THE KZN BASH -

Some more.....

• WP_20150808_11_05_01_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_05_01_Pro.jpg
    140.4 KB
  • WP_20150808_11_06_11_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_06_11_Pro.jpg
    144.2 KB
  • WP_20150808_11_10_10_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_10_10_Pro.jpg
    143.2 KB
  • WP_20150808_11_27_44_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_27_44_Pro.jpg
    123.3 KB
  • WP_20150808_11_28_14_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_28_14_Pro.jpg
    151.5 KB
  • WP_20150808_11_04_33_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_04_33_Pro.jpg
    99 KB
And the last

• WP_20150808_11_55_20_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_55_20_Pro.jpg
    95.5 KB
  • WP_20150808_11_56_18_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_11_56_18_Pro.jpg
    92.9 KB
  • WP_20150808_12_02_00_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_12_02_00_Pro.jpg
    107.3 KB
  • WP_20150808_13_48_30_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150808_13_48_30_Pro.jpg
    125.1 KB
  • WP_20150809_11_27_22_Pro.jpg
    WP_20150809_11_27_22_Pro.jpg
    120.3 KB
There is a young guy doing IT testing work at my client who I think has an amazing photographic eye.

I took him on a trip through the valley - pretty much the same route we took on Saturday - to take some shots. I think his results are pretty impressive.

The pack on Saturday's ride will recognise the views.

He published his pics here.

https://keshlan.co.za/?ht_gallery_post=vally-of-a-1000-hills-inanda

Nice-- mooi plek

Wat se jy Woody--wat se projek sien jy hier- n 1950 KLR miskien  :thumleft:

Cool numberplate

• 20150809KZNBash_12_zpsaqqpwqhg.jpg
    20150809KZNBash_12_zpsaqqpwqhg.jpg
    193.3 KB
  • IMG_1540_zpswpkejlso.jpg
    IMG_1540_zpswpkejlso.jpg
    148 KB
XT JOE said:
Nice-- mooi plek

Wat se jy Woody--wat se projek sien jy hier- n 1950 KLR miskien  :thumleft:

Cool numberplate

Nee pappie, daai man bou nou sidecar se goete.  :biggrin:

Tell us about the chopper, what is it doing in the valley?

777 said:

There are a few chopper companies that offer flips through the valley. This one was chartered by a guy who wanted to propose to his lady up on the mountain, but it may just be that the WD guys peed on his proposal!!

This chopper seems to be based at Virginia. Its a Robinson 44 according to Google.

Edit: And Google says the pilot's name is Carrera who also won the SA body boarding championships as an under 16 girl in 2006.

Thank you to everyone who was at the Bash for making it such a memorable occasion and a HUGE thank you to Wendy for undertaking the dishwashing task, you were supposed to be relaxing and enjoying yourself  :wav:

GundaGunda said:
777 said:

There are a few chopper companies that offer flips through the valley. This one was chartered by a guy who wanted to propose to his lady up on the mountain, but it may just be that the WD guys peed on his proposal!!

This chopper seems to be based at Virginia. Its a Robinson 44 according to Google.

Edit: And Google says the pilot's name is Carrera who also won the SA body boarding championships as an under 16 girl in 2006.

And not  single close up pic of the pilot ?

A couple of pictures from our trip... not enough to make a proper Ride Report.

Couple of months ago I decided it was time to get the kids together and the KZN Bash was the ideal time to do it.
So my REAL daughter and boyfriend came from Kathu and joined us for the ride.  Jakkals could not make it... thank goodness.
Francois (Sweisie) and his new wife and her parents Gerrie Chinaconnection and his wife Johanna also joined us.

We left Friday morning at 08h00 towards Standerton.  Found a few Stop and Go's, but not too bad.
Had a gentle ride down Majuba Pass... one of my favorite tar passes.
Took our time kuiering along the road.

Bought some lekker cheese at the Marakesh Cheese farm outside Rosetta.... the one Tommy have not visited yet.... Suppose they don't serve beer  :pot:

So I was leading on the FAST White one.  I did my homework by checking Google Maps and found Sakabula close to Camperdown. So I got it all set in my mind to find the place without the GPS.

When we got to THAT spot indicated by Google maps there was no Sakabula Lodge to be found.
So I phoned Tommy...but at that time it was a lost case and we set off to find the real place.
After a few de-tours and asking people we were on the way to Sakabula.
Riding on this road for a while and not finding the place we started to think that this is not right.
As we stopped to haul out GPS units, Miekie and his friend stopped next to us. He was clever enough to use the coordinates and told us that we were 400 meters from the place.

Thank goodness for that.  So we were booked in by a very capable and helpful Terence and settled in to enjoy the weekend.

• 20150807_113554.jpg
    20150807_113554.jpg
    68.8 KB
  • 20150807_150557.jpg
    20150807_150557.jpg
    68.4 KB
  • 20150807_074148.jpg
    20150807_074148.jpg
    51.9 KB
  • 20150806_203459.jpg
    20150806_203459.jpg
    43.1 KB
Lekker to have children with that toasted our meat to perfection.

On Saturday we planned to ride with the Coastal Ride boys.  I wanted to get my feed in the sea water and enjoy an ice cream on the beach as our vaalies don't always get the opportunity to do so. So Mark said that they will make a plan.

So we set off with the group, but unfortunately majority rules and most of our group wanted to pull out and head straight for the beach.

So we left the group and headed for Umkomaas.

At the beach we enjoyed some seafood platters and some cold ones, but I would still have loved to see the back roads that the locals know so well.  Maybe I will travel LIGHT next year and join the local tour leaders.  :pot: :ricky:

• 20150807_201326.jpg
    20150807_201326.jpg
    37.2 KB
  • 20150808_112556.jpg
    20150808_112556.jpg
    51.9 KB
  • 20150808_112604.jpg
    20150808_112604.jpg
    53.3 KB
  • 20150808_112628.jpg
    20150808_112628.jpg
    27.7 KB
  • 20150808_112736.jpg
    20150808_112736.jpg
    28.2 KB
  • 20150808_121759.jpg
    20150808_121759.jpg
    49.5 KB
  • 20150808_131337.jpg
    20150808_131337.jpg
    26.4 KB
I was excited to learn that the Visarende would be there with the Karretjie. I bought a project "Karretjie" that still needs some attention before I could enjoy the ride ...with the old bag and the little pension eater together on a trip.  :peepwall: :pot: :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:

Louis and Nannie.. thank you for entrusting your fine Karretjie to me and Francois and Elize to "TEST".
Must say the first 5 minutes was scary / different until you get the FEELING and man that feeling is great.

• IMG_234123702647286.jpg
    IMG_234123702647286.jpg
    68.8 KB
  • IMG_234131515252199.jpg
    IMG_234131515252199.jpg
    55.6 KB
Unfortunately we had to leave on Sunday as the kids had to go back to Kathu and Sweisie was on his way to Upington to go and service some compressors.

Gerrie and Johanna hit the N3 tar to PTA as Gerrie had to fly to Sao Paulo on Monday.

So 3 x Teneres went the Oliviershoek pass route... We actually headed for Geluksburg first, but the GPS took us on the road to Harrismith via Oliviershoek pass and wanted to turn off to Geluksburg on a farm road with gates (Private property).

But to our surprise this road is VERY nice up to the top.  New tar and lekker twisties.

Going down the other side you are diverted on a makeshift road towards Harrismith.  But it is in such great condition that they had to put speed humps at every 100 meters otherwise the dof okes will loose it by going too fast.

Arrived home after some strong side winds on the road between Warden and Villiers.

Thanks again to everybody (our riding group and the bash organizers ) for a lekker weekend.

:thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Last foties

• 20150809_104252.jpg
    20150809_104252.jpg
    42.3 KB
  • 20150809_104951.jpg
    20150809_104951.jpg
    44.8 KB
  • 20150809_144335.jpg
    20150809_144335.jpg
    71.8 KB
woody1 said:
Lekker to have children with that toasted our meat to perfection.

On Saturday we planned to ride with the Coastal Ride boys.  I wanted to get my feed in the sea water and enjoy an ice cream on the beach as our vaalies don't always get the opportunity to do so. So Mark said that they will make a plan.

So we set off with the group, but unfortunately majority rules and most of our group wanted to pull out and head straight for the beach.

So we left the group and headed for Umkomaas.

At the beach we enjoyed some seafood platters and some cold ones, but I would still have loved to see the back roads that the locals know so well.  Maybe I will travel LIGHT next year and join the local tour leaders.  :pot: :ricky:
Woody,was awesome meeting you and your family,glad you had a great time !  Where on the South Coast is this and what's the name please where you had these great looking platters ?

At the dive school at Umkomaas.  Being going there for years.  They even have Mozzie Beer.  :thumleft:

Whew !

Got my bike back. The problem was only a failed cell in the battery I fitted at least four years ago.

Considerate of it to fail only 10Km from home on the way back and not mess up the weekend, but it would have been more considerate if it had failed once I was home.

No big deal. New battery and 15mins of labour.

Think I may go and try that seafood platter in Mkomaas over the weekend  ;D

Enjoy... they say one platter for 2 to 4 people so you need some friends..  :imaposer: