Namibia DRIVE report, the Landy made it back!

Magtig maar ek raak lus vir n bike trippie as ek my fotos so sorteer!

Anyway, Drive report:
2 more pics of the road to Walvisbaai/Swakopmund. With the bad corrugation I tried to take the tyres down to 1.6bar which did not help much.

The next day we did some more of the local touristy things. First up was the moon landscape. The photo of my wife looked epic if I have to say so myself :)
Not much further is the welwitschia field which was nice. But after seeing so many of them at one spot they have now become a boring sight. There was some big ones there. Later a tour guide told us the biggest one is at this spot at about 1.5m high. Don't think we saw it but oh well. Roads were terrible again, just couldn't decide which was best, in the road or next to the road.

Next we drove back to Walvisbaai to climb dune 7. Nice and though carrying the kids up. A lot easier this time though when compared to dune 45 at Sossus but think that was because we didn't have our takkies/trainers on this time. Wind blew so the children didn't enjoy it at all. They are just the right hight to take the full blast of the sand in the face on a dune when there is wind.

And this brings me to flamingo beach and one of the big highlights of the trip for me, the part 2 instalment....

• IMG_20181017_133636.jpg
    IMG_20181017_133636.jpg
    222.6 KB
  • IMG_20181018_100609.jpg
    IMG_20181018_100609.jpg
    191.8 KB
  • IMG_20181018_104541.jpg
    IMG_20181018_104541.jpg
    259.3 KB
  • IMG_20181018_105300.jpg
    IMG_20181018_105300.jpg
    234.2 KB
  • IMG_20181018_122303.jpg
    IMG_20181018_122303.jpg
    90.4 KB
  • IMG_20181018_122328.jpg
    IMG_20181018_122328.jpg
    78.2 KB
  • IMG_20181017_131811.jpg
    IMG_20181017_131811.jpg
    245.1 KB
Flamingo beach in Walvisbaai was on the itinerary also for the day but not much else. It was around 11:30am still so we had a calm day planned, but this was not to be. While looking at the birds, taking pictures and stopping the children from running into the road or the sea I kept noticing these tour group 4x4's stopping for a few photos and then continuing on. I had no idea where they were going but I was longing to do some proper offroading, so I followed them.  >:D

Turns out they were going to Dorob National park, or so I see now in my photos, did not notice it then. They/we drove past a salt mine and then there was a dune. I charged and got stuck, reversed and tried again before deflating. With tyres at 1bar it was a lot easier and I made it easy. The one side of the dune had a very steep descent which I also tackled. If others can do it why cant I! Well, my wife did not agree and was literally in tears (yes, there is a video of this, much hated-if not yet deleted). Great fun.

But then I noticed some more tour guides still continuing on so I thought why not and followed them. This is where it got interesting. They drove and drove and myself just tagging along. The terrain kept changing until it became dune-ish again with me realising I probably screwed up now. I had no idea where we were. At the next stop (they had some Americans with) I approached them and told them. 'sorry guys for tagging along, I don't know whats up and guess I am probably not allowed to be here. what is the setup?' In the end I paid them a much discounted fee and was then a self-drive tag along. At first I thought it was a lot of money but in the end we had a great time. Tons of dune driving with some stops where they explained some stuff.

Very interesting was the border between South Africa and Namibia, a rope. Seems like Walvisbaai was for a while after we un-occupied Namibia still part of South Africa. Good info.

• IMG_20181018_135209.jpg
    IMG_20181018_135209.jpg
    130.6 KB
  • IMG_20181018_140957.jpg
    IMG_20181018_140957.jpg
    74.7 KB
  • IMG_20181018_134655.jpg
    IMG_20181018_134655.jpg
    112.5 KB
  • IMG_20181018_134444.jpg
    IMG_20181018_134444.jpg
    154.7 KB
  • IMG_20181018_134350.jpg
    IMG_20181018_134350.jpg
    184.2 KB
  • IMG_20181018_133452.jpg
    IMG_20181018_133452.jpg
    159.2 KB
  • IMG_20181018_132322.jpg
    IMG_20181018_132322.jpg
    143.2 KB
  • IMG_20181018_125317.jpg
    IMG_20181018_125317.jpg
    209.5 KB
  • IMG_20181018_125639.jpg
    IMG_20181018_125639.jpg
    166.9 KB
  • IMG_20181018_134135.jpg
    IMG_20181018_134135.jpg
    168.6 KB
I don't like pic-heavy reports and now mine will also be one....some more pictures! I put to much effort into the pics not to share them.

At first I struggled in the dunes. Or rather it was a challenge the whole time keeping up with the hardbodies. Slightly frustrating but I still enjoyed myself. Only later I realized I was in the wrong offroad mode. Last weekend we did the 4x4 route at Waterford and I am sommer pissed thinking back. people telling me to 'floor it' or deflate or this or that when I now know I can drive circles around those bakkies. The land rover is crazy capable in sand. It has tons of power, a smooth gearbox with the low range as well as the super important, center difflock with the rear difflock.

In the pics we were at Sandwich harbour. Saw a lot of cormorants on the beach. Were shown some skulls with a history lesson, took nice pics on what is supposed to be the only dune in the world that stops against the ocean (cant believe this to be true) and then the drive back on the beach. An epic day for me and possibly the biggest highlight of the trip.

• IMG_20181018_151211.jpg
    IMG_20181018_151211.jpg
    82 KB
  • IMG_20181018_172537.jpg
    IMG_20181018_172537.jpg
    126.2 KB
  • IMG_20181018_164846.jpg
    IMG_20181018_164846.jpg
    93.9 KB
  • IMG_20181018_164319.jpg
    IMG_20181018_164319.jpg
    96.1 KB
  • IMG_20181018_152020.jpg
    IMG_20181018_152020.jpg
    153.1 KB
  • IMG_20181018_151407.jpg
    IMG_20181018_151407.jpg
    167.4 KB
  • IMG_20181018_145808.jpg
    IMG_20181018_145808.jpg
    257.9 KB
  • IMG_20181018_145201.jpg
    IMG_20181018_145201.jpg
    131.1 KB
  • IMG_20181018_143149.jpg
    IMG_20181018_143149.jpg
    176.6 KB
  • IMG_20181018_142819.jpg
    IMG_20181018_142819.jpg
    147.2 KB
Reading your report I knew you were on your way to Sandwich harbour.  :thumleft:  You can get a permit at Fiona and Flora and explore that area, preferably two vehicles or more.  If you don.t know the area you can get lost or stuck in some of the salt pans.  Once stuck you will battle to get out on your own.  Great fishing spots in that area as well. 

Vis Arend said:
Reading your report I knew you were on your way to Sandwich harbour.  :thumleft:  You can get a permit at Fiona and Flora and explore that area, preferably two vehicles or more.  If you don.t know the area you can get lost or stuck in some of the salt pans.  Once stuck you will battle to get out on your own.  Great fishing spots in that area as well. 

Its awesome!
I would really like going there again.

Question, can bikes go? It will be a huge workout on a big bike and a massive disturbance of the peace. But will be epic!

Issit rêrag n mens skedel wat daar lê, lyk soos Zuma se broodkop!! :eek: :lol8:
Seker n groot ou rob se dop ;)

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:

Jap. Maar ek kan nie die naam van die stam onthou nie. Het dit nou so vining prober kry op Wikipedia ook maar niks. Sal nog soek.

m0lt3n said:

Jap. Maar ek kan nie die naam van die stam onthou nie. Het dit nou so vining prober kry op Wikipedia ook maar niks. Sal nog soek.
Dalk van die Topnaars wat daar teen die rivier op woon en van naras lewe. :deal:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Topnaar_people

m0lt3n said:

Dalk van die Topnaars wat daar teen die rivier op woon en van naras lewe. :deal:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Topnaar_people
Yes ek dink dit hulle!!! Nie n algemene stam nie

Our intention was to stay 3 nights in Swakopmund but we could only book the self catering place we were at for the first 2. Looking at the route for the next day we saw it was a stretch so decided to sleep the last night at Henties bay and cut a bit out of a long day. Search Henties on AirBnB app, find nice place, book, money goes off, receive location detail and its still in Swakop!!!!  :lamer:
Making the best of the situation we spend the day in town just loitering around, walked on the jetty, Slowtown has some great coffee and the children loved the little jungle gym park. It turned out to be a great day and we got a nice feel for the town in the end. I can see myself living here.
During the day I saw this old landy, looked epic. off course the driver suited the vehicle fine as well, old guy with long white hair. Had to get a pic, the real deal.

The lodgings for the night was also good being 2 blocks from the beach. These people really have it good. You walk through some kind of botanical garden and you are on the beach where we spend a good hour taking pics of the sunset with the children playing in the sand. It was a good day

• IMG_20181019_184457.jpg
    IMG_20181019_184457.jpg
    157.1 KB
  • IMG_20181019_105604.jpg
    IMG_20181019_105604.jpg
    114 KB
  • IMG_20181019_141428.jpg
    IMG_20181019_141428.jpg
    180.9 KB
  • IMG_20181019_122124.jpg
    IMG_20181019_122124.jpg
    154.3 KB
  • IMG_20181019_115319.jpg
    IMG_20181019_115319.jpg
    204.7 KB
  • IMG_20181019_104725.jpg
    IMG_20181019_104725.jpg
    239 KB
  • IMG_20181019_121442.jpg
    IMG_20181019_121442.jpg
    302.4 KB
From Swakop we set off to Palmwag for the night. It was a long drive with a lot to see. There was a number of shipwrecks (first one just outside of Swakop is best fyi), Henties bay was the total opposite of Swakop but also a nice small town, bought our last provisions there. Also saw the Porsche at the "mall". The owner was nowhere to be seen, but the key was inside and the car idling!
Another attraction for the day was the seal colony at Cape cross. The children took a liking to it, seemingly oblivious to the stench which was really getting to me. Damn there is a lot of seals!! Definite worthwhile stop though.

From Henties we went via the Skeleton coast road and turned off just before Torra bay. Roads weren't always a joy but at least some stretches were good. There was also less traffic now, less of the rental 4x4s.

The stop for the night was Palmwag which we were not entirely happy with. Paying (iirc) R600 a night for a campsite you expect the little fire the previous campers made inside the clearing to be cleared. Not fun having to move rocks and ashes around before you can setup tent, it was rather hot.

The day was long, lots of driving but the scenery while driving was super. ever changing. We were getting lazy to not constantly stop for scenery pictures in the heat so not to many to show now.

• IMG_20181020_094855.jpg
    IMG_20181020_094855.jpg
    182.7 KB
  • IMG_20181020_100820.jpg
    IMG_20181020_100820.jpg
    176.7 KB
  • IMG_20181020_113243.jpg
    IMG_20181020_113243.jpg
    71.8 KB
  • IMG_20181020_114100.jpg
    IMG_20181020_114100.jpg
    391.6 KB
  • IMG_20181020_125738.jpg
    IMG_20181020_125738.jpg
    200.3 KB
  • IMG_20181020_131839.jpg
    IMG_20181020_131839.jpg
    205.2 KB
  • IMG_20181020_135544.jpg
    IMG_20181020_135544.jpg
    311 KB
  • IMG_20181020_142404.jpg
    IMG_20181020_142404.jpg
    221.3 KB
  • IMG_20181020_183138.jpg
    IMG_20181020_183138.jpg
    282.2 KB
nou moet ek eers weer moed bymekaar skraap om die volgende fotos te sif. Hiervandaan het ons Sesfontein se rigting gery, mooi area en mooi kamp plek.

m0lt3n said:
From Swakop we set off to Palmwag for the night. It was a long drive with a lot to see. There was a number of shipwrecks (first one just outside of Swakop is best fyi), Henties bay was the total opposite of Swakop but also a nice small town, bought our last provisions there. Also saw the Porsche at the "mall". The owner was nowhere to be seen, but the key was inside and the car idling!
Another attraction for the day was the seal colony at Cape cross. The children took a liking to it, seemingly oblivious to the stench which was really getting to me. Damn there is a lot of seals!! Definite worthwhile stop though.

From Henties we went via the Skeleton coast road and turned off just before Torra bay. Roads weren't always a joy but at least some stretches were good. There was also less traffic now, less of the rental 4x4s.

The stop for the night was Palmwag which we were not entirely happy with. Paying (iirc) R600 a night for a campsite you expect the little fire the previous campers made inside the clearing to be cleared. Not fun having to move rocks and ashes around before you can setup tent, it was rather hot.

The day was long, lots of driving but the scenery while driving was super. ever changing. We were getting lazy to not constantly stop for scenery pictures in the heat so not to many to show now.

Here is the 2012 version of the wreck in your pic with the Landy right next to the beach - marked difference in 6 years!!

• 81 - Shipwreck.JPG
    81 - Shipwreck.JPG
    62.8 KB
ClimbingTurtle said:

Here is the 2012 version of the wreck in your pic with the Landy right next to the beach - marked difference in 6 years!!

I was actually thinking about this, each wreck was less and less visible. Namibia is going to have to wreck some ships if they want to keep tourism booming!

Yours is a nice pic, looks like the engine is visible.

sien hierdie nou eers! Sub  :sip:

Is that a human skeleton I see there in one of the photos  :eek:

Martin - dankie vir die fotos.
Dit bring baie memories terug van toe my kinders so groot soos joune was en ons sulke Suidwes vakansies gehou het. Vir amper 10 jaar was hulle elke Mrt/April of Junie maand in die Namib, Vandag smag hulle na Kaokoland. 
Hou aan om sulke dinge met jou familie te doen.

From Palmwag we set of to Ongongo Waterfal Campsite near Warmquelle or Sesfontein. The road was again badly corrugated and I found the broken down and abandoned grader next to the road very ironic. But be it as it may, the sight of the grader was very eerie (for a lack of better words). The fan on the radiator was still turning in the wind and made for very good pictures!

This excursion for the day was a bit of a waste, we were coming back on the same route the next day to start working our way home. I wanted to get a better feeling for the north of Namibia though, my plan is to go a bit more extreme/remote in future and Ongongo sounded like a very nice camping spot.

We were a bit early in Sesfontein so I continued on straight on the D3707 to Omanye. I previously saw a picture on google maps of 4x4s exciting a canyon driving in a river bed and remembered that I have seen similar landscape on a lot of ride reports. So I half heartedly set of on this road hoping to get to this spot. It was super slow going and with the family starting to get agitated I eventually had to turn around accomplishing nothing. a pity, I have a feeling I was near to some epic scenery but my homework was not done.

I did get my pic at Manchester united though. We bought water and ice, had quiche (yes you read right) at some new guesthouse in Warmquelle and set of for Ongongo. The photography for the day was good so Ongongo pics in next instalment.

I did not find the people very friendly here I must add. Houses showed how poor they were and then of course someone was doing well in a 2 story 'mansion'. 

• IMG_20181021_095402.jpg
    IMG_20181021_095402.jpg
    194.2 KB
  • IMG_20181021_095516.jpg
    IMG_20181021_095516.jpg
    120.4 KB
  • IMG_20181021_095612.jpg
    IMG_20181021_095612.jpg
    205.6 KB
  • IMG_20181021_110049.jpg
    IMG_20181021_110049.jpg