My ride started with the catching of a Mango flight to CT… Ryno , the previous owner of the SE, picked me up from the airport and took me back to his house to pick up the bike. I loaded up and started cruising around Stellenbosch and the Paarl area killing time. I searched for a bike shop and got a few needed bits like spare tubes.. tyre leavers and refill bombs… I then had my own little pub crawl and later I popped in at Stoetie’s work and then booked into a B&B for the night. Next morning I met a few WD’s at Bossa Nova and soon we set of for the Bash. Andries had a little mishap with his handle bars and he went off to Boland Bikes to have all things sorted. We ambled down the road and waited for him… soon more and more WD’s rocked up and everyone was in good spirits.
I remember commenting to the okes from the area how lucky they were to have such an amazing area to ride in…. very pretty scenery… and coming from the dry & dusty Gauteng area the greenery was almost like photoshopped images to me…
Soon we all filled up at some spot and the we headed out for a few kms on the tar through even more scenery … we then drove up “Katbakkies” and met even more WD’s on the way.. we made a stop at the bottom and had a fairly unconventional “doring takke braai”… Pote kept on hauling stuff out of his killer panniers and we had a lekker jol under the trees….
We then went further down the road and soon the famous little flowers that the “Gautengers” drive down to see started popping up. We had a stop and a smoke and squeezed of a couple of pics…
With all our little stops along the way and beers at Middelpos we had to haul to make up for lost time.. I remember a scary moment on the road with the humps where I hit one hump and suddenly I was looking down at Stoetie with both my wheels at his shoulder height…. Not exactly what I had planned…
Bob and myself gave it horns for the last bit and after a brief stop for final directions from Mof’s wife we headed to the site..
We arrived after dark and after negotiating the kakkerige sanderige 2 spoor paadjie for the last few kms I managed to fall over in the riverbed in front of everyone….
The rest of the evening was spent having a jol and I eventually got to bed after giving Horsepower a few cigarettes at about 05H15… The next morning I took a few snaps of the camp area…
We then packed up and headed for the Calvinia Vleis Fees were Heimer had made a commitment for some Skaapkoppe….. f@rkit...... That was a bit of an education….here are a few pics on the way there..
We booked in at the school “koshuis” and had a quick VERY cold shower and then it was off to find a few cold ones and watch the rugby at the hotel…
We rocked up at the Vleis Fees and I have to admit that the festival itself was a bit disappointing but we had a jol anyway….
We got some food and the Heimer and Neels sat down to eat their Skaap Koppe…
We left the festival and went to the hotel… here bumped into Bus and his crew and played some rather poor pool..
We ended up at the “Water Front”…. And here we had a blast eating supper and drinking vast amounts…
There was also some of the most horrific local music talent on display.. and we were out of there in the early hours of the morning.
I woke up at about 06H00 and moved all my stuff into the passage as not to wake the others… I packed my bike and left Calvinia just as the sun started to rise…… it was F@RKIN cold….
I only ever stopped for petrol and once for a coffee in Carnavon… I nailed the approx 1250 kms in one go and got home last night at 21h00 hours
Thanx to Mof and all who helped to make this such a lekker weekend…..