2012 GELUKSBURG ANNUAL RUN

Nice kiekies Laurika. Hoop jy het die draad in jou tent versigting hanteer, ek dink dit kom uit die longdrop?  ::)

Slakkie said:
Nice kiekies Laurika. Hoop jy het die draad in jou tent versigting hanteer, ek dink dit kom uit die longdrop?  ::)
nope< wie weet hoe lank die ding al in my tent steek.. :imaposer: het ons al genoem hoe pragtig die longdrops gemaak is? baie netjies....ButchH het dit self geinstalleer....en die parafien stort was nogal fun....

Draad; Tent; Steek. ? 'n draad wat steek in die tent?

I admit, coming from the last outpost of the British Empire, that my Afrikaans is poor, but I am getting strange visions here  ::) 

Ek hoop nie die draad het van die draadkar afgeval nie !!!!  :laughing4:

Ek's nie kort van draad nie  :biggrin:

Some roandom pic (Thanks Draadkar) as you can see I did not drink at all  :biggrin:

• Long Drop Bash 010.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 010.jpg
    167.8 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 025.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 025.jpg
    132.1 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 028.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 028.jpg
    144.6 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 033.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 033.jpg
    139.7 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 040.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 040.jpg
    146.7 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 041.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 041.jpg
    147.1 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 043.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 043.jpg
    122.3 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 060.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 060.jpg
    141.2 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 063.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 063.jpg
    133.6 KB
  • Long Drop Bash 014.jpg
    Long Drop Bash 014.jpg
    106.6 KB
Draadkar said:
Ek's nie kort van draad nie  :biggrin:
julle moet nou ophou die "draak steek" met my...dit was n legitimate doringdraad....en dit confuss net vir Gunda... :imaposer: great pics Butch.....very nice sober one of u.....

laurika said:
. . . .en dit confuss net vir Gunda.... . .

Okay. I think I gottit. Its "draad" in the "fencing and barbed wire" namespace and not in the "human anatomy and reproduction" namespace.

I am pleased I have this sorted.  ;D

Since my photos were more about the riding, I've started to chuck them into a separate Ride Report: https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=91798.0

However, I'd like to thank all the great folks who made this such a fantastic weekend.  Draadkar and ButchH and Rick with their families for making it all happen. The venue was great, the facilities fine (who needs more than a nice open air shower and a freshly dug longdrop?  :biggrin: ), the booze lasted the whole weekend, the music was awesome and the sheep on the spit was the best I've ever had, by quite some margin!  We all truly appreciate everything you guys did!

Thanks CaveGirl for the bottle of wine and Ray for the headache.

Thanks to all the banter around the fire, always better than any stand-up.

Special thanks to Gunda for taking me riding on Saturday and to Outthere and BabyBeemer for showing me some picture perfect riding roads and some history I didn't even know existed! I gathered the impression that you guys are struggling to find roads which you haven't done yet.  That GS has travelled a lot! And you guys ride so well: two-up poetry in motion.  And BabyBeemer waves at the kids with BOTH hands!  :eek:

Thanks for all the laughs, it was epic!

PS. Thanks for the compressor, Draadkar!    :thumleft:

PPS. Sure I forgot some thanks, but I wasn't always there...    :biggrin:

roxenz said:
. . . .
Special thanks to Gunda for taking me riding on Saturday and to Outthere and BabyBeemer IanTheTooth for showing me some picture perfect riding roads and some history I didn't even know existed! I gathered the impression that you guys are struggling to find roads which you haven't done yet.  That GS has travelled a lot! And you guys ride so well: two-up poetry in motion.  And BabyBeemer IanTheTooth waves at the kids with BOTH hands!  :eek:

. . . . .

Thanks for coming along - The way the other folks at the camp were faffing about getting ready to ride, had you not said, "let's go" we would have had no ride  ;D

Reading your ride report makes me understand why we want people like you coming to bashes and weekends ....Well done on the report and I have just decided we will do the Geluksburg bash annually ( Hey ButcH )

Draadkar said:
Reading your ride report makes me understand why we want people like you coming to bashes and weekends ....Well done on the report and I have just decided we will do the Geluksburg bash annually ( Hey ButcH )

Net So  :thumleft:

Looks great Dogs, pity I missed it!
Some of the most enjoyable/scenic riding I've done was in that them hills.  Did anyone do Bezuidenhoutspass?

Most of my pics are of the ride there and home, but remembered this one that I took within the first 10 minutes of arriving :)

• WD Natal bash Feb 2012 041 - Copy.JPG
    WD Natal bash Feb 2012 041 - Copy.JPG
    129 KB
Thanks all for a great weekend

Very glad we made it that violin was out of this world and that was before the few brandys I drank
on Friday night .

We rode up on Friday Altering our route around the huge thunderstorms near ladysmith
and was very glad to be able to take Sarah up the old van reneens railway road but not so happy to find this road is now a perfectly graded district road. ad took us 10 to 15 min form bottom to top
on the way up we meet OF which he says stands for Old Fart coming home from jhb .

So filled up at the top of van reneens came down on N3 and turned right at that Biltong shop at the bottom.

Took the sand river valley road then right to geluksberg.

Thanks ButchH for allowing us to drop our bags with you for a safe trip up from PMB.

Collected our bags and sorry to say but booked it at the local B&b.

Had a great chop and dop bed by 12 for a 8.30 start the next day.

We were joined by Ian the tooth the next morning and rode to the top of Middledale pass via
Sandspruit pass nice graded road all but one section which only a 4x4 will make it up strange as
mapsource has it marked as district road .

Near the top of sandspruit pass there was a road to the right which we explored and took us right down into the valley where this old bridge was.
Fairly steep climb out again but all good as road had recently been graded.

Sandspruit pass meets middledale pass about half way up and we meet GG and roxen at the top of Middledale.

Where we turned left rode for about two KM then left again on a Short cut to Bezidenhouts Pass
Stoped at the top of Bezudenhouts pass and took a look down and around the first corner
Shock and horror not much left wouldn't like to see the rest apparently they have had plenty rain there last time I road down there was November last year Two up it was not to bad but I wont be back there till I here they've done some work on it Pity One of the enjoyable passes may not be anymore Need to warn Quads for Quads as I'm sure they Normally use that one too.

Then on to Retief rock and Karlfoot lady and Top of olifanthoek pass for lunch.

Down to bergville and home to Gelucksberg for skaap braai. Mooi .

Rained quite a bit Saturday night but only after supper so all was good .

Sunday was a little slippery on the way out of town but were able to get through
to the R103 back to Mooiriver where we went to Cragie burn Dam for lunch break and then down karlkloof road and home in Howick.

Very sorry so long ago I did a proper ride report need to learn how to use Photo bucket again so just going to post pics here.

• IMGP0274.jpg
    IMGP0274.jpg
    156.2 KB
  • IMGP0351.jpg
    IMGP0351.jpg
    158 KB
  • IMGP0309.jpg
    IMGP0309.jpg
    235.3 KB
  • IMGP0317.jpg
    IMGP0317.jpg
    119.5 KB
  • IMGP0291.jpg
    IMGP0291.jpg
    158.2 KB
  • IMGP0285.jpg
    IMGP0285.jpg
    183.4 KB
  • IMGP0283.jpg
    IMGP0283.jpg
    218.7 KB
  • IMGP0271.jpg
    IMGP0271.jpg
    133.3 KB
  • IMGP0270.jpg
    IMGP0270.jpg
    180.9 KB
  • IMGP0266.jpg
    IMGP0266.jpg
    158.6 KB
Some more

• IMGP0261.jpg
    IMGP0261.jpg
    192.7 KB
  • IMGP0262.jpg
    IMGP0262.jpg
    216.9 KB
  • IMGP0277.jpg
    IMGP0277.jpg
    229.5 KB
  • IMGP0298.jpg
    IMGP0298.jpg
    160.4 KB
  • IMGP0353.jpg
    IMGP0353.jpg
    221.6 KB
  • IMGP0354.jpg
    IMGP0354.jpg
    187.4 KB
  • IMGP0358.jpg
    IMGP0358.jpg
    219.2 KB
  • IMGP0301.jpg
    IMGP0301.jpg
    156 KB
Where was the pic of the rocky road going thru the gate taken?

0285  Bottom of sandspruit valley see old bridge on left
0309 looking up last part of bezuidenhouts pass  see wall at top of pic
just realised i dont even have photobucket on my pc anymore sad hey

GundaGunda said:
roxenz said:
. . . .
Special thanks to Gunda for taking me riding on Saturday and to Outthere and BabyBeemer IanTheTooth for showing me some picture perfect riding roads and some history I didn't even know existed! I gathered the impression that you guys are struggling to find roads which you haven't done yet.  That GS has travelled a lot! And you guys ride so well: two-up poetry in motion.  And BabyBeemer IanTheTooth waves at the kids with BOTH hands!  :eek:

. . . . .

Thanks for coming along - The way the other folks at the camp were faffing about getting ready to ride, had you not said, "let's go" we would have had no ride  ;D

Sorry for cocking up the names  :-\ : I meant Sarah, Outthere's most impressive pillion...  Anyway it was a magic day's riding.

roxenz said:
. . . .

Sorry for cocking up the names   :-\ : I meant Sarah, Outthere's most impressive pillion...  Anyway it was a magic day's riding.

I understand - It's hard enough for me to remember one set of names, and with the WD forum you have TWO sets.

Add the early onset Alzheimer's that I sometimes think I have . . . . .  ::)

With Laurika it is simple . . . just one name, that is until I hear the okes calling somebody "Miss Helmet Hair" and I learn its Laurika.

eish