Zingela Bash

Nice little rocky slope in darkest Africa

063.jpg

Well done to @GRIM for doing the entire route (including the "quick and easy" contour route ;) ) without the ability to engage his back brake. Impressive 👍

A short while after this we arrived at Imbabala where we had burger and chips and something to drink.

I was keen to go back through darkest Africa to get home to Zingela, but was soundly outvoted and the group chose to take the quick tar route back to Weenen and back up Little Sani to Zingela.

At the top of Little Sani we again gathered for a route chat. I told the group they could either take the normal track back to the lodge, or they could come with me on the single track contour path which skirts the side of the mountain, and while not extremely technical, should not be done by those not comfortable with riding along a cliff face. I got three takers to go with me, so Jans, GRIM, Leon and me set off along the contour path, telling the others we would be back at the lodge 30 minutes after them.

As it turns out, we arrived three hours after them in the dark :D

Leon unfortunately really battled along the path and kept on falling and losing traction and eventually cooked his clutch. So after much stopping, walking back, picking his bike up, pushing it along the path, towing it with a rope, we eventually got him and his bike off the mountain.

Jans at one stage suggested we leave the bike on the path and come back for it in the morning, but I insisted we get it and Leon back to the lodge, I don't want to get a reputation for that sort of thing o_O

but it was an awesome ride that I'll definitely do next time I'm in the area.

Jans and me on one of our walks back to get Leon and his bike

20220813_152410.jpg

Geez just looking at that single track next to the dropoff gives me goosebumps.

Meer hoendervleis as wat mens by KFC kry.

So after a long days riding, the four of us got back to the lodge just after 18h00, to find the Bokke losing to the AB's, but the beers tasted just as sweet nonetheless :)

Thanks Jon for a lekker weekend. The girls, Jo and Stacey, loved the Tranquility and scenery.
Zingela is a really stunning venue and will be visited by us again!
Great to see new and old faces and have a dop (or 6) with them.

Even @Draad behaved :LOL::LOL:......from what I can remember!

Thanks Jon for a lekker weekend. The girls, Jo and Stacey, loved the Tranquility and scenery.
Zingela is a really stunning venue and will be visited by us again!
Great to see new and old faces and have a dop (or 6) with them.

Even @Draad behaved :LOL::LOL:......from what I can remember!
Was a very lekker weekend Tommy, great bunch of peeps, I think just over 30 in total made it to the bash. Was probably hoping for a few more, but that number turned out to be perfect, in that I managed to have decent chats with everyone and the ride was manageable.

20220813_072523.jpg