2 Grumpy old men on their way from Lady Gray to Sani via Katse

SchalkL

Kawasaki KLR 650
1 Apr 2016
Since i am trying to do this RR while on the trip and changing plans every day, my guess is as good as yours on where we will be tomorrow.
Myself and HennieS left Coligny 3 days ago klapping 700km first day to get our "starting point" Lady Grey.
Our weapons of choice: Truimph Explorer XC 1200 and my "new" Vstrom DL1000. Will give my view of the Wee at the end of the trip.

IMG_0002.JPG

IMG_0003.JPG

We stayed over at a family members farm on the Dordrecht road. Scenery on the farm is absolutely fantastic.
IMG_0008.JPG

IMG_0986.JPG

IMG_0988.JPG

IMG_0992.JPG

Tiger on the loose

IMG_0013.JPG

This ou toppie is one of the fittest 65 year olds i have ever seen. It is impossible to keep up with him climbing and jumping over rocks to show us his farm.
IMG_0996.JPG

After 2 days of eating the biggest breakfast, lunch & dinner ever, we left for Rhodes via Lundean's Nek Pass.
Some pics along the way.

IMG_1002.JPG

RSA/Lesotho beach

IMG_1008.JPG

Crossing the border illegally because I can

IMG_0024.JPG

IMG_0026.JPG

Some more pics along the pass

IMG_1022.JPG

IMG_1028.JPG

IMG_1046.JPG

IMG_1057.JPG

IMG_0027.JPG

And we made it!  Next stop Rhodes.

IMG_1067.JPG

After staying over at Dave's place Walkabout we carried on to Naude's Pass. We were a bit worried since it rained quite a bit during the night but leaving only at 10 it dried out and the gravel was lekke firm and dustfree.

IMG_1094.JPG

A few pics on our way to Matatiele.

IMG_1100.JPG

IMG_1117.JPG

Tonight we are sleeping in Matatiele at  RestHaven. Planning to go into Lesotho tomorrow through Qua Qua's Nek on our way to Semokeng Falls.

IMG_1122.JPG

IMG_1126.JPG

Watch this spot 🤓 will update again as soon as i have signal.........

To avoid this you need to make better choices   :xxbah:
Will explain soon ...... :biggrin:

IMG_1326.JPG

We left Matatiele this morning at about 9 and are now at Mohale Lodge, took us about 7 hours to get here  :eek: on tar! This must be one of the greatest tar roads to ride in Africa! It is around 250km of twisties, not joking, i estimate around 3 turns every km, a lot of them switchbacks. Driving carefully you get to about 70km/h and then break for the next corner.

From Matat to Qua Qua's Nek border post its a very busy bad gravel road around 45km.

IMG_1134.JPG

You need to take it slow! Underneath just 2 pics of about 5 rocks on the road of this size. The first 10km i could not believe how everybody is driving, after that i realized its the Lesotho way and in some weird way it works. There must be some secret law stating that you MUST cut into the other lane when going around a corner?
When you turn into a left corner stay close to the yellow lane or you will get a Toyota badge on your forehead.

IMG_1137.JPG

IMG_1144.JPG

The road is very good but with huge potholes at some places. The winding never stops and I never thought that i would long for a bit of straight road in my life. Golden Gate road times 200! You MUST do this road, i didn't want to, 250km tar uugh, but i was wrong.
IMG_1150.JPG

IMG_1155.JPG

Nice lookout point stiil on our way to Semonkong Lodge and Falls.

IMG_1176.JPG

IMG_1198.JPG]

Ok sorry guys I am to tired to post more now, flippen time consuming on a ipad!

Good one Slakkie enjoying it, and some of your pics are Gold award quality!

Ek ry lekker saam.  :thumleft:

Daai Triumph lyk somer spuls mooi in daai kleur.  :deal:

SchalkL said:
To avoid this you need to make better choices   :xxbah:
Will explain soon ...... :biggrin:

IMG_1326.JPG

That looks like the lower view point for Semonkong falls...  we had the same situation 2 weeks ago.  had to move a lot of the rocks out the way to get back up that path!

En ons idiots moet werk....ai ek is sommer nou jaloers... :eek:

Hey Schalk, hoop jy die vistokke in bru.......  :biggrin: Somr jaloers man! Lyk flippin lekker en dit terwyl piesangs moet sit en werk vndag........

Wag in spanning om te hoor why jy die 990 verkoop het vir n VStrom....... ;) :biggrin: ???

Roxtar said:
Hey Schalk, hoop jy die vistokke in bru.......  :biggrin: Somr jaloers man! Lyk flippin lekker en dit terwyl piesangs moet sit en werk vndag........

Wag in spanning om te hoor why jy die 990 verkoop het vir n VStrom....... ;) :biggrin: ???

Die KTM is mos die plaasbike.  :thumleft:
Moet nou brandpaaie skraap vir die winter en bale aanry, kan nie met hom gaan toer nie.