KZN 2018 Bash. Imbabala .Ride report.

Bad light, but some off the wildlife.

• AFB1338E-1965-4F1D-BCDE-E28B8A9BD2EF.jpeg
    AFB1338E-1965-4F1D-BCDE-E28B8A9BD2EF.jpeg
    46.9 KB
a couple of pics from a great weekend....thanks to all involved......what a lekker place

• kzn bash - 1 (4).jpg
    kzn bash - 1 (4).jpg
    218.5 KB
  • kzn bash - 6.jpg
    kzn bash - 6.jpg
    184.1 KB
  • kzn bash - 5.jpg
    kzn bash - 5.jpg
    338.1 KB
  • kzn bash - 3.jpg
    kzn bash - 3.jpg
    332.4 KB
  • kzn bash - 2.jpg
    kzn bash - 2.jpg
    367.4 KB
  • kzn bash - 4.jpg
    kzn bash - 4.jpg
    238.6 KB
Woman's day arrived very cold and windy in Jozi.  Told Angie that there's no getting out of it and she best remember to pack her rain gear.  We took the route through Balfour, tried to get to the Greylingstad ghost town but the weather wasn't inspiring, on to the Wimpy in Standerton for late brunch, and changing into wet weather gear at Fort Mistake.  The weather was upside down - but we laughed the whole way down.  What a lekker day on the bike.  Eventually introduced ourselves to Tommy and the rest of the KZN Dogs at about 5:30.....wet, cold, tons of laughs, sherry and a lapdog called Ozzie (yes - he's a Boerbul)

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    227.8 KB
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    206.2 KB
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    199.6 KB
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    255.3 KB
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    252.9 KB
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    177.1 KB
The clouds started to lift on Friday morning as more Dogs started arriving.  The boys were on-form with Steph behind the bar counter doing her magic from early on.  We didn't do any riding but just spent the day engaged in meaningful conversation, philosophizing with the intellectual elite of the adventuring community.....I think....and then the Village People arrived - but I'll let Draad, Porra and Rynoster take that conversation further (Apparently there's a bash etiquette that says "what goes on at the bash stays at the bash")  ;) :eek: ;D A lekker sunset offered promises of a great Saturday.......

• 10.jpg
    10.jpg
    177.4 KB
  • 11.jpg
    11.jpg
    92.1 KB
  • 9.jpg
    9.jpg
    207.2 KB
  • 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    197.5 KB
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    271.3 KB
Saturday arrived with a crystal clear sky that I bet you could only find in rural Africa.  Today was just going to be a blast from the beginning.  After the previous nights 'suarez' a few tender souls decided to give the outride a miss and would catch up with us for lunch.  So after a hearty breakfast prepared by Steph and her fantastic team, Tommy and Charl called all of us together to hit the dirt.  A whole army of us left the resort for a 50km outride, the first 'waterpoint' happening within the first 5 minutes - this was going to be interesting  :eek:......what a lekker ride  :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:  We stopped for lunch at Shisanyama for buy-n-braai.  What a lekker idea!  R90 gave you a T-bone and 2x wors, an extra R10 for a plate of pap.  The Lion Quarts cost R12!!!!.....and then the music started - Mandoza et-al......These KZN-types know how to party......

• 12.jpg
    12.jpg
    208.8 KB
  • 13.jpg
    13.jpg
    254.4 KB
  • 14.jpg
    14.jpg
    299.4 KB
  • 15.jpg
    15.jpg
    275 KB
  • 16.jpg
    16.jpg
    275.1 KB
  • 17.jpg
    17.jpg
    272.6 KB
  • 18.jpg
    18.jpg
    169.5 KB
  • 19.jpg
    19.jpg
    248.4 KB
Some more pic's from Saturday's shenanigans........

• 27.jpg
    27.jpg
    282.3 KB
  • 26.jpg
    26.jpg
    201.5 KB
  • 24.jpg
    24.jpg
    222.6 KB
  • 22.jpg
    22.jpg
    173 KB
  • 21.jpg
    21.jpg
    255.7 KB
  • 20.jpg
    20.jpg
    257.5 KB
  • 23.jpg
    23.jpg
    165.9 KB
Shisanyama......

• 28.jpg
    28.jpg
    214.7 KB
  • 29.jpg
    29.jpg
    259.5 KB
  • 30.jpg
    30.jpg
    249.8 KB
  • 32.jpg
    32.jpg
    190.9 KB
  • 34.jpg
    34.jpg
    254.5 KB
  • 36.jpg
    36.jpg
    231.7 KB
  • 37.jpg
    37.jpg
    247.3 KB
  • 39.jpg
    39.jpg
    189.1 KB
  • 38949018_668072273573464_6441304947941179392_n.jpg
    38949018_668072273573464_6441304947941179392_n.jpg
    95.6 KB
On our way back to Imbabala we stopped off to take a pic of a dilapidated building that must have a story to tell......(to be honest I just like taking pic's of my bike  ;) )  It didnt take long before we were all gorging ourselves on amazing potjiekos while Rynoster tried his best to liven up the music...but again I digress......Sunday morning's sunrise was special - the dry veld glowing in hues of red and orange....very lekker.  After breakfast we said our goodbye's and hit the road.....fighting the wind all the way to a cold beer at the Val Hotel.....

What an awesome weekend!!!....looking forward to 2019  :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:

• 42.jpg
    42.jpg
    225 KB
  • 40.jpg
    40.jpg
    253.4 KB
  • 41.jpg
    41.jpg
    87.9 KB
Trail Blazer said:
Sorry that we missed the bash this year,had family commitments this long weekend.Glad you guys had an awesome time :)

JAAA T..... The absence of the Camperdown contingent was noticed  :patch:  STRAFDOP for you all!  :lol8: :ricky: :3some:

This was n moer of n lekker weekend. Thanks to everybody for the awesome planning. The food was amazing.
Sorry for the guys who had to put up with my singing in the early hours of the morning...  :biggrin:
This was my 1st bash but definitely not my last

• IMG-20180813-WA0026 - Copy.jpg
    IMG-20180813-WA0026 - Copy.jpg
    130.2 KB
Rynoster said:
This was n moer of n lekker weekend. Thanks to everybody for the awesome planning. The food was amazing.
Sorry for the guys who had to put up with my singing in the early hours of the morning...  :biggrin:
This was my 1st bash but definitely not my last

Lekker funny oke this Rynoster  ;D ;D ;D  So tell me boet - did you....or did you not......pass your licence test??  or does a broken screen on a F800 make the bike unroadworthy?  :peepwall: :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:

OK. Getting the pic posting sorted out.

Here we go. KMC and myself left a Chilly overcast Waterfall and headed out towards the Midlands on Thursday morning. The original plan was to ride through Richmond then the Byrne Valley on dirt,Howick,Nottis and then onto Imbabala. Weather curtailed that plan and so it was straight to Nottis Hotel  :peepwall:

5 Deg wet and raining were the riding conditions until the door opened to the pub at the Hotel. Inside we were greeted by a warm fire and lots of refreshments to keep us comfortable for what turned out to be a lengthy stay. After a "few pints" of the black stuff we headed off at a gentle pace towards Imbabala which was about 140km away. The weather started to get a bit more grey and cold on the way but lifted somewhat by the time we reached Muden. It was pretty uneventful. Arrived at Imbabala and the rest of the weekend started from there. Fantastic Bash,great people and well organised. The venue was great with the host doing an excellent job. The lunch on Saturday was definitely the highlight with many of the single Wildogs and possibly some hitched  actively seeking new Makotis  :imaposer:

Very happy the resident Bullmastif Ozzie made a full recovery after ingesting poison on the game fence line. Other than me snaping off my front mudguard due to mud build up there were no other dramas. Attached are random pics in no particular order.

• 20180810_083703.jpg
    20180810_083703.jpg
    93.7 KB
  • 20180809_112431.jpg
    20180809_112431.jpg
    53.3 KB
  • 20180809_111641.jpg
    20180809_111641.jpg
    133.4 KB
  • 20180809_094656.jpg
    20180809_094656.jpg
    118.6 KB
  • 20180809_094645.jpg
    20180809_094645.jpg
    138.8 KB
Fender repair with cable ties and a Letherman. You fix anything with a leatherman. And just for the record these Triumphs are tough machines.

• 20180810_135326.jpg
    20180810_135326.jpg
    52.7 KB
  • 20180810_135332.jpg
    20180810_135332.jpg
    41.6 KB
  • 20180810_135411.jpg
    20180810_135411.jpg
    51.2 KB

• 20180810_083724.jpg