Going to Nkandla

Some nice roads leading into towards Zingela and the banks of the Tugela river where we would camp for the night. At one point we past some tourists bouncing along on the back of a Land Cruiser, wonder how much euros they paid for that experience :ROFLMAO:

image_67193601.JPG

Would be interesting in these washes in the rainy season

image_50442241.JPG

image_50424577.JPG

We finally arrive and what a setting to rest at. I can see why the Zingela bash would be a highlight for anyone. I decide to pitch my tent on the sandy bank unfortunately a late afternoon wind blows quite a lot of sand into the tent but that night I still sleep like a log only at 2am I awake to hear some baboons up to some mischief in the distance.

unnamed.jpg

image_50418689.JPG

image_50407681.JPG

Great way to end the day

image_50419457.JPG

Wow that tent seems to pack small! I looked for it on your photos, and it looks like you only have space for a few undies. Did you sleep on the ground? Or a stretcher or air matress or such?

I had these same questions in my mind.... :giggle:

Day 3

The other guys decide on an extra rest day at Zingela before riding home on Monday. Riding the 250 on tar to Pta makes me moeg already. I plotted a route for checking out some new areas and tracks I have never done before. The rest day did look good though, another tough day in Africa

image_6483441.JPG

I'm basically riding the TSAT from Zingela all the way to Wakkerstroom in the north on the next two days. This is a route I plotted on GE but eager to see it for myself. Will it work as a TSAT option ? Well I think it depends what one wants form the trip. I found the KZN region extremely interesting. The scenery is stunning and in many ways the villages that dot the mountain side stretches all the way from Weenen up past the Battlefields. But these are still proper rural villages, not like the urban ones with trash general chaos. Here in the mountains kids still fish in the clean mountain streams and ride donkeys for fun. Very few could speak even English here. Zulu men wear traditional head bands and woman the typical dresses. Beware though you will find many goats and cattle to navigate on the winding mountain passes.

I leave just after 7, as I get to a junction some kids are adamant I should go the other way. They cant speak English I cant speak Zulu what a stuff up. I know they meant that way leads to the tar road as we came that way the day before but my route heads east to Tugela Ferry. Finally I just wave and ride off.

image_50449409.JPG

I last refueled at Ladysmith although still plenty of gas I'm not sure if I will get any before possibly Dundee and that is after doing the Battlefield route. I stop and ask Gift if there is fuel at nearby, he says no but Tugela Ferry will have.

image_50431745.JPG

I ride on and the river will be my companion for most of the route

image_50418177.JPG

Last edited:
The tent is an Oztrail Nomad 2, it packs very small and is real easy to pitch. It fits in my saddle bags so I had no need for a top bag. I have a Klymit Static V mattrass which packs to the size of a 500ml Lion can. I took :

Oztrail Nomad 2 tent
Klymit Static V matrass
360 degree inflatable pillow
K-way quick dry towel
First Accent sleeping bag (summer rated so small)
3 sets of underpants
1 pair of shorts
3 pairs of t - shirts
1 thermal top
Beanie
Buff
Spork
Small gas stove
Pocket knife
2 pairs of socks
Headlamp (which had dead batteries)
Phone charger cable
Small toiletries pouch (tooth paste, tooth brush cut in half, shampoo / soap combo small bottle, Panado's, floss, matches)
Then the water bladder in my jacket. extra bottle in my backpack
Some snacks carried in the backpack as well (sardines, pilchards - great source of energy, droe wors, some sweets)
Tools on rear carrier rack

I always try and pack as light as possible
Food I try and buy on route where possible or eat in town

Last edited:
I make it to Tugela Ferry, it's a big and bustling town. There is a Shell garage where I fill up. I get signal and send some messages back home. I also get accommodation confirmation in Utrecht. Surely the only mlungu for about 100 miles I get my provision ready and head out of town and straight up another mountain pass. Crossing the Tugela at Pomeroy

image_50434305.JPG

I feel very lucky to be able to ride these roads, it snakes up the mountain ... oh and this area is part of Nkandla, Qudeni to be exact. I did not see Jacob on his quad though

image_50432257.JPG

Dinituli has a steep climb towards the summit, just when you think surely people cannot live here you se more rondavels built into the mountain sides. Some mountains are just to steep and for a moment you are all alone. Some really live amongst the clouds

unnamed.jpg

image_50388737.JPG

There is a waterfall in the photo below, not a place where you want to forget to turn the ABS off

image_50460673.JPG

This makes me miss Natal.
Grew up in Melmoth and went to school in Vryheid.
Thanks for sharing the kit you took with!

Another crossing, this time the Buffalo River

image_50420481.JPG

The bridge above is visible in the next photo at the bottom of the pass, this was a very steep climb luckily the road was cement otherwise it would be impossible to drive out in the wet

image_50413057.JPG

Kids fishing in some of the larger pools downstream

image_50439425.JPG

Thát is not a Boerbok! 😂

Hell @sidetrack, you have now made me very lus to go riding there. Your pix are awesome. Android phone with wide angle setting? I did sections of your route on my 800 a good few years ago and you made me remember how much I enjoyed that ride. You certainly make the most of that Rally and our beautiful country.

694240-50f15827f2db9d751daaf4be1268a4ea.data.jpg

Thát is not a Boerbok! 😂

Hell @sidetrack, you have now made me very lus to go riding there. Your pix are awesome. Android phone with wide angle setting? I did sections of your route on my 800 a good few years ago and you made me remember how much I enjoyed that ride. You certainly make the most of that Rally and our beautiful country.

View attachment 796002
I know it's just a GOAT ;) I have a Iphone 10S with the 0.5x setting for wide angle shots, works well. Just gives a better scope of the landscape. So having ridden this would you say it should be in the TSAT cross country route ? This could be the out in the sticks option and then the alternative northern route running via Smithfield for the okes that can't speak Zulu :D

May I ask how tall you are and what you weigh?
1.76m 85kg or so. Rear shock is way out of it's depth, even worse with luggage like this. Apparently a KLR progressive spring is the same. Will do this when I can afford

Janee kyk Brahman kan groot word.
Het vir TWK in Piet Retief gewerk hier rondom 2005.
Daar is n hele paar groot bulle gewees in daai omgewing!

I know it's just a GOAT ;) I have a Iphone 10S with the 0.5x setting for wide angle shots, works well. Just gives a better scope of the landscape. So having ridden this would you say it should be in the TSAT cross country route ? This could be the out in the sticks option and then the alternative northern route running via Smithfield for the okes that can't speak Zulu :D
I think that that part of our country is so pretty it would be a shame not to include it as an option for the okes @sidetrack. And for guys on smaller bikes like yours it is really a lekker ride. Put it in, let the rider decide for himself.

I have the same (iPhone XS?) and don't see that 0.5 option? Please help a dof oke like me, your formatting is ideal for landscapes.