Swannie Braai and Katbakkies pass.....a short story

mother

Harley Davidson (all models)
Yesterday my other half and I decided to take a scenic ride out to the Cederberg area from Cape Town..........we are very fortunate to be living in a beautiful part of SA and while in lockdown we dont have to travel too far to get into the out doors

our plan was to enjoy a bit of me time and have a Swannie braai somewhere in the sticks

for those of you that have a Swanniebraai ........i wonder when last you used it......

We packed all the necessary goods in .....like the newspaper.. lighter.. wors ..paper plates ..buns etc
it was great looking forward to a picnic lunch somewhere along the road

I knew we would find a nice spot......

when we left Cape Town the wind was pumping and we both felt a little disappointed thinking we were going to be blown away.........and i wasnt keen to braai next to the road in this wind

we never the less continued on our way and past the quarry and fairview farm took some dirt short cuts

the route was to Wellington and over the Bainskloof pass to Ceres

by the time we got to Bainskloof the wind had dropped completely and I was glad we had continued in our quest for a Swanniebraai picnic/lunch

• bainskloof 2.jpg
    bainskloof 2.jpg
    284.7 KB · Views: 292
  • bainskloof pass 1.jpg
    bainskloof pass 1.jpg
    493.6 KB · Views: 292
  • happy wife bainskloof.jpg
    happy wife bainskloof.jpg
    619 KB · Views: 295
from Bainskloof we headed to Ceres topped up with Gas to ensure our petrol needs were fine until the loop home
From Ceres we headed out to Prins Alfred Hamlet and up the pass to Op die Berg

the views from the top of the pass overlooking Ceres is always breathtaking to say the least and there were still sprinkles of snow on the peaks in the distance

• prince alfred hamlet view.jpg
    prince alfred hamlet view.jpg
    256.1 KB · Views: 293
My swanniebraai is always in the bakkie when I leave home.  8)

At the turn to the cedar berg oasis by op die berg
there was a covid police road block but they did not seem interested and made no attempt to stop us so i just kept on going

• cederberg sign.jpg
    cederberg sign.jpg
    570.6 KB · Views: 287
  • cederberg view.jpg
    cederberg view.jpg
    319.1 KB · Views: 291
at the sign we headed right toward Katbakkies pass

• katbakkies.jpg
    katbakkies.jpg
    417.6 KB · Views: 288
At the top of Katbakkies it was breathtaking and the perfect spot for the Swanniebraai

besides it was already lunchtime and we could not have been at a better spot to enjoy our braai

the wind had completely gone if there was a mild breeze it was a lot

i will let the pictures do the talking.......

after lunch as we were wrapping up a group of about 6 bikes came up over the pass from the Tankwa Padstal side and stopped just a bit further down the pass

• swannie boerie braai.jpg
    swannie boerie braai.jpg
    164.6 KB · Views: 287
  • katbakkies lunch.jpg
    katbakkies lunch.jpg
    257.1 KB · Views: 297
  • swannie braai and beer.jpg
    swannie braai and beer.jpg
    294.8 KB · Views: 287
  • swannie braai katbakkies.jpg
    swannie braai katbakkies.jpg
    325.3 KB · Views: 284
view back towards ceres from katbakkies and the other bikers in the distance

• katbakkies other bikes view.jpg
    katbakkies other bikes view.jpg
    417.5 KB · Views: 288
after lunch we headed down the pass towards Tankwa Padstal stopping to take more pictures of the stunning views

• katbakkies ruins.jpg
    katbakkies ruins.jpg
    268.4 KB · Views: 286
  • katbakkies pass to padstal view.jpg
    katbakkies pass to padstal view.jpg
    437.6 KB · Views: 299
  • stunning view towads padstal.jpg
    stunning view towads padstal.jpg
    478.3 KB · Views: 281
Nice.
Thats the way to have a picnic.

Nice pics, Mr. Vorster!!!!

You are truly blessed to live in such a beautiful part of area!!

Gauteng is going to the dogs in our area.... Along the Quagga N4 toll road towards Brits the land has been put out for an informal settlement.
There are THOUSANDS of shacks going up. Even the area along the dirt road from Hennops to Erasmia is filling up very quickly...

on arriving at the Padstal we were still full however managed to have a few drinks and just relax in the peace and quiet of the place

hard to describe this feeling to city slickers

anyway eventually we had to make a move on as it was after 3pm and we were still miles from home

• padstal.jpg
    padstal.jpg
    395.4 KB · Views: 278
  • padstal drinks.jpg
    padstal drinks.jpg
    210 KB · Views: 283
Nice RR and beautiful photos. Can you remind me whats in that bottle there? I have fond prelock down memories of that familiar looking beverage.

Haha not that orange one.

on the homeward ride i must admit i pushed it a bit and just after 5.30pm we rolled in the gate at home

my route home was obviously gravel but towards Touws river ......point to note the covid police were again present at the end of the tar road turn towards Touws river.......but again seem disinterested in us and waved us on by

from here we did Ceres/Tulbagh/Riebeek Kasteel/Malmesbury  and home ..........lovely picnic and just over 400 km for the day

life is good  O0

I find it hard to decide which is prettier your wife or your bike!!! ;)
Thanks for many photos of both. :thumleft:
People need to take more breaks like this, thanks for posting Mother.

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:
I find it hard to decide which is prettier your wife or your bike!!! ;)
Thanks for many photos of both. :thumleft:
People need to take more breaks like this, thanks for posting Mother.

hoe lekker lag ek nou :laughing4:

blockheadxl650v said:
Nice RR and beautiful photos. Can you remind me whats in that bottle there? I have fond prelock down memories of that familiar looking beverage.

Haha not that orange one.

hehehe i treasured my stash.......only a few left for the next braai  O0

Lekker Chris dankie vir die deel.  :thumleft: