So I got a bit lost...

So here is the thing... I ride once a year, I am a Mom and have a little boy waiting for me to get home safely and my riding is shocking at the best of times, so I was quite happy to be done for the day. Quite happy to find my way to Thomas River and just sit and veg... watch life go by...

But no................... the guys had other plans. They wanted to do a 50km loop.

FINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(In hindsight I should have just thrown a tantrum and said no, I wasn't going with... buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuut, then I wouldn't have had the adventure I did)

Off we go, through Cathcart and out some other side.

A way down the road I spot all the guys. Noxious has a puncture.

No THROTTLE in sight and I tell edgy I am slowly carrying on.

I find THROTTLE. He tells me something something if there is doubt wait something something the tar road is close by something something.

Yeah, I should have listened more.  :biggrin:

1 Yamaha
1 KLR (puncture)
3 2 KTM's
4 Honda's (1 off)

• 35.JPG
    35.JPG
    430.3 KB
  • 34.JPG
    34.JPG
    399 KB
Seriously gorgeous area. I even had some Impala rams jump out in front of me and sprint down the road.

• 36.JPG
    36.JPG
    387.2 KB
Here is where I should have just waited. The road is kinda a T-junction, but not really. Just behind the bike and the signs the road veered sharply to the right. To the left was a smooth 'carry on this way' road.

In my defence, I did stop and ponder the route a bit, but judging (wrongly) by the signs, I figured well civilisation was only 28kms away, as the only sensible sign was for the police station.

Not so... but I carried on...

• 37.JPG
    37.JPG
    307.7 KB
And on... past seemingly well maintained roads and supposed signs of life...

• 39.JPG
    39.JPG
    263.4 KB
  • 40.JPG
    40.JPG
    307.2 KB
  • 41.JPG
    41.JPG
    290.8 KB
And still on I go.... even though in the back of my mind I am thinking surely the guys must have caught up to me by now!!!!!!!

Not panicked really as I am OK, the bike is full and how far can this ******* police station be!!!!!

Besides, it is a really pretty route and I am enjoying it.

I didn't even think anything of it when I stopped some random oke walking and asked him where does this road lead... his answer... TRANSKEI!!!!!!!!!!

Hmmm... odd, but hey, Google says the tar road is near...

So on I go...

I come to a fork and think nee fok man, this is now a bit much. But lo and behold, I can't be lost cos I hear bikes!!!!!!! YAAAAAAAAAY!

• 42.JPG
    42.JPG
    283.2 KB
  • 43.JPG
    43.JPG
    277.8 KB
Dave, Mike and Noxious arrive.

Where the **** are you going I can hear them think. Noxious phones edgy and he drops a pin... we are just a wee bit away from them... 40kms!!!!!!!!

I say, well the map said it's not much further and Dave confirms it on his phone. SHAME ON YOU LOT FOR LISTENING TO ME!!!!!  :lol8: :lol8:

• 44.JPG
    44.JPG
    384.4 KB
We carry on...

*shakes head*

I make a silly line error and plop down on the ground. Nobody around. ****! I have to pick up 240 odd kilograms on my own! Oh the joy!!!

1 Yamaha
1 KLR (puncture)
3 2 KTM's
4 Honda's (1 off, another off)

• 45.JPG
    45.JPG
    391.6 KB
Noxious comes back and says we have reached a dead end... abandoned farmhouse, padlocked gates.

Ag no man, I really don't want to traipse all the way back. Some parts were not fun at all.

Says he will go ahead and get up high so we can phone the rest of the guys.

• 46.JPG
    46.JPG
    326.6 KB
He phones and THROTTLE wants to speak to me... a whole lot of uitkak which I didn't feel like dealing with so I gave the phone back to Noxious. It wasn't like I was off the hook and knew kak was coming.

In the guys' defence, Dave also used my 'police station logic' and edgy never waited for Mike and Noxious, so they saw my tracks and followed me. Whoops!

So we just have to soldier on and head back the way we came.

Dave had a sandy moment and almost ended up in the dry river bed, but managed to put the bike down on the bridge. Right footpeg snapped clean off.

1 Yamaha
1 KLR (puncture)
3 2 KTM's
4 Honda's (1 off, another off... and another off)

• 47.JPG
    47.JPG
    374.3 KB
Finally got to the 'forked' road and bolted for home!

edgy, the tar road was not 2.7kms from there.  :p

• 48.JPG
    48.JPG
    225.1 KB
  • 49.JPG
    49.JPG
    322.8 KB
Basically, this is the little loop we were meant to do.

I went left instead of right and pretty much ended up at the Kei river.

• 38.jpg
    38.jpg
    88.3 KB
Eventually got to Thomas River, albeit a bit late.

Not looking forward to getting off the bike, as I can see STORMCLOUD THROTTLE is not happy to see me.  :'(

So so sorry Noxious, Dave and Mike, but really really thank you for being part of my adventure.

I get a MOERSE MASSIVE uitkak session from THROTTLE. At least he wasn't that mad, cos he brought me a drink to sweeten the blow.

I totally get where he is coming from though and I take it like a man, with tears streaming down my face.

• 50.JPG
    50.JPG
    328.6 KB
Face washed and feeling better I join the festivities.

What a lovely, unspoilt venue. The food was delicious, even though I had to braai three people's meat.  :imaposer:

Lots of drinks were had and the KTM vs Honda banter continued......

• 51.JPG
    51.JPG
    308.7 KB
  • 52.JPG
    52.JPG
    249.1 KB
  • 53.JPG
    53.JPG
    265 KB
  • 54.JPG
    54.JPG
    305 KB
  • 55.JPG
    55.JPG
    342.7 KB
  • 56.JPG
    56.JPG
    307.2 KB
The unfriendliest cat EVER...

• 57.JPG
    57.JPG
    270.8 KB
Good night's rest was had. Basic accommodation, but it was clean and comfy and there was a hot shower to wash all the dust away.

We wake up to looming clouds and a bit of rain spatter.

Ugh, not in the mood and I want to hightail it home on tar.

• 49.jpg
    49.jpg
    151.3 KB
  • 50.jpg
    50.jpg
    223.9 KB
Of course tar is not an option and we head in to Stutterheim to refuel and head off on the dirt towards Breakfast Vlei.

• 58.JPG
    58.JPG
    179.4 KB
  • 59.JPG
    59.JPG
    255.6 KB
  • 60.JPG
    60.JPG
    275.6 KB
  • 61.JPG
    61.JPG