Grizz & Dozer's Ride South Africa, Ride Report Complete. YouTube Videos.....

Luister boet .... Ek sit al van 6uur vanoggend hier en wag ..... soos afgespreek  :-\ en jy trek NOU eers uit die Paarl weg!  :lamer:
Te lank weer met jou selfoon gespeel ne ..... Roer jou gat - dis koud hier!

For you guys expecting Grizz & Dozer in George tonight .....  :peepwall:

Goose said:
Luister boet .... Ek sit al van 6uur vanoggend hier en way ..... Soos afgespreek :-\ en jy trek NOU eers uit die Paarl weg!  :lamer:
Te lank weer met jou selfoon gespeel ne ..... Roer jou gat - dis koud hier!

For you guys expecting Grizz & Dozer in George tonight .....  :peepwall:

vok Goose I have to use google

"Listen brother .... This morning I put all of 6 hours and way ..... As agreed and you go NOW only from the Paarl away!
Played too long with your phone again ne ... Stir your ass - it's cold here!"

Still makes way more sense than:

Gwrando brawd .... Y bore yma wyf yn rhoi i gyd o 6 awr a ffordd ..... Fel y cytunwyd, ac rydych yn mynd NAWR yn unig o'r Paarl i ffwrdd!
Wedi chwarae rhy hir gyda eich ffôn unwaith eto ne ... Cymysgwch eich ass - mae'n oer yma

Break a leg and enjoy the trip gents!

Veldbrand said:
Still makes way more sense than:

Gwrando brawd .... Y bore yma wyf yn rhoi i gyd o 6 awr a ffordd ..... Fel y cytunwyd, ac rydych yn mynd NAWR yn unig o'r Paarl i ffwrdd!
Wedi chwarae rhy hir gyda eich ffôn unwaith eto ne ... Cymysgwch eich ass - mae'n oer yma

Break a leg and enjoy the trip gents!

:lol8: :lol8:

Morning guys, Ill be watching this thread from my phone today, if you need anything passing the Mossel Bay area..... Just shout!

Goose said:
For you guys expecting Grizz & Dozer in George tonight .....  :peepwall:

As hulle die volle kusroete doen, en die pont by Malgas insluit, reken ek hulle sal meskien teen so 2100 vanaand op George wees.

Ok chaps - I'm back in Cape Town with a moerse sore ass!! That XT is a lekker bike but jinne jong....... :pot:

Arrived at the SHELL garage to meet the boys - nada.... they not there....
P1030100_zps3f4fd918.jpg

P1030103_zps2531c7cc.jpg

Thought Grizz could relate to the CHEAP petrol price here!
P1030105_zps27ad9457.jpg

I eventually had a chap arrive on a KLE - nothing to do with the forum - helluva nice bloke (Henk) who lives in Stanford (they do horseriding trails)...... so he kept me company until the two Brothers arrived..........

P1030112_zps62559480.jpg

P1030113_zpsdaae822e.jpg

P1030116_zpsea664c6a.jpg

We managed to get underway as time was running from us and we were now way behind schedule.
To make matters worse - Grizz managed to snap the PTT cable on his setup - too many cable ties and not enough play left.......... so I took mine from my bike and we installed it on his to ensure they have Comms between them for the trip!

Once we got going - the first photo-opportunity was above the Gordon's Bay harbour area.....
P1030121_zpsc0836dd0.jpg

once all was dusted, we got back on the bikes and I proceeded to move to the roadside and waited for them. Man - WHY WHEN YOU NEED THE CAMERA is it in the bag!!

Grizz somehow lost his footing and down he went with the bike - 100% sidestand incident........... but apart from losing a few litres of fuel - all was well. (by the way - if anyone has a spare fuel cap for this bike - please assist... it's got a temp-cap on that does not seal..)

Another stop was in order - about 4km's before Rooi Els...........
P1030125_zpsd65d8144.jpg

P1030128_zpsabd0a1e6.jpg

P1030135_zpsa2b55efd.jpg

P1030136_zpsca6af0aa.jpg

at this stage there was some splattering excuse for rain.......... I was really chilled at this stage - having ridden to the garage without my liner........ and I still did not have a cuppa to warm the innards.......... so we decided to hoof it to Kleinmond for a brekkie.

Dozer with a moerse grin
P1030137_zps86df2d3d.jpg

Grizz contemplating whether he could perhaps use the "BeadMaster" tyre levers to "harvest" a few Perlemoen  ;)
P1030138_zpsa6f83560.jpg

P1030145_zps51e8b582.jpg

endless discussions about the bike and kit...........
P1030148_zps71fbadbe.jpg

Grizz's new UVEX helmet he got at a bargain price before leaving the UK for our last trip to France........... note the Wilddog paw!! That was the first order of business - to get the paw on!  :thumleft:
P1030153_zps8c5d4bd6.jpg

Some of you might have read the trip report we did for the trip in France ............ one of my pet moans was that Grizz is a total blimmen Tech-junkie.......... he's addicted to his "Mobile" .............. and fok me..... his boet joined him............. two peas-in-a-pod!
P1030160_zps01d90a80.jpg

........... Our waitress helped out with the camera.......... man - was that a welcome meal!
P1030162_zpsfdac4100.jpg

View from the eatery!
P1030165_zpsfe76d864.jpg

Now - while we're sitting there minding our own business .. along comes this .........  not sure if it goes here or buttism....  :peepwall: .. but as it's Grizz's thread - I'll donate to him!
P1030176_zpsb9a14f78.jpg

P1030177_zps4eabb351.jpg

I started chasing the chaps - realising they still had quite a distance to travel, I handed them my maps as well and told them that we'll hussle to Hermanus - where I'd take my leave of them.
The XT550 developed an electrical problem, my ass was sore and I was not about to take a chance that the bike might fail on me!

Ample Bike parking in Hermanus - nogal right by Tourist Info (WELL DONE!)
P1030180_zpsdb1c5672.jpg

nice boney............
P1030185_zpsdda0a8cb.jpg

Really nice to see such old stalwards together.........  :thumleft:
P1030190_zps8394a6cf.jpg

Final "MAL" pics before saying our goodbyes...........

Grizz
P1030194_zps225bc164.jpg

Dozer
P1030195_zps19251731.jpg

The Boys
P1030197_zpsf49ad6c0.jpg

New & old mates ..........
P1030198_zps4e0c106d.jpg

Travle safe chaps - been really lekker riding with you - nice to have met you Deon and looking forward to meeting up again in the near future.

Rian - sterkte boet........... veilig ry en geniet dit. Sien jou sommer gou weer!

Hey goose thanks for the update. That Xr of yours looks lekker and the boys starting to get into the rhythm even if the whale flipped the Grizz.

bungycool said:
Hey goose thanks for the update. That Xr of yours looks lekker and the boys starting to get into the rhythm even if the whale flipped the Grizz.

Always a pleasure Jim -  :thumleft: it seems like ages since you were last here...!  

By the way - it's the Yamaha XT that - not the Xaar !  8)

I've had no further news from the two of them - hope all's well...  they wanted to reach George by 6pm - but maybe a bit ambitious...?

UPDATE - The boys reached George a short while ago - SAFE!! 

Thanks Goose for the RR, looks like the boys are going go have plenty bacon and eggs on this ride, tomorrow it is the Wimpy with Jupiter, for breakfast naturally ( I am sure Jup has shares in Wimpy  :biggrin:)

Thanks for the update  Goose.

In a few words....

Landed at Kosie's place.

Unpacked bikes etc, fire started, brandy bottle necks broken.....

Two vicious dogs almost eating us up alive.

BBQ in order, tomorrow is 7 passes, and half of Baviaans Kloof.

ONLY ONE PIC TONIGHT ....

P1000855_zpscc74edc0.jpg

OK.... one more....

Just shows that Kosie has a very wise wife in the decorating department.

P1000859_zps556d4f20.jpg

I will update and upload properly when I have no time now.

looking forward to see the baviaans ride,
good memories for me,
a Great Chance to make some Water Crossing Shots

Enjoy  ...  :ricky:

:cussing: :cussing: :cussing: :cussing:

Ons het 10 uur vanaand vir julle gewag by McNastys

The hospitality of fellow DOGs never ceases to amaze me. Well done so far guys.

Enjoying your trip with you via "THE CLOUD"!!!

woke up at 4am this morning, bike stuff on my mind, decided to read WD trip reports, and 11 brilliant pages later, have a grin on my face; everything from digging the Grizz-Pod, to having lost my own Dad just last year, and needing to distribute his ashes, too, knowing Goose, and how he (and others) helped out on your trip, mentally riding these roads with you, enjoying the fact the boys born in the era of fuel injection (the 21year-old), was helping balance carburetors (world is leaker upside down, ne!), and had a GOOD chuckle at Welsh translating Afrikaans into English, then chirping about it, and then seeing what WELSH language would look like.... frtht, whyth, abewisthwtyh, etc!

Brilliant thread, thanks :thumleft:

ddeffro am 4am y bore yma, pethau beic ar fy meddwl, penderfynodd i ddarllen adroddiadau daith WD, a 11 tudalen gwych yn ddiweddarach, yn cael gwên ar fy wyneb; popeth o gloddio'r Grizz-Pod, eu bod wedi colli fy nhad ei hun y llynedd yn unig , ac angen i ddosbarthu ei lludw, hefyd, Goose wybod, a sut y (ac eraill) helpu ar eich taith, yn feddyliol marchogaeth ffyrdd hyn gyda chi, yn mwynhau'r ffaith bod y bechgyn a anwyd yn y cyfnod o chwistrellu tanwydd (yr hen 21year-), yn helpu carburetors cydbwysedd (byd yn leaker wyneb i waered, ne!), ac roedd ganddo chwerthin DA mewn Affricaneg cyfieithu Gymraeg i'r Saesneg, yna drydar am y peth, ac yna gweld pa iaith WELSH yn edrych fel .... frtht, whyth, abewisthwtyh, ac ati!  :spitcoffee: :snorting: :snorting:

All I could get from that is Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch  :imaposer: