Going to Nkandla

@Dorsland ek spring nou bietjie vooruit maar kyk hierdie pragtige Brahman langs die pad, nooit besef hoe groot hulle is nie ! Amersfoort distrik. Hy het nie lekker geweet wat om van die rooi implement hier voor hom te maak nie

View attachment 796004
Pragtige dier. So wild soos 'n Brahman kan wees, kan hy net so mak soos 'n lammetjie word.

Ek gaan vanaand vir my so MOERSE lang Bain's gooi met ys (ek drink onder toesig by die huis, mag nie Full Cream Coke vat nie) en die Thread mooi deurlees.

After fantastic riding I leave the mountains behind for now. I make my way north now at least km for km heading in the general direction of home. I have always wanted to see the Battlefield sites. First up is Rorkes Drift, the meaning of there is a Zulu on my stop takes on a whole new meaning here. I won't go into detail but it is well worth the trip to see and get a feel for what it would have been like to defend the hospital and mission station. There are quite a few British tourists too, nice to see people coming back. The entrance fee is R35.

The hospital itself is a replica as the real one was partly destroyed in the raid

image_50387969.JPG

image_50377473.JPG

I believe most of the soldiers consisted of Welshman as can be seen from the Welsh flag and wreaths ?

image_67525121.JPG

I looked at the time and decided not to go to Isandlwana, rather I wanted to spend some time at Bloedrivier

Bloedrivier what Afrikaner 40 years plus does not know this story whether it be by history books or paintings. From the distance I could see the laer of bronze cast life size wagons. Hungry by now I sit down and have the biggest vetkoek I have seen in my life, I only manage to finish half of it. The waitress is a Zulu woman (well I would guess as much), I feel awkward as she brings the food she hands it to me almost as a servant you would see in olden times. Maybe I misinterpret a custom ? Entrance fee is R50, I'm the only person there and get shown a quick film on the happenings at this site. The film ends by saying some scholars doubt if the battle even happened, this strikes a cord as I walk the site. How can 464 Boers hold off an estimated 10 000 - 15 000 Zulus ? Reloading a rifle takes time surely there is no way that shear number can not have breached the wagons perimeter and once inside it would have been game over. I do think the battle took place but maybe not as accurately as written in the books, if it did it was truly a sign from above. I leave the site with mixed emotion in some way it is a very sad place. The guest booked is mostly signed by overseas folk it seems most Afrikaners are not too bothered anymore. I'd really like to know if anyone here has visited and what your experience was.

image_67508737.JPG

image_50398209.JPG

image_50411265.JPG

Awesome RR. Ja as kind het jy maar net gelees in Geskiedenis boeke van "Die Slag van Bloedrivier"

Definitief iets op my bucket list om te besoek...

Day 4

Final day, I have enough fuel and head out of town. The gravel almost starts immediatly and it’s good one as the roads winds its wat up the mountain. I’m heading to Wakkerstroom for my next stop. Between the two towns there is some great riding to be had. Its a sunny day again but the wind us blowing strong ! On the altitudes and steep passes the 250 struggles a bit. First gear screams and 2nd bogs down. Gearing change might help but overall I like stock. In one steep section with the wind from the front I crawl up the mountain, in a desperate attempt I push forward on the bike to make it go faster, it was comical to say the least and I just burst out laughing :ROFLMAO:

Looking back towards Utrecht down below

389A3A6A-3A58-4F90-8097-E391F4D9E471.jpeg

The road to Groenvlei

37A7545C-20D5-4D05-9DAC-EA06FEF0C164.jpeg

Just outside Wakkerstroom I have my breakfast of champions ! Life is good folks

72C9A003-8026-47F6-AA0A-90F9BA7383E8.jpeg

Day 1

The plan was to meet Saddle Up and friends at Skeur Klip FS the first evening then continue onto Zingela KZN for day 3 and 4. In the back of my mind I had some tracks I wanted to check out in Natal I have never ridden before. Most of the ride ended up being a solo trek. What I found was truly unique and amazing, always great to experience something new. Lets go.

Outside of Villiers I meet Saddle Up and son totally unplanned. We have different routes as they want to get to camp early to go climb the mountain. The first dirt road started, quick stop for a photo

View attachment 795877
I made my way to Cornelia, never heard of it ? Well it was new to me too. The main attraction was a big rock in the main street

View attachment 795878
Always good to get into the countryside and soon it was dirt roads galore as I made my way through an area called Wessels Rust
View attachment 795884

View attachment 795879

It now truly felt like I was on a trip, soon I was reaching the FS - KZN border as I rode some winding back roads at Treur Niet. The mountains startec to appear, this was going to be a good one. In the distance they rose above the plains in the Vrede district

View attachment 795885

View attachment 795880

Passing through the peaks I found a lekker track running down the valley at Holnek. I was heading towards Memel and then Normandien Pass

View attachment 795882
Discovered the town of Cornelia a few years ago coming back from the Bilie Mielie MTB event in Reitz. Stunning gravel travel in the area!

I decend into Wakkerstroom, it’s a quaint little town where all the old buildings are looked after. There is shops, restaurants and fuel. Perfect stopover before I head towards Amersfoort.

2E402F24-D6E5-472B-99E2-C1B4F886ED3A.jpeg

The road I’m taking is new to me but soon I have a lovely view over the valley below Naugevonden. The views on this trip has been something special. I don’t think this is even on the TSAT, need to verify

06C4DEE9-DAC3-4122-B704-775F1F5A20EE.jpeg

Looking back towards the pass heading towards the Dirkiesrust / Amersfoort turnoff

D00704E9-6DA3-41CD-A340-74CAF176304D.jpeg

I think that that part of our country is so pretty it would be a shame not to include it as an option for the okes @sidetrack. And for guys on smaller bikes like yours it is really a lekker ride. Put it in, let the rider decide for himself.

I have the same (iPhone XS?) and don't see that 0.5 option? Please help a dof oke like me, your formatting is ideal for landscapes.
Ek ken nie die XS, hoeveel lense het hy agterop ? As dit twee is sal die een wye hoek wees en hy sal kan uitzoom glo ek

How are your Leatt boots holding up so far J?
On the bike and off, walking.... tell us?
(y)
I like them a lot, walked around the Battlefields no problem. I find them comfortable and it was only my 2nd ride with them

At Platjesfontein I take the turnoff towards Amersfoort, it’s not long before there is a sign indicating a steep pass. The gradient is not the concern rather flocks of sheep in the road and a strong wind makes the going slow. Seems Amersfoort is big on sheep farming. I stop on top of the pass and finish a cooldrink bought in Wakkerstroom

FCECCE20-DD5E-4384-85C3-770CB07253C6.jpeg

The road opens up and the mountains start to dissapear, a big Brahman is next to the fence and I say hello

34AD7DDB-7468-425A-A80C-1FAAB53E9662.jpeg

I’m still ok on fuel and push past Amersfoort towards Morgenzon for a re fuel. I aim to be home by 3pm

Very evocative pics and narrative, thanks, J.

And, btw, what front tire are you running on your bike?