Into Africa - DASKOP's 12000km drive

We come out on the tar road other side Grootfontein. We make a quick turn in Grootfontein and head to Rundu.

I see the Kalkfontein sign, turn around and take a quick photo for Hannes.

Then it is more tar to Rundu.

• Tar to Rundu.jpg
    Tar to Rundu.jpg
    71.8 KB
  • Pit stop at Mururani Vet Fence on the way to Rundu.jpg
    Pit stop at Mururani Vet Fence on the way to Rundu.jpg
    141 KB
  • Village on the way to Rundu.jpg
    Village on the way to Rundu.jpg
    76.4 KB
  • Tame game on the road to Rundu.jpg
    Tame game on the road to Rundu.jpg
    81.6 KB
  • Was Hannes se familie plaas.jpg
    Was Hannes se familie plaas.jpg
    84.6 KB
So we decide to head from Rundu to Popa Falls Lodge. It's about 200km to go.

We get to the lodge and it is closed for renovations. We go back and stop at the local supermarket for provisions and beverages.

As you can see, Murphy was very thirsty, it was a long ride today.

Whilst Murphy is inside, a lady in a bakkie stops and asks whether we are coming or going. I tell her that we have just arrived and are looking for accommodation. She whips out a card and invites us to their camp site on the river.

So it is off to Shametu we go. We are just in time for sunset.

• Divundu Shop.jpg
    Divundu Shop.jpg
    122.7 KB
  • Just in time for sunset.jpg
    Just in time for sunset.jpg
    78.9 KB
  • On the Okovango.jpg
    On the Okovango.jpg
    104.9 KB
  • Sunset at Shametu.jpg
    Sunset at Shametu.jpg
    71.4 KB
  • 073.jpg
    073.jpg
    58.3 KB
  • 074.jpg
    074.jpg
    64.7 KB
  • Mokoro on Okovango at sunset.jpg
    Mokoro on Okovango at sunset.jpg
    116.4 KB
  • Amazing sunset at Shametu.jpg
    Amazing sunset at Shametu.jpg
    85.1 KB
DASKOP said:
MURPHY said:
Yellow is a fun colour ................ it even smells good . To be fair to D XT ,  Slipstream [AKA, the Ritalin kid ] started all the Mellow yellow vomit commit crap. Jealous i guess

Anyway Daskop please keep it coming with a little more speed !!!!! :thumleft:

Patience was never one of your strong points, hey?

I am savouring the memories boet, trying to do the RR between running a site from 6 to 6 in GHT and doing the final account for the Kings Beach development. I'm a bit slow, I know, but soon it will be much better.  :biggrin:

Hows this:

We rode Karibib, Omaruru, Otjiwarongo, Tsumeb (was very nice there), Grootfontein, Rundu, Chivundu (Shametu), Kongola, Katimo Mulilo, Vic Falls (Livingstone), Lusaka, Chipata, Lilongwe, (I did Goromotsi Pass - absolutely spectacular), Monkey Bay, Cape Maclear (Murphy went home), I rode to the north, Dwangwa, Makuzi Beach, turned at Livingstonia, Luwawa, Lilongwe, Blantyre, Majete, Tete, Cahorra Basa, Chimoio, broke down at Mira Chirumba, Chimoio, Vilanculos, Inhambane, Maragra, Maputo, Komatipoort, JHB, Eastern Free State, Transkei back to PE.

And that my friends is the end. Hope you enjoyed the sped up version. :bueller:

:laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4:

Troos, hier was die verkorte weergawe vir julle manne wat so ongeduldig is. Miskien het jy dit gemis met jou spoed lees.  :pot:

:imaposer: hello daskop... Eks mal oor jou storie en eks mal oor namibie maar ai daai slakke pas van vertel kry my soms net onder, die storie wil net nie beweeg nie.

Ek geduldig wag...  :deal:

Ek is elkgeval bly jy vertel van jou trip, ek gat hom ook nog met my bike doen een of ander tyd

Groete

And then it was sunrise at Shametu. Day 11 - the 6th of July 2013. It was to be a long, but full day.

• Shametu (3).JPG
    Shametu (3).JPG
    82.4 KB
  • Shametu (6).JPG
    Shametu (6).JPG
    107 KB
  • Shametu (4).JPG
    Shametu (4).JPG
    135.2 KB
  • Shametu (1).JPG
    Shametu (1).JPG
    115.6 KB
Hell , that area was really a treat . The okavango river is absolutely stunning and the locals are equally friendly , don't forget to post the photos of the lekker little shebeen we visited

MURPHY said:
Hell , that area was really a treat . The okavango river is absolutely stunning and the locals are equally friendly , don't forget to post the photos of the lekker little shebeen we visited

Morning Murph.

Having a helluva time of it here with the GHT locals. As houses are completed they are vandalised. Politics is stupid here as well. Not much time to do the RR. We may pull out of here then I can get it done.

I won't forget the shebeen or the great fishing master at work on the Okovango.

Have a great day.  :ricky:

Day 11.

Cheryl and Mel are a couple ex-Western Cape and are the owners of Shametu, which is under construction, and it is going to be an even more amazing place to visit once completed.

I hope it will then still be as affordable for us working stiffs. 

• Shametu Construction.JPG
    Shametu Construction.JPG
    169.1 KB
  • Shametu Homestead.JPG
    Shametu Homestead.JPG
    133.5 KB
  • Shametu Trail to the Okavango.JPG
    Shametu Trail to the Okavango.JPG
    179.2 KB
After an early morning cup of coffee on the edge of the Okavango River, Murphy once again made a splendiferous breakfast that even Tammy, the Shametu mascot, shared in. (I think Murphy was missing the other Murphy, the Boxer one)... Sorry Angie.

Then it was time to do a little laundry and prepare for the long day that awaited us.

Cheryl and Mel had organised us a guided Mokoro ride. He was there around 10 to fetch us. I was seriously nervous about this. Murphy thought it was a big joke. What was there to be wary of?

Crocodiles and hippos, just to name two................. :patch:

• Shametu Early Morning Coffee on the Okavango.JPG
    Shametu Early Morning Coffee on the Okavango.JPG
    158 KB
  • Shametu Breakfast.JPG
    Shametu Breakfast.JPG
    116.5 KB
  • Tammy.JPG
    Tammy.JPG
    115.4 KB
  • Tammy's breakfast.JPG
    Tammy's breakfast.JPG
    121.5 KB
  • Shametu Laundry time.JPG
    Shametu Laundry time.JPG
    127.5 KB
  • Our Mokoro.JPG
    Our Mokoro.JPG
    140.4 KB
So we venture out onto the river. All that Murphy wanted to do was catch a Tiger.

• and fish........JPG
    and fish........JPG
    88.6 KB
  • until we got close to the falls..JPG
    until we got close to the falls..JPG
    69.9 KB
  • and fish.....JPG
    and fish.....JPG
    92.3 KB
  • Murphy just wanted to fish...JPG
    Murphy just wanted to fish...JPG
    152.1 KB
  • and fish.......JPG
    and fish.......JPG
    96.2 KB
And then there was the Popa Falls.

• Popa Falls.JPG
    Popa Falls.JPG
    131 KB
Murphy was serious about catching that Tiger.

Here kitty, kitty..................

He really tried EVERYWHERE.

• Murphy still after that Tiger.JPG
    Murphy still after that Tiger.JPG
    90.2 KB
  • Tiger Fishing.JPG
    Tiger Fishing.JPG
    137.6 KB
  • Waars daai donnerse Tiger.JPG
    Waars daai donnerse Tiger.JPG
    129.5 KB
The Popa Falls were spectacular. The photos don't really do it justice. The continuous roar is amazing.

It was worth the "what am I doing" mokoro ride.

• Our Mokoro operator.JPG
    Our Mokoro operator.JPG
    107.3 KB
  • Popa Falls.JPG
    Popa Falls.JPG
    115 KB
  • What am I doing in this carved out log.JPG
    What am I doing in this carved out log.JPG
    88.7 KB
  • Glad I was not on this Mokoro.JPG
    Glad I was not on this Mokoro.JPG
    104.5 KB
More Popa Falls.

We were not the only laundry operating that day.

• Shametu (36).JPG
    Shametu (36).JPG
    143 KB
  • Laundry day on the Okavango.JPG
    Laundry day on the Okavango.JPG
    123.3 KB
  • Shametu (48).JPG
    Shametu (48).JPG
    99.8 KB
  • Shametu (38).JPG
    Shametu (38).JPG
    136.9 KB
  • God's tap.JPG
    God's tap.JPG
    126 KB
  • Popa Falls (2).JPG
    Popa Falls (2).JPG
    141.9 KB
  • POPA FALLS (2).JPG
    POPA FALLS (2).JPG
    199.8 KB
No Tiger.

Our guide took us onto this island, where a big crocodile normally bakes in the sun, but he was as gone as the Tiger. Saw plenty hippo spoor. The white sand whistles when you walk on it.

Also heard the Fish Eagles, but they were just as distant. Maybe it was something we said.

• No CROCODILE.JPG
    No CROCODILE.JPG
    90.2 KB
  • Time to go back.JPG
    Time to go back.JPG
    97 KB
  • Young fisherman on the Okavango.JPG
    Young fisherman on the Okavango.JPG
    82 KB
Windhoek en Tennis Biscuits.........................Local Delicacies

• Windhoek and Tennis Biscuits.....JPG
    Windhoek and Tennis Biscuits.....JPG
    124.7 KB
........, but, they give you a bit of an itch.                        :imaposer:

• Bit of an itch.JPG
    Bit of an itch.JPG
    129.8 KB
Beautiful day on the Okavango. Washing has dried. It is time to do a bit of exploring on the bikes.

We find out from Mel where the old 32 Bat was and decide to take a drive there. We get to the entrance of the Buffalo Camp, but are denied entrance as we are on bikes and the dangerous game is apparently a-plenty.

So, we go and walk around the old 32 Bat site.

• Shametu Camp Site.JPG
    Shametu Camp Site.JPG
    137.1 KB
  • Buffalo Camp Entrance.JPG
    Buffalo Camp Entrance.JPG
    104.8 KB
  • Shell Fence.JPG
    Shell Fence.JPG
    142 KB
  • What a view it must have been.JPG
    What a view it must have been.JPG