THE ROAD TO HELL ..... and back (part 8 THE FINAL CHAPTER now up)

So whats the tally on the road ? RovRat ,DustDevil ,See Duiwel and Justin PF says yes it is doable ( with more prep and less weight ) and Heddles and Michiel says no the road is undoable ?

Must say if Michiel , having gone riding up and down those impossibly steep mountain tracks in Lesotho three times in three years says no , then I would trust his opinion .  :mwink:

Ha ha ha.. So many questions and opinions.. Justin.. Have some respect for your elders.. Ha ha ha....

I am 48.

Doing it on a smaller bike just means to me that you take slower routes and enjoy more of the scenery..

I am still fitter than most so riding as was proved when I was on the XR650, even with injuries, is doable and possible.

I have a friend who is looking for a crf 230. so let me know if you are serious about moving it.. My SE, however, is not for sale. I calculate it will still be around when I die. I made the mistake of selling a bike and not having two wheels once before.. Never again.. Unless I am bedridden, which ain't gonna be happening in a hurry.

Looking at a WR 450, which I am buying...

PART 8 – THE FINAL CHAPTER

I slept that night like the dead – helped along by a full tummy and a bottle of KWV’s finest Pinotage
I did not even hear Heddles' snoring in the tin rondavel next to me

I think we both awoke very refreshed and rejuvenated – ready to tackle another day.

After settling our bill and packing our bikes we hit the start buttons to be rewarded by the awesome rhythmic beat of the two SE’s double exhausts.

This KTM has been the most reliable bike I have ever had – in 20 000 km it has never let me down once. Heddles, a qualified master mechanic, had prepped both our bikes and had done a fantastic and superb job – even going so far as replacing the standard hydraulic cam chain tensioners with manual versions, enabling him to fine tune the tension on the cam chains which ensures a quiet and rattle free start every time – I highly recommend this mod if you have an LC8 that you plan to grow old with – it will prevent unnecessary wear and very costly replacement later on

Pofadder was 45 km away - we needed to go there first to refuel. We filled the bikes at the small Shell garage and it was there that we decided we would shoot for home today – I have two little boys – Jack is 3 and Charlie is 8 months – I wanted to be able to spend tomorrow at home with my wife Victoria and the two little guys.

Soon we were on our way – heading in a south westerly direction back to the bakkie in Citrusdal – we had about 500 km to ride and then another 200 km drive back to Cape Town.

We were shown the way to a gravel road that would take us to the N7 just north of Vanrhynsdorp via a small little farming settlement called Kliprand.

This is where the big bikes came into their own – to avoid one person riding in the dust we rode next to each other on the longest straightest gravel road I have ever seen – mostly sitting at 120 kph but sometimes at 160 kph – it is awesome to be able to ride like this and to be able to completely trust the rider next to you – you have to accept and understand that no matter what happens you cannot swerve across the road – you hold your line and keep the bike straight.

77-L.jpg

76-L.jpg

It is almost exactly 200 km from Pofadder to Kliprand – before long the SE’s had gobbled up this distance and we were there. Heddles bike is more responsive than mine but has always seemed to be thirstier too. Even though we did not need more fuel we filled up anyway to do a fuel consumption comparison – we had both just ridden exactly the same distance at the same speed – my bike used 14 l and Heddles used 16 l – a difference of 14% more – his bike must have bigger jets in the carbs which would explain why it feels more urgent than mine.

50 odd km out of Kliprand we hit the N7.

78-L.jpg

79-L.jpg

We are not allergic to tar like some of our other gravel-travellers. In fact I enjoy a good piece of the black stuff and we had 250 km of this to get back to Citrusdal. We rode carefully to Vanrhynsdorp where we pumped the tyres lekker hard and we twisted those throttles as hard as we could.

This for me was another very lekker part of the trip – speeds ranging from 120 – 190 and my SE seemed to pull harder and harder the faster we went. I do not condone nor practise silly riding behaviour – we were riding fast and hard but were safe – maintaining good distance between the 2 of us and other road users.

This part of the N7 has lots of flowing corners and some nice rolling hills and we were having a jol.

We pulled into Citrusdal at 3 pm and not 10 minutes later it started to rain – what good timing! Michiel pulled up a few minutes after us and we helped each other load bikes on bakkies and trailers.

An uneventful and slow, but safe drive home was over before we knew it - we were back home.

The ride was over – but certainly not forgotten

My thanks to every single one of my 7 fellow riders - you know who you are - each one of you brought something different and special to the party - a fantastic 4 day riding party - I will not hesitate to ride with you again.

We will go back and we will beat that ROAD – on bikes – it simply has to be done.

THE END

Excellent report.  Make my heart pulse. :ricky: :thumleft:

Mzee said:
Excellent report.  Make my heart pulse. :ricky: :thumleft:

Thank You

It is good feedback like this that makes writing this report worth the effort

Thanks to all those who gave positive comments and to everyone for the 3000 plus views so far

Rynet said:
So whats the tally on the road ? RovRat ,DustDevil ,See Duiwel and Justin PF says yes it is doable ( with more prep and less weight ) and Heddles and Michiel says no the road is undoable ?

Must say if Michiel , having gone riding up and down those impossibly steep mountain tracks in Lesotho three times in three years says no , then I would trust his opinion .  :mwink:

If... and only if.... You are a Trials rider and  then not even the best, I would say that it is a very possible ride, on very light motorcrossers or trials machines.. If you want to do it on an adventure bike, which with it's baggage weighs in at over 150 kilos, be prepared for a really hard time.. Notice. I didn't say ride. The reason is, I believe, that the ride there and back will be awesome.. The actual conquering of the RTH.. Well, that will be a "time"..

I love riding bikes. My experience has taken a back seat in the development due to the time constraints of my work. Both current and previous. Either way. as long as it blows my hair back, while I still have it, I will ride. I will get better. Justin, don't stress buddy.. I am not as kak a rider as you make out.. We will see when the Yammies are here...
You are a great mate though and love riding with you.. Always reading the route, the bikes and the people well.. Always looking out for the next guy...

Yeah.. Great RR.. There will be more...

Heddles said:
You are a great mate though and love riding with you.. Always reading the route, the bikes and the people well.. Always looking out for the next guy...

Yeah.. Great RR.. There will be more...

Don't gay it up so much china  :ricky:

It's okay.. The guys already all know.. (",)

Not supposed to use that word.. It's the new South Africa!!!!

Lekka report, thanks for sharing the experience  :thumleft:

Great report gents - you all did what you had to do - without gripe - it seems like the RTH remains a mystery for now :thumleft:

One day all will be revealed  - I hope that I'm still alive to read it and appreciate it :biggrin:

Awesome RR guys, thanks for the effort put in, it was a great read, liked the parallel story lines  :thumleft:

Sjoe, what a lekker read. Being glued to this thread. Great report from all the riders. Will keep an eye on Planning a Ride: THE ROAD TO HELL - THE RETURN!  :ricky:

So this Road to Hell is much worse than Van Zyl's pass then?

I hope you try it again. :deal:

chrisL said:

Kom jy saam volgende keer.  :ricky:

R-O-V-Rat said:
chrisL said:

Kom jy saam volgende keer.   :ricky:
Ek dink nie ek sal eers die pas haal nie. :biggrin:

This RR ranks as one of the top RR on this site.  Thank you !

:thumleft: nice writing/reading, is there a map, liked the the return route, the pellas and the like!

Vely vely naais!!  :thumleft:

Thanks for sharing!