Recovery from Road To Hell

LeonDude said:
:eek7:
Richtersveld takes no prisoners.

But he did it with a amarok with no low range or lift kit!
(tic)

The suspension fail, did you hit a rock bad or what caused the failure?

m0lt3n said:
LeonDude said:

But he did it with a amarok with no low range or lift kit!
(tic)

The suspension fail, did you hit a rock bad or what caused the failure?

the suspension did not fail ...the connecting rod on the tie rod end broke ...that is part of the steering assembly ...old age and 300 000 km of hard use took its toll

m0lt3n said:
JustBendIt said:
I really wanted to buy a V6 Amarok

But not anymore

We borrowed one to go recover the Mazdarati

It was not my cup of tea

You have to rev it all the time to get anywhere

No low down torque like my bakkie

Very plush suspension good for the road but terrible Offroad - feels like a boat

Also very low and needs way more ground clearance

Very thirsty too 15 litres per 100 km at 120 kph

But there are some positive things like good sound system and big load space for shopping and school bags 😂

Definitely off my wish list

Mazdarati will do 9 litres per 100 km fully loaded at 120 kph all day long in 5th gear at 2500 rpm - truly incredible

Jy moet mooi werk met daai Mazda dat hy jou nog lank hou!
my pa se 3.0 tdci sien nooit sulke goeie verbruik nie, nie eers teen 110kmph nie. Wat is jou geheim?

My bakkie is not standard - I have fiddled with it ...it has a moerse big intercooler, 76mm exhaust and 2 Uni-Q piggyback modules to drive the injectors and the rest of the fuelling ...it makes 150 kW and 550 Nm and has 291 000 km on it now

On the open road it does 120 kph at 2500 rpm in 5th gear and is extremely light on fuel at such a small throttle opening - we don't go faster than this in convoy because my boet's 1HZ Landcruiser cruises comfortably at this speed

LeonDude said:

You are so right - even though I have been there plenty with no real mishaps before the Richtersveld reminded me very rudely who is boss

Even a bad day in the Richtersveld beats a good day at work

@justbendit damn we need to get one of those hovercrafts … or make our vehicles inflatable/deflatable so we can just put them in our pockets and walk out

OomD said:
JustBendIt said:
OomD said:
What a coincidence! We went there with my bakkie too, got about halfway up and came across this white Mazda that someone had left sommer in the middle of the road. Very inconsiderate! We were forced to turn around and go back down.

Some people, hey!
>:D :pot:

Glad you guys made it out, what a lekker campfire story you now have!

How did you turn your vehicle around?

Would love to see you do it cos that road is very narrow with a mountain on one side and a sheer cliff face on the other ...were you in a hovercraft?
That's just the thing that miffed me the most, we were forced to reverse for quite a distance before we could physically turn around. You ever try to go 4x4'ing in reverse? It's not easy, I tell ya!  O0
Pictures ? Or did it even happen?

Aidan said:
@justbendit damn we need to get one of those hovercrafts … or make our vehicles inflatable/deflatable so we can just put them in our pockets and walk out

what we need is a sky hook ...that makes it so much easier

JustBendIt said:
we don't go faster than this in convoy because my boet's 1HZ Landcruiser cruises comfortably at this speed

...can only just cruise at this speed  :peepwall:

A chirp I got on 4x4community forum

• 7308BEF6-FB9D-475D-B100-DAF3C565433A.png
    7308BEF6-FB9D-475D-B100-DAF3C565433A.png
    263.9 KB
m0lt3n said:
What is his problem? What did you do wrong?

He is a poeth

• 11D50669-DEB4-4879-BF3D-6BFB529A274F.jpeg
    11D50669-DEB4-4879-BF3D-6BFB529A274F.jpeg
    12.5 KB
The guys on 4x4community is a strange bunch.

Holier than thou keyboard warriors,  and with buckets-full of personal abuse if you dare differ from them.

• 33A85E0E-3588-4BA1-9276-F6AD68874F4A.png
    33A85E0E-3588-4BA1-9276-F6AD68874F4A.png
    271.3 KB
Lekker Justin  :ricky: Your rapport even made it to the weekly mail from the 4x4 forum, en ja had a lekker lag at your replies to the poes  :imaposer:

Kaboef said:
The guys on 4x4community is a strange bunch.

Holier than thou keyboard warriors,  and with buckets-full of personal abuse if you dare differ from them.

Sounds familiar? Much like some on this forum................ :pot: :peepwall:

Now that is an adventure  :thumleft:

This kind of thing is why I always try to carry extra water and snacks, more so when riding solo

Looks like a lekker route for a GS  :pot:

MildlyWild said:
Now that is an adventure  :thumleft:

This kind of thing is why I always try to carry extra water and snacks, more so when riding solo

Looks like a lekker route for a GS  :pot:

I took the 1190 down there, ride report is here somewhere (or fail report)

I wont do it again

See now, this is what happens when you don't justbendit and go and breakit  :peepwall:

Lekka adventure and one to be remembered for a very long time. I bet the beer tasted good after that long walk  :thumleft: