- Reaction score
- Bike
- KTM 890 Adventure R Rally
Dankie Tom!Super RR
Thanks
Dankie Tom!Super RR
Thanks
Thank you!I know those roads (after you left your boet) so well ... and while you are clearly used to much more technical riding ( from your copious RR’s), there is something about being out there alone that (despite your skillful understatement) you capture so very compellingly. Riding solo in the Eastern Cape backcountry can be very intimidating especially when there is no solace to be found in any of those broken towns that one encounters...
I’m intrigued to see how your make up for the 5 days of dirt that you missed.
Love your work here, ‘bru !
Thank you!Really enjoyed this RR.
Eish, that beautiful Big Blu and Orange, ( which I know so well ) took a bit of a pounding Great RR of an excellent trip NKView attachment 810870The rest of the trip was a nightmare…
I struggle to Dordrecht on dirt and try to find accommodation in yet another EC **** hole……
Nothing!
I ride through to Queenstown 70km away as the sun is setting and book into a very dodgy “lodge” . The area is too dodgy to go out after dark and I decide to go to bed early. I’m so tired that I don’t even think about eating.
I leave Queenstown at 5am on a dark, wet New Years Day morning. I get soaked and terribly cold riding to the EC highlands.
The rest of the day consists of 850km on tar and petrol stops every 200 km. I have my first meal in 48 hours at Grasmere 1 Stop when I get caught in a scary rain storm on the N1.
Completely knackered, I decide to ride to my mom’s house in Centurion and spend the night.
Next morning I leave PTA at 5am for Nelspruit and arrive home in time for breakfast with my family.
It’s still in very good condition @Sheepman !Eish, that beautiful Big Blu and Orange, ( which I know so well ) took a bit of a pounding Great RR of an excellent trip NK
True NK, they luckily fall " cheap " and know your bike will soon be lekker again Excellent kilos you got on that Desert HTIt’s still in very good condition @Sheepman !
I do a lot of maintenance and as you know these 990s fall very well! The fall in the mud did cause a bit of damage to some of the aftermarket parts as well as the screen, but will be sorted soon!
Went in for new tyres today. The MotoZ Desert HT on the rear did just over 7000km!
Thanks Bud!Very kiff report, Canzius! Epic! One day when I'm big!
You meet the nicest people on a HondaAs I sit there feeling sorry for myself I start hearing something.
View attachment 810849
Sounds like a bike….. in the distance I see a bike approaching. A very friendly coloured man in blou overalls named Koos stops next to me on a little Honda XR 125 or something. @sidetrack would be super proud. “ Kan ek help meneer?”. I felt like kissing him…..
Koos says he will ride back to the farm to get his pump. He stays away for a long time but eventually arrives with what looks like a R10 Made in China bicycle pump. I wanna take it from him but he protests : “Nee meneer, laat ek pomp, ek ken al al sy kak”. The pump falls apart completely on 3 or 4 occasions as Koos pumps up the wheel.
Koos helps me fit the wheel and as he gets on his bike I ask him if he would feel offended if I offered him some cash for his trouble…..
“Nee Meneer, Meneer kan maar ietsie gee as Meneer wil” I remove my last R90 from my wallet and hand it to Koos. I would gladly have paid much more than that to thank my rescuer.
Dankie Dirk!Ai nou lekker saamgery. Dankie vir die deel, Pierre.
Ek gaan jou maar van nou af Pierre noem (of Peer), want jou reports sit baie Pierre pressure op my om te pak en ry…
Dan moet ons jou maar begin Dir(u)k noemAi nou lekker saamgery. Dankie vir die deel, Pierre.
Ek gaan jou maar van nou af Pierre noem (of Peer), want jou reports sit baie Pierre pressure op my om te pak en ry…
Enter your email address to join: