Hogsback Weekend - February 2011

JACOVV

Sorry for Hijack, put I've got permission from Irish to do the RR  :thumleft:

It all started with Irish.  He thought that it would have been a good idea to go to Hogsback and he posted it on the forum. The response was overwhelming - 350 posts and 2 568 views.  On the "Planning a Ride" a “Friday Drinks” was organised and new forum members were met.

Irish - being a Scotish and a Teacher way long back, he organised everything in detail.  The route was planned and at various points we all had to meet and wait for the rest of the group – i.e. Cathcart for a breakfast which was in fact a very very late brunch. Our group only arrived at 13H00 . . . . . Sorry for the falls DarrenO & HeavyD.  :'(  :'(

The meeting point was at Farmarama (between Gonubie & Beacon Bay) at 07H00 but due to unforeseen delays, the first group only left at 07H30. 15 Bikes left in groups of 5 each.  Irish led the first group, with Kally’s group following and us last.  At last the week-end started  :ricky:

I forgot the camera at home and only took a few with the cell phone on our way there.  :-\

It was nice meeting all the faces and hope we can do this soon.

Please enjoy and feel free to add your photo’s and report.

main.php

Irish explaining all the rules etc regarding the bar lady in Hogsback  :pot:

main.php

Pickle talking to Irish & his boet (who came all the way from J'Burg to join the ride).  Sorry you couldn't make the braai Saturday evening

main.php

Partners in Crime or is it Teachers in Crime????  BigG & Spoedvark. 

main.php

The meeting point

main.php

Mr & Mrs Wild Coast Adventures

main.php

KLR Cruiser before the off  :mad:  Sorry Boet

main.php

Road near Cathcart

main.php

Spoedvark acting like a Vark  :mwink:

Hay Jmol, what about the rest, we haven't got as far as Hogsback yet? but so far so good.

KALLY said:
Hay Jmol, what about the rest, we haven't got as far as Hogsback yet? but so far so good.

Sorry - that's all I have. 

Vis Arend said:
Thx Jaco, as jy nie omgee nie, ek gaan so bietjie bysit.

Meer as welkom.  Kan nie wag vir julle foto's nie.

Here is some of our photos, please feel free to add your own comments.

The main group left from East London, we left from King William’s Town and would regroup at Bolo........
Some pictures from King on route to Bolo

100_5610.jpg

100_5626.jpg

100_5649.jpg

100_5677.jpg

Approaching Bolo
100_5723.jpg

At Bolo we took a left turn towards Henderson
100_5733.jpg

We stopped and waited.......
100_5738.jpg

And decided to slowly proceed, some nice scenery

100_5756.jpg

100_5771.jpg

100_5777.jpg

This sign did not help at all
100_5796.jpg

100_5831.jpg

100_5839.jpg

Ons ry dat die stof so staan

100_5840.jpg

100_5843.jpg

Little river at Henderson

100_5905.jpg

100_5915.jpg

100_5920.jpg

This is where we had a lekka brunch............lekka late brunch, and some good beers, and met some good people......and ........
100_5967.jpg

The tools of the trade
100_5977.jpg

100_5978.jpg

100_5979.jpg

100_5988.jpg

100_5989.jpg

100_5990.jpg

We started to head out to Hogsback

100_5992.jpg

100_6008.jpg

100_6011.jpg

100_6062.jpg

100_6070.jpg

100_6080.jpg

JMOL, sorry vir die agterkant
100_6092.jpg

100_6102.jpg

100_6103.jpg

100_6104.jpg

100_6106.jpg

100_6107.jpg

100_6123.jpg

100_6124.jpg

100_6126.jpg

And that is where we stayed

100_6147.jpg

The view from where we stayed

100_6153.jpg

DSCN1781.jpg

DSCN1784.jpg

DSCN1796.jpg

Some struggled to get up the next morning
100_6169.jpg

‘n Onbekende WD
100_6170.jpg

I hope you guys checked the inside of your boots, this is what I found in my pannier.
DSCN1807.jpg

Thanks for starting the story Jmol. I might have called it 'Away with the Fairies', as that's the back packers that we stayed at.
What an awesome weekend. Good company, great riding and a great get away.
The Eastern Cape is the greenest I have seen it in years. The butcher in Stutterheim said that just 6 weeks ago they were still experiencing their longest drought in 40 years. Now it is beautiful with all the dams full.
Just have a look at the scenery....

008-Copy.jpg

Pat "Irish'

011.jpg

His brother Chris who flew down from the big smoke just for the ride and is new to DS riding - lekker guy.

012.jpg

Barry

013.jpg

and Dion'Bud500' and his beautiful wife

014.jpg

Great stuff guys. Yes, I was one of those lurkers while you were planning. Fugly's fugly feet nearly sorted that out for me.  :p

I want to get over there from Port St. John's side and then run on to PE so the route and the scenery is fantastic.

Thanks for the pics and the report. Everybody still got their shirt on so it looked pretty tidy. :ricky:

Stutterheim for lunch

015.jpg

View from my window at the back packers. Cost R 110, value - priceless

016.jpg

This is what a weekend should be about

018.jpg

Saterday night we had an awesome braai with t-bones from Stutt, watched the rugby and stared into the fire, but not for long as most we quite tired.

Breakfast Sunday morning

019.jpg

I have never seen Sandile dam so full. The last time I was here these marker buoys were high and dry by more than 10 m! Now water is lapping at the overflow.

020.jpg

022.jpg

Last photo of Irish and his boet

023.jpg

And the obigatory photo of the beautiful Miss Katie at Sandile dam.

024.jpg

Thanks for a great weekend. The break was so needed and seemed far longer than just one night out. It was great to meet the PE dogs.Well done and thank you Irish!

I left Saturday morning to meet the slum dogs in Hogsback.A small combination of tar and gravel.
I did not take picks from Adelaide  as they are on my previous ride report (Stutterheim recce).
https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=56914.0
Here are a few new ones.
1+2=Riebeek east church
3+4+5=Carlisle bridge over the great fish

• P1110118.JPG
    P1110118.JPG
    278.9 KB
  • P1110127.JPG
    P1110127.JPG
    229.2 KB
  • P1110128.JPG
    P1110128.JPG
    255.1 KB
  • P1110129.JPG
    P1110129.JPG
    251.1 KB
  • P1110115.JPG
    P1110115.JPG
    229 KB
1= Great fish
2+3+5=campsite
4=squatters  >:D

• P1110133.JPG
    P1110133.JPG
    254.3 KB
  • P1110143.JPG
    P1110143.JPG
    269 KB
  • P1110147.JPG
    P1110147.JPG
    290.2 KB
  • P1110151.JPG
    P1110151.JPG
    299.6 KB
  • P1110152.JPG
    P1110152.JPG
    242 KB
Slum Dogs chilling
4= ambush photo  :biggrin:

• P1110168.JPG
    P1110168.JPG
    268 KB
  • P1110178.JPG
    P1110178.JPG
    221.4 KB
  • P1110177.JPG
    P1110177.JPG
    242.8 KB
  • P1110169.JPG
    P1110169.JPG
    217.2 KB
  • P1110162.JPG
    P1110162.JPG
    261.3 KB
1+2+3=some beauts
4=relocating the fire to camp
5=fire duty

• P1110163.JPG
    P1110163.JPG
    290.1 KB
  • P1110164.JPG
    P1110164.JPG
    282.9 KB
  • P1110174.JPG
    P1110174.JPG
    292.1 KB
  • P1110183.JPG
    P1110183.JPG
    222.2 KB
  • P1110189.JPG
    P1110189.JPG
    208.4 KB
Last ones
1+2= Spring is in the air. ::)
Bud We heard the giggles from your tent. >:D

• P1110187.JPG
    P1110187.JPG
    176.8 KB
  • P1110195.JPG
    P1110195.JPG
    265.9 KB
Nice to see the pics from the EL guys with their trip up to Hogsback.

Most enjoyable weekend  :thumleft:

Cool guys!  Can't wait - we'll be there in a month!  :thumleft: