WC WD Bash at Eendekuil

pistonpete said:
Should'nt you be fixing yer bike or at least phoning desperately around for spares..... ;)

2 flesh exposed fingers on left hand, and 3 on the right (from grinding clutch disks with clean green - which stings like hell and doesnt allow the bleeding to stop), I am entitled to a break.

Now, can I get a ride to Bradleys braai please?  :imaposer:

pistonpete said:
Braai at Bradleys next week. Braai at Bradleys next week >:D >:D >:D

kak that man, braai at my place on saturday... pullin :D

Saturday morning

If you wake up, stick your head out of the tent and see these 2 dudes approaching you immediately think: "WTF did I get up to last night? Is the one with the short wheelbase going to break all my fingers?"

IMG_1876B.jpg

I woke up just in time to catch the ride. The secret to a good DS weekend is earplugs. You don't use them for riding, you use them for sleeping. I didn't hear any bike starting.

Dogs on their way to dirt:
IMG_1886B.jpg

The view as they go past:
IMG_1889B.jpg

The old Pikenierskloof pass is a lovely ride, great views:
IMG_1892B.jpg

IMG_1894B.jpg

IMG_1896B.jpg

Fidel, Dustsucker, Abel:
IMG_1899B.jpg

Kardoesie parking lot:
IMG_1902B.jpg

The old pass meets the new:
IMG_1904B.jpg

Durtseecker, Pullaway and Fourie-kop. Which way?
IMG_1913B.jpg

Myself and Abel hung back and ended up taking our own route.
IMG_1915B.jpg

IMG_1920B.jpg

We later came across a larger group, chrisl & Pistonpete etc. Had a rest and chat and then went our own way. Pitstop at Graafwater, another small town pub:

IMG_1929B.jpg

Very graphic rules in this bar:
IMG_1923B.jpg

Cruised along the tar to Clanwilliam and then gravel along the Olifants river.
IMG_1935B.jpg

IMG_1937B.jpg

After Abel's exhaust bracket broke we decided to take the tar road back to Eendekuil. PP and the others carried on to Citrusdal.
IMG_1941B.jpg

IMG_1951B.jpg

IMG_1952B.jpg

It was a lekker laid-back ride, pity we missed the farm bit with Frohan. Maybe next time....

Saturday afternoon

Barrel race time!
Two sets of pegs about 30m apart, 6 competitors, knockout.

There was a quick free-for-all practice, the following pics are from that only. The KTM 690 was the initial weapon of choice but proved to be a handfull, too happy to lift the front. So it was decided each oke rides his own bike for the race.

Lito
IMG_1961B.jpg

IMG_1967B.jpg

N[]vA was still somewhere on his learning curve:
IMG_1981B.jpg

IMG_1982B.jpg

IMG_1983B.jpg

IMG_1984B.jpg

IMG_1985B.jpg

Lito in the background trying to tame a wild horse:
IMG_1990B.jpg

IMG_1994B.jpg

IMG_2004B.jpg

Fidel making heavy weather with the 690:
IMG_2015B.jpg

IMG_2016B.jpg

IMG_2021B.jpg

N[]vA
IMG_2035B.jpg

MrBig
IMG_2044B.jpg

IMG_2045B.jpg

IMG_2051B.jpg

IMG_2057B.jpg

IMG_2058B.jpg

IMG_2059B.jpg

The 690 as well as the 950SE were proving difficult to subdue on such a tight course. Watch this space for the outcome.....

Nice pics there old Sprockety my man. Donta worry, i dont break fingers. I specialize ina conreta boots.

Guys well done with the Barrel race. Especially Nova, the Novice.  ;) ....well done.

My big toe is still throbing from straightening the vibacrete wall. :-\

Sprocketbek said:
If you wake up, stick your head out of the tent and see these 2 dudes approaching you immediately think: "WTF did I get up to last night? Is the one with the short wheelbase going to break all my fingers?"

If I stick my head out a tent and I see that I'd shat myself... From that angle Fidel seems huge AND menacing... ;D

pistonpete said:
Awesome SP ! Where da pic of Fidels Repsol lid? :deal: ???

Geez Patience ladies.

He hasnt even finished Saturdays races yet!  :mwink:

Fidel said:
Nice pics there old Sprockety my man. Donta worry, i dont break fingers. I specialize ina conreta boots.

Guys well done with the Barrel race. Especially Nova, the Novice.  ;) ....well done.

My big toe is still throbing from straightening the vibacrete wall. :-\

I thought the wall looks more aligned with the horizon now. thanx - sorry 'bout y're toe ;D

Sorry for the delay, no chance do do these things at work :mad:

Pics chronological with some remarks but not full commentry.

Start of first race: has a bird shat on Lito's back again?
IMG_2070B.jpg

IMG_2071B.jpg

IMG_2073B.jpg

Fidel and Lito well matched at this stage
IMG_2077B.jpg

Here Fidel wacked the Vibracrete wall. Was suffering a limp the next day. Not sure if the problem was toe-in or toe-out.
IMG_2080B.jpg

But he stays on the gas and recovers
IMG_2081B.jpg

Keeps chasing down the opponent
IMG_2082B.jpg

IMG_2083B.jpg

IMG_2086B.jpg

IMG_2087B.jpg

IMG_2088B.jpg

IMG_2089B.jpg

Really hauling ass:
IMG_2096B.jpg

N[]vA goes wide, hits a soft patch and nearly high-sides:
IMG_2114B.jpg

IMG_2115B.jpg

IMG_2116B.jpg

IMG_2117B.jpg

The 690 stalls and N[]vA is let off the hook:
IMG_2119B.jpg

IMG_2125B.jpg

Here is a sequence that shows the 690 is not so easy to point where you want it to go:

IMG_2128B.jpg

IMG_2129B.jpg

IMG_2130B.jpg

IMG_2131B.jpg

IMG_2132B.jpg

IMG_2133B.jpg

IMG_2134B.jpg

IMG_2135B.jpg

IMG_2137B.jpg

IMG_2155B.jpg

At this start Fidel stalls the bike.
IMG_2158B.jpg

IMG_2159B.jpg

IMG_2160B.jpg

IMG_2161B.jpg

IMG_2162B.jpg

IMG_2168B.jpg

IMG_2169B.jpg

IMG_2170B.jpg

IMG_2176B.jpg

IMG_2177B.jpg

IMG_2178B.jpg

IMG_2179B.jpg

Final race: Newguy vs Fidel:
IMG_2180B.jpg

IMG_2181B.jpg

IMG_2182B.jpg

IMG_2184B.jpg

IMG_2186B.jpg

IMG_2188B.jpg

IMG_2189B.jpg

Nothing like a kick to unsettle you opponent.....
IMG_2200B.jpg

And Fidel crosses the line first:
IMG_2203B.jpg

Well done to all contestants. It was truly spectacular! 

The last few are reminiscent of " ATTACK OF THE HOBBITS"

:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Fidel, thats a great "look where you want to go" picture for my thread on the same subject. Congrats for keeping it on the boil and staying focused  :thumleft:

Boysturiser - see how your suspension got wadded up there hey? Baie naby for a big highside  :deal: congrats on riding it out  :mwink:

Sprocket - great pics, once again mate  :thumleft: