michnus
Thought I had to have a lekker theme going with our trip as Somewhere-Els and the 1200GS will be doing their first off-road trip together.
We had to visit the parents in JHB and Bela Bela. JHB alone pisses me off no end, we decided to do as much on dirt and try and keep the tar to a bare minimum where possible.
The route would start just outside EL on the Maclean road about 40km outside EL.
We took the road to Tsolo through to Cala and Elliot. It's amazing how green the place is after the rains. We had the added benefit of no cars and taxi's on these roads. The gravel is just amazing, hard pack for really good fast riding, just love it.
We decided to stay over at the Mountain Shadows lodge outside Elliot on the Barkley Pass, it's a great place run by a young couple. It's also close to the Rhodes road and the Baster voetslaan route over the mountain.
This is one route one has to ride before death and old age set in. It's incredibly beautiful, and the riding is as good as it gets. By this time S-Els and the 1200 started to bond quite nice and I had to twist the throttle a bit more to stay a head of them. We also got a lekker rhythm the way we ride. We know when to stop, when to go no need for walky talkies or helmet talking stuff.
It's just like that, when you get hooked up with a 1200, things just flow, and you can nail the bike kilo's on end with a moerse smile on your bakkies. :biggrin: It started to rain as we got on top, the view from there is to say the least spectacular.
On the plaque it reads The Dr LAPA Munnik Pas opened in 1979.
The next day it was over Lundini's/ Lundeans neck to lower Telle, and on to Zastron. I just can't get enough of the roads, I want more, MORE, MORE!!!
I think God was angry when he made this place. Throw rocks all over the place, and the peaks before the top of Lundeans neck is black and really evil looking. We did this route before, but I can't help slowing down in amazement of the beauty of this place.
For all to follow this route, I build the first rock shrine for WD's up there, it's not big but it's there, please feel free to add. :mwink:
Nature calling. :biggrin:
There's not another part of SA that can equal this beauty. But again you have to go there to experience it, pictures will never do justice.
Carefree living, shit, it was hot, a swim would go down well, unfortunately we had to move on.
We ended up in Wepener, at the Lord Fraser, or better know as Ford Laser. The Bull's give it away, it's a must for a stop over. It's a cool pub and their food are top notch. We met up with a Harley rider that not scared of tackling dirt with his Harley.!!
In Zastron for petrol we met up with a guy riding a Truimph Truxton, with only a back pack from JHB to CP, he smiled he loved it!
Up to now, we did well, keeping of tar, except the part from Tele to Zastron and Wepener. We had to go into Bloem out of my fault because I am a kak navigator and that with a GPS!.
The next day we headed out to Excelsior and onto lekker fast sweeping dirt. Man this place is freaky, it's flat, yes water level flat, the thing you ride into a settlement, without trees, nothing just shacks, where they get water from is a mystery!
The only living things were the horses.
We ended the day in Golden Gate park, give me green and water any day, heat and dead flaktes is not really part of my happy place.
We couldn't leave JHB sooner, up to now we did around 1400km only around 300km of that was tar. It's bedonnerd to know you can stay of tar and cover that distance. One day I am going to try and ride dirt all from EL to Musina or CP, se moer met die W to E ride that got published in Topbike! >
to follow.......
We had to visit the parents in JHB and Bela Bela. JHB alone pisses me off no end, we decided to do as much on dirt and try and keep the tar to a bare minimum where possible.
The route would start just outside EL on the Maclean road about 40km outside EL.

We took the road to Tsolo through to Cala and Elliot. It's amazing how green the place is after the rains. We had the added benefit of no cars and taxi's on these roads. The gravel is just amazing, hard pack for really good fast riding, just love it.

We decided to stay over at the Mountain Shadows lodge outside Elliot on the Barkley Pass, it's a great place run by a young couple. It's also close to the Rhodes road and the Baster voetslaan route over the mountain.
This is one route one has to ride before death and old age set in. It's incredibly beautiful, and the riding is as good as it gets. By this time S-Els and the 1200 started to bond quite nice and I had to twist the throttle a bit more to stay a head of them. We also got a lekker rhythm the way we ride. We know when to stop, when to go no need for walky talkies or helmet talking stuff.
It's just like that, when you get hooked up with a 1200, things just flow, and you can nail the bike kilo's on end with a moerse smile on your bakkies. :biggrin: It started to rain as we got on top, the view from there is to say the least spectacular.

On the plaque it reads The Dr LAPA Munnik Pas opened in 1979.

The next day it was over Lundini's/ Lundeans neck to lower Telle, and on to Zastron. I just can't get enough of the roads, I want more, MORE, MORE!!!

I think God was angry when he made this place. Throw rocks all over the place, and the peaks before the top of Lundeans neck is black and really evil looking. We did this route before, but I can't help slowing down in amazement of the beauty of this place.

For all to follow this route, I build the first rock shrine for WD's up there, it's not big but it's there, please feel free to add. :mwink:

Nature calling. :biggrin:

There's not another part of SA that can equal this beauty. But again you have to go there to experience it, pictures will never do justice.

Carefree living, shit, it was hot, a swim would go down well, unfortunately we had to move on.

We ended up in Wepener, at the Lord Fraser, or better know as Ford Laser. The Bull's give it away, it's a must for a stop over. It's a cool pub and their food are top notch. We met up with a Harley rider that not scared of tackling dirt with his Harley.!!

Up to now, we did well, keeping of tar, except the part from Tele to Zastron and Wepener. We had to go into Bloem out of my fault because I am a kak navigator and that with a GPS!.
The next day we headed out to Excelsior and onto lekker fast sweeping dirt. Man this place is freaky, it's flat, yes water level flat, the thing you ride into a settlement, without trees, nothing just shacks, where they get water from is a mystery!
The only living things were the horses.

We ended the day in Golden Gate park, give me green and water any day, heat and dead flaktes is not really part of my happy place.

We couldn't leave JHB sooner, up to now we did around 1400km only around 300km of that was tar. It's bedonnerd to know you can stay of tar and cover that distance. One day I am going to try and ride dirt all from EL to Musina or CP, se moer met die W to E ride that got published in Topbike! >
to follow.......