P Report. And some Riding as well.

JourneyMan

BMW F650GS / Dakar
Thank for those joining. It was fun and skills were tested. Iâ??m impressed.

Gryshond -Strom 1000
Ryperd  - KTM950
Plothond â?? KTM 990
Funacide â?? KTM 950
Ama Ride Ride â?? BMW1200 GSA
Popipants â?? BMW 1150 GSA
JourneyMan â?? BMW 650  :rolleyes: :mrgreen:

Arrived early at 07H45 for 8H00. Lonesome self.

Some promise of what we might encounter in the back ground.

IMG_0001.jpg

Nothing to do except take pics of some katooms.

IMG_0002.jpg

Coffee was enjoyed until all realized coffee and tea cost the same, so all opted for tea. The thought of just kuiering and dirty the bikes later on the track, was briefly considered. :rolleyes:

IMG_0003.jpg

Time to go. Who invited Darth Vader?

IMG_0004.jpg

First dirt and first P. Some other Riding Horses.

IMG_0005.jpg

Plottie taking Katoom for a P as well.

IMG_0006.jpg

Me stripping my moer ever so slightly for the dogs hooting for me finish the P, I sommer show them a perfectly excecuted wheely.  :thefinger:

(I wish. Unplanned. Nearly shat my pants. Must have been the new sprockets and chain. Fark!  :eek:).

More to follow. Have to go make the kids something to eat.

A slight deviation in the route miraculously brought us to a  tea spot.

Ryperd designated electric fence tester.

IMG_0007.jpg

Plottie. OK. We know you like your baaik. No need  to bring it into the shebeen enclosed area. I doubt anyone would want to steal it.  :biggrin:
IMG_0008.jpg

The bikes.

IMG_0009.jpg

Dogs coming through. Conditions were perfect. Rain the previous night resulted in no/little dust and flying speeds were clocked.

Plothond

IMG_0010.jpg

AmaRide Ride.

IMG_0011.jpg

Funacide in his brand new EVO jacket.

IMG_0012.jpg

Popipants

IMG_0013.jpg

Ryperd. Doing the sweeper thing today. Thanks! :cool:

IMG_0014.jpg

P No. 3. I think. Erm. Ja.

IMG_0015.jpg

Looks a bit better with Plottie out of the picture.  :cool:

IMG_0016.jpg

Emergency Stop.

IMG_0017.jpg

Erm. WDâ??s being very mature and â??ambushingâ? local talent. I missed the finale due to an urgent P.  :rolleyes:

IMG_0019.jpg

IMG_0020.jpg

The designated ambusher. Popipants.  :mrgreen:

IMG_0018.jpg

IMG_0021.jpg

Plothondâ??s waterproof camera also went through a impromto test using beer. What a waste!

From there a bit of tar and then a nice loop joining tar again towards Pienaarsrivier.

High speeds were clocked. Dirt roads were in good condition and nicely wetted down. No or very little dust.

IMG_0023.jpg

IMG_0024.jpg

On to Zaagkuilsdrift road and we hit the first puddle within the first 500 meters.

The Dakar cuts out immediately. Got it going again but the same happens twice again but thereafter not again. Maybe it helped when I took the advice of going slower through the puddles. :rolleyes:

IMG_0026.jpg

Some Pâ??s was also had.

Blerry clowns!  :mrgreen:

IMG_0025.jpg

We hit numerous puddles on that road. Fun was had by all! :razz:

IMG_0027.jpg

IMG_0028.jpg

IMG_0029.jpg

IMG_0030.jpg

No idea what picture  I took here.

IMG_0031.jpg

Me and Ryperd were riding alongside at one stage approaching  another puddle. Me slacked down a bit and Ryperd  hit  the  puddle about two meters ahead of  me, spraying water/mud all over me. (I've mad a note of this  :evil6:)

Gryshond's bike.  :cool:

IMG_0032.jpg

As we continued, the puddles/mud increased. Some worse than others. Some paddling was needed at some sections.

IMG_0033.jpg

IMG_0034.jpg

IMG_0035.jpg

We then hit the famous sand patch aka mud quagmire. Lekker fun. Spinning wheels. Mud flying everywhere.

IMG_0036.jpg

IMG_0037.jpg

Went through this, was windgat at the end and nearly came down twice on the dry ground.  :rolleyes: :redface:

After the now obligatory P, some more puddles

IMG_0038.jpg

IMG_0039.jpg

IMG_0040.jpg

IMG_0041.jpg

Through Gomo-Gomo and the puddles stopped. Good grade road and again the throttle was locked.

img0042kg0.jpg

img0043fv0.jpg

As this was thirsty work, we were very glad to see  this rest place.

img0044xa3.jpg

Amaâ??s ride.

img0047el6.jpg

We saw another Katoom.  :laughing7:

img0046rx9.jpg

The bikes.

img0048xc3.jpg

img0049lp8.jpg

Ama complained at the start that he is struggeling to get his riding pants cleaned properly. At least he will have another  opportunity after this. :mrgreen:

img0050ee7.jpg

They guys were getting hungry and we decided to fore go certain sections of the planned route and get the Bela-Bela  for a bite to eat. Where we lost time, Iâ??m not too sure about.  :scratch:

Plottieâ??s GPS showed a pan nearby and we decided to go  investigate. Lekker twee spoor sandy track in a loop but we did not find the pan.

img0052sn4.jpg

Ryperd enjoying the conditions. :cool:

img0053jw1.jpg

Then full throttle to Bela-Bela for a bite to eat.

img0054io9.jpg

img0056dt0.jpg

img0057ra1.jpg

img0058jh7.jpg

img0059me1.jpg

After that, no more pics from  me. Ryperd, Ama & Gryshond decided to take the highway home.

We went the R101 and then dirt to Walmannstal and back home for a few beers.

But not before I had to drink some petrol.Twice. Ran out of petrol about 10 kmâ??s from home. Did the suck thing, (from a Katoom nogal  :BangHead:) but not enough. Once again  1 km from home.  :redface:

Jeebers! That throttle  twisting played havoc with the Dakarâ??s fuel consumption! :eek:

Plothond,  Funacide and Popipants waiting  out the rain at my place. Eventually they had to leave. Still raining but not as bad as earlier.

img0061rc6.jpg

Thanks guys! I had a blast and a very memorable run!  :thumright:

And sorry for roosting some of you with rocks. Next time go past or stay back! :twisted: :mrgreen:

Ag FFS!!!!!!!!!!!

Typical....i miss the ride of the year...

But then again.. i would have seriously kakked in that mud with my Sirac racing slick i have on the back at the moment....

Nice ride... i see ryperd was there twice

Thank for those joining. It was fun and skills were tested. Iâ??m impressed.

Gryshond -Vara 1000
Ryperd  - KTM950
Plothond â?? KTM 990
Ryperd â?? KTM 950
Ama Ride Ride â?? BMW1200 GSA
Popipants â?? BMW 1150 GSA
JourneyMan â?? BMW 650 

Nice JM, friends having fun, always great to see!

Tell me JM, isn't this the type of condition where you always bliksem neer?

img0037mb6.jpg

Thanks JM for Great Ride.

It was a perfect day for riding, nice roads nice people and even better beer.

Thanks for the hospitality and beers at your house!!!

Uiltjie said:
Nice JM, friends having fun, always great to see!

Tell me JM, isn't this the type of condition where you always bliksem neer?

Ja. Don't know what went wrong yesterday?  :biggrin:

O, but dont i know that road sooo well! thanks for showing. nice!

JM

Thanks for an awesome day, the ride was good, the beers were better and sitting at your bar drinking beers watching the Sharks win again was even better.

Thanks for the ride guys, awesome as usual...

By the way the VSTrom holds the record for the day on dirt. (182 Km/h) I only managed 174 on dirt...................

funacide said:
By the way the VSTrom holds the record for the day on dirt. (182 Km/h) I only managed 174 on dirt...................

Here I get to the end of a dirt section and start to brag about my 166km/h and Funacide says he got 174.
Ok I think - not bad !!. Then Gryshond pipes up - he ONLY got got 182  - damn !!!

I never got chance to get a pic of  Gryshond on the go. Too fast behind me. :lol:

Sheez. Those speeds! The 650 managed about 150 on the clock.  :rolleyes:

Thanks JM & co for great ride.  When is the next one?

Ryperd said:
Thanks JM & co for great ride.  When is the next one?

Maybe next week.

Next year I think we should do an overnighter for the BDay run.

Plothond, where are your pics, come on dude, it has been 3 days now?????

tic-toc

I think he has the evidence Popipants deleted of his own camera. :mrgreen: