ZEN, The Blues... and riding Slowhand Style - DONE

As I ride down I keep hearing this knocking sound coming from the dash. Can't find anything loose and then it happens. There's a moer of a racket as the front suspension compresses on the down hill. I had heard that sound once before when the AT's mudguard jammed on the front wheel. Something jams and locks the steering as I go around the corner. I jerk the steering to correct and it locks the other way heading for the cliff. Its a close call and they would still have been looking for me at the bottom of the cliff.

1. The culprit. I had been working and experimenting with the crashbars. Thought it good to dampen the brace on the cross bar to lessen vibration. Left those studs too long and it jammed on the mudguard as the suspension compressed. Eish !

When you consider my total riding time through the Kloof, bear in mind I spent 1/2 hour here removing that damper. It was getting hot.

2. Just a pic showing you the track. That corner at the top of the pic is where I almost bought it.

3. And another view. Problem of course is that the whole of Baviaans is a VIEW and its difficult to decide where to take pics and not. So I always try and take pics of diffirent places on my rides.

• 100_2830.JPG
    100_2830.JPG
    387.3 KB
  • 100_2829.JPG
    100_2829.JPG
    377.8 KB
  • 100_2831.JPG
    100_2831.JPG
    315.8 KB
1. Our next way point id the Parks campsite at Doodsklip. Can't say if it is still being used.

2. You then climb a nice little pass from the top of which you look accross the vally to the climp that leads to Rooihoek, another Parks camp and very popular one.

This little climp and the next is again good surface with some washed out rock. Nothing serious.

3. The turn-off to Rooihoek.

4. After Rooihoek, and after the top of another little pass, you descend to Elandsvlakte where you see the back of the Kouga dam. No water !.

When you get down in Elandsvlakte, you are on your way to Smitskraal. We are now in buffalo terretory.

• 100_2832.JPG
    100_2832.JPG
    326.8 KB
  • 100_2833.JPG
    100_2833.JPG
    263.1 KB
  • 100_2834.JPG
    100_2834.JPG
    238.7 KB
  • 100_2835.JPG
    100_2835.JPG
    308.3 KB
Let me not forget to tell you how much I'm enjoying the ride. I am seriously going nowhere slowly. I know every part of the route well, but am not even thinking what lies ahead in the next few kilometers. Every now and again I stop, just look and ponder. The journey today truly is my only destination.

I have done Baviaans countless times in the last 30 years, in all conditions. Today (I think its my 4th or 5th this year) was my most enjoyable ride and the way it should be done. If you want to do yourself a favour, take a day to ride Baviaans. Start in Patensie and end at Uitspan, or the other way around.

Smitskraal. As you cruise down Elandsvlakte take it easy. The buffalo live deep in the side klowe but they do venture into the valley. You will recall a guy was killed here about a year or so ago. You might even be lucky one day to see one.

What you should do (after shitting yourself) should you bump into buffalo, I have no idea. Take a pic and RUN.

1. Start of the crossing. At the top, around the corner is the island which gives you the indication of the waterlevel to expect.

2. The Island, looking back

3. The crossing. Its river stone and tricky. You take in in first gear and keep momentum. Don't look down and you cross on the right. Do not go onto, or cross the middle mannetjie. Its rough.

You can see the water is shallow, about ankle deep,

4. ...and hardly splashed on the footpegs of my bike.

5. Nice braai spot

• 100_2836.JPG
    100_2836.JPG
    344.8 KB
  • 100_2837.JPG
    100_2837.JPG
    424.4 KB
  • 100_2840.JPG
    100_2840.JPG
    337.7 KB
  • 100_2841.JPG
    100_2841.JPG
    385.9 KB
  • 100_2839.JPG
    100_2839.JPG
    404.1 KB
kan nou maar weer tyd raak vir die EC bash  :p

eks weer lus vir baviaans  :ricky:

You wind through the valley a bit and then climb a tight, twisty pass. The road surface is good.

• 100_2842.JPG
    100_2842.JPG
    314.9 KB
  • 100_2843.JPG
    100_2843.JPG
    233 KB
  • 100_2844.JPG
    100_2844.JPG
    227.4 KB
the_BOBNOB said:
kan nou maar weer tyd raak vir die EC bash  :p

eks weer lus vir baviaans  :ricky:

Selwers. Die beplanning is al onderweg  :thumleft:

1. On the other side you in the valley again on your way to Geelhoutbos and some sections you will ride in river bed spoor. Its dry now, but once, in about 2007 I did a mountain bike race here when we rode these sections in water. We walked Smitskraal with the wheels of our mountain bikes covered under water.

2. This toppie also thought Friday was a good day to cruise Baviaans

3. More river bed spoor

4. Some sections are wet

• 100_2848.JPG
    100_2848.JPG
    426.1 KB
  • 100_2847.JPG
    100_2847.JPG
    380.6 KB
  • 100_2845.JPG
    100_2845.JPG
    421.1 KB
  • 100_2846.JPG
    100_2846.JPG
    418.8 KB
1. Next thing I note my camera is gone. I'd been riding with it in the open handle bar bag to get to it easily. I've just gone over a rough section and knew it had bumped out. Disaster. Its a hundred meters or so to where I took the last pic at that wet spot so I turn around to go look for it. No luck and I'm totally despondent.

2. Around again and carry on, but I go slow to where I stopped, still looking and hoping... and then I almost ride over it. Man I was glad to find it.  :biggrin: And no damage

3. And then we get to the entrance of Geelhoutbos, another Parks campsite, but last I've heard its closed. Don't know why.

• 100_2850.JPG
    100_2850.JPG
    382.5 KB
  • 100_2849.JPG
    100_2849.JPG
    442.3 KB
  • 100_2852.JPG
    100_2852.JPG
    363.2 KB
1. After Geelhoutbos there are a good few cement driffies of varying depth most with water in. About the fourth or fifth one you have to watch for. Its got a hole on the left that I've seen swallow a GSA in the wet. Even though its dry now, the crossing on the right still covered the axles of my bike.

2. Then in the middle of nowhere you will find this ncaravan with ice cold drinks...

3. And nice clean flushing toilets

After this you will find one more tricky river bed crossing before you leave the park. This one is the exception and you cross it on the LEFT. I did not take a pic this time, but here is one from a previous ride in March this year with Dozer styling it.

• 100_2853.JPG
    100_2853.JPG
    308.6 KB
  • 100_2854.JPG
    100_2854.JPG
    306.1 KB
  • 100_2855.JPG
    100_2855.JPG
    283.8 KB
  • wading_8.jpg
    wading_8.jpg
    253.2 KB
Lekker Jup...goeie werk soos altyd. Sien uit na die res.  :thumleft:

Very comprehensive report, thank you  :thumleft:

Then we are out of the park, past Zandvlakte, the home of Piet and Mariette Kruger, with good accomodation

1. Now the bo-Kloof opens up in front of you and we get to the gate of Doornkloof Boskamp. There in the back is where we have The Bash.

From here, for the next 80km or so, the road undulates, with here and there a sharp section. You still take care as you ride.

2. Its now rather hot and I take a breather in Studtispoort

3. For some reason the bo-kloof is mostly just a way to get out of, or into, Baviaans and you seldom see pics of it, yet it has its own beauty

• 100_2856.JPG
    100_2856.JPG
    319.8 KB
  • 100_2858.JPG
    100_2858.JPG
    286.7 KB
  • 100_2857.JPG
    100_2857.JPG
    362.8 KB
Some way on you pass Hungu. You'll recognise it by a climb up a hill, followed by a drop into a little valley around which the road horse shoes, climbing out the other side again. In the valley farms the Erasmusse of the Rassie Erasmus clan. Its on that hill, climbing out the other way, I had my first ever off on a bike some years ago, going too fast.

1. The next marker is Duiwekloof and before you get there is a liitle kiosk next to the road. I've ridden past it many times and always wondered, but this is a ride of stops, and I stop.

2. I'm long overdue for a cup of coffee. A lovely lady, by the name of Veronica, attends on me and sure, I can have a cup of coffee. They've been living there for 25 years. A worthwhile stop and I enjoy my koffee under the trees. Pure serenity.

• 100_2859.JPG
    100_2859.JPG
    368.2 KB
  • 100_2860.JPG
    100_2860.JPG
    381.2 KB
1. On we go, and just past Makadaat, before I get to Uitspan I come accross this group of ladies walking through the kloof  :eek7: on a five day trek.

2. The entrance to Uitspan. Great place to stay and more charming hosts than Nico and Christine Smit you will not easily find. (Makadaat is now 2km behind us)

3. 2km further and you will find the entrance to Nuwekloof pass.

4. Again, the whole pass is a view, and one of my favourites. Take it easy, its good flat surface, but always gravelly

• 100_2861.JPG
    100_2861.JPG
    297.8 KB
  • 100_2862.JPG
    100_2862.JPG
    327.1 KB
  • 100_2863.JPG
    100_2863.JPG
    311.9 KB
  • 100_2864.JPG
    100_2864.JPG