warned it was going to be something between the Roof and the Dakar and would run for a total of two days. The cost was very, very low as far as rallies typically are concerned, but most importantly it was to be in my home country - South Africa - on a continent where I believe that Dakar should be. I was delighted and spent a lot of time chatting with Alex in 2011 ahead of the event. For those of you who do not know me, I am passionate about rally. It's one of the last frontiers where one can truly test one's endurance and wit in a high-speed mostly off-road environment. It’s not just flat out racing, its racing with your head, you can get lost and lose time, you can look too long at your road book and end up buying the farm, or an missed caution can result in a brutal end to your rally. But more than that, this kind of event tests one's limits of endurance and skill. It requires a high degree of concentration and focus which is difficult after hours and hours in the saddle, and in no time things can quickly go wrong.  For me it’s a very emotional experience, and it totally clears my head when I am doing it.

When the Dakar is not on, I spend my free time designing rally routes and building road books, so naturally I asked to be involved in the organization of the event but Alexander insisted that I rather ride it as a competitor. He said it would be a good boost to many of the others who had never done a rally before. It did not take a lot of convincing.  ;D

This presented a slight problem as my current place of residence is in Peru and I do not own a bike in RSA. I decided that my weapon of choice would be the "Springbokkie" my Yamaha WR450F which was conveniently setup for doing events like this, and in storage in California.

P1030070-L.jpg

Although the paint job was a little worse for wear, don't be too harsh: This puppy finished the 2nd longest rally in the world after the Dakar, 4,500km across Brazil in 10days. You can read all about that one if you click on the link in my signature line.

I had a brand new engine put into it and shipped it to Cape Town in March ahead of the rally. Yes this was expensive, but I rationalized that I was doing my bit for South African rally and I wanted to come back and do some riding at home.

Preparation

Andre Stoetbul “KROKODIL “ was kind enough to have my bike delivered to his place of work in Stellenbosch for me. He is a good bud who actually takes life very seriously  8) when he is not on weekends with the dawgs. Not only did he get my boney through customs for me, but he also got the 400kg crate it was in the truck without the use of a crane!
Yip the Yamaha is way heavier than a GS.

Seriously, I had a spare engine in there, six rims, six tyres with mousses, a whole box of spares etc.
Stoetie being Stoetie was not satisfied with only unloading my bike he put it together again, got a new battery, filled it with fuel and took it for a test run. What an absolute legend.   :thumleft:

IMG-20120427-00416-L.jpg

As if that was not enough, he invites me to come down to Paarl and stay with him and his better half to get the bike ready. Then in true Stoetie fashion he offers to trailer the bike to the event. By that time I realized he had basically appointed himself as my manager and frankly, I was delighted by the idea.
:headbang:

There was some electrical/starting issue with the bike so he took it into the KTM guys in Paarl who got the machine working.

I flew down early on the Wednesday before the event that weekend planning to give the bike a shakedown run with MrBig who kindly offered to show me some of the local routes. Now bear in mind I have not seen this bike since 2010 and it has had a total of only 18 days saddle time on it. Importing it to Peru was going to be too expensive so it stayed in the US until I needed it.  I basically had two full days to get used to the bike again, because the plan was to drive up to Sutherland on the Thursday night. 
Andre says to me “Erm I took it for a test ride but it was not very fast, it only went 60km/hr.  Maybe I can’t ride it….  anyway I prefer my big KTM”. He was being serious,  I think he was worried he would break it and was unused to the nimbleness.

“Don’t worry about it Andre,” I responded  I’m sure it’s fine.”
Thrilled I went through the bike, stroked it a lot and got it started up. Something wierd happened though because all my electrics went out after I turned it off again and was fiddling with the HID light.  :-\ I got it going thanks to kick starter but so at least I was still able to ride it. Boland Bikes KTM were unable to assist so on MrBig's recommendation I took it down to Helderberg Yamaha.

So off I went, showing off to the kids coming out of Paarl school. I got to the fuel station and the bike died there again. Crap. I kicked myself into a frenzy trying to get it started and after a while I eventually did. Clearly there was something wrong with the carb. The ride to Helderberg was lekker, I hit that track on the side of the main road and let the suspension soak it up. It was AWESOME. I got to Helderberg Yamaha who did a brilliant job of sorting it out. It turned out to be a blown solenoid or something like that. ??? (Disclaimer: I know a fair bit about riding bikes, not very much about fixing them, let’s leave it at that shall we? ;D )

It turned out that there was quite bit that my american friends had not gone through the bike properly apart from install the new engine (not impressed).  So the Yammaha guys also stripped the bike down and fixed quite few other little niggly things, cleaned the carb etc. , and we also put on a 14-48 sprocket which I have used before and makes the bike quite a bit faster. Of course the chain was now too short with that setup so they did that for me too. The Helderberg Yamaha okes took my bike on at No 99 with no advanced warning and made space in their busy workshop schedule. Headed up by Workshop manager Karen Jurgens who offered me lots of coffee and made sure I had everything I needed, they were awesome. Thank you guys, seriously the best service I have seen in a very long time.  :thumleft:

IMG-20120426-00394-M.jpg

Guys, you must watch out for Karen hey, she is nice to look at and you end up saying “yes” to everything. ;)
So while my bike was in for some TLC, Stoetie then goes the extra mile and loans me his bike to take my rims to a guy who can get some mousses and tyres put on them.  :ricky: That 990 of his is totally awesome. Stoetie: I owe you big time boeta.  :notworthy:
Later on Thursday the Yamaha guys picked me up and I rode my Yamaha back to Paarl through driving rain. MrBig: Im really sorry we never got to go riding together. Maybe next time.

Helderberg Yamaha sure are the best!!!

Look forward to the rest of the story Neil!  :thumleft:

Hmm I have another video ready. Its been edited down to 35 minutes long! Having some issues getting it up loaded. Meanwhile:

The trip and prologue

Finally by 8 pm we were on the road to Sutherland, bike on the trailer, with a ton of spares, spare wheels, engines, firewood, camping gear, you name it.  Luckily we had been able to secure a house in the little town of Sutherland thanks to the kind efforts of Marissa van As form the organization of the rally. On the way we heard about the first casualty: Cocky had managed to crash his bike on the way down from Jozy on a muddy road somewhere in the free state thanks to all the rain. He was okay but his bike had a hole in the casing and that was that.  :-[ Hope it gets fixed soon Cocky, sorry we missed you.
Did I tell how much rain we had just before this rally. Apparently on the Thursday over 120mm of rain fell in the Sutherland area, and I must say that driving through the Karoo late that night felt more like driving through somewhere in Europe.

Stoetie wanted to have a beer or three so I drove the last hour or so. He got me talking about deep stuff and being male and unable to do two things at once I was told later that I officially don’t know how to drive. Apparently I hardly found fifth gear all the way to Sutherland. ;D  Eish…ja I wish met Eish.
We arrived at the Jupiter pub in Sutherland around 11pm and met a loud and vibrant crowd of dogs well into the swing of things, generally solving the world’s problems, talking about riding – that sort of thing.

IMG-20120427-00400-L.jpg

It was great to see some old faces and meet a lot of new ones. It was freezing and very wet outside so naturally we were forced to stay for a couple of drinks. I got it in the neck for being a pissie and drinking water most of the night.  :biggrin: I had a really awesome chat with Madmike99, and we agreed we would give our bikes a bit of a shakedown ride the next day.

At about 2:30 am Stoetie & I decided to go and find the house and we walked out to see Madmike999 trying to start this bike, here:
index.php

The old girl did not like the cold and no amount of coaxing was going to help. She felt rejected and was sulking big time. Stoetie & I pushed Mike up and down in the mud. We tried whispering sweet nothings to her, we even told her how much we loved her –She was having none of it. Someone got some jump cables and we got her going again that way. It was great to see Mike charging off into the distance on this classic.

Stoetie and I spent about 20 minutes driving around until we eventually found the house. We even asked the local police guy in his patrol vehicle but he was new to the area and was clueless. Dodo and OrangeSwifty were going to stay with us on the first night and we heard others would be joining us the next night. I must say it was a real pleasure to get into a real bed on such a cold and wet night.

I did not have to do the qualifier but that is what woke me up that morning. The sound of bike after bike roaring past our house up towards the telescopes on their little trip. I sounded fantastic. I was delighted to be here and experience just that.

I quickly got dressed kitted up and went outside. My Springbokkie started first kick. I hardly use the happy button anymore, it starts so easy. Took it for a quiet ride up and down, the town looking for Mike, but I think he had had quite heavy night, so I returned to the house and started prepping the bike for the rally:
1) Duct tape taped around the forks for quick access in an emergency.
2) Cable ties also to the forks. What was life like before cable ties? Must have been terrible.
3) Although I run mousses they sometimes melt so I put a spare 21 inch tube (for either front or back tyre) up in my navtower.
4) Cable tied in a spare clutch level, brake lever and first aid kit.
5) Fuses
6) Cable tied in some tyre spanners
7) Cable tied in a hand pump
8 ) All my tools fit into my camel back along with 3 litres of water which goes over my ballistic vest but under my jacket to keep cool and improve airflow over my back.
9) Duct tape along the side of my road book holder for key notes from the road book like where the refueling points are (at what Km). This turned out to be a non-issue on this rally but it can be desperately important info on a longer one.

This what it looks like:
IMG-20120429-00422-XL.jpg

I was busy with all this when Mike came along, and about the same time the first bikes were also coming back from the qualifier. I must have been a good 20 minutes before I had all my shit together, but I wanted to take my time and triple check I had everything ready.

Eventually Mike and I set off on this road he had found. Man was it lekker out there. I have a video of this shakedown run, I will have to put it up as well.  The road was only about 10km long, but it had some nice jumps and some big, deep pools of water to cross.

I rode out ahead of Mike, it had been a long time since I had really ridden my boney properly and I just could not wait for him. We got to this gate and turned around there. This time I let him ride in front, and his pace was a lot faster – I hope I was not pushing him! Anyway he rides that bike really well, despite the suspension not looking all that lekker.

Mike1-L.jpg

We got back to town all too quickly and the WR was purring. It all seemed great. I was feeling half guilty because we had been instructed not to ride anywhere near the town leading up to the rally. I was also a little concerned about being found out and disqualified. This coupled with previous experience to not tempt fate just before a race and crash lead me to suggest we go and have breakfast. Mike was like “What? But we have hardly ridden.” He was quite disappointed.

I was too to be honest, but the concerns I mentioned made up my mind for me. My bike seemed okay. I was prepared as I was going to be and needed to save the energy given how unfit I was.  In the end Mike decided not to go off on his own and join me for breakfast. It was good thing we did go when we did because the hotel we just finishing breakfast when we got there. It was the brekkie of champions and while we were there we met Tau, Koos, and a few of the other guys, including a whole family who had come to see their dad and boy do the Amageza. Awesome to see the support.

Hi Neil,

Nice reading, thanks. What happened to your beloved Springbokkie, did you manage to find a buyer? Have you ever considered the Rally Mongolia? https://www.sser.org/rallymongolia_e/index_0_main.htm

Cheers, Peter

:thumleft: Nice one Neil. You are able to pack your passion and emotions into your RR's, which makes your reports very personal and a great read.
All WD's might want to join the Amageza next year :mwink: