The Goat Ride ... or should that be The Goats' Ride ...?

We are booked in at the Omarunga Camp Site ... nice place indeed.

However we get here just in time to be witness to a week of constant music and activities from right next door. Eventually management had to call the cops at 1am on our second night to get some peace and quiet.

Within 10 mins of arrival we are introduced to Lilly the croc.

The facilities are great.

The locals are either yellow ...

... or red.

Allen does the Funky Monkey number.

We head for the pool ...

... because why.

This dude makes an appearance.

We live well for 2 days.

Tappets attempt at peacefull sleep for all those within 150m of him.

Daybreak.

As all things must, we prepare to move on, today to Sesfontein.
The Yam was moved 20m yesterday to here ...

... and refuses to start ... needs to be pushed ... took 20 mins .... very embarrassed it was.

We head South.

The roads are in great shape ... all the way to Palmwag, the new owners there also own the Omarunga Lodge where we have just been and offer us reduced rate camping even though they will only be opening up officially after renovations at the end of Oct.

We are on a plateau at 1600m.

Joubert Pass was easy ... on bikes that is.

We're booked in at Ft. Sesfontein. It's ... quiet and comfortable with good food.

We convince the managers to let the bikes sleep "inside"...

Amazing rock formations around here.

Katie gets swapped out for Gogga, Bundu, Ore and Harry.

We took over 4500 photos on this trip ... that is why photobucket has crashed for Allen and it has taken me 3 weeks to get here ...

Hidden water spruitjie in a valley.

This is my favourite part of Namibia ... the yellow grass and wildlife.

At the Palmwag district fence the road turn from great to really shitty, lots of corrigations and loose stone.

We turn left and head for Grootberg Lodge, 40km along this road.

It's an "interesting" ride up to the summit of the ridge it sits on ... it's one way traffic only due to the nature of the road so all downward traffic waits for us to get to the top.

The first 3rd is easy, the second 3rd even more so, but the last 3rd is steep, loose and what ever you do, do not stop to think about it! So no photos of that...

The effort to build this Lodge must have been huge.

$1740, dinner, bed & breakfast.

Al & I have been here before ... it was very different back then, nice and flat and green, lots of water ... 247million years ago.

If you have been here this is the proof you need that we made it too.

Going down after the tricky bit.

We head for Aabadi Mountain Camp for tonight.

:sip:  :deal: MORE  :drif: !!!! JISLAAIK THAT WAS AN EPIC CRASH TAPPET... How fast was he going when he hit the sand monster ?!

ArthurS said:
:sip:  :deal: MORE  :drif: !!!! JISLAAIK THAT WAS AN EPIC CRASH TAPPET... How fast was he going when he hit the sand monster ?!

Allen reckons between 60 and 70kph ... Tappet came over the little ridge, saw Allen waiting, accelerated to make a nice pass ... then saw why Allen was waiting, camera in hand. It was an epic tank slapper he says. I was about 35 seconds behind all this and just saw the dust cloud. 

Another RR on this same section but 25k's further West resulted in a broken leg.

Be carefull in Nam!

Thank you for the effort posting this RR

Awesome RR, makes staying at home barely tolerable, and  makes my ar$e itch.
Thanks Ian & your fellow "randy ol goats"

The next morning we head for Twyfelfontein to have a look see what all the WD interest is ...

Bushmen guard the joint it seems ...

It really is a nice spot.

We spend an hour and move on to the Organ Pipes nearby...

450m further is the Burnt Mountain ...

We are headed for White Lady Lodge for tonight ... but don't get there ...

The ONE real Namibian we hoped to see but did not ...

This lovely lady sits here 7 days a week selling to the fortunate's that take the trouble to stop ...

Whilst I wait I notice a slight diff oil leak on the Yam ... this would continue all the way back to Great Brak.

Allen arrives ... we wait ... no Tappet ... another 30 mins ... due to low fuel I go back to find him ... he has issues ...

Bombs don't help ...

I just cross the Ugab ... the only stretch of tar for 400k's and there he comes limping into view ...

We slime the bastard ... it too does not help ...

If you are going to do it, then do it right ...

The inner rubber strip that keeps the tube from the spokes is in 4 pieces ... duct tape below and above helps ... 60mins later we are on our way again.

This is where we planned to stay for tonight.

This is where we do stay for tonight.

The bikes get to be undercover for the first time in 2 weeks.

As usual we eat exceedingly well ... nothing gets stuck in our throats.

It even has a bar ... Allen commits each beer on each row to memory ... it takes 33 seconds to do so. Years of practice.

The next morning we head for Brandberg proper. We are soon reminded of how harsh it can be out here ...

Good thing we park under the shade ...

... because Katie needs TLC again ...

Good thing Allen has dragged this around Bots and Northern Nam for 2 weeks ... now we need it ...

We head for Henties Baai for the night.

Excellent Bud keep up the good work Enjoying the RR. Dam we had a good time.

The coastal effect hits you about 40k's from Hentiesbaai ... a long line of mist ahead that slowly becomes more clear, then the wind swings 180' and the temp. drops by 12 - 15 degrees.

The deal with Tappet was R200 if he could spend 10 mins in the water, it went to R500 and then a R1000 ... but after he had been down to the waters edge he just kept repeating "ek's oraait dankie"

We rent a self catering, 2 bedroom place ... the bikes sleep inside for the second time on this trip.

Early morning mist.

20k's down the road we stop at the Zeila that went aground in 2008 whilst being towed to India to be scrapped.

We are on our way to Spitzkoppe for tonight.

On our last trip we came in from the East, this time we enter from the West.

The room with a view is in a different spot this year.

I took a photo of this tree in May 2012 ...

... and not much has changed in two years.

Al lifts this rock 20cm so we can use it to hide a geocache ... let's see the oke that finds this one ...  >:D

Next morning we head for Swakop ... to the Brauhaus for supper ... where we wait for a table ...

Next day I get the diff oil changed at Swakop Yamaha, we see this dude on the roof next door...

After having banned bikes and cars from Dune 7 it's become really quiet they say.

What is that ... is it a Cagiva Elefant or a Trans Alp...?

Hel manne dit het na 'n lekker trip gelyk. Ek was nog nooit daar maar dit lyk ongelooflik mooi in Namib.

From my part thanks guys. Yip we once again saw some amazing country, rode gravel day in and day out sweted and dehydrated, admired the beauty of the place, took photos from three different minds to share with you ous what we saw. Go forward bud share our adventure with the guys