The Dinosaur and the Ghost Town

Oubones said:
Lekker one, always enjoy your comments.
Sommer gooi nog.

Thanks Oubones, You would dig that possie. Dam was "Lekker" "Daar" but "Ja" heres some more to enjoy.  :biggrin: :ricky:

Jakkals said:
Lekker Alan, altyd lekker om jou RR's te lees.  :thumleft:

Baie intresante plekkie daai.

Hier braai Draadwerk vir ons 'n tjoppie by die club huis se braai area terwyl die scooters koelte soek op die club huis se stoep.

Hey old Jakkals old chap. Yip looks like you "Ous" also enjoyed the possie. Was "lekker" gewees" both times, but things are changing there. Stay tuned you will see.. Glad you enjoying the ride. :biggrin:  :ricky:

Ian in Great Brak River said:
Nice one, are those new gloves you got there too? At least you made it in and out with no zombie attacks...

8)

Howzit Bud. Yip no bloody Zombies on this one. But done a lot more exploring than last. No old gloves. Glad you enjoying the Ride, so let me "Gooi" you some more. Enjoy  :biggrin: :ricky:

punisher said:
blerrry lekker storie  die
Hey Punisher Glad you enjoying it mate. Gonna "Gooi" on some more so enjoy the ride  :biggrin: :ricky:

punisher said:
blerrry lekker storie  die
Hey Punisher Glad you enjoying it mate. Gonna "Gooi" on some more so enjoy the ride  :biggrin: :ricky:

Dam I did not hear any Ghost “Ous”, only a lot of bloody snoring, think this bunch “Jaaged” those Ghost “”Ous” awaaaay. Hehehe
I is up early and take some “Kiekies” whilst the rest lie around except for Jonty the “Amper Skoon seun” who is making us some coffee.

Our Possie overlooking one of the houses they is revamping.

The Natasha Goose.

The Albie Rug Rat

The Zannie Rug Rat.

The coffee.

The Jonty “Amper Skoon Seun Ou”

Albie goes and “Borsels “his “Tande”

Whilst I send up smoke signals for my good buddy the other Dinosaur “Ou” Ian in great Brak River to tune him we is here.(Ian was an eagle scout so he can read smoke signals) Hehehe

Then I starts with breakfast

Breakfast: “Wors” and “Worsies” and onions and tomato gravy with garlic and a cold one marinade in it, scrambled eggs with chicken pieces and rolls with your choice of beverage. For the “Ous” that don’t know what beverage is it’s the “Donnerse Gooites” that a “Ou” drinks. He he

Some “Ous” are not all that up to speed like me in the mornings and they “Sommer” drink lotsa coffee.

Look me is up to speed and “Moerse” handsome as well. Hehehe

Don’t mess with a “Ous” food.

We is prepared for all “Gooites” to happen as we has us some Walky Talkies as well. For the Afrikaans “Ous” Loop en Praat Gooites” Ok

A portrait pic.

And another.

We all sits down to eats this “Lekker” food I did make for breakfast.

Afterwards zannie went to puke.

Ooops silly me she just went to “Borsel” her “Tande”. Hehehehe
Oh!! And Jonti also

Now we goes and checks out the possie a bit, but for some stupid reason  we is running out of my beloved cold ones as someone I want mention their names Albie and Jonti had left the other cold ones still in the fridge, so we had to make “Planne” of all sorts and we did.
We is preparing our selfs to go to the locals drinking “Gat” She been in the closest township 8km away, one of the security “Ous” is gonna be our “Spoer Snyer”Hehe.
A few pics as we set onto our mission.

We does follow our guide who is sitting in the back of the bakkie down this road,

And this one road also.

We take photos of our quest to go and find the cold ones so far far away so that you “Ous” can see we did not “Jok” about it.

We swam through shark infested waters.

We even were forced unmerciserraly to ride on this. (The Horror)

And fought of Parana’s as the jumped at us from the river.

Even Ian’s goats were there trying to get us.

But onwards we went.

We even saw some Moo chops walking around

We saw this polluted section of waste land

And the modern day …

But alas we did concur our fears and we reaped the benefits of them.

Then we had to head back again and face the dangers of the long long 8km trip back.

Down this again, Oh the horror I still see it when I close my eyes.

Back over the water we swam

Had to “Baklei” with those dam Skarks and Tuna fish again

Our Goal is in reach, we can taste the victory.

Gravel or dirt, dirt, dirt Roads , we made it against all of those odds.

We stopped at our possie to replenish our first and brag about our deadly encounters which we managed to survive. Hehe.

We take stock and load up on supplies  before we start exploring and looking for the ghosts that still “Haunt” the quite town of “Diepgezet”

Master Beerkie said:

Hey Beerkie see you also  hoped on and enjoying the ride :ricky: Will "Gooi" on somr more later. sorry "Ous" work calls

We take stock and load up on supplies  before we start exploring and looking for the ghosts that still “Haunt” the quite town of “Diepgezet”We take to the streets again armed and ready, supplies are cold and wet as we start exploring and discovering what lies ahead for us in the “Ghost Town”  “Diepgezet”

A fire had swept through here a week ago and one can see the damage it caused.

Some ghost houses have stood up against the fire, a bit scorched but they still stand proudly in the wind and sun

We go to the mine offices.

Nobody mans the boom, but it feels like somebody is there
The Diesel pump stands alone, ok ok its got a afdakkie with it. “Mooi ne”

We take a “Trap” through the once busy offices, im at a lost to see the destruction that has happened in the last year that I was here last; I will let the photies show you.

Albie scratches in a draw whilst I keep “cavy” hehe

He finds a key, could it be a “Skeleton” “Key”. Nope its just a bloody key. hehe

The same office a year ago. This place closed down in 95-96 and only now did the vandelization start.

Meanwhile the rest are exploring and having a ball.

And the past again comes to haunt me.

Albies first time here so he and them don’t see what I see, I feel for the people who worked here, lived here, and had their dreams shattered here, only to have this once vibrant place go to ruin as the people ransack and needlessly destroy the place.

We takes a walk to the top offices.

There once again things have been stolen or vandalized.

The board room last year chairs and “Alles”

And the map room next door.

The board still shows the past.

We move to the store section, old Chrystalite asbestos lies around

A quick peep and we of to explore some more.

Meanwhile the Boneys and bakkie wait patiently for our return.

A nice photy of a “Pomp” and the surrounding scenery

We explore the stores buildings.

Then we proceed to the post office, security office and compound.

The place has been ransacked.
Once again a year ago.

Meanwhile a photo gets taken of the Moerse strong Dinosaur and his faithful Steed the “Honda”.

“Doners Mooi ne” A collectable piece for you “Ouses” garage walls or “Sommer” above you fire posies in you houses. Hehehe
Then we go and “Verken” some more of the possie.
We crossers rivers.

We get blocked in by a fallen tree and its branches

But we is not “Bang “”ous” As one of us is a WD, and the “Moerse” strong Dinosaur, we is bikers, So
we has to chop away branches and a “Groet Tak” which is blocking our paths with our trusted knives.

See we is hard at work.

One of us even almost loses his guns magazine. Lucky I was also an eagle scout so I did see it. Hehehe

We gets the tree thingy out of the way so that we can go along our merry way.

We goes down here.

And I takes this “Mooi” photo

Meanwhile the “Goose” takes a “Trap” on this bridge thingy and “Haaaaks Vas”.  Natasha has a height problem, but she faces her fears and concurs them.

Don’t know if what I said helped her. (I tuned her that if she did not move I was gonna leave her there.) See im a nice “Ou” I help people with “Gooites” Hehehehe
Then I took another photo

Our brave ferocious watch dog seems to have the same fear as he leopard crawled along, Huh don’t figure as he is a doggy not a leopard. Hehe shame.

A happy smile.Proud of you Goose.

A pic of the other side.

Meanwhile the almost “Skoonseun” brags about how soft his hand are. Shame. hehehe

So I tunes him to be a man and go swim in the refreshing water.

Albert decides to join him.

He “Verkens the river.See he is busy “Verkening” hehe

And then “Goois” the Goose wet

Zannie asks him nicely not to throw her wet.

Which he agrees on. Hehe
Albert has a oops.

But they both have a swim in the warm water.

Meanwhile we go on to verken a bit more but I first takes a photo.

We follow the road, but its getting major worse as we go along, the bakkie is “Sukkeling” to clear some humps and “Gooites” then we catch a steep down grade section so I  tunes them to wait whilst we go and check the section out, I turn around but albert goes up a “Lekker” steep section, on his way back he “Donners” down, sorry no photo as him and his “Boney”  was up so fast I dident even get a chance to take a photie.
A view of the home made dam which supplied the mines shafts with water.

Up close.

We was considering going for a goof but decided against it as we did not see any life in the water.  Lucky for us as this water was used in the mines for cooling purposes in the shafts and such “Gooites”.

Then we head on back to go and check out if we can find those “Spooke” from this “Spook” possie we is in.

The church apparently never used stands alone and all by its self.

Its first sermon. Maybe

Whilst the kids and the goose buggered around in the church I went exploring.

Jonty locked the door and climbed out of the window.

He then proceeded to? “Fok ek weet nie” he just done this “Gooites”

Some times its better not to ask. Hehehe
I in the meantime has found this.

And this

And this

And the workshop place as well.
Things just lie scattered all around.

Then we off to the golf course side.

Jonty and the bull, at least I think it was one. hehe

He he. He was a “woes” and ran away from the Cow thingy
The club house was a bit of a disappointment as it has just change rooms and this small bar, ok I no they had tea and scons and “gooites” on the “Stoep” aswell, but still I expected better as the golf course was ranked 3rd beat possie to play golf is SA

Then back to exploring the houses. We find this doll house built for the kids on one of the premises.

The day has been long and its starting to show, the woman are “Moeg”
Natasha is “Sukkeling “to climb on and off of the bike.

Zannie is just as buggered.

We still have to go and quickly “Verken” the school.

The tree in front of the school has tasted the fire.

Even the school has been vandalized

The old principal has left his number and a message.
The school hall lies silent its as if  it's waiting the kids to return

The black board or as in this case green board tells a story.

Its getting late, the “Ous” and “Gooses” are “moeg” so we go back to our house. Albert and Jonty quickly reset the computer on the bike as it shows a warning light from falling down.

Mmm Time to get these bad boys on the grill 6kg of them.

But first we have to wait for this to settle.

It does and I start braaing.

The day has taken its toll on the “Ous” as they are buggered

But still we party on. Me im just enjoying the night, the crackling of the fire, the Ribbetjies braaing away, the company im sharing it with and of course my beloved cold ones.

Mmmm looks “Lekker ne” Hehe it was, we was “Honger” and we chomped all of them, with garlic bread and asparagus and some more cold ones, Jack thought he was in heaven with all of those bones.

But alas as all good things have to come to an end, we eventually have to go and catch up on the ZZZZZ’s.

Next morning I is up early and I makes us “Ous” some coffee and take some pics.
The Boneys.

The bakkie and Table

The empty cold ones. Shame

Our braai possie and fire possie.

The sun wants to make its appearance so I takes a few “Kiekies” as it comes over the “Berg”

A pic of the crash Bars me and Tappet made which saved Albies” Boney” from some serious damage.

Now a quick word.
This is the “Ou” to see if you in the area Allen or if you want to organize a possie for the night give him a call on 079 603 6678 as him, his missus Liz and pel Nathan are busy restoration the possie

The coffee shop oh yes they have one going, check it out.

Here a “Ou” and his “Goose” and “Rug Rats” can sit and have some “Gooites” to eat and drink whilst checking out the possie.
Nathan runs it.

The Menu

Liz helping to get things done.The woman's touch "Thingy"

Some completed posies and almost completed posies.

The handy man

The Braai area where you “ous” can “Gooi” some “Gooites” on the “Koole” and consume cold ones.

This house is almost finished.

So Diepgezet is having a face lift, The Ghosts that haunt the place will soon be gone, As Allen says if he can finish restoring one or two houses a month and rent them out as permanent dwellings or as a place to get away to for the weekend or week or so it will be available to us “Ous” Prices are good.
Well with that said there was only one last thing to do before the ride back.
Visit the Waterfall, which we did.

The last pose from these two.

And the Natasha “Goose”

The water pipe that supplied water to the town.

This place has beauty everywhere.

And with that we begin our ride back.

The scenery is still amazing.

The road snakes upwards steep in places, but we push on.

And on we go.

Another waterfall in the distance catches my eye.

Stark reality as how strong the wind was as this tree lies down to die.

We reach the top.

We all no what means, we on our way home
The twisties await us as we proceed to Barbeton. Dam man this is good riding.

Even old Jack is enjoying the ride.

We stop for a breather and of course a smoke break.

One of the little gems as we proceed forward.

And another, the views are breath taking.

But alas we soon part with this beautiful piece of country and have to realize we are once again in the rat race as cages swarm all over and the peace and solitude is shattered.

We stop and fill up and have a smoke break then we head for home.
Well that’s it “Ous” and “Gooses” hope you enjoyed the ride.

The trusted Steed
                                                                        The Honda and the Dinosaur

Allen I

Lekker, net die terug tussen al die gejaag is nie.
Die arme ou spoke is seker bly dat julle ous weg is, nou kan hulle hulself hoor snork. :imaposer: :peepwall:
Dankie, jou skryfwerk is altyd lekker lees :thumleft: