Lundeans neck, naudes neck, Sani and some more...

m0lt3n

KTM 1290 Adventure R
Good day all!

We did this trip last weekend, Jackol put up a ride report but I would like to add more of the story behind the weekend...
To see his report with some very nice photos check here: https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=147811.0

So, I stay in Kathu where I recently started with at new demanding work and much less of a bike-commute. This means when a Lesotho trip was mentioned I was IN! But life happens and we only managed to get away here after dark on Thursday to spend our first night in Kimberley. Doesnt matter though, I actually love the calmness of night driving even though I know it was dangerous, and nothing beats that feeling of finally starting an adventure, and this adventure delivered  :thumleft:

Day 1
We got up early with the plan being to join the rest of the group in Ladybrand. After dodging some speed cameras on a nice route with a stupid 100kmph speed limit, we were early in Ladybrand. The problem with my hometown is the boring routes so when you get near these mountainous areas one really gets into the mood! And doing a nice trip like this with my family and some old friends really was a blessing, so spirits were high!

I must add that our little group of friends always overdo our adventures so I was a bit worried that we would do so again, basically biting of more than we  should or what time allows. So I was a little worried that we would do the same again with my mom and oom Aubrey present. Little did I know that while we overdid it again and while they were fairly tired in the end...it does seem that our golden oldies did enjoy themselves! (that or doesn't want to hurt my feelings!  :patch:)

Pictures show us packed and ready to leave from Kimberley, clean bikes and all, some pics en route and then the meeting in Ladybrand.

• 2014-03-21-1881.jpg
    2014-03-21-1881.jpg
    66.4 KB
  • 20140321_111349.jpg
    20140321_111349.jpg
    139.1 KB
  • 2014-03-21-1874.jpg
    2014-03-21-1874.jpg
    131.6 KB
From Ladybrand we set out to Maseru and then turned right just before the border crossing on a random gravel path to Hobhouse. The road was good and we were all getting into the groove, figuring out what speed will be fine for the whole group. We were a fairly mixed bunch with myself and Aubrey having about a years' experience on gravel and the other two 800's even less, a lot less. But fortunately they were both tall guys and managed the 800's surprisingly well the whole trip.

And then there was the cruiser back up vehicle...when I first heard a Cruiser will be joining as a backup vehicle I was a bit worried. I immediately thought it will be some guys constantly preaching to not go to fast, not rev the bikes hard or do anything fun. Off course this was not helped when the request was made in Ladybrand to not go faster than 100kmph to help the Cruiser's budget. So, when that big Cruiser made a good and proper handbrake turn on the first bit of gravel I suddenly had peace, fun was to be had by all!  :ricky:

The gravel was good, flowing with nice scenery, but we soon realized we will have to do more tar to stay on schedule. All was well as we knew the best was still to come. I am starting to believe all random slow/gravel routes should be skipped on a trip, I know there is some gems, but the well known stuff is well-known for a reason...

So, Stefan on the 800 wanted to see his family in Zastron. He said they will be giving us something to eat as well but I did not take that promise serious (we were 8 people) and was starting to plan where will I be getting meat after snacking on bread. (yap, I am serious about food) But I did not take into account that these are good and proper farmer people! His mother not only made us proper food, but also had peeled 'turksvye' and good homemade chocolate cake for pudding, this all next to the road! And then as if that was not enough his sisters thought they would prepare smiley lucky packets for each of us with stuff a 'biker' should have! Yeah we got tattoos! Haha but also biltong and chocolates and juice and candy. It really was special of them and we were very grateful.

Sop, after Henk asked why my topbox was so low and I explained how I had it moved to accomodate my wife as pillion, we were of to Lundeans neck via Dulcies neck.

Pics: we off course had to deflate tyres immediately upon touching the gravel as like proper super hardcore adventurers
Animals alwasy present around Lesotho
While it sucks to ride in someones dust, its really nice to look back and see more bikes of your group following.
Oom Aubrey wondering whats waiting for us and Jackol accepting whatever his fate will be on the trip
Roadside refreshing!

• 20140321_113307.jpg
    20140321_113307.jpg
    133.8 KB
  • 20140321_121634.jpg
    20140321_121634.jpg
    130.6 KB
  • 20140321_122107.jpg
    20140321_122107.jpg
    155.5 KB
  • 20140321_124017-1.jpg
    20140321_124017-1.jpg
    85.1 KB
  • 2014-03-21-1935.jpg
    2014-03-21-1935.jpg
    176.2 KB
  • 20140321_141910.jpg
    20140321_141910.jpg
    154.2 KB
So after a nice route up to Lundeans neck. we deflated again and settled onto a nice pace with the more challenging route of Lundeans neck. Maybe not challenging if you dont miss turns, but definitely a slower route. We enjoyed this route but I was really feeling sorry for the cruiser. we could decently go around bad pieces with the bikes while the Cruiser couldnt. But then again, with the amount of beer they were drinking it couldnt have been to bad in there.

Lundeans neck had some traffic from the local folk which really could get one worked up. We had a close call there... Aubrey and my mother was riding in front of me where the naturally over-weight Super tenere coupled with its Rombux roll cage made for a pretty good sweeper, when they were overtaking a bakkie. The bakkie moved over to allow them to pass, but it turned out the bakkie never saw them so moved rather sharply back again and hit the Tenere next to it. Sending them straight to the edge of a rather steep drop-off. Fortunately Aubrey recovered in time and basically made the turn on the edge of the road. Bakkie went on without stopping and some marks on the Rombux all thats left of what was a rather dangerous situation.

The pics shows us going to Lundeans neck with the last pic being one of my favorites for the weekend. Yeah I know I may seam mean, but we werent there looking for trouble with the locals or such...the pic just happened...see the children running in the left of the pic.... Fortunately I do not think there were hard feelings afterwords.

I hope you guys still like a lot of pictures, cause a flood is starting now!

• 20140321_165119.jpg
    20140321_165119.jpg
    117.3 KB
  • 20140321_170535.jpg
    20140321_170535.jpg
    166.3 KB
  • 20140321_162526.jpg
    20140321_162526.jpg
    153.8 KB
  • 20140321_160447.jpg
    20140321_160447.jpg
    101.6 KB
  • 20140321_160442.jpg
    20140321_160442.jpg
    93.1 KB
  • 20140321_155850.jpg
    20140321_155850.jpg
    169.8 KB
  • 20140321_152656.jpg
    20140321_152656.jpg
    139.9 KB
  • 2014-03-21-1964.jpg
    2014-03-21-1964.jpg
    96.1 KB
  • 20140321_151642.jpg
    20140321_151642.jpg
    76.5 KB
  • 20140321_160339.jpg
    20140321_160339.jpg
    156.6 KB
On top of Lundeans neck we reached a nicespot to take a breather at. But we barely sat down and the Cruiser went for it!  Makes a nice mountain climber I must say. We were all amused at the scenery and enjoying the view. It was also starting to get late so we were making peace and accepting some night time gravel riding.

We again had to pass a stupid army truck which refused to move over. I have to much of tappetness in me to stay behind anything for to long and overtook it a bit dangerously on the side of the road. But it did end up holding us up a bit, and then again we had to sign in at an army guarded gate. Dont know what was the purpose, but fortunately we could convince them not to search our gear, we were late enough as it were.

The night riding went very well accept for one incident. This time it was me and one of my biggest I have ever had.
I came down a corner going (debatable) to fast and hit some bumps which forced me to go straight and prevented me from shedding enough speed. This left me to fast in the corner with a solid berm from all the scraping, and some big rocks in there as well to make it more interesting. I was heading straight for some extra big rocks, breaked, had my back come out, recovered and hit that fairly high berm. i have fallen like this before, riding alone, so distinctly remembered a conscious decision of refusing to fall or bailing out. Well, we were blessed and made it, with only my bash plate carrying some scars, or rather grooves, as a reminder. That and some tenderness where I would have rather prefered none upon hitting my tank coming down from that berm again at speed coupled with a very sudden stop in the thickish sand. My wife was also very suprised to open her eyes again and finding herself still on the bike.

Well, we made Rhodes without much more happening, setup camp and had some okay pizzas at what seemed to be the only place with life at that time of night. Camping sure does save one a lot of money and its fun, but I dont think it would have been any fun after a long day of riding and then setting up camp at night without the camaraderie of your friends.

The next morning we had coffee when seeing that there was a big srew up with my topbox bracket. The box was to heavily loaded and the bracket had started to bend. I tried a quick fix with the assistance of a nicely kitted Cruiser but it didnt help much. My bike did not take this trip too well in general. It had another surprise for me that morning as well. The previous day it would suddenly cut out a few times and then be fine again. i thought it was a dirty fuel filter but now it first didnt start up and then my power was gone. I immediately thought of another thread where a poor guy's GS was going nowhere without a new battery. Fortunately the farm-boys-turned-GS-riders saw my battery connection was loose and soon we were on our way again, problem solved.

• 20140321_174236.jpg
    20140321_174236.jpg
    148.3 KB
  • 20140322_065128.jpg
    20140322_065128.jpg
    246.3 KB
  • 20140322_065127.jpg
    20140322_065127.jpg
    198 KB
  • 2014-03-21-2171.jpg
    2014-03-21-2171.jpg
    124.6 KB
  • 2014-03-21-2170.jpg
    2014-03-21-2170.jpg
    114.6 KB
  • 20140321_173355.jpg
    20140321_173355.jpg
    192.1 KB
  • 20140321_173255.jpg
    20140321_173255.jpg
    196.3 KB
  • 2014-03-21-2166.jpg
    2014-03-21-2166.jpg
    200.7 KB
  • 2014-03-21-2164.jpg
    2014-03-21-2164.jpg
    123.3 KB
  • 2014-03-21-2132.jpg
    2014-03-21-2132.jpg
    119.9 KB
Enjoyed the ride.    :ricky:    Nice RR 

Day 2
The plan for Day 2 was Naudesnek pass. A pass I have heard a lot on. We thought it could be a good idea to maybe do the 2 passes to Tiffendale and back, but soon decided against it as time would simply not allow it.

Naudesnek was an awesome pass. It really had exceptional scenery and the road was decent, with a few more difficult obstacles which made it more fun. We progressed at an average rate as we had the whole day and did not start to late. But time always run out when you think there is enough. We had some stops and delved into the lucky packets. Ate some chocolate and went on. Then Jackol suddenly realised he lost his glasses when we stopped for the chocolate. He has a deep love for chocolate so I am guessing smell was enough of a guide and he did not need to see it.

Well we waited, waited some more and then I decided to go back and see whats up, as he did not take his phone with him. My pillion dismounted and I went back as fast as I can, got to the place where we stopped, but there was no one. I did not even stop and just balsted past, thinking that he mustve thought he left it at camp or the previous stop so maybe I can catch him. Well I went for it for a good 15km back on the pass when I finally decided to call the group and heard he was back already. So I went back again. This was really one of my more epic rides ever, I pushed my big bike as hard as I dared and enjoyed every second of the hour I wasted there. I hate when people have to wait for me (enoug of that was happening on this trip) which was good motivation to ride just a little extra harder.
Later I learned that jackol was on his way back, then pulled of for some photo where I missed him. He then tried chasing me but gave up due to excessive locking of his brakes (excuses!  :lol8: ) either way, we lost an hour there which could have been prevented. A lesson learned for next trips, I shouldnt have gone as far before calling back. (the others did try calling me, but there must have only been reception that one time I actually stopped to call)

Well, we continued, saw some more brilliant scenery as the photos will show, and then just before the end of the gravel I noticed I lost a screw on my windscreen support! Man was I frustrated! I hate struggling and this meant issues for my. Some bikes passed us from the front must have been wondering whats was up as I was supporting my windscreen with my one hand. It was actually the only other bikes (except some Sanie KTMs) we saw for the whole trip. Very surprising as this was some really nice dual purpose riding and very rewarding as well scenery/time wise.

We stopped at Mount Fletcher for fuel and refreshments and repairs on my windscreen. Fortunately I had a lot of backup screws and stuff. But the town itself sucked, not much opportunity for proper food there. 

Pictures show Stefan doing some Yamaha admiring, the nice scenery of Naudesneck, me and my wife which should maybe gym less, the impressive looking Cruiser (impressive in a rear view mirror!) and how comfortable the cruiser-buddies roll and then off course those happy go lucky packets!

• 20140322_095634.jpg
    20140322_095634.jpg
    130.2 KB
  • 20140322_092234.jpg
    20140322_092234.jpg
    92.1 KB
  • 20140322_091954.jpg
    20140322_091954.jpg
    142.5 KB
  • 20140322_085647.jpg
    20140322_085647.jpg
    101 KB
  • 20140322_091241.jpg
    20140322_091241.jpg
    76.5 KB
  • 20140322_090231.jpg
    20140322_090231.jpg
    195.1 KB
  • 20140322_084810.jpg
    20140322_084810.jpg
    128.9 KB
  • 20140322_084014.jpg
    20140322_084014.jpg
    123.8 KB
  • 20140322_082420.jpg
    20140322_082420.jpg
    184.9 KB
  • 20140322_091200.jpg
    20140322_091200.jpg
    136.8 KB
My wife and I, Henk and some of our other friend have done some rather extreme hiking trips in these Drakensberg mountains. We always try to share the experience with family and others by means of pictures. This time I think it was the first time my mother actually realised how majestic these mountains are, definitely a highlight for me.

The pictures will show more scenery, the people awaiting my return from Jackol hunting (yeah, wynand actually slept like that with the white hoodie!)

From Mount Fletcher we rode to Matatiele on some nice winding roads. I was in front holding back for the others to catch up when I saw Stefan on his yellow GS catching up with me. I rode faster but was still passed unceremoniously. Turns out it was Aubrey with my mother as pillion that swapped bikes with Stefan. It also turns out that a faster/bigger bike still stands no chance against a more skilled rider in the twisties!  :peepwall:

After some late lunch in Matatiele where we recuperated a bit while ignoring the tired looks of the woman, we were off again. The plan was to take a gravel route shortcut to Underberg that started just outside Matatiele. Turns out this road was very bad. I have said it in a previous report but will say it again...I believe a good gravel road is fun, and a bad piece of technical gravel road is fun, but anything in between was crap and only abusing the bike. This gravel was like that. To top it off I lost my replacement screw on the windscreen which may spoil the rest of my trip if I did not manage another replacement so I was in extra bad spirits suddenly. My bike which was my pride, was failing me.

I told Jackol I am turning around and will see them in Underberg, I was hoping for time extra to do repairs with some daylight, but seems the message got lost (I am a known mumbler) so that night I was also the guy in the group for whom everyone was waiting all the time but who did not wait for the others when the time came. Spirits were low for me at camp that night but soon turned for the better when repairs seemed to go well on my bike. (my topbox was also in very bad shape, bracket was very very bent, a real worry).

We were doing Sani the next day! Finally!

• 20140322_105600.jpg
    20140322_105600.jpg
    212.3 KB
  • 20140322_173347.jpg
    20140322_173347.jpg
    66.6 KB
  • 20140322_172356.jpg
    20140322_172356.jpg
    52.2 KB
  • 20140322_124436-1.jpg
    20140322_124436-1.jpg
    120.8 KB
  • 20140322_104513.jpg
    20140322_104513.jpg
    156.4 KB
  • 20140322_101638.jpg
    20140322_101638.jpg
    119.7 KB
  • 20140322_101209.jpg
    20140322_101209.jpg
    157.3 KB
  • 20140322_101152.jpg
    20140322_101152.jpg
    129.3 KB
Day 3

We had an early start, Sani was what we were looking forward to the most. We were to meet another old varsity buddy to join us up Sani but turned out he was bitten by some flesh eating tarantula and had to skip Sani, bummer but spirits were still high!

Actually, I knew Sani was the most iconic mountain pass in south africa but also thought it was a bit overated. Turns out its not. The road wasnt massively difficult but the scenery is awesome. Definitely worth making an effort to do it.

We did not have any issues at the border posts, they were quick, friendly and efficient on both sides. A great relief as I was riding with a learners, in small towns its a mission to get licence appointments... :BangHead:

We stopped often up Sani, to try and keep the group lekker compact and to take in all the views but still it was over all to quickly. There wasnt much issues in getting up, we only had the Tenere stall once causing a spill and then some thinking and rethinking on approach angles for the last few corners. but no major issues. Myself only had to feather the clutch a few times on the steep inclined corners but fortunately no stall, and with enough momentum, no issues. Sani isnt a major problem when the road is dry and in as good a condition as it was with our trip. Its only the last 5 corners which may pose a little issues. The same corners I will say will also give a 4x2 bakkie a good bit of a challenge. (not a challenge to 4x2 owners and not advised!)

At the top I drank a Maluti beer. A must do with some of the obligatory posing pictures also attached to this post  :thumleft:
I was also forced to enjoy that beer as I wasn't much of a beer drinker, and when I got a quart at a very expensive R45 I had to savor every sip. The burgers were good even though we had to wait a while.

The descent wasn't all that difficult either, except that I suddenly had no rear brakes on the last of the difficult corners. Very disconcerting and made me frustrated with my bike all over again. I had to switch my engine off and use the clutch as a brake in first gear. It was fine again later. (guess I need to have it checked out)

In the pictures some nice classical Sani scenery, proof of the Tenere overweightedness captured, obligatory group photos, some bad-ass carrying his bicycle up the pass, and the bar seeing another wilddog shirt

• 040.jpg
    040.jpg
    150.7 KB
  • 2014-03-23-2254.jpg
    2014-03-23-2254.jpg
    160.3 KB
  • 20140323_095807.jpg
    20140323_095807.jpg
    147 KB
  • 20140323_094402.jpg
    20140323_094402.jpg
    187.1 KB
  • 20140323_094350.jpg
    20140323_094350.jpg
    201.5 KB
  • 20140323_091956.jpg
    20140323_091956.jpg
    158.1 KB
  • 20140323_091714.jpg
    20140323_091714.jpg
    139.6 KB
  • 20140323_091209.jpg
    20140323_091209.jpg
    176.4 KB
  • 20140323_090034.jpg
    20140323_090034.jpg
    188.6 KB
  • 20140323_082622.jpg
    20140323_082622.jpg
    102 KB
Some more Sani pictures!

We of course had to put our names up on the wall, squeeshed in wherever there was space! Also a pic of Oom Aubrey. i think he was still seriously contemplating going through Lesotho rather than going down Sani again. Fortunately we won that argument.

Also a pic of Wynand with some extra strong beer. I really think these Cruiser drivers are immune to alcohol. I think bikes have a different driving style, with us stopping more for pictures, slower in gravel corners and faster on tar, so I was worried that our support vehicles occupants would not enjoy the trip, but turns out they did.

Boots in the sand.. I instantly thought of our spider bitten friend when I saw that pic. but we are already planning to do the same trip again with the upcoming long weekends, but then wee will be going through Lesotho and not around it.

From Nottingham road on we again had a blast on a stretch of twisty tar and again I had to give it all I had to gain on a flippen 800. Thereafter we all said our goodbyes. with everyone except the two 1200's going to sleep over at Clarens and the others shooting for home.

Me and oom Aubrey drove past the Sterkfontein dam on our way to Clarens and man what a sight. I havent seen Katse yet, but this really is something. Massive amount of water there. Then the road turned out to be crap for a few kilometres which ended up with us going through golden gate with too little light for photos.

I have ridden a bit at the western cape now, to Durban, lots of the rural tar roads and so on on the bike, but Golden Gate still remains the best bit of tar to do on a bike. and sommer in the car as well. Really awesome piece of road that. (I know...time to plan a Sabi trip on the bike, awesome roads there as well)

There is a nice new Portuguese restaurant in Clarens with good coffee. As they are still new prices havent been infalted yet so I took full advantage on their awesome coffee! I think I had 3 or 4 cups there! Was missing some good coffee on the trip so this was some nice relaxation there.

Sunday we had to travel all the way home again. The last few hours of each day was tough on my ass but this last stretch home was near-on torture. But all is well that ends well and we were very happy with the trip. It really was an awesome weekend.

Last 2 photos: one was taken on the first day and the other on the last day. Definitely not as tidy and clean in the end!
I also saw only now from these pics that my topbox bracket started bending on the first day already!

• 2014-03-23-2255.jpg
    2014-03-23-2255.jpg
    98.5 KB
  • 2014-03-23-2257.jpg
    2014-03-23-2257.jpg
    117.8 KB
  • 2014-03-23-2263.jpg
    2014-03-23-2263.jpg
    108.8 KB
  • 2014-03-23-2282.jpg
    2014-03-23-2282.jpg
    179.1 KB
  • 2014-03-23-2342.jpg
    2014-03-23-2342.jpg
    52.9 KB
  • 20140323_173854.jpg
    20140323_173854.jpg
    55.7 KB
  • 20140321_091944.jpg
    20140321_091944.jpg
    137.4 KB
  • 20140324_125510.jpg
    20140324_125510.jpg
    134 KB
Nice report Martin! Nice reading all the stories again. Maybe I should comsider some more information and stories on my next RR. Nice photos!

Dankie dat jy deel. Ek en jy sal jou maar later weer moet gaan met die AG175 agter op die Isuzu vir Sani. Nou moet ek net eers die ding begin regmaak  :peepwall:

m0lt3n said:
Day 2
The plan for Day 2 was Naudesnek pass. A pass I have heard a lot on. We thought it could be a good idea to maybe do the 2 passes to Tiffendale and back, but soon decided against it as time would simply not allow it.

Julle kan bly wees. Ons het newbies saam met ons gehad toe ons desember daar oor is en dit het 7 ure gevat net om almal oor daai deel te kry

Dwerg said:
m0lt3n said:
Day 2

Julle kan bly wees. Ons het newbies saam met ons gehad toe ons desember daar oor is en dit het 7 ure gevat net om almal oor daai deel te kry

Ek lees sulke terugvoer altyd as n challenge :)
Maar dan is dit n goeie ding tyd het dit nie toegelaat nie.

Vraag: Sal n Subaru Forrester dit daar deur kan maak tot Tiffendale? Volgende keer dink ek nie gaan ons n Cruiser as bystand he nie.

m0lt3n said:
Dwerg said:
m0lt3n said:
Day 2

Ek lees sulke terugvoer altyd as n challenge :)
Maar dan is dit n goeie ding tyd het dit nie toegelaat nie.

Vraag: Sal n Subaru Forrester dit daar deur kan maak tot Tiffendale? Volgende keer dink ek nie gaan ons n Cruiser as bystand he nie.

Dis 'n lekker deel, regtig nie so erg nie maar ek sal dit nie aanraai vir newbies nie.

Dink 'n Forester sal dit seker kan maak maar dit sal hier en daar touch and go wees agv klippe/slote. Die ander kant af Rhodes toe is fine maar van Wartrail af boontoe is bietjie rof.