Short Ride to check out the Canola Fields

Shaun

BMW F800GS
Hando, Nismark & myself took a short ride out to the back of Durbanville to check out the stunning Canola Fields & take a few photos.

I have to say that is sure is really nice to be able to climb on your bike.....ride for only a few km's over the hill (literally 5 or 7 mins) & you all of a sudden feel like you are totally away from the city. First few photos is of us stopping briefly along side the road to take a few photos of the lush green fields with the beautiful Snow Capped Mountains in the background.

• 20130809_150443.jpg
    20130809_150443.jpg
    443 KB
  • IMG_0755.jpg
    IMG_0755.jpg
    209.4 KB
  • IMG_0747_stitch.jpg
    IMG_0747_stitch.jpg
    77.3 KB
  • IMG_0743.jpg
    IMG_0743.jpg
    172.6 KB
  • IMG_0750_stitch.jpg
    IMG_0750_stitch.jpg
    89.3 KB
  • 20130809_150415.jpg
    20130809_150415.jpg
    150 KB
Somehow B&W photos just seem to have that "something special thing" about them......well maybe its just me.....but I like them ;) :thumleft:

• IMG_0753 (Cropped).jpg
    IMG_0753 (Cropped).jpg
    236.7 KB
Few more shots before we mounted our Steeds & headed on towards the Canola Fields, a few more km's further down the road.

• IMG_0754.jpg
    IMG_0754.jpg
    179.8 KB
  • IMG_0757.jpg
    IMG_0757.jpg
    213.1 KB
  • 20130809_150507.jpg
    20130809_150507.jpg
    252.5 KB
Next stop.....these really stunning Canola Fields. Thanks to another photographer passing by in a Bakkie, we managed to get a shot of all 3 of us.

• 20130809_153615.jpg
    20130809_153615.jpg
    411.5 KB
Few more shots of our Scooters & the Fields.

• 20130809_153145.jpg
    20130809_153145.jpg
    309.7 KB
  • 20130809_153332.jpg
    20130809_153332.jpg
    158.8 KB
  • 20130809_153256.jpg
    20130809_153256.jpg
    250.3 KB
  • 20130809_153153.jpg
    20130809_153153.jpg
    311.7 KB
  • 20130809_153013.jpg
    20130809_153013.jpg
    328.2 KB
  • 20130809_153048.jpg
    20130809_153048.jpg
    297.4 KB
  • 20130809_152901.jpg
    20130809_152901.jpg
    120.3 KB
There is a short & small landing strip here nearby & managed to snap this plan as it passed by overhead & then did a slow "low" fly-by"

• 20130809_152406.jpg
    20130809_152406.jpg
    58.1 KB
  • IMG_0764.jpg
    IMG_0764.jpg
    141.5 KB
  • IMG_0766 (Cropped).jpg
    IMG_0766 (Cropped).jpg
    238.1 KB
Few more shots of the Fields & some more snow on the Mountain in the back.

• IMG_0767.jpg
    IMG_0767.jpg
    324.6 KB
  • IMG_0768.jpg
    IMG_0768.jpg
    349.1 KB
  • IMG_0773.jpg
    IMG_0773.jpg
    299 KB
  • IMG_0777.jpg
    IMG_0777.jpg
    236.5 KB
Continued a little further down the road  & then stopped briefly to take a few more photos.

I'd like to Add & make it very Clear...... that NO Canola Fields were damaged or hurt in the taking of these photos. All the shots of the bikes in between the flowers.....the bikes were standing in the "Dug Out Water Drainage Sloots". Promise ;) ;D

• IMG_0782.jpg
    IMG_0782.jpg
    311.8 KB
  • IMG_0787.jpg
    IMG_0787.jpg
    230.4 KB
  • IMG_0786.jpg
    IMG_0786.jpg
    172 KB
  • IMG_0784.jpg
    IMG_0784.jpg
    192.4 KB
  • IMG_0781.jpg
    IMG_0781.jpg
    271.3 KB
  • IMG_0778.jpg
    IMG_0778.jpg
    220.7 KB
  • IMG_0779.jpg
    IMG_0779.jpg
    219 KB
My turn for a photo in between the flowers. Always wanted a shot like this. ;D

• 20130809_155130.jpg
    20130809_155130.jpg
    348.1 KB
  • 20130809_155219.jpg
    20130809_155219.jpg
    335.4 KB
  • 20130809_155141.jpg
    20130809_155141.jpg
    317.3 KB
From here, we started making our way back home via Occultdale Rd, but then both Hando & myself spotted this "Wind Pomp" sticking out on top of this Koppie......so we all made a quick U-turn to check it out.

Made for a good spot to play around with some features of my camera.

• IMG_0788.jpg
    IMG_0788.jpg
    146.4 KB
  • IMG_0791.jpg
    IMG_0791.jpg
    59.8 KB
  • IMG_0793.jpg
    IMG_0793.jpg
    130.3 KB
  • IMG_0792.jpg
    IMG_0792.jpg
    77.2 KB
  • IMG_0795.jpg
    IMG_0795.jpg
    149.5 KB
  • IMG_0797.jpg
    IMG_0797.jpg
    98.9 KB
Few more shots of all three bikes.

• IMG_0799.jpg
    IMG_0799.jpg
    136.9 KB
  • IMG_0803.jpg
    IMG_0803.jpg
    153.4 KB
  • IMG_0802.jpg
    IMG_0802.jpg
    140.5 KB
  • IMG_0801.jpg
    IMG_0801.jpg
    126.1 KB
  • IMG_0800.jpg
    IMG_0800.jpg
    136.5 KB
We left there to return home via Contermans Kloof Road.....where Hando & myself found ourselves doing yet another U-turn, as we came across 2 guys having a lot of fun with this really Cool "Flying Gadget". They were busy doing some Aerial Video footage & kindly gave us a little demonstration of how this FRIKKING Awesome piece of kit works & what all it can do.

After the little Demo....they asked me to get on my bike & do a slow drive-by, so that they could shoot a bit of footage of me riding past. You can see the "little UFO" hanging nicely in the air just to the right, in the last photo.

• 20130809_163730.jpg
    20130809_163730.jpg
    333.2 KB
  • IMG_0809.jpg
    IMG_0809.jpg
    155.1 KB
  • IMG_0808.jpg
    IMG_0808.jpg
    62.9 KB
  • IMG_0804.jpg
    IMG_0804.jpg
    53 KB
  • IMG_0811.jpg
    IMG_0811.jpg
    179.7 KB
  • IMG_0812.jpg
    IMG_0812.jpg
    60.2 KB
  • IMG_0816.jpg
    IMG_0816.jpg
    200.1 KB
Just goes to show, that you don't always have to travel 1000's of km's....in order to see some really wonderful sites & also some rather interesting stuff ;) :thumleft: :thumleft:

Dit is darem baie lekker hier in die Kaap :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Nice trip! Though flying helicopters are really awesome as well. Did you get their contact details, I bet you that camera footage of you would be something to keep!

Thanks for sharing. :thumleft:

Wow Shaun awesome photos bud. Im glad you found the place. It was a stunning day to be out.

Ride the World

Wayne H

Hey Hando

i met you at the van staadens bridge with my grands i have ofter wonder what had happened to u now i know

your friend has taken some very good pic,s

SCHOOLBOY said:
Hey Hando

i met you at the van staadens bridge with my grands i have ofter wonder what had happened to u now i know

your friend has taken some very good pic,s

Howzit SCHOOLBOY.

I am still around. Lots of Ride reports under my name or on my blog (in my sig)

Bring it On. Thx for the ride and the pics.

I think I must take my SLR out and go do the same spot again this afternoon.

And that UFO copter thingy was frieken awesome. Can not wait to see the footage from them.

BlueBull2007 said:
Nice trip! Though flying helicopters are really awesome as well. Did you get their contact details, I bet you that camera footage of you would be something to keep!

Thanks for sharing. :thumleft:

Hey there Buddy,

Always so nice to be get an opportunity to get out on the Scooter :ricky: :ricky: This one happened sort of "right on the last minute" ::) ;D ;D

Yes, I did get their details & most definitely am looking forward to seeing some of that footage they shot.

hayleyscomet said:
Wow Shaun awesome photos bud. Im glad you found the place. It was a stunning day to be out.

Ride the World

Wayne H

Thanks Wayne for sharing that location with us. Really Awesome spot to take photos & truly enjoy the beauty of those fields. :thumleft: