THE ROAD TO HELL ..... and back (part 8 THE FINAL CHAPTER now up)

Kykdaar said:
Great RR guys :thumleft:

That sand tracks alone would have been my road to hell.
:laughing4:  :imaposer: Mine to ! I could hardly get through the sand at the gate of the CABC last year  :imaposer:
Sad really  :-\

Ligter bikes manne, ligter bikes. Daar is die geheim.  Weer die ou argument van jy moet eintlik 2 D/S bikes he, een vir lang toer[1200/990] en een vir speel. Maar soos hier gesien help dit jou niks jy kom tot by die uitdaging op jou langpadvreter nie.
Meeste van julle op die trip ken my persoonlik, so weet dat ek nie op julle reflekteer nie.

2StrokeDan said:
Ligter bikes manne, ligter bikes. Daar is die geheim.  Weer die ou argument van jy moet eintlik 2 D/S bikes he, een vir lang toer[1200/990] en een vir speel. Maar soos hier gesien help dit jou niks jy kom tot by die uitdaging op jou langpadvreter nie.
Meeste van julle op die trip ken my persoonlik, so weet dat ek nie op julle reflekteer nie.

So true

Keep watching this space - part 7 is coming - sorry for the delay - been vrek busy at work this week - gonna knuckle down at the keyboard this weekend

All I have to say is respect to you guys, you went out to ride a track but then made a call that it would be worth doing at that time. Sometimes it takes more balls to say no than to foolishly try something. Maybe next time you will have more time, be better prepared both physically and mentally.

Thanks for going all the way and showing us what is looks like. You are all top class riders.

I like Rickus' suggesiton - I will drink at the start and reminisce about a time that never was...  ;D

Julle is kak. Kan julle nie klippe ry nie, ek is baie teleurgesteld.

:xxbah:

Nee ouens ek spot sommer net, hoop ek kan so iets doen as ek eendag groot is,
RESPEK vir julle, geniet die RR baie.

PART 7

We all make it back down safely and gather up our few remaining belongings at the bottom and strap the stuff to the bikes – we must now ride out of this valley the same way we come in – a fair bit of sand and even more rocks – it is not long before I am sweating again.

Heddles and I were at the back – both tired but Heddles very stiff and sore by now. In some parts the sand was very thick and the road very twisty – inevitably he put the big SE down, a few times, and I stopped to help pick him and the bike up. Heddles was not having fun. It was clear we were seriously holding up the rest of the guys - not fair on them.

The group waited for us up ahead in some clear ground. We decided to split up – Heddles and I would ride away from the mountains in search of the big gravel road to Pofadder – this would be much easier for him. Dustdevil was headed towards the GKG BMW gathering in Onseepkans and Rovrat and Nismark were eager to get some serious miles under the belt that day and try and make it into the Cederberg. Michiel decided to join them.

We line up for one last group photo – it was now midday on Sunday 29 April.

65-L.jpg

Before anybody jumps to any conclusions let me say that this was always the plan – there was no animosity or bad vibes. Everybody had a different time frame on when they needed to be back home – Heddles and I were lucky to have a pass for the entire 5 day “weekend” and were only expected home on the Tuesday – the other guys were not so lucky I guess.

We bid our farewells and they ride off. Heddles and I watch them go until they vanish from the horizon. All we can hear is the thrum from the Mahle motor on Michiel’s HPN.

It is just the 2 of us from now on.

66-L.jpg

67-L.jpg

We have a problem – Heddles has absolutely no water left – remember he gave See Duiwel a whole 1.5l bottle that morning to make coffee with.I have been sharing mine with him all day – I have about 200 ml left – I am worried – the only thing worse than running out of petrol in an area like this is to run out of water. Without water we are fucked – within a few hours of this kind of exertion dehydration sets in and from then on it is a downward spiral.

I will openly admit that this was bad planning on my part – I have two 3l bladders in my backpack but had only filled one because I wanted to carry less weight. I was silently cursing Heddles for giving away his water. It is always hot here – the sun is always shining – it is not one of the driest places in the world for nothing.

We ride on – heading away from the mountains – not following any GPS because I knew we must hit the road somewhere – it could not be more than 20 km away. The paths in this area all criss cross – every few hundred metres we take a turn to maintain our southward heading.

After an hour or so I spot something ahead – a green JoJo rain tank and a watering trough for the few sheep and goats that are farmed in this area. Water.

68-L.jpg

We are saved. I use my shifting spanner to open the tap – water runs slowly through the fabric pipe and Heddles gingerly tastes it after asking if I think it’s OK to drink – if it’s good enough for animals its good enough for us I tell him. The water is cool and sweet – I honestly can’t remember water tasting this good. We drink greedily – filling our bellies and then our hydration packs – I fill both bladders this time – I am not taking any more chances. As the water goes down I can feel our spirits lifting – life is good again.

We find the road – a nice wide open gravel highway with patches of soft sand to keep you alert. Soon we are bopping along at 120 and finally putting some miles behind us.

75-L.jpg

A big doringboom ahead invites us to take a rest under its shade

69-L.jpg

It is now 3 pm. My plan is to overnight at Klein Pella – about 50 km from where we are now. There is a beautiful and very well appointed guest house on the Karstens Boerdery date farm – I know they offer rondavels for R100 pp – more importantly they will have cold beer.

We arrive unannounced and are welcomed with open arms. The people here always friendly, always hospitable – even on a quiet Sunday afternoon.

70-L.jpg

Each rondavel sleeps 4 in 2 double bunk beds. I ask if we can please each have our own one – Heddles snores like you cannot believe – not a nice deep rumble but more like a dying man taking his last breath – gasping and choking – you want to wake him up to save his life but realise he is actually sleeping very soundly - you however are lying there awake thinking of ways to kill him in his sleep and make it look like natural causes - on a previous trip I was going to fart in his open mouth and then suffocate him with a pillow.

71-L.jpg

72-L.jpg

We grab a cold beer and sit on the stoep to relax. We are both stuffed – we decide to grab forty winks before we braai later.What follows is possibly the best one hour Sunday afternoon  nap I have ever had in my life – I wake up refreshed and famished – I need food – and more beer

The guest house has provided us each with a “braai pack” consisting of 2 lamb chops, 2 stukke boerewors, mielie bread and butter, rice salad, piesang en boontjie slaai and malva pudding with custard. It was fantastic !

The fire is lit

74-L.jpg

and the sun sets over the mountains

73-L.jpg

Another tough day in Africa. Life is good.

To be continued ...

Ek hardloop soos n druggie vir my daily fix kort kort na hierdie thread. Great stuff :thumleft:
Ek is n commited XT660R fan (most DS bike I can just not afford :)
Maar hierdie foto van julle twee Ktm's is pragtig. Die bikes lyk mean en 100% vir daardie wereld  :ricky:

• 75[3].jpg
    75[3].jpg
    71.7 KB
I can totally relate to the water and snorring episodes  :biggrin:

Why do I get the feeling that there are still a few more surprizes........................ :coffee2:

Gr8 stuff!!

Really enjoying this report, so many twists and turns plus the fact that you did to a certain extent do your own thing, just like the report, good stuff. From the 4x4 forum links the road to hell looks and sounds like a real bastid but one that would be good to conquer. Hats off to Heddles for riding all the way with broken ribs and all, many would have turned around, and the the same to the rest of the crew for the way you handled the group dynamics, it could have gotten real testy. Anyway, the entire route (so far) looks like one for the bucket list, nice one fella's and thanks for taking the time to post :thumleft:

Man i hosed myself at this -

Heddles snores like you cannot believe – not a nice deep rumble but more like a dying man taking his last breath – gasping and choking – you want to wake him up to save his life but realise he is actually sleeping very soundly - you however are lying there awake thinking of ways to kill him in his sleep and make it look like natural causes - on a previous trip I was going to fart in his open mouth and then suffocate him with a pillow.

The few riding buddies who have had the unfortunate experience to share a room with me will have deep symphathy with you  :laughing4:

Lekker RR guys , I enjoyed the different input from the different guys . Everyone has their own unique story. :thumleft: I agree with Rickus this is the kind of road you just sit at the top of and drink wine and discuss rather than actually ride  :imaposer:. Think you would have to be a Kamikaze nutter to attempt to ride it . :mwink:

And btw Justin , you write very well , you must do it more often . You kept us in suspence long enough, yet even by not riding the Hell Road you still manage to keep us enthralled. :thumleft:

subie said:
Ek hardloop soos n druggie vir my daily fix kort kort na hierdie thread. Great stuff :thumleft:
Ek is n commited XT660R fan (most DS bike I can just not afford :)
Maar hierdie foto van julle twee Ktm's is pragtig. Die bikes lyk mean en 100% vir daardie wereld  :ricky:

Have to agree, those 950's without their clothes on look like they belong O0

Having slept a peaceful and remarkably comfortable night Nismark, R-O-V-Rat and I woke to
our last day of riding.

Richtersveld061.jpg

Richtersveld062.jpg

Richtersveld063.jpg

After packing up we headed towards Loeriesfontein for breakfast. I saw Justin and Headley again
at the end of the day where we got back to the cars and trailered back to Cape Town. All in all
it was a good trip. Maybe a bit rushed as there were numerous little roads I wanted to explore
but we had a schedule to keep. Though I have conflicting thoughts about the Road to Hell I will
have to resist and remind myself what I experienced there that day. Dusty and I will have to agree
to disagree on this one.

Richtersveld064.jpg

Respect dudes :notworthy:

What an awesome RR!

Yeah guys....

Amazing bunch of guys. Never to busy to assist with advice, even though I know I did slow the pack down.
We all had our little stories to tell and in all, I think it was a great one.
I will do it again and this time, plan better, a bit more time and a different bike, which is in the process of being bought as we speak.

Snoring, is something that I have always had a problem with and warn everyone before a group decides where to sleep for the night. No warning however will ever prepare you for the noise I believe I make..

I want to do this again and explore more of the area we were in. Justin has a really good history on his GPS, which would really help us on the next trip. He also has a good memory for places that stand out from the rest for whatever reason they do.
I feel I might have bitten off a bit more than I could chew, having only had the SE for a short while, before taking on this ride. The bike is a slight bit heavy for me and especially in such technical stuff..
Oh well.. There will be a next time and though I will say right now that I will walk the road to hell and not ride it, I will enjoy the ride to and from the location as much as the next guy.

Well done on a really great RR Justin, You do us all proud..

Heddles said:
Yeah guys....

Amazing bunch of guys. Never to busy to assist with advice, even though I know I did slow the pack down.
I will do it again and this time, plan better, a bit more time and a different bike, which is in the process of being bought as we speak.

Snoring, is something that I have always had a problem with and warn everyone before a group decides where to sleep for the night. No warning however will ever prepare you for the noise I believe I make..

I want to do this again and explore more of the area we were in. Justin has a really good history on his GPS, which would really help us on the next trip. He also has a good memory for places that stand out from the rest for whatever reason they do.
I feel I might have bitten off a bit more than I could chew, having only had the SE for a short while, before taking on this ride. The bike is a slight bit heavy for me and especially in such technical stuff..
Oh well.. There will be a next time and though I will say right now that I will walk the road to hell and not ride it, I will enjoy the ride to and from the location as much as the next guy.

Your a tough man Heddles. Even though we cannot be all "fast" you slogged on despite some serious setbacks. Would be interesting to know what bike you are getting. That Ktm is pretty, but much to much bike for me and my rides I am hoping to do.
Respect  :thumleft:

The snoring I can voutch for!Shared a room with Heddles in Hondeklip baai. Luckily a bottle of red and a few brannas with Beserker made me quite deaf so, like the ride to Hell. It is not undoable :laughing4:
Just prepare in advance.
Heddles, I'll swop you my CRF230 for that mean SE. Good day to you mate.
R

Heddles said:
Yeah guys....

hey Heddles - Stop making excuses  :laughing4: You are quite old already - not too much riding time left in you - if we had to wait for you to learn how to ride again we would only have been ready for this trip in 2052

In my experience there is no ONE perfect bike for any trip - a lighter smaller bike would have kakked on the long sections just as our big bikes were a handful in the tight stuff - after all the bikes I have had I think my SE is a very good all rounder for what I do with it

hey everybody else - Heddles and I are both looking at WR450's ....light and powerful - perfect for the next RTH attempt - I will tow it up the N7 and then wheelie all the way to the Orange River and back over the RTH

Heddles in fact has a small collection of 13 motorcycles - there is always space for 1 more

... and we are both keeping our SE's so don't get too excited