Mphumalanga? Dros? Home?

JourneyMan

BMW F650GS / Dakar
No. Bela-Bela.

Had the rare chance to do an overnighter. Started the planning and forgot that because I can ride for a change, it will definately rain.  :rolleyes: :biggrin:

The plan was to do a Mphumalanga trip which I have been planning for a long time. Friday morning came and it was raining slightly. Weather forecasts and reports said it was very cold and rainy in Mphumalanga.

Anyway. Arrived at the meet place with Funacide and Popipants already waiting. A quick caucus and a call from Plothond and it was decided to go have breakfast at Dros and see if the weather improves. Already consensus was that we would rather go North.

I managed to be the first casualty of the trip and even before setting off. Dropping the bike at the garage in front of the shop. Foot slipping on wet white line.  :rolleyes: :redface: :mrgreen:

Had the bike upright  in record time before Popipants could get his new camera in action. 
:mrgreen:

At Dros. Waiting for Plothond, who was enjouying a leisurely breakfast and coffee at home.

IMG_0002.jpg

Plothond finally arriving. We were on our first beer already, watching the Sharks/Crusaders game.

IMG_0003.jpg

Weather improved and a phone call to Dros Bela-Bela said it is not raining in Bela-Bela. It was decided to ride there and see how it goes.

Unfortunately Funacide had to  cancel at that stage as something unforseen came up and he had to leave.  :sad:

Getting ready to go. Waiting for Plothond.  Again.  :rolleyes:

IMG_0004.jpg

After some indecision by the GPS riders, I decided to take lead and took them on the old, well known Bash/BDRun route.

I figured there will not be much mud. I was correct. The little mud we did encounter, was handled appropriately. :lol:

But first some more waiting on Plothond.

IMG_0005.jpg

Bike looks good!  :cool:

IMG_0006.jpg

On the dirt. Wet weather meant no dust and smooth riding.

Popipants.

IMG_0007.jpg

Plothond

IMG_0008.jpg

Smokebreak

IMG_0012.jpg

IMG_0010.jpg

On through Boekenhoutskloof and then the R101 on tar to Bela-Bela.

Getting proviant. Me guarding the bikes.

IMG_0013.jpg

More later. First some rugby to watch.

Baie mooi kiekies ;) Die alewige weervoorspellings wat so in 'n mens se eie kop afspeel oppad op die baaik kan partykeer maar 'n pyn wees ;D

We decided to take the first camping site which we can have. ATKV Resort just outside Bela-Bela gave us the  coldest shoulder one can imagine. Was it fear, hate or jealousy? Or all.

Anyway. Next was full but referred us to another camping site just a km further. Bertus the Manager was very helpfull. Gave us the last space available. Not really a camping spot but it does have grass and he arranged for lighting and a braai that we could use.

The caravan was part of the spot. More on that later.

IMG_0014.jpg

View to the recreational area.

IMG_0015.jpg

Another view.

IMG_0016.jpg

I managed to pitch the tent without any help!  :eek: :lol:

IMG_0017.jpg

Phoning Plotwyfie and informing her that we have done a amazing 150km for the day!

IMG_0018.jpg

Time to relax and got the fire going. Notice the wind. It kept up the whole night.

IMG_0020.jpg

Later.

The caravan accessories came in handy. Table was a bonus. Plottie used the steel step as his chair.

IMG_0021.jpg

Even more later....

Chow time. It was the wind's fault that some pictures were out of focus.

IMG_0022-1.jpg

IMG_0023-1.jpg

No comment.

IMG_0024-1.jpg

IMG_0025.jpg

That's why it was raining, JM doing a ride report.  :D

Lekker, post some more pics.

And later....

Time for creative photography. I'm sure I will loose this one. Must spend some time studying the Manual.

The GSA

IMG_0026.jpg

The Dakar  :mrgreen:

IMG_0027.jpg

The coffee pot.

IMG_0029.jpg

The fire.  :rolleyes:

IMG_0032.jpg

And even more later.....

Popipants very impressed with his glow-in-the-dark toys.  :mrgreen:

You have to use your imagination a bit in this sequence.  :lol:

IMG_0038.jpg

IMG_0040.jpg

IMG_0039.jpg

IMG_0044.jpg

IMG_0042.jpg

IMG_0045.jpg

Plothond went to bed and me and Popi decided to check out local talent at the "bar".

Let's just leave it there. More imagination needed here.  :mrgreen:

Had one round and the bar closed. Popi  did check afterwards whether the barman actually did lock the fridge sliding doors.  :mrgreen:

Then off to bed. I need a better sleeping bag. It was cold!

Ratel said:
So hoe het die tent ge-perform??

Lekker man.  :cool: Maklik om op te slaan en genoeg spasie.

Ek het koud gekry maar dit was die shitty cheap slaapsak wat ek gehad het.

JourneyMan said:
Ratel said:
So hoe het die tent ge-perform??

Lekker man.  :cool: Maklik om op te slaan en genoeg spasie.

Ek het koud gekry maar dit was die shitty cheap slaapsak wat ek gehad het.

;D ;D But sheeeet this weather is kark.... peeing down here still

Yip. And my auto sprinkler systerm's rain meter-magafter-auto-shut-off is on the blink. Sprinklers went on this morning and I had to  go switch it off. Blerry cold!

JourneyMan said:
Yip. And my auto sprinkler systerm's rain meter-magafter-auto-shut-off is on the blink. Sprinklers went on this morning and I had to  go switch it off. Blerry cold!

Gonna have to dump some water out of my pool later, but too wet now.

Next morning we had some  coffee and packed up.

Packed up and ready to go.

IMG_0046.jpg

IMG_0047.jpg

IMG_0048.jpg

Decided to go explore Settlers way in a loop through Rust De Winter.

Some higher speed dirt was encountered and here and there sections that might be sandy when it is dry.

A very good loop to ride intermixing dirt  of various conditions and tar.

Smoke break.

IMG_0049.jpg

IMG_0050.jpg

IMG_0051.jpg

IMG_0052.jpg

IMG_0053.jpg

On the way to Rust de Winter

IMG_0054.jpg

IMG_0055.jpg

Another smoke break and photo opp.

IMG_0058.jpg

IMG_0056.jpg

IMG_0060.jpg

IMG_0061.jpg

IMG_0062.jpg

Then a short two-track detour to tar.

IMG_0063.jpg

IMG_0064.jpg

Uitvlugt Loop. Very lekker piece of road to ride.

IMG_0065.jpg

IMG_0066.jpg

Then a quick stop at Safari for some biltong and beer. Popi left as he had prior arrangements.

IMG_0067.jpg

From there we retraced through Boekenhoutskloof and back through Mamelodi towards home.

Me and Plottie had an exhillirating side-to-side dash through the last dirt section. Fast paced and sliding corners. Really enjoyed that.  :razz:

Thanks Plothond and Popipants for keeping this moegoe company.

Much appreciated and you are top notch gents to ride with!  :cool:

Sorry I couldn,t make it AGAIN......

JM, you ride like a bat out of Hadaes - nice going there
(you sure you do not have a KTM motor in that speed machine of yours  ;D)

,........ and those Kenda's - bliksim but they throw up stones.

Lekker company you two

Note to other WD's - do not camp with those two (JM and Poppi) - we managed to polish 1.5litres of Whiskey and 750ml of Brandy in one evening !!!!

Erm. Was it that much?  :eek:

When we arrived, Plothond said something to the effect that we are going to show theses locals how to kuier. I think we lost. Jeebers! Those screamers next to us gooied the Tequila! :lol:

hehe. Was good riding. The Kenda's. Ja. Stay ahead or fall back.  :mrgreen:

Sorry I had to bail guys, would have been really nice to join.
:'( :'( :'( :'(

Next time!!

funacide said:
Sorry I had to bail guys, would have been really nice to join.
:'( :'( :'( :'(

Next time!!

You made the correct decisions in the end. As  you say. Next time.  :thumright:

But we did miss your enlightened presence.  :mrgreen:

Thanks for a great ride guys.
It was lots of "Fun"  ;D ;D as always. I have to admit I felt a bit bruised at the wedding Saturday night.
The light show look a lot cooler from where I was standing  ;D ;D
I will post my pics a bit later.