LDBA Bambi Lodge. Post your RR here!

Smokes enjoying the ferry!

• 203.jpg
    203.jpg
    125.5 KB
The bar/restuarant at the lodge..

• 205.jpg
    205.jpg
    141.1 KB
The Lodge at Lugar do Mar, Macaneta and various bikes...

• 210.jpg
    210.jpg
    185.3 KB
  • 206.jpg
    206.jpg
    177.3 KB
The remains of the Boomslang that climbed up into Rons(?) bike while they were taking a rest. They stripped a few things but couldn't find it so he had to ride the last bit to El Paso with it under there somewhere!!! The when stripping the bike there it was spotted under the seat but it quickly ducked back into the back of the seat piece. Eventually it showed its face and was hooked out by one of the locals and unfortunately met its end with a panga.

• 211.jpg
    211.jpg
    188.2 KB
  • 214.jpg
    214.jpg
    212.5 KB
The lovely beach the guys rode on... shhhhhh dont tell anyone.

• 216.jpg
    216.jpg
    92.8 KB
And then the ferry on the way back home.

Thanks Rika. It was an awesome long weekend!!

• 225.jpg
    225.jpg
    113.4 KB
Oh forgot this one..... Trying to get the KTM 1190 R going after it fell over and lay on it side for some time the night before! EVENTUALLY we got it going with a wheel to wheel start..!!

• 208.jpg
    208.jpg
    217.3 KB
Fok Mooch.....daar is nie medisyne vir domgeit nie!  :imaposer: Bly jy het nie jou hele vinger afgesny nie  :eek:

Lyk na vet pret en asof julle 'n lekker jol gehad het!  :thumleft:

Some more LDBA photos.

The skills challenge claimed a few!

IMG_6077_zpsd3ac15bb.jpg

IMG_6093_zps38d21478.jpg

Even Colin Gallop!..............or someone who borrowed his bike and helmet!  :imaposer:

IMG_6097_zps3b727623.jpg

IMG_6099_zps99d4850a.jpg

IMG_6112_zps6dcbc9f3.jpg

IMG_6129_zpsa63b0f5c.jpg

What an awesome long weekend. Great to meet so many riders and make new friends . Rika thanks a million it was brilliant. Thanks to Mooch and Blip it for the pic's.

At last I got my report ready for the media. Hope you enjoy ...sharing some pics I got from Hondsekierie, Smokes, Treffon and Just Blippit

Stage 1 - Bambi:
The 2nd Lowveld Dual Bike Adventure kicked off with a bang on Friday morning, 7 June when the first of app 100 bikes made their way to Bambi Country lodge.
A 25% growth from last year proved that LDBA is growing from strength to strength. The change of scenery and awesome routes available in the Dullstroom area will definitely bring us back there! The lodge had been going through a revamp recently and unfortunately did not finish in time to meet with our expectations. A few hick-ups with regards to water and plumbing problems occurred. This will be addressed and as organiser I take full responsibility. My apologies to those affected. After all – if you came for the right reasons then you would have had a bliss weekend – which it seemed most riders had!

The routes were spectacular as promised and the 7km red route challenged all of the 28 riders that attempted and completed it, including the marshals.
Plenty prizes were up for grabs and I would like to thank all our sponsors once again: KTM & Honda Nelspruit as main sponsor, Liqui Moly, Pitlane, Motorradical, TR Tec Adventure, Country Trax, Action Gear, Khwela Adventures, Outdoor Warehouse, Oasis Water, Valencia Wholesalers, Barefoot no More, Amarula, Minute Man Press, Seasons in Africa, Elephant Whispers, Hippo Hollow, Casterbridge Hollow, Zambesi Motorrad and the live band and great entertainment both evenings by Derek Bouwer and Anton Smit from Kokopelli’s Restaurant in White River who had the spirits high till early hours of the mornings.

The winner of the main prize sponsored by Action Gear, a GO Pro Silver edition for the first 30 entries received, was won by Marianne van der Walt from Newcastle, KZN. The Mpumalanga boertjies have proved they have what it takes with skills on their bikes. 24 Riders participated in the skills challenge and the results were: 1. Denzil Lawrie (Sabie, MP), 2. Frans Venter (Delmas, MP), 3. Joe Bodington (Kempton Park, GAU).

• Brad Love on the Red route.jpg
    Brad Love on the Red route.jpg
    215.9 KB
  • IMG_5933.jpg
    IMG_5933.jpg
    117 KB
  • IMG_0734.jpg
    IMG_0734.jpg
    141.1 KB
  • Don Williams 2.jpg
    Don Williams 2.jpg
    181.1 KB
  • Brad Love.jpg
    Brad Love.jpg
    158.8 KB
  • _MG_0723.jpg
    _MG_0723.jpg
    176.3 KB
Rika, great event and beautiful routes, wished I was on my bike instead of stuck in the landy! On behalf of The Off Road Rescue Unit, or ORRU, we hope we exceeded your and your guests expectations regarding the medical back up on-route and hope we can be part of your event next year!

And please keep the biltong and the knives away from that Mooch oke  :lol8:

Skill Challenge

• 1st Denzil Lawrie.jpg
    1st Denzil Lawrie.jpg
    84.5 KB
  • Winner Denzil Lawrie.jpg
    Winner Denzil Lawrie.jpg
    177.9 KB
  • Rika de Bruyn 2.jpg
    Rika de Bruyn 2.jpg
    161.7 KB
  • Rika de Bruyn.jpg
    Rika de Bruyn.jpg
    178.2 KB
  • Don Williams 2.jpg
    Don Williams 2.jpg
    181.1 KB
  • Brad Love.jpg
    Brad Love.jpg
    158.8 KB
  • Brad Love on the Red route.jpg
    Brad Love on the Red route.jpg
    215.9 KB
  • _MG_0723.jpg
    _MG_0723.jpg
    176.3 KB
  • IMG_0734.jpg
    IMG_0734.jpg
    141.1 KB
Stage 2: Prawn Run:
On Sunday morning after breakfast and route briefing, 34 riders departed for Macaneta in Mozambique. Two routes were available and therefore the group split beyond the tollgate in Mozambique. A very challenging two-spoor sandy route awaited the red route riders via Moamba.

Once we crossed the ferry at Marracuene, the de-stress on most faces were quite visible as everyone was looking forward to their first R&R’s on the beach at Lugar do Mar. Not even a national power failure could dampen the vibe amongst all and the taste of prawns and fish for dinner just topped it all. The following morning after breakfast we packed the back-up vehicle with some refreshments, kitted up and all of us headed off on a very challenging 7km route to El Paso Horse Trails.

Hats off to 60+yr old Ron Harvey who completed the red route the previous day on his 1200GS after taking a few tumbles and joined us again on this sandy ride exploring the island. While taking a break with his sons Russel and Marc-Ross under a tree – a boomslang decided to make itself comfortable under the seat of his GS. It disappeared under the topbox bracket and Ron decided to continue – snake and all. The lodge staff eventually managed to remove it.

More R&R’s followed later at the lodge and from early Tuesday morning some bikes warmed up for the journey back home.

What a ride! Thanks to all the Wild dogs that attended!

• The group.jpg
    The group.jpg
    154.4 KB
  • Macaneta Island ride route briefing by Rika.jpg
    Macaneta Island ride route briefing by Rika.jpg
    157.5 KB
  • Gerber Strydom and Rika de Bruyn.jpg
    Gerber Strydom and Rika de Bruyn.jpg
    79.5 KB
  • Gerber and Gerhard Strydom.jpg
    Gerber and Gerhard Strydom.jpg
    123.6 KB
  • Pitstop on the red route.jpg
    Pitstop on the red route.jpg
    157.2 KB
  • Johan Botha taking a break enroute to Macaneta!.jpg
    Johan Botha taking a break enroute to Macaneta!.jpg
    112.1 KB
  • Open up - look up and go!.jpg
    Open up - look up and go!.jpg
    100.9 KB
  • Smokes and Hondsekierie.jpg
    Smokes and Hondsekierie.jpg
    70.8 KB
  • Wayne Botha.jpg
    Wayne Botha.jpg
    112.4 KB
  • Yves Grofils on his new 1190KTM.jpg
    Yves Grofils on his new 1190KTM.jpg
    104.1 KB
More ...

• Gerber Strydom departing on the island ride.jpg
    Gerber Strydom departing on the island ride.jpg
    117 KB
  • Riaan Neveling departing on the island ride.jpg
    Riaan Neveling departing on the island ride.jpg
    117.6 KB
  • Yves Grofils and Rika de Bruyn.jpg
    Yves Grofils and Rika de Bruyn.jpg
    60.7 KB
  • Huge discussions on how to remove Boomslang.jpg
    Huge discussions on how to remove Boomslang.jpg
    162.8 KB
  • Boomslang had a free ride.jpg
    Boomslang had a free ride.jpg
    73 KB
  • Drinks at ELPaso!.jpg
    Drinks at ELPaso!.jpg
    108.2 KB
The ferry ...

• The ferry ride is always a highlight!.jpg
    The ferry ride is always a highlight!.jpg
    105.9 KB
Hey Jock! ORRU was the best - you guys were everywhere - almost one medic per rider ha ha! :imaposer: :imaposer: