NAMIBIE 4000km Solo on my way to the 2014 Nat Bash

Oom Foe-rie said:
Schalk ...............vertel bietjie meer van jou braai rooster ................. Dit lyk na n interessante stukkie gereedskap ...........  ;)

I'm guessing this is a question about the braai grid. Looks very interesting.......

Enjoying the RR so far :sip:

Enjoying the ride mate "gooi nog" that Oyster bar is a heaven find, Sorry Ian we had about 60 each me and tappet did, fresh fresh fresh. :3some:

A Namib trip with lotsa pics ....what more could one want?

Also want to know more about that braai grill.

Sub.

Kykdaar said:
A Namib trip with lotsa pics ....what more could one want?

Also want to know more about that braai grill.

Sub.
Tx for watching, will update hopefully tonight if power is not down again for 4 hours  :patch:
I will do a honest review of the Super Slim Braai and put the link here..........

:peepwall: hoop nie dai beurt krag het jou plus weg gevat .om kla te report nie  :pot:

MMMmm, looks like I will have to finish the rest in a different post. Updating the first post gave me a "You are exceeding 20000 words or something" ??

Ok, onwards to Solitaire to look for a place to sleep. I did not expect much and was pretty surprised,  excellent campsite.
DSCF0746.JPG

DSCF0747.JPG

If you want your wife to meet you here by small private aircraft, this is it:
DSCF0749.JPG

DSCF0748.JPG

Bad cellphone pic of the excellent deli.
IMG_0634.JPG

These little birds was fascinating, will come right up to  your food while you eating and take a bite as long as you don't move suddenly. Maybe I was getting lonely or going a bit coo coos?
IMG_0636.JPG

NOW !! DON't make the mistake I made: The next morning I got up and left for Walvisbay without looking at my map, notes or gps which meant I missed a must do loop of Remshoogte and Spreetshoogte Pass (Will go back for this!)
Screen%2BShot%2B2015-02-09%2Bat%2B18.28.23.png

I expected the route to Walvis although gravel to be a bit boring. NOT at all. I absolutely loved the rock formations and weird landscape. Stop at the lookouts, (easy to find, just look for tourist busses), climb the koppies and take some pics.
IMG_0638.JPG

That small white rock on top is mine  :)
DSCF0752.JPG

A few pics of the surroundings and the road to Walvis. And don't even think about going into town, this place is dump for thousands of workless namibiers. The stench is horrible. Rather carry on to Swakop, very busy tourist town but nice german atmosphere, buildings and beer.
IMG_0640.JPG

IMG_0641.JPG

DSCF0751.JPG

Next stop, Duin 7. Been here before so I did not climb it, ride it or kiss it.
DSCF0757.JPG

DSCF0758.JPG

DSCF0759.JPG

DSCF0760.JPG

DSCF0763.JPG

The next 2 days I spend at Henties Bay.  My folkes were on holiday there and I suprised them. Mom had such a freight she hit me with her handbag  :biggrin:
DSCF0766.JPG

DSCF0767.JPG

A bit of fishing with my dad. (Net flippen babers en haaie  :mad: )
DSCF0771.JPG

And on my way again towards Brandberg.
DSCF0778.JPG

Brandberg tourist guide walk reception
DSCF0781.JPG

Arriving at Brandberg camping area, the first place I went was the bar
DSCF0784.JPG

DSCF0785.JPG

DSCF0786.JPG

DSCF0788.JPG

From Brandberd straight down to the start of the Khomas Hogland pass. For 400km this is what you see, absolute nothing except wildlife. I did not see any people or cars the whole way. If you bike breaks down here you are in serious shit
DSCF0792.JPG

Oh, and although I was not there in the hot season, this was the temperature for most of the road!
DSCF0796.JPG

The way I organised my trip was planning the route and thats it, no bookings, target dates or certain distances that needed to be done.  All worked out well except for my idiotic decision to start this pass at 18:00 thinking I will make it to Windhoek in daylight.
Start of the pass I had time for a pic or two before I realised I am in trouble.

DSCF0797.JPG

DSCF0798.JPG

DSCF0800.JPG

It got darker and darker, I could not go faster, the pass is quite twisty and rocky with hairpin bends. I decided to carry on until dark and then decide what to do.
DSCF0801.JPG

I decided to relax and camp. Why not, I have all the gear with me, food, water, coffee, droewors. I switched the engine and only then "heard" the silence. My first thought was, "This is what its all about, my bike, the open road and living it" , my second was, "What the hell is that scratching noise in the bush next to me" The next moment "something" came passed me the size of a bosvark, I could not see in the dark and then I remember the words of and old guy that I met next to the road the previous day: "Careful son, there are still plenty leopards in that area"
I mounted my bike in 1.5s flat and pulled off. Although I have pretty good spots, I could not go faster than about 20km/h, Kudu's and other small animals everywhere on the road. Its like they have send out a howling signal or something saying "Scared little biker on the road, lets have some fun"
Anyway, I got to Windhoek 2 hours later and could not find a single room available (To tired to set up camp) due to the annual beer festival going on.
Camped at crappy camping site 10k outside.

DSCF0804.JPG

Next day; Tackled the C18/15/17 (64 Dunes road) towards Hoachannas and eventually Koes. This road is fantastic and a must do, photos can't do justice and it is amazing to to travel on a pretty good gravel/sand road over all those dunes. Just be careful and ALWAYS stay left, the locals do low flying on this road and you can't see ahead of you until the last sec.
DSCF0812.JPG

DSCF0814.JPG

Enjoying some coffee midday.
DSCF0808.JPG

DSCF0810.JPG

Petrol at some "farm" petrol station halfway through (Can't remember the name now) The pumps don't work as the service company only come past once a year. They tap the fuel directly from the truck fueltank into 20L scoops and then into your bike
DSCF0809.JPG

Arriving in Koes you definitely need to visit the Moer Toe Coffee shop, Excellent coffee and fantastic apple tart
By the way, those roads are flippen sandy and its not easy to turn and stop everywhere with a GS

IMG_0673.JPG

IMG_0675.JPG

I stayed in the Koes Hotel but they have a very nice campsite with proper grass and clean ablutions. I enquired about dinner and the owner immediately insisted that I "kuier" with him and some of the locals and then we will braai. Did not take photo's but you all know the story. NOU gaan ons BRAAI.
The steaks was awesome and we had dinner at 23:30. From everywhere the locals will arrive at the hotel around 8 and the last ones left at 2 in the morning. These 2 brothers explained to me that you need to do at least 160km/h at night so that when the kudu's jump for the lights, they will pass behind the bakkie
:eek7:
DSCF0816.JPG

DSCF0818.JPG

Last day in Nam, I stopped at the Wagon Wheel just before crossing the border and again had great coffee and koeksisters. The namibiers know how to bake!
IMG_0677.JPG

IMG_0676.JPG

THANKS for reading guys and if you think about doing NAM, Just Do IT!
I got all my info from Wdogs and it was great.

DSCF0701.JPG

:eek7:  En daai is kwaai Kudu area.    :deal:  Dit moes 'n nagmerrie ry gewees het. 

Last post updated - End of Trip - Thanks for watching  :thumleft: