Quick ride to Okavango

Ek pak sommer nou my bike

I saw that bike at Old Bridge and wondered if it might be you. Some seriaaaas spots!

Lekker photos!  :thumleft:

Sardine said:
I saw that bike at Old Bridge and wondered if it might be you. Some seriaaaas spots!

Lekker photos!  :thumleft:

Greetings Sardine, are you still in Maun? Would be good to meet up with WD here

Hallo!
Yes, I am. I will most likely be around until early next year. Always keen to meet the WD's and put faces to names  :deal:

I keep on coming back to this thread. Thanks for posting mate  :thumleft:

would love to organize a big group ride someday in the not the distant future. Big ride up and either go back via Vic Falls or back via Namibia...sort of a Bots WD bash

tifua said:
would love to organize a big group ride someday in the not the distant future. Big ride up and either go back via Vic Falls or back via Namibia...sort of a Bots WD bash
I time permits, I am in ! :thumleft:

so my aunt wants to go see a piece of land out in the bush that is for sale and invites me to come with. Been running around town showing my LED products to various potential re-sellers and in the mood for a ride. I agree to go with but will ride the rhino...chance to explore the bush with a support vehicle is a win. Told there is some sand but its manageable....ok so far its looking good. We drive out of town and turn down a dusty dirt road and not 5 min in we have small river crossing. The Hilux gets through no problem but I get stock with front wheel in a hole back wheel in a hole and some kind of rock or something between...great start to the ride. Some pushing, twisting and dragging backwards and I am free so I ride long the edge against the sandbags and make it through. Not wanting to eat dust, I over take soon as we are over the river and the scenery gets more beautiful. Bush, small lagoons, rivers, old wooden bridges to cross and of course sand. Lots of it. Long story short, was great afternoon ride, came off twice in heavy sand, property was so beautiful and right next to lagoon with hippo. I left them there and rode back ahead of them so I could play a bit and enjoyed the back roads and little huts here and there. Back on tar and then haul *** to get home and get braai going. Dinner was boerwors, steaks, garlic bread and salad. Nice end to a great day..... Will let pictures show more

Pic 63: Rileys garage. Maun landmark
Pic 64: On the road to Sherobe
Pic 65 - 66: First water crossing
Pic 67: water all over
Pic 68 - 69: stop to wait for vehicle to catch up. Dont know the route but also dont want to sit chewing dust
Pic 70: water along side roads all over
Pic 71: stopped next to pan / small lagoon
Pic 72: Arrived at the land being sold

• 64.jpg
    64.jpg
    143.9 KB
  • 65.jpg
    65.jpg
    192.6 KB
  • 66.jpg
    66.jpg
    207.2 KB
  • 67.jpg
    67.jpg
    364.2 KB
  • 68.jpg
    68.jpg
    255.8 KB
  • 69.jpg
    69.jpg
    179.2 KB
  • 70.jpg
    70.jpg
    237.8 KB
  • 71.jpg
    71.jpg
    154.1 KB
  • 72.jpg
    72.jpg
    448.1 KB
  • 63.jpg
    63.jpg
    175.2 KB
Pic 73: some of the property riverfront
Pic 74: walking around exploring the plot
Pic 75: the other side also have river front
Pic 76: Ready to hit the road again
Pic 77 - 78: different route home and found another pan
Pic 79 - 81: one of two wood bridge crossings. This one looking a bit weakened with water slowly coming up to logs that are breaking
Pic 82: Last stop before hit the river crossing I got stuck in on the way in then tar road back to Maun

• 74.jpg
    74.jpg
    426.7 KB
  • 82.jpg
    82.jpg
    134.1 KB
  • 81.jpg
    81.jpg
    221.6 KB
  • 80.jpg
    80.jpg
    288.5 KB
  • 79.jpg
    79.jpg
    236.4 KB
  • 78.jpg
    78.jpg
    150.9 KB
  • 77.jpg
    77.jpg
    160.3 KB
  • 76.jpg
    76.jpg
    364.8 KB
  • 75.jpg
    75.jpg
    212 KB
  • 73.jpg
    73.jpg
    227 KB
Pic 83: fading light and tar road home back to Maun

• 83.jpg
    83.jpg
    252.7 KB
I follow every post you make, fantastic !!!
Can't wait to go that way - What is the best time of the year to visit?

SchalkL said:

According to family, early May or September. Best fishing time is October when water is lower and you have the catfish run

tifua said:
SchalkL said:

According to family, early May or September. Best fishing time is October when water is lower and you have the catfish run
:thumleft: Will chat again closer to September

Have to start heading back...my planned route back. Will ride back Saturday all going well and  push straight through. I considered going back same way I came up but been told I might see some scenery and water going though the center

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    198.7 KB
Jy gaan aap blou boude hê teen die tyd dat jy by die huis kom.
Dankie vir die deel en veilig ry terug.

Glad you enjoyed them. Will take few pics on ride home