Western Cape Amageza qualifier 5 November (video page 6)

GRT pics lotsa fun and that sand .... :eek: :eek:

Looks like you guys are gonna have so much fun at the big event

well done to all of you!! :thumleft:

While we were trying to locate Shaun on the 1200GS to recover him we parked next to the railway, next moment the first guys were coming down back to the finish. I had to almost dive in the bushes, as stones were flying everywhere! Nutters those front runners!  ;D

We recovered 2 bikes and 1 rider, first Shaun1 when the starter on the 1100 said no more just after entering Atlantis, then Shaun on the 1200GS way back towards the start lost off the track with a burnt out clutch, and lastly Kat when he said "enough with this sand" in section 3.  ;D

For some reason I volunteered to ride the 1200 out the hoops he was stuck in, as the rider's eyes just widened when we said we're gonna tow the bike out, looks like he was expecting a trailer in the bush  ;D Everything went 100% until we had to cross the N7 to get to Zone 7. The front wheel caught the towrope while the Landie was in the right lane and me in the left, and down she went, with cars coming  :eek: Luckily they had ample time to stop, and we then rather pushed the bike across.

buzzlightyear said:
While we were trying to locate Shaun on the 1200GS to recover him we parked next to the railway, next moment the first guys were coming down back to the finish. I had to almost dive in the bushes, as stones were flying everywhere! Nutters those front runners!  ;D

For some reason I volunteered to ride the 1200 out the hoops he was stuck in, as the rider's eyes just widened when we said we're gonna tow the bike out, looks like he was expecting a trailer in the bush  ;D Everything went 100% until we had to cross the N7 to get to Zone 7. The front wheel caught the towrope while the Landie was in the right lane and me in the left, and down she went, with cars coming  :eek: Luckily they had ample time to stop, and we then rather pushed the bike across.

There goes my only possessions!  :pot:

Before I start reading this report.

Thanks to Kamanya, who stops directly after my fall. To Andy Snafu and Sprocketbek who were with me in 5min, and help me to CP 3. Nic, thanks for taking my bike to KTM CT. For FC for phoning the ambulance WTF. Sorry FC, maar ek het ook in een stadium gedink die enkel is gebreek.

My enkel is ok, net moerse geswel, maar ek het self vanoggend werk toe gery, so din k ek sal binne n week of twee weer kan ry as my bike reg is.

THANKS, THANKS THANKS !!!

Sterkte Bob

Nice pics, julle maak my senuwees op kêrels, hoop daai enkel is somme gou weer 100% Bobsie..
PS: Ek het darem gedink dit sal nie lank wees voor daai kierie nodig gaan wees nie :peepwall:

Shjoe....I am very jealous I would have loved to join this one...maybe next year :ricky:

Thanks to KK and his team for a great event qualifier.  KK you are well on your way to the end goal you want for this event. Well done.  :thumleft:

It was great to ride with some really good endero riders in this race qualifier. Fun fun fun!!!    :)

A big thanks to Dave for letting me ride his awesome XR650R on the day.  :thumleft:

R-O-V-Rat said:
Thanks to KK and his team for a great event qualifier.  KK you are well on your way to the end goal you want for this event. Well done.  :thumleft:

It was great to ride with some really good endero riders in this race qualifier. Fun fun fun!!!    :)

A big thanks to Dave for letting me ride his awesome XR650R on the day.   :thumleft:

Just a niggling question. How did you end up in front out of Atlantis?  :eek:. I am sure there were a few guys in front of you going in.

Pleco said:
R-O-V-Rat said:

A big thanks to Dave for letting me ride his awesome XR650R on the day.   :thumleft:

Just a niggling question. How did you end up in front out of Atlantis?  :eek:. I am sure there were a few guys in front of you going in.

Nope. I went in first and came out first. I was caught by Gideon on his 690 close to the 3rd check point. He started one min after me before Atlantis section. Three of us that gave the marshals a run for there money as they didn't make it to the second check point in time.  ;D

It felt great to be a part of such an awesome event!

Big up to KK, Leftless and FC and everybody not metioned for making this event possible!!!

Five words... AMAGEZA is gonna be [size=10pt]HUGE[/size]!!!

Alex, your dream is alive and growing!!! Dont stop dreaming! :thumleft:

Also thanks to the media for upping the marketing of the AMAGEZA! We want the whole world to know about this event... well i do!! :mwink:

i know you loved the entertaiment i provided when i wiped out right in front of you, i also know you guys felt REALLY bad when couldnt help me! :biggrin: Leftelss and the crew there just turned their backs on me, shame on you guys!!!:imaposer:

Legadema, hoop daai enkel raak gou gesond! :thumleft:

What a great day and what a great ride!
Thanks to all who worked so hard to make everything happen.  :thumleft:

As for the ride itself..what a blast!
For some of us who ride sandy tracks often it wasn't necessarily harder than usual except for the pesky navigation thing.  ;D
I found it impossible to see my GPS when standing and had to crouch or sit to check the track - sometimes with near near horrifying consequences. ;D
Also 'lost' my riding buddy near the entrance to Atlantis due to a communication error - erm sorry Newguy.

Pity we didn't at least take a short hop through the open dunes if for nothing else but be able to appreciate the beauty of the area.

R-O-V-Rat said:

R-O-V-Rat, you were seriously 'in the zone' on Sat.  >:D
Well done, Boet.

Gripping stuff !  :thumleft: W :thumleft:hy r I so kak ?

Some of you guys are definitely crazy.

At one point I was filming from a bush on the outside of a right hander. I think it was Legadema, who decided to loose control a little bit, exit the track, go the wrong way round me and my camera and re-enter the track on the other side of the bush.

I also have Tau riding like a mad man in a couple of shots. I think if anyone can keep up that pace for 1100km without wiping out big time would have to be a demi-God.

When you've got one eye closed and the other peering into a view finder, it's very difficult to judge distance and speed, which leads to some hairy moments.

Thanks to all those that obliged with interviews.

g1_ said:
Some of you guys are definitely crazy.

At one point I was filming from a bush on the outside of a right hander. I think it was Legadema, who decided to loose control a little bit, exit the track, go the wrong way round me and my camera and re-enter the track on the other side of the bush.

I also have Tau riding like a mad man in a couple of shots. I think if anyone can keep up that pace for 1100km without wiping out big time would have to be a demi-God.

When you've got one eye closed and the other peering into a view finder, it's very difficult to judge distance and speed, which leads to some hairy moments.

Thanks to all those that obliged with interviews.

Congratulations, you passed the Amageza test  :eek:

Well done guys! Awesome footage!

ROOST said:
i know you loved the entertaiment i provided when i wiped out right in front of you, i also know you guys felt REALLY bad when couldnt help me! :biggrin: Leftelss and the crew there just turned their backs on me, shame on you guys!!!:imaposer:

;D ;D ;D

Pics by Pure Orange:

• 609 B.jpg
    609 B.jpg
    235.6 KB
  • 610 B.jpg
    610 B.jpg
    211.2 KB
  • 611 B.jpg
    611 B.jpg
    196 KB
SB & PO, u guys have taken sum FANTASTIC photos!!!!!!

Well done guys for riding Amageza  ;)

And Legadema, hope ur not too sore today - u must ride slower ;D  ( i didnt say that.....)