I fell, he fell and where is Alice?

Nice report  :thumleft:

I heard Rone bent his bars but did not know it was that hard  :( hope you alright

Nice report bakkie hope that Rone not hurt and gets the KLR up and running soon. Some great pics.

So the story must continue.  :lamer:
Bakkie’s complaining that the report is taking over his drinking and Revving Butt (What’s that?) time so I will complete the show for him. :drif:

By the way.. Does any one know why a farmer would hang these on the fence? ???
IMG_0199.jpg

But first a back track.

At about this part….
DSCN5100.jpg

Bakkie predicted that I was going to fall today.
Needless to say my feelings were sore. Both of them. As I’m nervous at the best of times, I normally have to ride fast to get there before the accident can happen. That’s how nervous I am.
So Bakkie says I will fall. Not good for the pshikee. :'(

Eventually when Bakkie catches up (K@kking us out for not waiting for him) I climb up the sign and ask him the do a power slide around the corner.
This is the video.

Unfortunately, when I saw he’s slowing down I stopped the recording. That’s just when he fell. Then I was eers Pee’d off with him. Especially when he refused to do it again. You can see the start of the wobble just as the video stops.

Then after we get our breath back from laughing, Bakkie’s gone like a presidential promise. Rone’ after him then me then Geoff. Bakkie scares a buck out the bush which gave Rone’ a few Barely hairy moments as it swerved back and forth in front of him.

He was then determined to catch up to Bakkie again with a few K’s of high speed riding. I think he now knows to brake a bit more BEFORE the corner to avoid breaking a bit more in the corner.

Needless to say I still refrained from saying anything about Bakkie’s prediction that I was going to fall This Day. But the thought stayed there in the back of the pip with all the other ^%$# in there.

The stretch from there to Riebeck East was done at a much more sober pace enabling a few scenic photo’s. (funny how you slow down after the prang)

Trusty steed waiting patiently while we help Rone’ ;)
IMG_0223-1.jpg

Just after the accident scene.. You can see the rode about to be travelled ahead
IMG_0226-1.jpg

And looking back after about 5 Km’s
IMG_0227.jpg

Lots of gates. :xxbah:

Then on to Riebeeck East. When we got there I see a message from Bakkie. They’ve gone to Bushman sands. I don’t register right and think he’s off to bushman’s river mouth. (Bushman sand is the golf club in Alicedale) So I just send a message back to carry on, don’t worry about us, thinking him and BD and Edgy will be racing around the eastern cape.

As we got to the shop they had just closed up, but reopened so we could get some drinks and munchies. They say they are waiting for their Liquor licence and then will be opening a nice pub at the place.

We’ll have to plan a ride there in about two months to give them a boost. :ricky: :ricky: :thumleft:

We then went through Burchell's game farm to Alicedale. There are three different routes I’ve taken before and it’s always a good scenic ride.
This time we took the road from the East side on RE, over the mountain and straight to Alice.

IMG_0363.jpg

IMG_0365-1.jpg

IMG_0367.jpg

At Alicedale the Petrol Station is closed so we shoot off to Paterson.

Gravel Highway and tar.
IMG_0238-1.jpg

Finally I get Bakkie on the cell. Rone’ and Geoff are hitting tar home, Bakkie’s going to ride with BD & Edgy to GHT. I decide to complete the route we’d planned as I was looking forward to the Krom river road stretch that Paulsky had told us about.

I’m so glad I did.  I love riding with mates, but then when I do a solo stretch it’s always extra special. But then I always end up wanting to take guys back to show them. (I must be an introverted Extrovert)

This stretch of rode is seldom used and has some slightly technical stretches but nothing to serious for even a GSA rider. A lot of winding up and down with plenty of river crossings. Unfortunately very dry when I went through. There was more water on the roads further on than in the river.

IMG_0239.jpg

IMG_0240.jpg

IMG_0243-1.jpg

IMG_0244.jpg

IMG_0242.jpg

IMG_0245-1.jpg

Then you get to a stretch of Addo Elephant back Safaris.
IMG_0246-1.jpg

Once again, being a chicken I’m never sure whether or not I actually want to see elephants in the road when I come around the corner.
There where a lot of very large prints in the road which were fresher than the last car that had being through. And lot’s and lot’s of fresh dung.

Definitely big **** here.

But the road is great and the views are awesome.

No Phant a sizers this time.

IMG_0247.jpg

IMG_0248.jpg

As you come out the other side you turn left into the Zuurberg road.
Once again, awesome views. I always enjoy this stretch of road but hate the boring stretches you have to ride to get here.

The flowers are in bloom colouring the valleys and hills.

IMG_0250.jpg

IMG_0251-1.jpg

IMG_0253-1.jpg

Close up of the bush responsible for all the colour
IMG_0254.jpg

And the result over the hills…
IMG_0255-1.jpg

Then a short winding stretch after the hotel.

IMG_0257.jpg

IMG_0259.jpg

As I come around the corner I see this oke in the road. I stop for a pic and to move him to safety. Just as I’ve taken the pic a car comes around the bend and rides over him. Luckily he survived, but you should have seen him go after that, just leaving a small wet spot behind where he was.
IMG_0260.jpg

As I came out of the pass I took the dirt road to Kirkwood where I stopped for a cooldrink. I walked into the shop, paid and walked out and already the back of my hands were wet with sweat. It was HOT.

Casual ride on the Gravel Highway To Kirkwood.
IMG_0264-1.jpg

The Mall on Main Street.
IMG_0265-1.jpg

Then the boring tar road home.

The overall route Day one in purple and day two in yellow.

route-1.png

And the summary.

IMG_0268.jpg

Thanks Bakkie for organising everything.
Thanks Derek for taking the Bakkie’s Bakkie out with all the stuph and for putting up with their K@K.
Thanks Rone’ for warning us about the R899 and for taking the fall for me.
Thanks Geoff for representing the BMW crowd and for joining us and riding sweeper.
And helping Bakkie and Rone’ pick up bikes.
Thanks Paulsky for the evening’s entertainment, advice and the Krom river route.

And most of all Thanks God for the awesome views and that I didn't fall.  :ricky: :ricky:

Naaise :thumleft:

The black beauty on the left is my old KLR,which i sold to Aljie

• 100_3418 (Medium).JPG
    100_3418 (Medium).JPG
    81.1 KB
Scenery arond Zuurberg has recovered nicely after last year's fire.

Ok, so after the buck incident I lost sight of bakkie and tried to catch up to him. There was some long boring sections and I did speeds of up 140km/h. I saw this off camber corner coming up and slowed down to about 100km/h. It was at this stage that I saw this big mother of a lion, at least 900kg of it in front of me in the road. The was a lot of loose shale and rocks in the road and I tried to slow down to turn around, but could not do so in time. I tried to dodge left - the lion went left, I tried to dodge right - the lion went right. That was when I realized I need to kill the ******* or be eaten. I went right into him and hit him at about 80km/h.

I unfortunately did not kill but only stunned him a bit and he ran off and was long gone by the time Thump arrived on the scene.

In any case, I am hurting like hell on my right side and can hardly lift my right arm. All I can say is thanks to ATTGAT. If it was not for that I would have been seriously hurt. Probably a couple of broken bones and very little skin left.

Lesson 1: Allways stay in your comford zone and if your mates want to race ahead, leave them.
Lesson 2: ATTGAT Rules !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ps. I'm in the market for spare parts for a KLR

Roné said:
Ok, so after the buck incident I lost sight of bakkie and tried to catch up to him. There was some long boring sections and I did speeds of up 140km/h. I saw this off camber corner coming up and slowed down to about 100km/h. It was at this stage that I saw this big mother of a lion, at least 900kg of it in front of me in the road. The was a lot of loose shale and rocks in the road and I tried to slow down to turn around, but could not do so in time. I tried to dodge left - the lion went left, I tried to dodge right - the lion went right. That was when I realized I need to kill the ******* or be eaten. I went right into him and hit him at about 80km/h.

I unfortunately did not kill but only stunned him a bit and he ran off and was long gone by the time Thump arrived on the scene.

In any case, I am hurting like hell on my right side and can hardly lift my right arm. All I can say is thanks to ATTGAT. If it was not for that I would have been seriously hurt. Probably a couple of broken bones and very little skin left.

Lesson 1: Allways stay in your comford zone and if your mates want to race ahead, leave them.

Heal soon Rone, ja I see you also met the two crucial points or lessons, I have learned it also in the last few weeks, if I did not have the armour on I would have been in hospital, I bought my own now from Hentie and yesterday I did a 1st gear parachute roll in the grass, luckily no damage to the bike but my arm got a pinch again, but never without that again on dirt roads, never!

Roné said:

Obviously know he can't eat rocks hey?

Nice ride guys. Stunning area. Loved the braai...

Rone - farket boet! :eek: I'm happy you ok after that but for the stiffness, etc. Looks nasty and could have been so much worse. Heal soon.

Bakkie - jou doppie. Moet NOOIT afshow voor die kameras nie. :thumleft:

Naais ouens :thumleft:

Roné said:

Bliksem!, not many people can say they hit a LION an survived.  Glad you got off ok though. :thumleft: