Amageza 2012

BB I don't think there will be many pictures of you. The speed you okes did caught a few camera men off guard. >:D

Uilspieël said:
BB I don't think there will be many pictures of you. The speed you okes did caught a few camera men off guard. >:D

:p

All I know is I'm probably disqualified  :biggrin: I will have to lodge a protest if I am because no where were we restricted to 120k/hr on the liaison except on the tar sections and I was a good boy there. Ask Darryl and Roger.  :deal:

DZ40 means speed control zone 40km/hr

FZ120 means "Finish of Speed control zone for 120km/hr"  :mwink:

us tog's always have that carrion smell about us.......................          8) :D >:D

Edit:  I'm a rider @ heart, photography is only my 2nd hobby. I committed to take pics of the action, others were catching atmosphere & artistic. They did a great job  :thumleft:

With so many clowns, it was hard to distinguish the difference. Thinking back, I should have been more artistic. Maybe.

Sprocket,

Thanks for the coverage of us back markers, must say I was surprised, great pics, good memories now (not then) and the water, man that water was so unbelievably good, thanks again  :thumleft:

Just to set the record straight, that was me getting help from my son and must say I don't think I would have made qualifying without his help, it was one hell of a struggle in the mud all morning.
I must have dropped my bike 20 times, maybe more, during that morning slugfest, and many times, before I got up, Shane was there picking my bike up. 

I had a bad fall in the first 5 or 6 km, high siding, after losing it in a stretch of mud. I hit the ground very hard, and couldn't move for a few minutes. I don't recall who stopped and helped me and cannot remember if I thanked him at the time, so this is a thanks to whoever it was.
As it turns out I broke two ribs in my fall and just couldn't get my kit on the next morning for the start. Due to my discomfort Shane threw in  the towel and we headed back to Durban.

By the way, the lack of water was caused by the hose bayonet fitting, on my Camel Pak dislodging, maybe during my fall.

Next year it will be a 450, I hope.

Thanks again, I thought this was a great event, a huge effort by Alex and the rest of his team, and each year this Rally will get better and better.

Some advice for next year, if you need to Qualify, don't leave it until the day before the event, you may break a couple ribs.  :mwink: 

Sprocketbek said:

Hey Geoff,
Really sorry to hear of your woes.
I was looking out for you end of day one and hoped you were ok when I noticed that you had packed up camp.
Thanks again for giving my radio base station a lift down.

GStry said:
Sprocket,

Thanks for the coverage of us back markers, must say I was surprised, great pics, good memories now (not then) and the water, man that water was so unbelievably good, thanks again  :thumleft:

Just to set the record straight, that was me getting help from my son and must say I don't think I would have made qualifying without his help, it was one hell of a struggle in the mud all morning.
I must have dropped my bike 20 times, maybe more, during that morning slugfest, and many times, before I got up, Shane was there picking my bike up. 

I had a bad fall in the first 5 or 6 km, high siding, after losing it in a stretch of mud. I hit the ground very hard, and couldn't move for a few minutes. I don't recall who stopped and helped me and cannot remember if I thanked him at the time, so this is a thanks to whoever it was.
As it turns out I broke two ribs in my fall and just couldn't get my kit on the next morning for the start. Due to my discomfort Shane threw in  the towel and we headed back to Durban.

By the way, the lack of water was caused by the hose bayonet fitting, on my Camel Pak dislodging, maybe during my fall.

Next year it will be a 450, I hope.

Thanks again, I thought this was a great event, a huge effort by Alex and the rest of his team, and each year this Rally will get better and better.

Some advice for next year, if you need to Qualify, don't leave it until the day before the event, you may break a couple ribs.  :mwink: 

Sprocketbek said:

That is an epic story. Well done Geoff :hello2:

I don't think there's any way that there will ever again be a qualifier so close to the event.  Just imagine if something had gone even more wrong.  It would have jeopardised the whole event.  There's too much at stake now, with sponsors, big money and all.

Crossed-up said:
I don't think there's any way that there will ever again be a qualifier so close to the event.  Just imagine if something had gone even more wrong.  It would have jeopardised the whole event.  There's too much at stake now, with sponsors, big money and all.

tell me more...

GStry said:

Thanks for posting GStry - I was also looking for you on Day 1 and Day 2 to discuss our interlude on that rocky and slippery climb....  :biggrin: (I am the guy with the red Honda XR650R). If I had known about the fall and the ribs I would have stuck with you and Shane to help where I can.

Anyway, HUGE respect and I hope to see you (and meet properly) next year.

Baie geluk Tau jy is die wenner . :blob1: :blob1: :blob10: :blob6: :blob7: :blob7: :blob8:

en Roger tweede en Rickus derde baie geluk ! :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

From Amageza's Facebook ( per Alex )  :

"After reviewing every entrant's GPS track the results of the the Monster Energy Amageza 2012 is ready!

Congratulations to the winner of the Monster Energy Amageza 2012, John Webb in 04:42:16!

Roger Scheffer came second in 05:10:46, and Rickus Vermeulen came third in a time of 05:29:42.

These three riders incurred four speed penalties each, and missed no way-points.

Our only female entrant Renette came 52 out of 55 finishers and 70 entrants.

The times were calculated as the sum of the two special stages, as well as the speed and missed way-point penalties. The liaison's were not timed.

The rest of the times will be published tomorrow here and on the Amageza web-site.

Congratulations to all of those who finished. For those who did not make it, next year will be only four days!!"

Geluk Tauster!!! Liewe hemel die man was vinnig. Terwyl ek en Rickus 2 ryers flat taps verbygegaan het kom Tau by ons verby gevlieg sommer veld langs! Amper laaste weggespring en toe nog vir Darrel gevang.

Geluk Rickus my ou maergat (sallie weer se jy is dik nie) pel. Lekker gewees om by jou te try byhou. Jy het my heeltmal van 'n 690 genees. Skuld jou seker 'n moerse dop vir daai een!

Boys julle is ysters!!! 

:bueller:

4 x 20 min penaltys = 1hr 20 mins :lamer: oops.

Lekker Rickus.

And Tau, you're the rider who stopped (while in the lead) and asked me, "Where the F am I?", and "Are we still racing?" right in the middle of a timed section.  :laughing4:

GStry said:
Sprocket,

Wasn't me who was mistaken, I understood that to be the case.
Rynet was a bit confused, though. Still suffering from after-effects  ;D

Conrats Tau, Roger & Rickus! Well done!

Congrats tau, Roger and Rickus!

Can't wait to see how the rest of us did. ;D

whitefish said:
Geluk julle 3 manne, mooi Ricko :thumleft:

Dankie man :thumleft: moet se ek is baie chuffed en surprised....tel n slag jou blerrie telefoon op!!!

Pos Competitor Speed Trap  Count Missed Waypoint Count Total Time
1 JOHN WEBB 4 0 04:42:16
2 ROGER SCHEFFER 4 0 05:10:46
3 RICKUS VERMEULEN 4 0 05:29:42-Rickus
4 FANIE NEL 5 0 05:46:08 - Darksider-
5 RUDI NEETHLING 4 0 05:55:40 - Tour-
6 DEWALD HUISAMEN 3 2 06:10:29 - Weskus-
7 DARRYL CURTIS 6 1 06:16:00
8 ANDREW JOHNSTONE 6 3 07:11:42 -Kamanya-
9 JUSTIN CLOHESSY 5 5 07:17:12
10 CHRIS OPPERMAN 3 3 07:23:52-Uilspieel-
11 GUY BISCOE 6 2 07:38:44