“Feed a Child Motorcycle Ride” - Air Force Base Ysterplaat (Cape Town)

hayleyscomet said:
Ahhhhh well done Shaun

Great ride and Beut pics Bud

I'm sorry I missed it. The CMA run 4 blankets was good but not as awesome as this.

Count me in next year boet.

wayne.

Hi there Wayne,

Our dates will be worked out & coordinated better for next year's Event. We had checked with the "MAWC" Callender & had a set date which was originally scheduled to be on thw 10th April, but due to all the "Red Tape" Crap we had to deal with as well as certain "Incompitent Personal" in certain provincial departments, which had caused far too many delays,... we had to reshedule another date, which unfortunatley landed up on the same day as the "Blanket Run" hosted by CMA.

As I have mentioned,... due to this issure,... we where committed to try & keep everyone happy,... & that lead to our decission to contribute R10 (form each entry received), towards CMA's cause & filter that portion accordinaly. ;)

It really will be Gr8 to have both you & Debbie joining us next year. :thumleft: :thumleft:

dpr said:
Really awsome ride to say the least... Well done to you & all the Ysterplaat presonell that took part and or assisted in any way as well as a big thanks & well done to the traffic departments that took part in making it a safe & non stop ride...
How soon can we start the next ride.....

Blessings
DPR :D

:thumleft: :thumleft: Thanks Pops for the kind words. :thumleft: It was Gr8 to have you join in on the fun of the Event. Seeing you heading down the Runway in "Style" & enjoying every minute of it,.... really made me feel proud & priveleged to be able to do something like this,.....with my Pops. :ricky: :ricky: :thumleft:

Yami Super 10 said:
It was a great ride and well organized. :thumleft:

Just a shame for the fog, but still a big turnout :ricky: Most of the guys where well behaved, just 3 “*** holes” with their super bikes from a clang. They where popping wheelies with their pillions and dragging through Ou Kaapse weg. And then as for being asked NOT to pop and drag on the runway.....what do they do :deal: Well.....there are always a few pricks in a bunch.

Other than that, enjoyed myself and nice meeting a few other Dogs.

BIO, nice RR :thumleft:

It was really Gr8 to have you join us. Thanks for the very kind words. Gotta fully aggree with you,... on the point that it would've been really special if there were a lot more WD's present. No worries htough,... we'll be a lot more organised for next years Event, along woth getting the word out a lot earlier next time. I'm also going to make a Special effort to get a "Moerse Big" banner (with a Gr8 Big WD Paw on it), proudley displayed, for all of us Doggs to get together & have a good time.

w.r.t. the "SB" dudes,..... I think with a lot more WD's present next year,... we can perhaps display a bit of "Culture" & it'll rub off on them.... :imaposer: :imaposer: :pot: ;D

Thanks again Dion :thumleft:

Joyride said:
This was a very nice event. Not even the weather could stop the enthusiasm of the participants. :ricky: Next year it will even be bigger. Thumbs up to the organisers, it was superbly well done.

Well done neighbour :thumleft:

Dankie, Buurman, vir jou ondersteuning. Dit is altyd lekker as ons almal saam staan vir sulke gooi goed. Next year 4 sure :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Ek sal van die photos by jou kry,... maar hier is een Cool een van jou toe jy daardie klein "pillion" vir a spin gewat het.

• NAT_5520 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5520 (Resized).jpg
    110.6 KB
  • NAT_5521 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5521 (Resized).jpg
    189.8 KB
kaalkoejawel said:
jy kan nie n klomp bikers op n runway toelaat en verwag niemand gaan n wheelie pop nie!

dit lyk baie cool, ek wil net weet hoekom die kommunikasie in die biking community so crap is! dit gebeur oor en oor dat meer as een event op dieselfde dag gehou word! soos bv sondag die 15de, die CMA blanket run en die ysterplaat run, albei vir liefdadigheid. almal sal mos daarby baat as dit op verskillende dae gehou word. ek sou graag altwee events wou bywoon...

Hi daar "kaalkoejawel",

I would like offer (on behalf of all of us @ AFB Yplt that organised the Event), a sincere appology for this problem. I can assure you that it will not happen again next year or any other Event. Like I mentioned in my reply to Hayleyscomet,.... we had unforseen hurdles through the preperation process.

We have learnt a lot through this process & have also connected with a lot of "correct" people in the "right" places. So the planning.preperation process for next years Event will be done a lot earlier & with a lot more "Willing to Assist" type of people.

Next year will be Better & Bigger & more successful :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Flatout said:
To Shaun and everyone else involved in organising this ride, Thanx a Million! A special word of appreciation to the
Traffic Cops who got us all safely back at the base. We need more people that's prepared to take the lead and organize a ride.
With the infrastructure you have please don't stop, just include a nice after party next time :3some:

A few more pictures

It was Gr8 to have met you Sakkie. Thanks too for the super photos you have posted as well.

w.r.t. the Traffic Officials responce to the whole event,... they did say that they very happy with the way everything went. Apart form the 1 or 2 or 3 little "issues" with those "SB's" >:D >:D ;D,..... they committed to giving us their 100% support for future Events that we plan in the future. :thumleft: :thumleft:

Flatout said:
Was their something wrong or weren't their enough Wilddogs? The Coffee and boerewors ques
were much longer than those at the Beer tent.

:laughing4: :laughing4:
Damn right,.... we're gonna have to make a plan to change that next year.... >:D :thumleft: :imaposer: :imaposer:

SuperT said:
............  we missed the ride ! ............. what a pity.Well done to all for the turnout :biggrin:

Hopefully we'll see you next year. :thumleft:

Here are a few photos of 2 of the 3 beneficiaries, that benefitted from the proceeds of the Event. The other proceeds of the funds raised will still be distributed. It really is so rewarding to be able to be a part of a Team (everyone that took part in this Speciail occasion) that can make so much difference in these littlte kids lives.

• NAT_5498 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5498 (Resized).jpg
    171.3 KB
  • NAT_5502 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5502 (Resized).jpg
    156.4 KB
  • NAT_5508 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5508 (Resized).jpg
    174.5 KB
  • NAT_5512 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5512 (Resized).jpg
    118.3 KB
Fred Cheetham going through the Saftey Briefing & explaining the route, just be we headed out on the road.

• NAT_5448 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5448 (Resized).jpg
    153.9 KB
Yours Truly going through some final arrangements with the Traffic Officials....... Thanks a lot for your Gr8 assistance.

• NAT_5396 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5396 (Resized).jpg
    118 KB
  • NAT_5412 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5412 (Resized).jpg
    121.5 KB
  • NAT_5401 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5401 (Resized).jpg
    110.6 KB
Two more photos I mannaged to get hold of,...... of some of the guys exiting the RunWay :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:
Now that was something that doesn't happen very often,.... getting the opertunity to take your "Scoot" down the RunWay.

• NAT_5469 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5469 (Resized).jpg
    76 KB
  • NAT_5470 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5470 (Resized).jpg
    76.7 KB
Quite a different kind of "Pillion". :ricky: :ricky: ;D
Apparently this dudes dog travels everywhere with him. Was pretty cool to see his dog carrying his helmet around, in his mouth, while they were walking around.

• DSC_3544 (Resized).jpg
    DSC_3544 (Resized).jpg
    137.6 KB
  • DSC_3547 (Resized).jpg
    DSC_3547 (Resized).jpg
    136.1 KB
  • NAT_5467 (Resized).jpg
    NAT_5467 (Resized).jpg
    186.5 KB
Reinier Kotze (one of our Base Photographers) was very HaPPY when he got loaned this Africa Twin for the day.

• NAT_5528.jpg
    NAT_5528.jpg
    180.8 KB
  • NAT_5491.jpg
    NAT_5491.jpg
    180.4 KB
  • NAT_5492.jpg
    NAT_5492.jpg
    185.7 KB
  • NAT_5479.jpg
    NAT_5479.jpg
    147 KB
  • NAT_5496.jpg
    NAT_5496.jpg
    137.5 KB
A few other WD Bike that I spotted in some of the photos that other people took.

1. Your's Truly - Bring It On (R1200GS)
2. JacoSwart (Africa Twin) & Taxi (KTM 990 Adventure)
3. Kameelkop (XT 660 Tenere)
4. Taxi (KTM 990 Adventure) & Yarrow (1200 Super Tenere)
5. Joyride (KTM 950 SE)
6. DPR (HD Test-Drive) :ricky:
7. Not sure who this was,.... but its a pretty cool photo.

• DSC_3527 (Resized).jpg
    DSC_3527 (Resized).jpg
    134.9 KB
  • DSC_3534.JPG
    DSC_3534.JPG
    128.4 KB
  • NAT_5394.jpg
    NAT_5394.jpg
    160.7 KB
  • NAT_5461.jpg
    NAT_5461.jpg
    181.9 KB
  • NAT_5521.jpg
    NAT_5521.jpg
    189.8 KB
  • DSCN0832 (Resized).jpg
    DSCN0832 (Resized).jpg
    189.4 KB
  • NAT_5392.jpg
    NAT_5392.jpg
    85.6 KB
Well organised Shaun, was a gr8 day thanks.

Ek stem sommer more vir jou ..... :deal: :laughing4:

Bullbull said:
Thanks! What a great day!

:thumleft: It sure was a special day for us to see everything come together. ;D

jnrbull said:
Well organised Shaun, was a gr8 day thanks.

Ek stem sommer more vir jou ..... :deal: :laughing4:

Thanks Neels 4 that...... :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer: :imaposer: It was a team effort with a lot of people involed to make it happen. Thanks so much for your support on the day. Looking forward to seeing you @ next years ride :ricky: :ricky: :ricky: I really will do my very best to get to meet all the WD's that will be there. :thumleft: