My wobblies on the Amageza 2012- Last video now up

2StrokeDan said:
Helderberg YAMAHA is the best, and Stoetie is an outstanding human being.
Agree fully, don't know Helderberg Yamaha though.

The guy always gets involved when someone is in need. A real champ!

Nice work BB, your RR's are a treat

ChinaPete said:
Hi Neil,

Nice reading, thanks. What happened to your beloved Springbokkie, did you manage to find a buyer? Have you ever considered the Rally Mongolia? https://www.sser.org/rallymongolia_e/index_0_main.htm

Cheers, Peter

Pete my China :thumleft:

No buyer yet, it has just been resprayed and is in Pretoria.

Disappointed I missed this event but your report is making up for it :thumleft:
Hope you make it out here next year too and I can buy you a beer!

Moerse nice report :thumleft:
BlueBull2007 said:
This presented a slight problem as my current place of residence is in Peru and I do not own a bike in RSA. I decided that my weapon of choice would be the "Springbokkie" my Yamaha WR450F which was conveniently setup for doing events like this, and in storage in California.

But I'm confused, whats a bike in storage ??? ???

So after a lot of hana-hana and whaty-whaty I ended up above the school grounds talking kak with Legadema, Weskus, Rickus, Stoetbul and Tau to name just a few. Now for those of you who do not know them - these boys know how to chirp. What followed was a very animated and amusing conversation covering various aspects of bikes, trailering bikes  ::) , and riding. I need to video this stuff next time because its a laugh-a-minute thing which just goes on and on for hours, non stop. Sorry, but I am not as good as Andrew and other at remembering this kind of thing.

Some of the main instigators.  ;D
IMG-20120427-00415-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00417-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00401-L.jpg

There were some pretty smart looking bikes. I was impressed by the preparation of some. Sorry about the poor quality of cellphone photees.
IMG-20120427-00405-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00406-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00408-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00407-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00410-L.jpg

Met WTF is jy daar besig Weskus?  >:D
IMG-20120427-00411-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00409-L.jpg

Around 11 am I joined the line up with growing group of bikers getting ready for the administration checks.
We got a plastic bag filled with shampoo and other fancy stuff that wives like, stickers for our bikes, number bib's for our jackets etc. We also had to present our medical aid info etc. and sign a piece of paper that certified that we knew what we were going to be stupid and the organisation would not be taking any responsibility. I liked the lunch packs and caps!

IMG-20120427-00402-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00403-L.jpg

After that we spent a couple of hours getting our bikes ready - Its amazing how long people can spend fixing a bike that is not broken. Fortunately I managed to refrain on mine and spent a lot of my time chatting to and occasionally helping others working on theirs.

Finally the scrutineering opened up after a delay of a couple of hours and the riders started to go through the process.
IMG-20120427-00413-L.jpg

IMG-20120427-00412-L.jpg

It was pretty well organised actually, and we went through a number of technical checks. Volunteers with clipboards came round going through our bikes, each responsible for one item on the check.

Some of the okes were SUPER nervous, I was excited as well but surprisingly did not have the butterflies at all - I guess mostly because I was one of only a couple of  guys who have been through this before, and also because it was only a 2 day event, not a multi-day event. I was just delighted to be out here with all these like-minded individuals.
IMG-20120427-00414-L.jpg

Later I spoke to someone who was hunting for a medical kit because his had been left behind and the raincoat stuffed into a bag did not qualify as a space blanket.  :imaposer:

We also got given a Monster energy drink just before the medical check. Needless to say our heart rates and blood pressures were all too high, but I think that was ignored as well. All things said and done this was the first rally for many so they were not too strict on the riders, and many of the usual rally checks were not done sound test, light test, water tanks, chain guards, marking of engines, confirmation of homogenization...Not that Amageza needed to get that fancy! they did check we all had enough fuel range, which I thought was a good sign for what was to some.

The rest of the afternoon was more of a kuiery, but the tension was definitely building. Around 4 pm we were asked to meet at the main entrance, for the official start and photo shoot. We all crowded around at the gate to the school and after some confusion were off in a big group. The growl of all the bikes was impressive, and the whole town lined the streets to see the commotion as well rode on an erratic pattern through to the start. You could see the guys were champing at the bit and although there was some showboating, no-one pulled and wheelies. Despite this there was a bit of wheel spinning on the corners and the usual over-revving going on. I later heard that one guy decided to high side his bike on one of those corners and managed to break his collar bone - I think that must have happened just behind me but I never noticed or heard a thing. We were all being a little bit windgat to be honest, so it was hardly surprising.  Poor oke, after all of that prep, only not even to make the start.

He was not the only one. I do not have the stats but just before we rode out I heard that a couple of guys had drowned their bikes on the qualifier, a couple more had not finished in the required time and riders were still out there. I guess there were maybe 5 or six people who had arrived to do this and not got past the final qualifier.

Driving through the town and seeing all the kids out watching us with cops stopping traffic for us etc, was personally quite an emotional experience for me. I was finally on another rally, and it felt seriously amazing. I was very thankful for all the preparation that had been put in and to me it was just so cool to be part of something that I dream one day will become the best rally in the world. It felt like we were making history. I felt so passionate about the moment I surprised myself at having to suddenly fight off a tear or two. It did not last long though, because soon enough we all arrived in front of this Monster sign over the road at the official start, with the gyro copters parked down in front and a large crowd of camera people and spectators distracted me from these thoughts.

I pulled up an beamed at one of the volunteers, I think it was "Bring It On". I felt on top of the world. It was then that he pointed out  out the fuel pissing out the bottom of my bike onto the road. Not a little bit, it was pouring out like an commercial expresso machine and pooling in a spreading lagoon at my feet..... :eek:

Thanks for that Gr8 update. Can't wait for the rest to follow.

BTW,... I really wish it was me there, that you were refering to. :thumleft:

Bring It On said:

BTW,... I really wish it was me there, that you were refering to. :thumleft:

It wasn't?? Ag nee man, thats embarressing!

I always get so confused by all you guys. I see you all in a large group about once every 2 yrs and always end up getting the names and nicknames mixed up. Sorry in advance for any other name screw ups!
shog.gif

Another edition and 40 minutes of video coming up to get you ready for the weekend.

To backtrack briefly: Leaving the school for the ceremonial start.
1aaa1-L.jpg

Check out the KTM  poser Standing up on the right  :mwink:  :deal:  :pot:
1aaa2-XL.jpg

Don't worry we still love you, Darksider  :thumleft:  ;)

560689101509052157556815284856-XL.jpg

This was where I reckon the one guy bought the farm and broke his collarbone. Was it a dog? :dontknow:
1aaa3-XL.jpg

Whoever it was: - Hope you are healing up nicely by now and that it was not too serious.  :thumleft:

Arriving, AlanB on the Left, MadMike999 on the right, not sure who that is in the middle, sorry.
1aab1-L.jpg

Now after I had been told that my bike was pissing fuel I had to sort that out. Further inspection quickly revealed my carburetor was overflowing on idle. The problem of course stopped when I shutdown the engine, but that was going to be a fat help. A problem with the needle being worn or some dirt caught in there. It was serious, and instantly my relaxed state of mind changed: Even with a full load 32l of fuel on board I may not be able to finish the 1st day. I started flapping until eventually Kamanya looked and me and said take it apart and fix it. His look kind of said HTFU. I tried, really I did.  ;D I nodded numbly and supposed I would have some work to do that night.

Shrugging off the problem temporarily I ambled about and chatting in an animated fashion with MadMike999, Bring it On and few others. It was pretty cool to be there.

Whitedelight looking decidedly nervous..
1aab2-XL.jpg

A few photos of the group
1aae-L.jpg

1aaf-L.jpg

1aag-XL.jpg

1aaj-XL.jpg

1aak-L.jpg

And some spectators
1aah-XL.jpg

1aai-L.jpg

I tried not to think about the problem I had but I fretted and worried until eventually I prayed about it. The strong petrol smell was a constant reminder. After what seemed like an age we were called up one by one for a photo and send off. I was totally distracted nodded seriously at the cameraman and rode straight to the fuel station.

Kamanya had a smile on his face the whole weekend.
1aaa-L.jpg

We all stood together for a group photo which you can find on the main Amageza RR thread somewhere.

Pulling away for the one-on-one shots and ceremonial start. You can see the worry in my eye.  :biggrin:
Image00038-L.jpg

Someone told me to rev the crap out of it or give the bike a couple of hits or perhaps even tap the carb with a screwdriver to dislodge the dirt inside. I was not convinced because I had the carb cleaned the day before, but I did give it plenty of gas. Arriving at the petrol station, the problem seemed solved. I was relieved but not convinced, so I filled the bike up it full 32l anyway, even though I would only need 17 liters for the next days stage.

The total weight of around 150-160kg plus rider at 95kg would put me at a big disadvantage against the likes of lightweight jocky's like Tau and Darryl, but I rationalized rather have too much fuel and be slower than run out somewhere on the days stage. I philosophized that a number of other guys probably had their own problems that would hamper them too, and anyway there were big bikes out there - Mine would just behave more like one of those thanks to the full load of fuel.

That evening it turned out the bikes did not have to be locked up in any park ferme, it was apparent the organization were having a much more relaxed approach to the rules than had been originally let on. I was not complaining. We all congregated in the hostel dining hall for the dinner and briefing, and while we were waiting the conversation that seemed to dominate was all about the poor guy who had been lost out on the qualifier and had still not yet been found by the organizer.  :-\ Someone said they saw a bike riding onto some other nearby town, and that maybe it was him. A few others were very concerned about him and contingency plans with farmers were being drawn up for a last ditch search before the police and possibly mountain rescue club were called. It was pretty cold once the sun went down and we figured this might be a hypothermia case before too long. Good thing everyone had first aid kits on them!

Then Alex came out for the much awaited briefing. It started very seriously with him explaining the situation about the lost rider and how they were making plans to recheck the route for him one last time. Then he got even more serious about the riding the next day. He said he was sure some would not be able to finish the special stage and that it was very technical, something between the roof and the Dakar. He warned us to take note of the cautions in the road book and made reference that we would have to ride through a "Bowl from hell twice" from two different directions.

The silence in the room at the end of his talk was so loud that I had to smile. People looked afraid, very afraid. We all were. It sounded like we would be going to war and we looked at each other the same way troops do just before they have to go over the top. All well, nothing else to do but to try right? All the bravado that had been built up over dinner had disappeared, and then after a moment of stillness, the room rapidly erupted into a chaotic queue for the road books. Many just took their road books scrolls and marched off to the campsite. Others swamped Darryl and I, who were the only ones used to marking road books at all. Lots people people were asking about what the codes meant, and how best to mark the road books. We conducted two separate informal tutorials simultaneously. Clearly many had not bothered to study the rule book beforehand.
"What does RLT mean?"
"What does DZ mean?" etc.
A group of us sat down together and marked the road books for a while and it was interesting to see the different styles developing as we got along.

g1 requested that I go for an interview on camera and I caught the tail end of Rynet's interview as well. She is a remarkable woman who radiated with confidence about the challenges yet so modest at the same time, impressive to watch.

IMG-20120427-00418-XL.jpg

I did my interview in about 3 minutes. It was a take-no-prisoners bar-no-holds interview. Not.  :D It was fine, really.
536494-L.jpg

After that I made my way back to check on the bikes and eventually decided I might as well ride back the house we were staying in and park my bike there. That way it wouldn't have to stand out in the cold. Great racing bikes these Yamahas.. :deal:
546384101507151486915236551305-L.jpg

The fuel leaking problem had disappeared, so I slept well, glad not to have to worry about stripping down the bike.

Stage 1

The next morning started bright and early to the sound of ACDC Thunderstruck being blasted out on some large speakers over at the school. We could hear it on the other side of town so I guess everyone in Sutherland woke up around 04h15 am. Dodo, OrangeSwifty & I forced down some breakfast and got our bikes going. Swifty's bike did not like the cold and had to be jump started. Hondsekierie specially got up to wish us well and help out Swifty.

I rode off ahead of the others and met with Gideon, 2StrokeDan and their group to wish them all well. We then proceeded to the main school gate at about 5h45 am to wait to be sent off. There was no seeding so it was first come, first serve. Guys were jostling for position. Kamanya was so keen he rode into me.  :biggrin:  I could smell petrol again strongly so I shutoff to save on fuel. Lots of guys were really concerned because they did not have emergency lights with them and they were unable to read the road books in the dark. As it turned out we started to leave before it got light on the starting liaison.

The air was full of excitement, and we were finally on our way. I pulled in behind Darryl and a guy from Country trax called Roger. We were waved away and I followed them closely as I noticed my headlight was set too low down.

Although it was freezing cold it was great to be riding and I was set for a good day of racing. I was unfit, and knew it but I also knew that I was in the unique situation of competing in a field of mostly rookies, so the navigation would slow a lot of people down.

After about 30km of fairly easy dirt we got to the start of the special, where we all waiting for the sun to come up. It was spectacular and I got the opportunity to interview (You can see that on Page 1 of this ride report) a few people before they set off on their first rally.

This really was something special for many.

Finally we were waved away, one at a time at 30s intervals. We were racing!

Here are two videos (I had to split the original as it was too big) of the first stage special for your enjoyment. I hope you enjoy the ride,  my thoughts and falls with me. Please I hope no-one take offence at some of my comments, I was just capturing some of my thoughts in the heat of the moment. Some of it is obviously speeded up, but most of it is not. As you shall see it quickly became apparent to me the very high level of skill of most of the riders on this rally.

Please click on the pictures below to activate the video.

Please be patient and pause it for some time to allow the video feed to cache/download. If anyone would like the high quality version via ftp please email me at [email protected]  :thumleft:

Video Stage 1a

Video Stage 1b

BlueBull2007 said:
Bring It On said:

BTW,... I really wish it was me there, that you were referring to. :thumleft:

It wasn't?? Ag nee man, that's embarrassing!

I always get so confused by all you guys. I see you all in a large group about once every 2 yrs and always end up getting the names and nicknames mixed up. Sorry in advance for any other name screw ups!
shog.gif

Another edition and 40 minutes of video coming up to get you ready for the weekend.

No worries Buddy, I feel exactly the same way.... I just am not able to get out too much on my bike & join all you really Gr8 bunch of guys, due to tooooo many other priorities @ the moment. :'( :'( When I am able to join in on events/outrides/trips,... I always have to try remember who is who again & what Forum name matches with the real names :imaposer: :imaposer:

All part of the fun of belonging to a really Gr8 & close pack of WD's ;) :thumleft: :thumleft:

To be honest,... if it wasn't for all the really wonderful RR's & discussions here on the Forum, I really would've not been able to feel a part of everyone & everything. I have said this many times before & I am always Proud to admit & feel a part of this Forum & a really Gr8 family of WD members. There is a true special bond & camaraderie amongst everyone here & is surely does show itself, especially here @ events like this.

Thanks a lot for your wonderful contribution, in all the Gr8 photos & video footage, that makes reading these RR's so addictive & riverting. :thumleft: :thumleft:

BTW,... I really do look forward to hopefully meeting up again @ another event sometime soon. Thanks Neil. :thumleft:

Thanks for a great write up and videos Neil.  :thumleft:

One day I will live my dream  :biggrin: