Snow but no Big Freez in Lesotho

wilddoc

KTM 950 Adventure
We thought it will be cold but turned out to be a nice weekend in the snow and not to cold.
I am going to do the ride report with photos as well as I can do.
Just to say Thank you to Big Mac and all his helpers.It was a great trip.
The Good The Bad and the Fugly.

• Moon is setting and we are starting a great day.jpg
    Moon is setting and we are starting a great day.jpg
    33.9 KB
  • Sani top.jpg
    Sani top.jpg
    68.8 KB
  • Borderpost Sani top.jpg
    Borderpost Sani top.jpg
    63.6 KB
  • Getting ready fot long ride.jpg
    Getting ready fot long ride.jpg
    54.8 KB
Sani pass was not to bad.Or was it the ligher bike?
Now up blackmountain with some snow.Lekker

• Half way up Blackmountain.jpg
    Half way up Blackmountain.jpg
    64.4 KB
  • Ian B on his way up Blackmountain.jpg
    Ian B on his way up Blackmountain.jpg
    72.1 KB
  • Snow on the mountains.jpg
    Snow on the mountains.jpg
    58.1 KB
  • The Chinese ar fixing the roads..jpg
    The Chinese ar fixing the roads..jpg
    79.8 KB
  • Waterfalls galore in Lesotho.jpg
    Waterfalls galore in Lesotho.jpg
    95.6 KB
I am doing this bit by bit because I do not know how many photos I can do at one time.
The roads were a lot better than last year.China is working hard.

• Must be all the advice from the sideline.jpg
    Must be all the advice from the sideline.jpg
    74.5 KB
  • The Offsales.jpg
    The Offsales.jpg
    69.3 KB
  • Ian B at the Offsales.jpg
    Ian B at the Offsales.jpg
    70.2 KB
  • Ian B Crossing the big river.jpg
    Ian B Crossing the big river.jpg
    74.7 KB
  • Crossing the Orange.jpg
    Crossing the Orange.jpg
    89.3 KB
  • Lesotho got lots of water and rocks.jpg
    Lesotho got lots of water and rocks.jpg
    56.4 KB
  • Big Mac working up a sweat fixing a Puncture. Two tubes pinched.jpg
    Big Mac working up a sweat fixing a Puncture. Two tubes pinched.jpg
    88.2 KB
The Katze is always impressive.
The petrol at Excel is finish but the ultra modern petrol station always has got petrol???

• The Petrolstation.jpg
    The Petrolstation.jpg
    58.7 KB
  • The rule was a No 4.jpg
    The rule was a No 4.jpg
    40.3 KB
  • Getting the fines ready.jpg
    Getting the fines ready.jpg
    48.3 KB
  • Big Mac Thanks for the ride.jpg
    Big Mac Thanks for the ride.jpg
    73.9 KB
  • Katze Dam.jpg
    Katze Dam.jpg
    77.3 KB
  • Beutifull day over Katze.jpg
    Beutifull day over Katze.jpg
    54.8 KB
  • After a long day.jpg
    After a long day.jpg
    59.1 KB
  • Bikes at Katze.jpg
    Bikes at Katze.jpg
    103 KB
Saturday was Matabeng pass.
Slow and winding road to get there but some beutifull views.
The way home was over Rama gate to Underberg.
Lovely way to spend a weekend.

• Sandstone.jpg
    Sandstone.jpg
    72.1 KB
  • Beutifull rocks.jpg
    Beutifull rocks.jpg
    71.5 KB
  • Matabeng pass.jpg
    Matabeng pass.jpg
    106.3 KB
  • Matabeng pass halfway.jpg
    Matabeng pass halfway.jpg
    67.5 KB
  • Snow on our way down Matabeng.jpg
    Snow on our way down Matabeng.jpg
    103.3 KB
  • Winding Matabeng.jpg
    Winding Matabeng.jpg
    62 KB
  • Bib mac gets a fine.jpg
    Bib mac gets a fine.jpg
    54.2 KB
Thanks for starting the report Doc, will add some later - Thanks to all who came and we will donate some good cash from all the fines to the PINK DRIVE. See their web page www.pinkdrive.co.za

Some people do not know what it means if we say The ride end at the Keg not In the Keg

• Katse 2013 116.jpg
    Katse 2013 116.jpg
    63.8 KB
Thanks Doc for the Pics, it truly was a great ride, we all had a Blast.......!!!!!!!!!!

Rides like this make you realize just how privileged we are to live close to places where great adventures are possible.

Thanks to all the organizers and everyone that came along and to the bakkie boys in the support vehicles.

Regards

Gavan

Woke up on friday at 6.30 to late to see u all off glad all went well thanks for report was wondering how it went.

More action pics from saterday night please.

:snorting:

Hey Leon

glad you guys all had a jol

Jon

Nice Leon lets get more pics.Not to cold.Thanks to the chaps for a great ride and lots of fun.Glade we all home safe.And Wooly Bugger the big chap from Merrivale on the SE did manage to hit a sheep,Sent it spinning.

Wilddoc, I have done the route/s from Sani to Katse a number a times but can't seem to remember this bridge.
Where exactly is it?

• Crossing the Orange.jpg
    Crossing the Orange.jpg
    89.3 KB
Losper said:
Wilddoc, I have done the route/s from Sani to Katse a number a times but can't seem to remember this bridge.
Where exactly is it?

Losper, it's on the road before Thaba Tseka.  The water is VERY high!!!  We stopped there for lunch with the 4x4s once - leftover chilli con carne and pap, was AWESOME! ;D

I would venture a guess at: S29.48286 E28.91359

Looked like a great trip  :thumleft: