Into Africa - DASKOP's 12000km drive

Riding to Tsumeb.

Got so cold, we had to stop for Murphy to put some thermals on.

Unfortunately all tar, but we went through some interesting towns. And met some Extra Heavy Duty traffic on the way. Serious Tonka truck that.

• Road to Tsumeb.jpg
    Road to Tsumeb.jpg
    93.9 KB
  • Checking tyre pressures.jpg
    Checking tyre pressures.jpg
    114.9 KB
  • Murphy putting on thermals for the cold.jpg
    Murphy putting on thermals for the cold.jpg
    77.8 KB
There was a section, a loooooong section, where we saw hundreds of Warthog along side and crossing the road.

There were also looooooong loooooooooong sections of longness.  :ricky:

• Warthogs on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    Warthogs on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    72.9 KB
  • Elephant carving on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    Elephant carving on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    81.1 KB
  • Old church.jpg
    Old church.jpg
    86.7 KB
  • Some town on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    Some town on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    78.7 KB
  • Rocky outcrop on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    Rocky outcrop on the road to Tsumeb.jpg
    110 KB
  • On the way to Tsumeb.jpg
    On the way to Tsumeb.jpg
    75.4 KB
Ok Ok so I have just been k@ked on. Sorry D@SKOPF but I have been following your RR with Great Interest so much so that I am highly upset that I did not make the effort to even discuss the possibility to join you guys on your epic adventure.

Its funny when ever you at my place you talk ...dunno how to put it " rustig , plain, normal"...  I have to give it to Daskop.
You can tell i story. How you manage to put Pictures and "feelings" into words is bluddy marvelous. You know me I can talk a hind-leg off a dog... but me and typing a letter or putting word onto paper is not my strong point.

So Daskopf My applogies for not giving my comments but i think im still toupset to face the fact that I missed out on an epic journey. All i ould like to ask Can i be your  list for the next journey?

So to stop wasting any mor RR space on this forum..

GOOI DASKOPF GOOI ons laaik hom lees. Dit voel asof ons elke oomblik saam met jou daar is... en dis heerlik.

PS As jy tuis is in PE die naweek laat weet dan skroei ons n ietsie....

Dankie swaer.

Ek is in die Baai die naweek en ek dink ons moet 'n spesiale stukkie vleis soek vir 'n Saterdag gemoedskapenghied. Ek's in.  :thumleft:

En as jy nie te besig is nie, hoe lyk dit sommer met'n Sondag brekfis run?

Net so 'n reminder hieronder .... dit is lekker om bike te ry!! :paw:

• EC Bash 2013 050 (Small).JPG
    EC Bash 2013 050 (Small).JPG
    113.9 KB
At last, some gravel.

Close to Tsumeb.

Late afternoon.....the road to Uris, where we will be camping, is gravel. Gravel to end the day.  :ricky:

• Tsumeb - on the way to Uris.jpg
    Tsumeb - on the way to Uris.jpg
    74.8 KB
  • Tsumeb - nearly at Uris.jpg
    Tsumeb - nearly at Uris.jpg
    90.7 KB
  • Uris camp site.jpg
    Uris camp site.jpg
    143.8 KB
  • Setting up camp at Uris.jpg
    Setting up camp at Uris.jpg
    156.1 KB
Once the tents are up, we set off for Tsumeb to buy provisions for the evening feast. Also an excuse to do some more gravel. Tar can become so boring.

We leave Tsumeb as the sun starts to set. Nice sunset, but we are still aware of civilisation around us. But once we hit the gravel road back to the Uris camp site, the sunset takes on a new dimension.  8)

Whats not to love about Adventure Riding???  ???  :ricky:

• Sunset on the road to Uris.jpg
    Sunset on the road to Uris.jpg
    84.2 KB
  • Leaving Tsumeb at sunset for Uris (Small).JPG
    Leaving Tsumeb at sunset for Uris (Small).JPG
    215.1 KB
  • Leaving Tsumeb at sunset.jpg
    Leaving Tsumeb at sunset.jpg
    61 KB
  • Leaving Tsumeb to Uris (Small).JPG
    Leaving Tsumeb to Uris (Small).JPG
    245.9 KB
  • Uris to Tsumeb (Small).JPG
    Uris to Tsumeb (Small).JPG
    299.6 KB
  • The gravel road back to Tsumeb to shop (Small).JPG
    The gravel road back to Tsumeb to shop (Small).JPG
    377.2 KB
  • Murphy on the gravel road back to Tsumeb (Small).JPG
    Murphy on the gravel road back to Tsumeb (Small).JPG
    304.8 KB
  • Back to Uris (Small).JPG
    Back to Uris (Small).JPG
    267.7 KB
Murphy does not have pictures. I think he took 3.  :biggrin:

Just kidding. As you can see below, Murphy did the food, I took photos. I hope my photos are as good as the food he made.  :thumleft: See the Melrose cheese in the picture, he made the most amazing toasted cheese and tomato sarmies with that.

My Gopro footage is, hopefully still, on Murph's laptop. I just need to transfer it and then learn how to do editing.

• Camping at Uris (Small).JPG
    Camping at Uris (Small).JPG
    496.4 KB
  • Murphy's domain at Uris.jpg
    Murphy's domain at Uris.jpg
    114.6 KB
  • Vleis op die kole.jpg
    Vleis op die kole.jpg
    111.2 KB
  • Met veggies.jpg
    Met veggies.jpg
    109.3 KB
great pics and report
look forward to each update 
Must have been a awesome trip
A trip you will remember for years to come

Road Hog said:
I camped at that axact same spot in December 2011, what a lovely place.....

Hi Road Hog.

You're right. Awesome place. Whoever thought out how to use old spades as soap dishes and many other very interesting uses for old implements, etc, was very original. I took a video of the shower and ablutions and hope I can take some stills out of that to show examples of this.

How things going up there with you?

BMWPE said:
great pics and report
look forward to each update 
Must have been a awesome trip
A trip you will remember for years to come

Thanks, I tell you, I will go back in a heartbeat and trust me, the best is yet to come.

Time is flying by while travelling with you! Great trip and pics!  :thumleft:

Day 10.
5 July 2013 - Traveling from Uris to Grootfontein.

After the previous evening's great meal, a hot shower and a few frosties ( I think there might have been some OBies too), we hit the sack to the sound of jackals howling in the distance. It feels like Africa.

Early morning, and Murphy does the breakfast thing. Complete with crackling fire. I can remember that wood was a problem. We went scrounging in the bush and then came upon some unattended wood at an uninhabitated cottage and the wood followed us back to our camp site. So, we had no choice but to use it.

Then we pack up and prepare for the day's ride, which we thought would be all tar.  :-\

Amazing sunrise over our camping site.

What a way to start your day.  :thumleft: (Kellogg's Corn Flakes se ....... )

• Sunrise at Uris.jpg
    Sunrise at Uris.jpg
    167.9 KB
  • Murphy making breakfast at Uris.jpg
    Murphy making breakfast at Uris.jpg
    127.2 KB
  • Early morning at Uris.jpg
    Early morning at Uris.jpg
    87.1 KB
Leaving Uris.

Can you believe that our camping site, so rustic, is a mere 100m or so away from the luxurious lodge?

MURPHY LOOKS SOOOO HAPPY TO BE RIDING    ::)

• Leaving Uris camp to Grootfontein.jpg
    Leaving Uris camp to Grootfontein.jpg
    114.9 KB
  • Uris camp site.jpg
    Uris camp site.jpg
    143.8 KB
  • Uris luxury lodge.jpg
    Uris luxury lodge.jpg
    137 KB
We are on tar (C42), traveling from Tsumeb towards Grootfontein. We see a gravel road (D3021) on the left and there is a car with an "oom en tannie" in. I ask them if this gravel road goes to Grootfontein.

"Ja", se die oom, "maar die pad is baie sleg. En hy kom anderkant Grootfontein uit".

OK, we have to decide whether to take a chance on this BAD gravel road or not. I want to go through Grootfontein, as a mate asked me to look out for his parents old farm just outside Grootfontein, and I'm not sure how far "anderkant" means.

Just then, another vehicle stops and the driver greets us. When asked whether the road is bad, he gives the RIGHT answer.........

"Julle manne is mos op die regte bikes vir die pad".

Gravel highway..................... :ricky: :ricky:

• Abenab.jpg
    Abenab.jpg
    110.6 KB
  • Church in Abenab.jpg
    Church in Abenab.jpg
    117.7 KB
  • Tar to Grootfontein.jpg
    Tar to Grootfontein.jpg
    70 KB
  • Gravel Highway to Grootfontein.jpg
    Gravel Highway to Grootfontein.jpg
    70.2 KB
  • Gravel to Grootfontein.jpg
    Gravel to Grootfontein.jpg
    110.7 KB
  • Gravel to Grootfontein (2).jpg
    Gravel to Grootfontein (2).jpg
    103.4 KB
Sorrie dame, watter kant toe is Grootfontein?

• Sorrie dame, watter kant toe is Grootfontein.jpg
    Sorrie dame, watter kant toe is Grootfontein.jpg
    91.4 KB
DASKOP said:
MURPHY said:
Yellow is a fun colour ................ it even smells good . To be fair to D XT ,  Slipstream [AKA, the Ritalin kid ] started all the Mellow yellow vomit commit crap. Jealous i guess

Anyway Daskop please keep it coming with a little more speed !!!!! :thumleft:

Patience was never one of your strong points, hey?

I am savouring the memories boet, trying to do the RR between running a site from 6 to 6 in GHT and doing the final account for the Kings Beach development. I'm a bit slow, I know, but soon it will be much better.  :biggrin:

Hows this:

We rode Karibib, Omaruru, Otjiwarongo, Tsumeb (was very nice there), Grootfontein, Rundu, Chivundu (Shametu), Kongola, Katimo Mulilo, Vic Falls (Livingstone), Lusaka, Chipata, Lilongwe, (I did Goromotsi Pass - absolutely spectacular), Monkey Bay, Cape Maclear (Murphy went home), I rode to the north, Dwangwa, Makuzi Beach, turned at Livingstonia, Luwawa, Lilongwe, Blantyre, Majete, Tete, Cahorra Basa, Chimoio, broke down at Mira Chirumba, Chimoio, Vilanculos, Inhambane, Maragra, Maputo, Komatipoort, JHB, Eastern Free State, Transkei back to PE.

And that my friends is the end. Hope you enjoyed the sped up version. :bueller:

:laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4: :laughing4:

Troos, hier was die verkorte weergawe vir julle manne wat so ongeduldig is. Miskien het jy dit gemis met jou spoed lees.  :pot: